LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


Can I monitor my 5D Mark II/Mark III video recording on an iPad?

FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos Video and Sound Editing
Thread started 14 Mar 2012 (Wednesday) 14:18   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
InterMurph
Senior Member
Joined Nov 2011
252 posts
Gloucester, Massachusetts
[MORE/SHARE]

I will (hopefully) be receiving my Canon 5D Mark III in enough time to record a school play.

I understand that the 5D Mark III will not auto-focus during video recording, so it's up to me to get the focus right. I don't want to rely on the small LCD screen on the camera, so I plan to bring a monitor with me.

Can I use an iPad for this? I see that the iPad has an AV adapter with HDMI:

http://www.bhphotovide​o.com ...A_Digital_AV_Adapte​r.htmlexternal link

But this appears to be for output only.

Is it possible to monitor the video being recorded on a 5D Mark II or Mark III on an iPad?

Thanks.

Post #1, Mar 14, 2012 14:18:55




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
ben_r_
-POTN's Three legged Support-
ben_r_'s Avatar
Joined Nov 2007
15,821 posts
Sacramento, CA
[MORE/SHARE]

There is no video in on the ipads that I know of. So unless there is some remote view app I dont think there is a way to do it.

Post #2, Mar 14, 2012 18:16:25


[Gear List | Flickrexternal link | My Reviews] /|\ Tripod Leg Protection /|\
GIVE a man a fish and he'll eat for a day. TEACH a man to fish and he'll eat for a lifetime.

LOG IN TO REPLY
InterMurph
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Joined Nov 2011
252 posts
Gloucester, Massachusetts
[MORE/SHARE]

My Google searches have turned up a lot of references to wireless tethering, but those solutions seem to require a jailbroken iPad, and an EyeFi card.

Looks like I'll have to lug a monitor to the school, along with all of my other gear.

Post #3, Mar 14, 2012 19:16:24




LOG IN TO REPLY
laselvasurf
Member
Joined Aug 2011
34 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

There is currently not way to do this. I would recommend getting a nice production monitor (marshall, tv logic, smallhd). Though they are atleast $500 for something decent.

Post #4, Mar 15, 2012 12:33:19


5D MKII, T2i, 24-105L, 100-400L, 12-24 Sigma, 20mm F1.8 Sigma, 28mm F1.8 Sigma, 35mm F1.4 Rokinon, 50mm F1.4 Canon, 85mm F1.4 Vivitar
flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
InterMurph
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Joined Nov 2011
252 posts
Gloucester, Massachusetts
[MORE/SHARE]

Alas, my budget for this is $0.

I tested my 5D Mark III and my Dell 24-inch monitor, and it works. The resolution is pretty crappy, but at least I can get a decent feel for the focus.

I am tempted to curse Apple's obstinacy on such things, but I don't think there is an Android table that does this either.

Post #5, Mar 15, 2012 12:47:19




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
laselvasurf
Member
Joined Aug 2011
34 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

InterMurph wrote in post #14091663external link
Alas, my budget for this is $0.

I tested my 5D Mark III and my Dell 24-inch monitor, and it works. The resolution is pretty crappy, but at least I can get a decent feel for the focus.

This may be the best way to do it. If you were using a 7D, the resolution would remain higher resolution, even during record mode. Did you just use the HDMI input on your Dell?

Post #6, Mar 15, 2012 13:03:39


5D MKII, T2i, 24-105L, 100-400L, 12-24 Sigma, 20mm F1.8 Sigma, 28mm F1.8 Sigma, 35mm F1.4 Rokinon, 50mm F1.4 Canon, 85mm F1.4 Vivitar
flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
InterMurph
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Joined Nov 2011
252 posts
Gloucester, Massachusetts
[MORE/SHARE]

Yes, I connected the HDMI output on the camera to the HDMI input on my Dell.

I hope to get my 5D Mark III before the shows (March 29th). Is there any reason to believe that the Mark III will output the full HD resolution to this monitor?

Thanks.

Post #7, Mar 15, 2012 13:07:09




LOG IN TO REPLY
ben_r_
-POTN's Three legged Support-
ben_r_'s Avatar
Joined Nov 2007
15,821 posts
Sacramento, CA
[MORE/SHARE]

InterMurph wrote in post #14091790external link
Yes, I connected the HDMI output on the camera to the HDMI input on my Dell.

I hope to get my 5D Mark III before the shows (March 29th). Is there any reason to believe that the Mark III will output the full HD resolution to this monitor?

Thanks.

Do some research online about it. Rumor is that it will. All the bodies since the 5D2 have I believe.

Post #8, Mar 15, 2012 13:17:21


[Gear List | Flickrexternal link | My Reviews] /|\ Tripod Leg Protection /|\
GIVE a man a fish and he'll eat for a day. TEACH a man to fish and he'll eat for a lifetime.

LOG IN TO REPLY
laselvasurf
Member
Joined Aug 2011
34 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

ben_r_ wrote in post #14091851external link
Do some research online about it. Rumor is that it will. All the bodies since the 5D2 have I believe.

The only Canon body that does that you can purchase right now is the 7D. The 60D, t2i/t3i, 5dmk2 all only do the 480i res once you're recording. It seems that the 5D MK3 will have the capabilities to send atleast a 720 signal through hdmi while recording, should be the same as the 7D actually. So, you should be able to get a nice sharp image on your Dell with that camera.

Post #9, Mar 15, 2012 18:00:59


5D MKII, T2i, 24-105L, 100-400L, 12-24 Sigma, 20mm F1.8 Sigma, 28mm F1.8 Sigma, 35mm F1.4 Rokinon, 50mm F1.4 Canon, 85mm F1.4 Vivitar
flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
InterMurph
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Joined Nov 2011
252 posts
Gloucester, Massachusetts
[MORE/SHARE]

From the 5D Mark II manual (http://www.canonrumors​.com .../eos5dmkiii-im-c-en.pdf):external link

If you have a High-Definition TV set and connect your camera with an HDMI cable, you can watch Full High-Definition (FULL HD: 1920x1080) and High-Definition (HD: 1280x720) movies with higher image quality

This passage is in reference to watching an already-recorded movie on TV. I assume that it also applies to the signal passed during the recording, but I can't be sure.

Post #10, Mar 15, 2012 19:18:28




LOG IN TO REPLY
ChasWG
Goldmember
ChasWG's Avatar
Joined Aug 2009
3,640 posts
Aurora, CO
[MORE/SHARE]

ben_r_ wrote in post #14087339external link
There is no video in on the ipads that I know of. So unless there is some remote view app I dont think there is a way to do it.

Sorry Ben, I just picked your response because it was first. Others said the same thing, but you guys are wrong. There is a way to view video and audio on an iPad. I work with a guy that has a system to do this with his iPad as a producer monitor. It works very well, but again, I work at a pro level so my fix isn't going to be cheap, but it works! We us it with a Panasonic HDX-900 and transmit HD video via Wifi.

Look into the Teradek Cube.

http://www.bhphotovide​o.com ...00124&Q=&is=REG&A=d​etailsexternal link

http://www.teradek.com​/gallery/img_1.pngexternal link

It's a Wifi encoder and if you have a iPad with Wifi abilities you have the receiver and monitor built into one. There is a very slight delay (1/4 second or less), but it actually is very clean and solid if you have it set up properly.

This is all predicated on the 5D III can output a signal while recording.

Post #11, Mar 16, 2012 15:52:01


Chas Gordon
7D Gripped/40D Gripped/10-24/EF24-70 f2.8L/EF70-200 f4L/EF50 f1.8 Mk I/EF85 f1.8
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/chaswg/external link
http://vimeo.com/user9​461302/videosexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
ben_r_
-POTN's Three legged Support-
ben_r_'s Avatar
Joined Nov 2007
15,821 posts
Sacramento, CA
[MORE/SHARE]

ChasWG wrote in post #14098979external link
Sorry Ben, I just picked your response because it was first. Others said the same thing, but you guys are wrong. There is a way to view video and audio on an iPad. I work with a guy that has a system to do this with his iPad as a producer monitor. It works very well, but again, I work at a pro level so my fix isn't going to be cheap, but it works! We us it with a Panasonic HDX-900 and transmit HD video via Wifi.

Look into the Teradek Cube.

http://www.bhphotovide​o.com ...00124&Q=&is=REG&A=d​etailsexternal link

http://www.teradek.com​/gallery/img_1.pngexternal link

It's a Wifi encoder and if you have a iPad with Wifi abilities you have the receiver and monitor built into one. There is a very slight delay (1/4 second or less), but it actually is very clean and solid if you have it set up properly.

This is all predicated on the 5D III can output a signal while recording.



Crap... Youre right, and I KNEW about that box too, which makes it worse. I was thinking like HDMI in or analog video in when I said no. But thats unit utilizes an entirely different route. Probably out of OPs price range though...

Post #12, Mar 16, 2012 17:09:09


[Gear List | Flickrexternal link | My Reviews] /|\ Tripod Leg Protection /|\
GIVE a man a fish and he'll eat for a day. TEACH a man to fish and he'll eat for a lifetime.

LOG IN TO REPLY
InterMurph
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Joined Nov 2011
252 posts
Gloucester, Massachusetts
[MORE/SHARE]

The OP doesn't want to buy a third device to get the first two to talk to each other.

I think I will just use my monitor.

Post #13, Mar 16, 2012 17:24:34




LOG IN TO REPLY
ben_r_
-POTN's Three legged Support-
ben_r_'s Avatar
Joined Nov 2007
15,821 posts
Sacramento, CA
[MORE/SHARE]

When youre ready, I have and highly recommend a SmallHD monitor. I use the DP6 with my 5D2 and 60D and love it. Its pretty much the industry standard for DSLRs. You can find used DP1x models too for great prices some times. They dont have all the features but are still great monitors that handle the up scaling well.

Post #14, Mar 16, 2012 17:27:28


[Gear List | Flickrexternal link | My Reviews] /|\ Tripod Leg Protection /|\
GIVE a man a fish and he'll eat for a day. TEACH a man to fish and he'll eat for a lifetime.

LOG IN TO REPLY
ChasWG
Goldmember
ChasWG's Avatar
Joined Aug 2009
3,640 posts
Aurora, CO
[MORE/SHARE]

I did say it was expensive. Oh well, just pointing it out as an option. people always want everything on the cheap around here. Problem is, video and audio isn't exactly cheap really. ;)

Post #15, Mar 16, 2012 18:42:52


Chas Gordon
7D Gripped/40D Gripped/10-24/EF24-70 f2.8L/EF70-200 f4L/EF50 f1.8 Mk I/EF85 f1.8
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/chaswg/external link
http://vimeo.com/user9​461302/videosexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
19,755 views & 0 likes for this thread
Can I monitor my 5D Mark II/Mark III video recording on an iPad?
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos Video and Sound Editing



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00139 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.01s
888 guests, 759 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is Severed Heads

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.