Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 13th of April 2012 (Fri)   #1
peta62TM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Default 5D MIII focusing points problem

Hello,
this may be a stupid question, but I cannot find a way to set 5D Mark III focusing point behaviour to act like the original 5D did, it means to indicate focus of individual focusing point red when it is focused. It just blinks black, but even when I have nine focusing points, three on some edge close to me and six well behind it, so only three get focused, but all behave the same. Does anybody know where to set it up ?
Thank you,
Peter
peta62TM is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 13th of April 2012 (Fri)   #2
bobbyz
Cream of the Crop
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 16,492
Default Re: 5D MIII focusing points problem

There is a thread for it already.
__________________
5dmk3, Sigma Art 35mm f1.4, 35L, 85L II, 24-70mm f2.8 II, 70-200mm f2.8 IS II
Fuji XT-1, 23mm f1.4, 35mm f1.4
bobbyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th of April 2012 (Sat)   #3
peta62TM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Default Re: 5D MIII focusing points problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbyz View Post
There is a thread for it already.
I am sorry, I tried to find it then and now, no luck, could you, please, give here a link ?
BTW I called Canon support yesterday morning, they took my phone and email but did not come back yet.
Thank you very much,
Peter
peta62TM is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 14th of April 2012 (Sat)   #4
G-Tus
Member
 
G-Tus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 36
Default Re: 5D MIII focusing points problem

Hit Menu -> AF Menu Tab 5 -> VF Display Illumination. You can set it from Auto to Enable or On, then it will always blink red when it has achieved focus.

Remember that, just like all previous EOS models, it will only blink red in One Shot focussing mode, AI Servo will never blink red.
G-Tus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th of April 2012 (Sat)   #5
Higgs Boson
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,902
Default Re: 5D MIII focusing points problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Tus View Post
Hit Menu -> AF Menu Tab 5 -> VF Display Illumination. You can set it from Auto to Enable or On, then it will always blink red when it has achieved focus.

Remember that, just like all previous EOS models, it will only blink red in One Shot focussing mode, AI Servo will never blink red.
That doesn't solve the issue at hand. It isn't visible in low light unless you achieve focus so what about when you are composing in low light? Where the heck is the AF point?
__________________
A7R | EM-1 | EM-5 | 7.5 | 17 | 21 | 60 | 75 | 12-40 | 70-200G | E640x2 | ABR800 | 580EXII
Higgs Boson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th of April 2012 (Sat)   #6
h4y4sh1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Indonesia
Posts: 150
Default Re: 5D MIII focusing points problem

Here's the link
http://photography-on-the.net/forum/....php?t=1167057
Apparently, there's no way to make it behave like the original 5D
__________________
5DMKIII, 5Dc, 24 f1.4 L MKII, 35 f1.4 L, 50 f1.2 L, 85 f1.2 L MKII, 135 f2 L, 300 f4 L IS, 16-35 f2.8 L, 24-105 f4 L IS, 70-200 f2.8 L IS
100mm f2.8 macro
Flickr

h4y4sh1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th of May 2012 (Sun)   #7
wookiee2cu
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seattle, WA.
Posts: 586
Default Re: 5D MIII focusing points problem

There was a recent interview with Chuck Westfall and this was brought up. Sounds like there may be a firmware update for this in the future http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...v=8EIdV4mAcpo#! I believe it's around the 8 minute mark
wookiee2cu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th of May 2012 (Sun)   #8
pwp3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 7
Default Re: 5D MIII focusing points problem

Here's the really bad news. The 1DX has exactly the same design flaw. Did Canon ask photographers to beta test the 5D3 & 1DX? Whether this was a conscious design decision or a breathtaking oversight I guess we'll never know.

But the firmware fix has to be delivered ASAP.
pwp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of May 2012 (Mon)   #9
rick_reno
Cream of the Crop
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 44,321
Default Re: 5D MIII focusing points problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by pwp3 View Post
Here's the really bad news. The 1DX has exactly the same design flaw. Did Canon ask photographers to beta test the 5D3 & 1DX? Whether this was a conscious design decision or a breathtaking oversight I guess we'll never know.

But the firmware fix has to be delivered ASAP.
you're assuming Canon sees this as a flaw and will do a fix. I'm not sure of that.
rick_reno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of May 2012 (Mon)   #10
sempaidavid
Member
 
sempaidavid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 885
Default Re: 5D MIII focusing points problem

If they think fixing a light leak issue that only effects pictures shot with a lens cap on is cause for a hardware fix, this better be worth a firmware fix.
__________________
5D mkIII, 1D mkIV, Tokina 16-28 f/2.8, EF 24-70L, EF 70-200 f/2.8L II IS, EF 100-400L, EF 85 f/1.8, Sigma 50 f/1.4, EF 24-105

http://www.davidcostaphotography.com
sempaidavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of May 2012 (Mon)   #11
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
 
apersson850's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
Posts: 10,538
Default Re: 5D MIII focusing points problem

The 7D works exactly the same. If you want to, you can configure a button to illuminate the VF info before focusing, so you can see where the points are. I don't know if the same can be done on the 1D X or the 5D Mark III.
__________________
Anders
apersson850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of May 2012 (Mon)   #12
Maverique
Member
 
Maverique's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Portugal
Posts: 833
Default Re: 5D MIII focusing points problem

You mean you want the focus points to light up when they are focusing, blinking like they do in the 5d2 and I imagine the 5dc, right? Can you imagine how hard it would be to see your subject with a lot of focus points all lit up?
__________________
My website | My flickr
Maverique is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of May 2012 (Mon)   #13
elrey2375
Goldmember
 
elrey2375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4,379
Default Re: 5D MIII focusing points problem

I'm on the record as not really seeing what the problem is. You hit the button, lights are up, move them around to wherever you want, boom, you're done.
elrey2375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of May 2012 (Mon)   #14
pwp3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 7
Default Re: 5D MIII focusing points problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by rick_reno View Post
you're assuming Canon sees this as a flaw and will do a fix. I'm not sure of that.
Chuck Westfall from Canon US states in an interview that this is an issue and that they're actively looking at a fix. No timeline on this. Hopefully this is firmware fixable.
pwp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of May 2012 (Mon)   #15
pwp3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 7
Default Re: 5D MIII focusing points problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maverique View Post
You mean you want the focus points to light up when they are focusing, blinking like they do in the 5d2 and I imagine the 5dc, right? Can you imagine how hard it would be to see your subject with a lot of focus points all lit up?
The phenomenon happens in AI Servo mode. No, you definitely don't want the whole 61 point array lighting up...you need to see your selected point to keep it on your moving subject. Just like the 1D4.
pwp3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Focusing points gregb232 Canon EOS Digital Cameras 3 7th of April 2011 (Thu) 04:46
1D MIII Problem with mount Tom Cat Canon EOS Digital Cameras 5 13th of February 2009 (Fri) 12:48
focusing points? sma1mom General Photography Talk 4 10th of April 2008 (Thu) 20:41
5D focusing points off L_foto Canon EOS Digital Cameras 0 1st of April 2008 (Tue) 21:06
300d problem...focusing points very faint baboymo Canon EOS Digital Cameras 7 26th of June 2007 (Tue) 17:25


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.