LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


Can someone help me with a CS5 question?

FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing
Thread started 01 Mar 2012 (Thursday) 08:12   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
barrett14
Senior Member
Joined Aug 2009
747 posts
Fort Worth Texas
[MORE/SHARE]

I am trying to take the steeple in this photo and move it over to another area in the image.. What is the best tool to outline the steeple and then what do I do once I draw around it? I almost only use LR3... Thanks in advance!

IMAGE: http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7144/6540645979_b7dc3f18c8_b.jpg

Post #1, Mar 01, 2012 08:12:59


flickrexternal link
500pxexternal link
5D Mark III
24-105L, 16-35L II, 70-300L, 8-15L Fisheye, 50mm 1.4

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
barrett14
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Joined Aug 2009
747 posts
Fort Worth Texas
[MORE/SHARE]

Here is my issue - I highlighted the steeple with lasso and used the move tool to move it over. Then I used content aware to fill in where the steeple used to be. Then I tried to use the spot healing brush and the clone stamp tool to clean up the area around the steeple but it wouldn't do anything?? I would click the mouse and try and use the tool but NOTHING would happen. I closed the image and reopened it fresh, and the same tools seem to work fine! They just won't work after I complete the moving of the steeple. What is going on?

Post #2, Mar 01, 2012 08:46:16


flickrexternal link
500pxexternal link
5D Mark III
24-105L, 16-35L II, 70-300L, 8-15L Fisheye, 50mm 1.4

LOG IN TO REPLY
Tommydigi
Goldmember
Tommydigi's Avatar
Joined May 2010
4,881 posts
Chicago
[MORE/SHARE]

You probably still have the steeple selected, what version of photoshop are you using?

Post #3, Mar 01, 2012 08:49:40


Websiteexternal link | Flickrexternal link | Blogexternal link
Canon 5D2/60D/G15 24LII • 50L • 100L • 135L • 40 STM • 17-40L • 70-300L

LOG IN TO REPLY
barrett14
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Joined Aug 2009
747 posts
Fort Worth Texas
[MORE/SHARE]

CS5. How do I deselect it?

Post #4, Mar 01, 2012 08:54:13


flickrexternal link
500pxexternal link
5D Mark III
24-105L, 16-35L II, 70-300L, 8-15L Fisheye, 50mm 1.4

LOG IN TO REPLY
digital ­ paradise
Cream of the Crop
digital paradise's Avatar
Joined Oct 2009
7,670 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

I just used the clone stamp tool. First I cloned the steeple to another spot and then cloned an area close to the original steeple and used that to clone out the steeple.

IMAGE: http://i33.photobucket.com/albums/d74/Zenon1/6540645979_b7dc3f18c8_b.jpg

Post #5, Mar 01, 2012 08:55:24


Image Editing OK

Websiteexternal link ~ Buy/Sell Feedback

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Tommydigi
Goldmember
Tommydigi's Avatar
Joined May 2010
4,881 posts
Chicago
[MORE/SHARE]

You could even try content aware. Just select it copy it and paste it to a new doc ( so you can paste it later). Then keep the selection and hit delete and fill with content aware.

Post #6, Mar 01, 2012 09:00:51


Websiteexternal link | Flickrexternal link | Blogexternal link
Canon 5D2/60D/G15 24LII • 50L • 100L • 135L • 40 STM • 17-40L • 70-300L

LOG IN TO REPLY
barrett14
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Joined Aug 2009
747 posts
Fort Worth Texas
[MORE/SHARE]

I got it figured out guys. Thanks for all the help!

Post #7, Mar 01, 2012 09:07:57


flickrexternal link
500pxexternal link
5D Mark III
24-105L, 16-35L II, 70-300L, 8-15L Fisheye, 50mm 1.4

LOG IN TO REPLY
Tommydigi
Goldmember
Tommydigi's Avatar
Joined May 2010
4,881 posts
Chicago
[MORE/SHARE]

One thing with Photoshop, there are about 50 ways to get the same thing.

On a side note how do you like that fuji x10? I gotta get a compact.

Post #8, Mar 01, 2012 09:26:51


Websiteexternal link | Flickrexternal link | Blogexternal link
Canon 5D2/60D/G15 24LII • 50L • 100L • 135L • 40 STM • 17-40L • 70-300L

LOG IN TO REPLY
barrett14
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Joined Aug 2009
747 posts
Fort Worth Texas
[MORE/SHARE]

It's definitely not an SLR but I like it for what it is... I use it for taking snapshots and that's about it.

One more thing guys... Whenever I edited this in photoshop, I lost a lot of the detail in the clouds. The image looks a lot better in Lightroom as the RAW file. After I edit it in photoshop I can't get the image back to look the way it was in Lightroom as far as colors and details go.

Post #9, Mar 01, 2012 09:29:44


flickrexternal link
500pxexternal link
5D Mark III
24-105L, 16-35L II, 70-300L, 8-15L Fisheye, 50mm 1.4

LOG IN TO REPLY
Tommydigi
Goldmember
Tommydigi's Avatar
Joined May 2010
4,881 posts
Chicago
[MORE/SHARE]

Do you have some specific lightroom settings that are applied on import?

Post #10, Mar 01, 2012 09:34:50


Websiteexternal link | Flickrexternal link | Blogexternal link
Canon 5D2/60D/G15 24LII • 50L • 100L • 135L • 40 STM • 17-40L • 70-300L

LOG IN TO REPLY
barrett14
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Joined Aug 2009
747 posts
Fort Worth Texas
[MORE/SHARE]

Tommydigi wrote in post #13996878external link
Do you have some specific lightroom settings that are applied on import?

I chose to edit the photos with the lightroom settings applied.

Post #11, Mar 01, 2012 09:36:28


flickrexternal link
500pxexternal link
5D Mark III
24-105L, 16-35L II, 70-300L, 8-15L Fisheye, 50mm 1.4

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
barrett14
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Joined Aug 2009
747 posts
Fort Worth Texas
[MORE/SHARE]

Just thought of this - I can export the original raw from LR3 as a JPEG and edit that JPEG with CS5... instead of just trying to edit the raw file directly.

Update: worked perfectly.

Post #12, Mar 01, 2012 09:53:10


flickrexternal link
500pxexternal link
5D Mark III
24-105L, 16-35L II, 70-300L, 8-15L Fisheye, 50mm 1.4

LOG IN TO REPLY
Tommydigi
Goldmember
Tommydigi's Avatar
Joined May 2010
4,881 posts
Chicago
[MORE/SHARE]

True but now your editing a jpg instead of a RAW file. You can just check the settings your applying in LR and do the same in PS

Post #13, Mar 01, 2012 10:07:23


Websiteexternal link | Flickrexternal link | Blogexternal link
Canon 5D2/60D/G15 24LII • 50L • 100L • 135L • 40 STM • 17-40L • 70-300L

LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
365 views & 0 likes for this thread
Can someone help me with a CS5 question?
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00107 for 5 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
890 guests, 780 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is Alex3uerfuer

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.