Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing
Thread started 01 Mar 2012 (Thursday) 08:12
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Can someone help me with a CS5 question?

 
barrett14
Senior Member
758 posts
Joined Aug 2009
Fort Worth Texas
Mar 01, 2012 08:12 |  #1

I am trying to take the steeple in this photo and move it over to another area in the image.. What is the best tool to outline the steeple and then what do I do once I draw around it? I almost only use LR3... Thanks in advance!

IMAGE: http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7144/6540645979_b7dc3f18c8_b.jpg

flickrexternal link
500pxexternal link
5D Mark III
24-105L, 16-35L II, 70-300L, 8-15L Fisheye, 50mm 1.4

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
barrett14
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
758 posts
Joined Aug 2009
Fort Worth Texas
Mar 01, 2012 08:46 |  #2

Here is my issue - I highlighted the steeple with lasso and used the move tool to move it over. Then I used content aware to fill in where the steeple used to be. Then I tried to use the spot healing brush and the clone stamp tool to clean up the area around the steeple but it wouldn't do anything?? I would click the mouse and try and use the tool but NOTHING would happen. I closed the image and reopened it fresh, and the same tools seem to work fine! They just won't work after I complete the moving of the steeple. What is going on?


flickrexternal link
500pxexternal link
5D Mark III
24-105L, 16-35L II, 70-300L, 8-15L Fisheye, 50mm 1.4

LOG IN TO REPLY
Tommydigi
Cream of the Crop
Tommydigi's Avatar
Joined May 2010
Chicago
Mar 01, 2012 08:49 |  #3

You probably still have the steeple selected, what version of photoshop are you using?


Website (external link) | Flickr (external link)
Canon 5DII/7DII/G15 • 24LII • 50L • 100L • 135L • 40 STM • 24-70L F4 IS • 100-400 L II

LOG IN TO REPLY
barrett14
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
758 posts
Joined Aug 2009
Fort Worth Texas
Mar 01, 2012 08:54 |  #4

CS5. How do I deselect it?


flickrexternal link
500pxexternal link
5D Mark III
24-105L, 16-35L II, 70-300L, 8-15L Fisheye, 50mm 1.4

LOG IN TO REPLY
digital ­ paradise
Cream of the Crop
digital paradise's Avatar
10,357 posts
Gallery: 9 photos
Joined Oct 2009
Mar 01, 2012 08:55 |  #5

I just used the clone stamp tool. First I cloned the steeple to another spot and then cloned an area close to the original steeple and used that to clone out the steeple.

IMAGE: http://i33.photobucket.com/albums/d74/Zenon1/6540645979_b7dc3f18c8_b.jpg

Image Editing OK

Websiteexternal link ~ Buy/Sell Feedback

LOG IN TO REPLY
Tommydigi
Cream of the Crop
Tommydigi's Avatar
Joined May 2010
Chicago
Mar 01, 2012 09:00 |  #6

You could even try content aware. Just select it copy it and paste it to a new doc ( so you can paste it later). Then keep the selection and hit delete and fill with content aware.


Website (external link) | Flickr (external link)
Canon 5DII/7DII/G15 • 24LII • 50L • 100L • 135L • 40 STM • 24-70L F4 IS • 100-400 L II

LOG IN TO REPLY
barrett14
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
758 posts
Joined Aug 2009
Fort Worth Texas
Mar 01, 2012 09:07 |  #7

I got it figured out guys. Thanks for all the help!


flickrexternal link
500pxexternal link
5D Mark III
24-105L, 16-35L II, 70-300L, 8-15L Fisheye, 50mm 1.4

LOG IN TO REPLY
Tommydigi
Cream of the Crop
Tommydigi's Avatar
Joined May 2010
Chicago
Mar 01, 2012 09:26 |  #8

One thing with Photoshop, there are about 50 ways to get the same thing.

On a side note how do you like that fuji x10? I gotta get a compact.


Website (external link) | Flickr (external link)
Canon 5DII/7DII/G15 • 24LII • 50L • 100L • 135L • 40 STM • 24-70L F4 IS • 100-400 L II

LOG IN TO REPLY
barrett14
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
758 posts
Joined Aug 2009
Fort Worth Texas
Mar 01, 2012 09:29 |  #9

It's definitely not an SLR but I like it for what it is... I use it for taking snapshots and that's about it.

One more thing guys... Whenever I edited this in photoshop, I lost a lot of the detail in the clouds. The image looks a lot better in Lightroom as the RAW file. After I edit it in photoshop I can't get the image back to look the way it was in Lightroom as far as colors and details go.


flickrexternal link
500pxexternal link
5D Mark III
24-105L, 16-35L II, 70-300L, 8-15L Fisheye, 50mm 1.4

LOG IN TO REPLY
Tommydigi
Cream of the Crop
Tommydigi's Avatar
Joined May 2010
Chicago
Mar 01, 2012 09:34 |  #10

Do you have some specific lightroom settings that are applied on import?


Website (external link) | Flickr (external link)
Canon 5DII/7DII/G15 • 24LII • 50L • 100L • 135L • 40 STM • 24-70L F4 IS • 100-400 L II

LOG IN TO REPLY
barrett14
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
758 posts
Joined Aug 2009
Fort Worth Texas
Mar 01, 2012 09:36 |  #11

Tommydigi wrote in post #13996878external link
Do you have some specific lightroom settings that are applied on import?

I chose to edit the photos with the lightroom settings applied.


flickrexternal link
500pxexternal link
5D Mark III
24-105L, 16-35L II, 70-300L, 8-15L Fisheye, 50mm 1.4

LOG IN TO REPLY
barrett14
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
758 posts
Joined Aug 2009
Fort Worth Texas
Mar 01, 2012 09:53 |  #12

Just thought of this - I can export the original raw from LR3 as a JPEG and edit that JPEG with CS5... instead of just trying to edit the raw file directly.

Update: worked perfectly.


flickrexternal link
500pxexternal link
5D Mark III
24-105L, 16-35L II, 70-300L, 8-15L Fisheye, 50mm 1.4

LOG IN TO REPLY
Tommydigi
Cream of the Crop
Tommydigi's Avatar
Joined May 2010
Chicago
Mar 01, 2012 10:07 |  #13

True but now your editing a jpg instead of a RAW file. You can just check the settings your applying in LR and do the same in PS


Website (external link) | Flickr (external link)
Canon 5DII/7DII/G15 • 24LII • 50L • 100L • 135L • 40 STM • 24-70L F4 IS • 100-400 L II

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

575 views & 0 likes for this thread
Can someone help me with a CS5 question?
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00093 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is ansz
926 guests, 375 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016