Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Small Compact Digitals by Canon
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 24th of March 2012 (Sat)   #1
Chopper Al

Default CHDK on SX40 HS

Hi,

Has anyone here tried using CHDK on the SX40 HS camera yet? If so, what are your thoughts on it? I am really interested in the RAW functionality.

Thanks...
Al

Al
Canon 60D - 50mm 1:8 IS - 18-55mm IS - 18-135mm IS Canon S1IS - Canon 420EX Flash
Chopper Al is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 26th of March 2012 (Mon)   #2
Vertical

Default Re: CHDK on SX40 HS

I've got it running on mine, but haven't toyed with it at all. It's my first time using it, and I feel like I need to get a better understanding of what it can do before I start messing with it.

I'd be interested to learn what some common uses are for it for the SX40
Vertical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th of March 2012 (Mon)   #3
Chopper Al

I used to have an S3IS with CHDK running on it. The most important thing it gave me (as well as for the SX40) is being able to shoot in raw. Since I have been getting into HDR lately, I am hoping it will expand the exposure bracketing more than 3 shots at a time.

Al

Al
Canon 60D - 50mm 1:8 IS - 18-55mm IS - 18-135mm IS Canon S1IS - Canon 420EX Flash
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 26th of March 2012 (Mon)   #4
exwintech

Chopper Al - To get more than 3 images for HDR, the SX40 should do the same as the SX10. That is - when the Exposure Compensation button is pressed, the bar should stay on EVF / LCD as shots are taken.

This seems to work best if you set Custom Timer to about 5-seconds - or you could use the set 10-seconds, which seems not to improve results.