LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


S100 users , did you buy an extra battery for s100

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Small Compact Digitals by Canon
Thread started 10 Mar 2012 (Saturday) 02:33   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
drigo
Senior Member
Joined Feb 2009
833 posts
florida
[MORE/SHARE]

JustShootin wrote in post #14063805external link
I always buy an extra battery for any camera I own. It just seems like must to me!

i agree! that and a memory card...you can never have enough of both...sucks to have a battery die out while out on a shoot..

Post #16, Mar 12, 2012 18:19:27


7D/10-22/70-200L f/2.8/ 50 f/1.8 / Rokinon 8mm fisheye / 

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

Jon's Avatar
Joined Jun 2004
68,184 posts
Bethesda, MD USA
[MORE/SHARE]

drigo wrote in post #14074353external link
i agree! that and a memory card...you can never have enough of both...sucks to have a battery die out while out on a shoot..

Truth. Got my wife an SD600 with extra battery and card when she was going to Jordan and Egypt. Of course the spare SD card was too much to carry, so, you guessed it, last full day - at the Pyramids - she filled the 2 GB card in the camera (not helped in the least by accidentally setting it into video mode any number of times) early in the day.

I was lucky - got a demonstrator SD990 and they'd pulled a spare battery for it rather than use the one in the box, so I have 2 batteries for that (and the SX230, which uses the same battery, so actually I could call it 2 spares for the SX230). If I pick up an S100, same battery there too, which is an incentive. I can pass the SX230 on to my wife. Slap a 32 GB SDHC in there and she'll run out of batteries first.

Post #17, Mar 12, 2012 18:27:20


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

LOG IN TO REPLY
drigo
Senior Member
Joined Feb 2009
833 posts
florida
[MORE/SHARE]

oh man..that sucks..i was gonna mention..especially when you're shooting at a place where you can't get any spares...
i learned first hand with the S100 when i got it 2 weeks ago that the battery doesn't last long...it died on me after just a few shots and a couple of short videos when i went out to test it...i also read that most people are averaging around 200 shots on a full battery? either way..i now have 3 batteries :)

Post #18, Mar 12, 2012 19:42:59 as a reply to Jon's post 1 hour earlier.


7D/10-22/70-200L f/2.8/ 50 f/1.8 / Rokinon 8mm fisheye / 

LOG IN TO REPLY
tgara
Goldmember
tgara's Avatar
Joined Sep 2007
2,322 posts
Connecticut, USA
[MORE/SHARE]

7up wrote in post #14060681external link
Don't forget video will kill the battery .

So will the GPS, especially in logger mode. Found this out the hard way on the wife's 230SX with GPS. Had to recharge the battery every night without fail if she planned to use it the next day.

Post #19, Mar 12, 2012 21:54:02


EOS 5D Mark III
EOS Rebel SL1
Full Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
LowriderS10
Cream of the Crop
LowriderS10's Avatar
Joined Mar 2008
10,168 posts
South Korea / Canada
[MORE/SHARE]

Yup...five! :D

Post #20, Mar 12, 2012 22:36:24


-=Prints For Sale at PIXELS=-external link
-=Facebook=-external link
-=Flickr=-external link

-=Gear=-

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
EowynCarter
Member
Joined Feb 2012
33 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Yes, got one extra battery in case i want to use the GPS or do video for a while.

Though I should be OK in my "normal" use.

Post #21, Mar 13, 2012 03:11:13 as a reply to post 14067107




LOG IN TO REPLY
Keyan
Cream of the Crop
Keyan's Avatar
Joined Mar 2011
5,100 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

I always have an extra. Oddly the one from a camera that I have that is 5 years old is exactly the same model, I didn't use that camera much and the battery pack still holds a decent charge! I only use that one around the house though I wouldn't trust it for vacation type use.

Post #22, Mar 13, 2012 10:24:07


Cameras: 7D2, 70D, S100
Lenses: 17-55 f/2.8 IS USM, 18-55 STM, 18-135 STM, 50 f/1.4 USM, 55-250 IS, 2x 430 EX II, 70-300L IS USM
Other Stuff: Luma Labs Cinch and Loop 3, CamRanger, Lowepro Fastpack 350 & Pro Messenger 200 AW

LOG IN TO REPLY
1KIND
Goldmember
1KIND's Avatar
Joined Apr 2011
1,760 posts
New York
[MORE/SHARE]

I bought a spare battery and luckily I did. With my old Canon SD1000, I didn't need to buy a spare battery but the S100 goes through it.

I just posted my review too - http://www.1kindphotog​raphy.com ...lingtek-powwer-nb-5l.htmlexternal link

Post #23, Mar 13, 2012 10:31:05


1KIND Photographyexternal link
Canon :: 5D Mark III Gripped | G1 X Mark II
Glass/Gear :: Canon 24-70 ƒ/2.8L II | Canon 50mm ƒ/1.4 | 600EX-RT
Feedbacks | Selling :: Herringbone, BlackRapid, Lowepro, Hufa Strap/Lens Clip

LOG IN TO REPLY
7up
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
7up's Avatar
Joined Jul 2005
204 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Can I stop Gps in canon s100 ?

Post #24, Mar 15, 2012 10:04:12


canon 40D / sx200 /canon 28-135 is / canon 55-250 / canon 50 1.8 / sigma 105 / sigma 70-300/iphone4 /ipad2
---------------
Buying a camera doesn't make you a Photographer. It makes you a camera owner...

LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

Jon's Avatar
Joined Jun 2004
68,184 posts
Bethesda, MD USA
[MORE/SHARE]

Yes, go to the Camera Settings menu and open the GPS Settings sub-menu.

Post #25, Mar 15, 2012 10:37:48


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

LOG IN TO REPLY
Sirrith
Cream of the Crop
Joined Nov 2010
10,448 posts
Hong Kong
[MORE/SHARE]

LincsRP wrote in post #14062959external link
Talking of such; what's the little bit of rubbery stuff in the battery door for? It doesn't slide but does pop open and reveals the battery below. Are Canon expecting us to work this thing so damn hard the battery needs a blow hole? !!

:lol:

This is actually for powering the camera via an AC adapter. You have a "fake" battery that goes into the battery slot like a normal battery, then you open up the hole in the battery door and plug a pin into the bottom of the "fake" battery which provides power to the camera from the AC adapter.

Post #26, Mar 18, 2012 16:42:31


-Tom
Flickr
F-Stop Guru review | RRS BH-40 review

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
LincsRP
Senior Member
Joined Mar 2007
226 posts
Lincolnshire,UK
[MORE/SHARE]

Sirrith wrote in post #14108553external link
This is actually for powering the camera via an AC adapter. You have a "fake" battery that goes into the battery slot like a normal battery, then you open up the hole in the battery door and plug a pin into the bottom of the "fake" battery which provides power to the camera from the AC adapter.

Ah! Thanks for that. I didn't know. Not got one with any other of my G12/G9. Never had an S-series Canon before as all my Canon kit are the 1-series door stops ...

Post #27, Mar 20, 2012 07:29:48


Steve
www.lincsracephotos.co​.ukexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Sirrith
Cream of the Crop
Joined Nov 2010
10,448 posts
Hong Kong
[MORE/SHARE]

LincsRP wrote in post #14118380external link
Ah! Thanks for that. I didn't know. Not got one with any other of my G12/G9. Never had an S-series Canon before as all my Canon kit are the 1-series door stops ...

I only found out about it when I was looking for a way to continuously power my s95 from the car cigarette lighter :)

Post #28, Mar 22, 2012 17:01:10


-Tom
Flickr
F-Stop Guru review | RRS BH-40 review

LOG IN TO REPLY
Heath
Goldmember
Heath's Avatar
Joined Sep 2009
2,332 posts
NYC, NY
[MORE/SHARE]

I only have one battery for the S100.

I have 6 for my T1i and 4 for my 7D. I really only need them when on vacation.

Post #29, Apr 07, 2012 21:47:42


Heath
"Some photographers push the envelope. Some sit behind a keyboard and criticize their accomplishments." (seen in the comments of a photo article)
Blogexternal link-Twitterexternal link-Zenfolioexternal link-500pxexternal link-Pinterestexternal link-Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
cebuRyda
Senior Member
cebuRyda's Avatar
Joined Oct 2009
109 posts
Northern California
[MORE/SHARE]

My first purchase after the S100, haven't used it yet. :confused:

7up wrote in post #14060681external link
Canon s100 takes around 200 shots
So canon s100 users did anyone of you buy an extra battery for s100
Or you think one battery is ok for you
Don't forget video will kill the battery .

Post #30, Apr 07, 2012 21:58:12


5DMKIII Gripped, 7D Gripped, 50D Gripped, Canon 50 1.4, 35 2.0, 85 1.8, 70-200L 2.8IS, 17-40L, 28-135, 100-300, 580EX, 580EXII & S100
Galleryexternal link, My Blogexternal link and Facebookexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
5,178 views & 0 likes for this thread
S100 users , did you buy an extra battery for s100
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Small Compact Digitals by Canon



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00126 for 5 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.03s
814 guests, 735 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is VARianTP

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.