![]() |
|
|
#1 |
|
....winded
|
Hey gang!
I've noticed over the past few days a "swarm" by "people"/"new members" who are associated with the .info "top-level" domain server. In fact, if you check it out, the .info "provider" provides people with actual domain names, where ".info" does not appear. How I discovered this is that most or all of these posts have some kind of graphic that does not display (it gets a "red x", but if you check out the properties of the red x it points jpeg hosted on the .info domain. Now, my first two thoughts: initially, I noticed this type of poster was actually posting something to some degree "relevant" to the topic of the thread. In other words, it appears as if a human being has read the thread and is posting accordingly. And, there hasn't been any spam in these posts. If anything, it would maybe be designed to point people to .info using the jpeg, but since the jpegs don't show, well, that isn't happening. So every day I see these posts popping up. Sometimes I read the post and get ready to respond until I see the red x, and note the odd nature of the post, and so I move on and ignore it. But then, since it is happening so often, I also wanted to know how we need to handle this. Are these spammers that need to be reported? If so, we need to know! Have other people seen these posts and have a "strategy"? Does a mod have a grasp of what's going on here? After I post this I'm going to "report" it to make sure a mod sees and addresses it. For an example, I was going to post a couple of these, but I now see that they've been deleted, so I guess the mods are getting a heads-up. So, we shoud Report them whenever we see them? Thanks!
__________________
Tony Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro) Tony Long Photos on PBase Wildlife project pics here, Biking Photog shoots here, "Suburbia" project here! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here |
|
|
|
| sponsored links |
|
|
#2 |
|
Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Left Coast in the Land of Fruits and Nuts
Posts: 24,126
|
Please report all that you see. They are spam.
__________________
Canon Pro1 and Colt .380 are always with me. If you don't have it when you need it, you can't shoot it. That which does not kill me ~~ Should Run. كافر 5DMkII, 7D, 70-300L IS, 24-105L, 100-400L "PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED." For Sale: ASUS Netbook |
|
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
....winded
|
OK, Skip will do! I hope a few others will see this and act as well -- it was mysterious to me what this .info site is all about!
__________________
Tony Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro) Tony Long Photos on PBase Wildlife project pics here, Biking Photog shoots here, "Suburbia" project here! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here |
|
|
|
| sponsored links |
|
|
#4 | |
|
The Admin Dane"Nobody is safe!"
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark.
Posts: 20,608
|
Quote:
It is SEO spam.
__________________
Best Regards Tommy My Photos -=- about.me -=- My Facebook, if you add me please send me a pm also GAPS Africa I 2007 photos -=- GAPS Africa II 2008 photos -=- GAPS Africa IV 2011 photos -=- GAPS = Great African Photo Safari My marketplace feedback click here. IMPORTANT: Image posting rules updated - please read. "PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED." |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
ugly when I'm sober
|
I have been seeing and reporting those for a few weeks now, very crafty.
__________________
www.mikegreenphotography.co.uk Gear UK South Easterners flickr Blog 5∞px Quis custodiet ipsos custodes? ::: A closed mouth gathers no foot. |
|
|
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Cokin "P-series" or Z-pro" info | Ingerson"PCD" | Accessories & Storage | 7 | 23rd of January 2012 (Mon) 12:13 |
| Does anyone have info on the BARC "Club Cars" event at Croft on the 28th/29th of May? | DazJW | Motorsports Talk | 5 | 26th of May 2011 (Thu) 15:10 |
| 5D Mark II question-"Camera Set" and "Shoot.func" with "INFO" button | divinemind | Canon EOS Digital Cameras | 0 | 20th of November 2010 (Sat) 19:33 |
| Font size and color for "FREE TEXTUAL INFO" | MikeCaine | EE 2 Styles | 7 | 12th of September 2007 (Wed) 03:09 |
| "OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA" in Free Texttual Info | photocroatia | Version 1.0-1.5 discussion | 0 | 10th of July 2004 (Sat) 01:54 |