Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > Talk About Photography > General Photography Talk
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 6th of March 2012 (Tue)   #1
LITTLEL
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 274
Default connect the cam to the laptop when shooting

Yep i know how to connect it, but what i want to do, when i shooting, the pics go direct onto your laptop so you can see straight away what you've taken.. I saw a post a while ago about it, but you think i can find it....
__________________
5D MK 11, 24 - 105 L, 100mm 2.8 Macro, 580 EX Mk II, 70 - 200mm 2.8 L IS usm, 350D with Lense Kit. - New Years Resolution - Take at least a picture a day!!
LITTLEL is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 6th of March 2012 (Tue)   #2
tonylong
do I really have to respond?
 
tonylong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
Posts: 53,001
Default Re: connect the cam to the laptop when shooting

If you use the Canon EOS Utility software you can do this. I believe you can with Lightroom as well, although I've never played with the LR tethered shooting.
__________________
Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase
Wildlife project pics here, Biking Photog shoots here, "Suburbia" project here! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here
tonylong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th of March 2012 (Tue)   #3
tolyD
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 723
Default Re: connect the cam to the laptop when shooting

With Canon EOS Utility there is an option where you have to click on quick preview to see the photo you have taken.
__________________
5D MkII | 35L | 50 1.4 | 85 1.8 | 2x 580ex II |

flickr
web
facebook
tolyD is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 6th of March 2012 (Tue)   #4
tolyD
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 723
Default Re: connect the cam to the laptop when shooting

I would also like to hear on how to set it up with LR.
__________________
5D MkII | 35L | 50 1.4 | 85 1.8 | 2x 580ex II |

flickr
web
facebook
tolyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th of March 2012 (Tue)   #5
DC Fan
Cream of the Crop
 
DC Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 5,699
Default Re: connect the cam to the laptop when shooting

Quote:
Originally Posted by tolyD View Post
I would also like to hear on how to set it up with LR.
A Google search is your friend.
DC Fan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 6th of March 2012 (Tue)   #6
tolyD
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 723
Default Re: connect the cam to the laptop when shooting

I should have, Thanks for help.
__________________
5D MkII | 35L | 50 1.4 | 85 1.8 | 2x 580ex II |

flickr
web
facebook
tolyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th of March 2012 (Tue)   #7
LITTLEL
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 274
Default Re: connect the cam to the laptop when shooting

Thanks, i googled it, but never knew tethered shooting was the words i was looking for.. Thanks...
__________________
5D MK 11, 24 - 105 L, 100mm 2.8 Macro, 580 EX Mk II, 70 - 200mm 2.8 L IS usm, 350D with Lense Kit. - New Years Resolution - Take at least a picture a day!!
LITTLEL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th of March 2012 (Tue)   #8
chauncey
Cream of the Crop
 
chauncey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: MI/CO
Posts: 8,446
Default Re: connect the cam to the laptop when shooting

Your much better off using the canon utilities disk rather than LR...more control over every aspect of the shot, (camera settings, focusing, whatnot).
__________________
The things you do for yourself die with you, the things you do for others live forever.
A man's worth should be judged, not when he basks in the sun, but how he faces the storm.

My stuff...http://1x.com/member/chauncey43
chauncey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 6th of March 2012 (Tue)   #9
tonylong
do I really have to respond?
 
tonylong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
Posts: 53,001
Default Re: connect the cam to the laptop when shooting

If you go to Lightroom Help and click on the Importing Photos section/link, it will open a page with general Import links/pages. Look down the links to the one for "Import Photos Automatically and click on it.

A page will open with instructions on setting up LR to automatically import from a "watched" folder. This is important because it is necessary for proper tethered shooting.

Follow those instructions. Then, at the bottom of that page will be a link to the page for tethered shooting.

Lightroom Help is actually a good User Guide, and it would be worth working through! It will give you a ton of needed info without having to ask here or grapple with Google!
__________________
Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase
Wildlife project pics here, Biking Photog shoots here, "Suburbia" project here! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here
tonylong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th of March 2012 (Tue)   #10
tonylong
do I really have to respond?
 
tonylong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
Posts: 53,001
Default Re: connect the cam to the laptop when shooting

I agree, though, that the Canon EOS Utility is better overall than LR for tethered shooting because of the degree of control you have and because of the Live View functionality.
__________________
Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase
Wildlife project pics here, Biking Photog shoots here, "Suburbia" project here! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here
tonylong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of March 2012 (Wed)   #11
InterMurph
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Gloucester, Massachusetts
Posts: 250
Default Re: connect the cam to the laptop when shooting

I assisted on a Santa photo shoot last year. The photographer had a 5D Mark II tethered to his Mac via USB. I was operating Lightroom 3.6 while he took the shots.

Several times during the day, the camera and Mac stopped communicating, and we had to reset it.

It was very frustrating.
InterMurph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of March 2012 (Wed)   #12
DC Fan
Cream of the Crop
 
DC Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 5,699
Default Re: connect the cam to the laptop when shooting

Other useful software options for tethered photography come from Breeze Systems. That company offers DSLR Remote Pro in a version for Windows and a version for the Mac OS.
DC Fan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of March 2012 (Wed)   #13
LITTLEL
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 274
Default Re: connect the cam to the laptop when shooting

Thanks everyone, been looking into this since i posted, and looking forward to having this addition in the studio.. But, what about wireless? Is there a solution for a 5d mkii..
__________________
5D MK 11, 24 - 105 L, 100mm 2.8 Macro, 580 EX Mk II, 70 - 200mm 2.8 L IS usm, 350D with Lense Kit. - New Years Resolution - Take at least a picture a day!!
LITTLEL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of March 2012 (Wed)   #14
breal101
Goldmember
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,691
Default Re: connect the cam to the laptop when shooting

This thread has some info on wireless tethering with the 5DII.

http://photography-on-the.net/forum/....php?t=1153154
__________________
"Try to go out empty and let your images fill you up." Jay Maisel
breal101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of March 2012 (Wed)   #15
DC Fan
Cream of the Crop
 
DC Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 5,699
Default Re: connect the cam to the laptop when shooting

Quote:
Originally Posted by LITTLEL View Post
But, what about wireless? Is there a solution for a 5d mkii..
Not really.

The most easily purchased wireless link for a digital camera is an EyeFi memory card, which can be made to create a WiFi connection to a computer or a cell phone. The device sounds like a wonderful idea, but it's less than wonderful in practice.

The EyeFi uplink essentially needs to be sent through a router to connect with a computer, and that router needs to have internet access at all times - because the EyeFi software insists one being able to connect to an EyeFi server.

It takes some effort to get an EyeFi card to connect to a computer, and even when that connection works, it is far, far slower than a cable link. By a long shot, the best way - the only fast and reliable way - to connect a DSLR to a computer is still through a USB cable.

Now, those who are adventuresome, patient and have the right sort of USB EVDO modem may want to experiment with a battery-operated router and an EyeFi card, but don't get your hopes up or expect miracles.
DC Fan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rebel XT - can't connect to new laptop with Windows 7 32 bit raycyrx Canon EOS Digital Cameras 16 2nd of April 2011 (Sat) 17:05
Rebel XT: won't connect to my new laptop to upload or do anything... MAR3 Canon EOS Digital Cameras 9 7th of November 2010 (Sun) 20:11
Easiest way to connect camera to laptop ShutteringFocus RAW, Post Processing and Printing 7 24th of October 2009 (Sat) 14:05
How do I connect my camera to my laptop? Kim Shaw General Photography Talk 11 18th of March 2008 (Tue) 07:39
Laptop won't connect with external hardrive, help! Claire The POTN Lounge 24 1st of January 2007 (Mon) 18:36


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 21:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.