Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 13 Apr 2012 (Friday) 06:06
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

5D MIII focusing points problem

 
peta62TM
Hatchling
2 posts
Joined Apr 2012
Apr 13, 2012 06:06 |  #1

Hello,
this may be a stupid question, but I cannot find a way to set 5D Mark III focusing point behaviour to act like the original 5D did, it means to indicate focus of individual focusing point red when it is focused. It just blinks black, but even when I have nine focusing points, three on some edge close to me and six well behind it, so only three get focused, but all behave the same. Does anybody know where to set it up ?
Thank you,
Peter




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
bobbyz
Cream of the Crop
17,611 posts
Joined Nov 2007
Bay Area, CA
Apr 13, 2012 08:53 |  #2

There is a thread for it already.


5dmk3, Sigma Art 35mm f1.4, 35L, 85L II, 24-70mm f2.8 II, 70-200mm f2.8 IS II
Fuji XT-1, 14mm f2.8, 23mm f1.4, 35mm f1.4, 56mm f1.2

LOG IN TO REPLY
peta62TM
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
2 posts
Joined Apr 2012
Apr 14, 2012 04:10 |  #3

bobbyz wrote in post #14258745external link
There is a thread for it already.

I am sorry, I tried to find it then and now, no luck, could you, please, give here a link ?
BTW I called Canon support yesterday morning, they took my phone and email but did not come back yet.
Thank you very much,
Peter




LOG IN TO REPLY
G-Tus
Member
G-Tus's Avatar
36 posts
Joined Jun 2010
Apr 14, 2012 04:34 |  #4

Hit Menu -> AF Menu Tab 5 -> VF Display Illumination. You can set it from Auto to Enable or On, then it will always blink red when it has achieved focus.

Remember that, just like all previous EOS models, it will only blink red in One Shot focussing mode, AI Servo will never blink red.




LOG IN TO REPLY
Higgs ­ Boson
Goldmember
1,941 posts
Joined Jan 2011
Texas Hill Country
Apr 14, 2012 05:52 |  #5

G-Tus wrote in post #14263597external link
Hit Menu -> AF Menu Tab 5 -> VF Display Illumination. You can set it from Auto to Enable or On, then it will always blink red when it has achieved focus.

Remember that, just like all previous EOS models, it will only blink red in One Shot focussing mode, AI Servo will never blink red.

That doesn't solve the issue at hand. It isn't visible in low light unless you achieve focus so what about when you are composing in low light? Where the heck is the AF point?


A7RII x2 | 24L | 35 | 55 | 85
EM-1 | 17
E640x2 | ABR800 | 580EXII

LOG IN TO REPLY
h4y4sh1
Member
150 posts
Joined Jan 2007
Indonesia
Apr 14, 2012 06:55 |  #6

Here's the link
http://photography-on-the.net .../showthread.php?t=1​167057
Apparently, there's no way to make it behave like the original 5D


5DMKIII, 5Dc, 24 f1.4 L MKII, 35 f1.4 L, 50 f1.2 L, 85 f1.2 L MKII, 135 f2 L, 300 f4 L IS, 16-35 f2.8 L, 24-105 f4 L IS, 70-200 f2.8 L IS
100mm f2.8 macro
Flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
wookiee2cu
Senior Member
612 posts
Joined Mar 2007
Seattle, WA.
May 06, 2012 23:11 |  #7

There was a recent interview with Chuck Westfall and this was brought up. Sounds like there may be a firmware update for this in the future http://www.youtube.com ...er_embedded&v=8EIdV​4mAcpoexternal link! I believe it's around the 8 minute mark




LOG IN TO REPLY
pwp3
Hatchling
7 posts
Joined Jun 2009
Sydney Australia
May 06, 2012 23:24 as a reply to h4y4sh1's post |  #8

Here's the really bad news. The 1DX has exactly the same design flaw. Did Canon ask photographers to beta test the 5D3 & 1DX? Whether this was a conscious design decision or a breathtaking oversight I guess we'll never know.

But the firmware fix has to be delivered ASAP.




LOG IN TO REPLY
rick_reno
Cream of the Crop
44,578 posts
Joined Dec 2010
May 07, 2012 00:31 |  #9

pwp3 wrote in post #14390923external link
Here's the really bad news. The 1DX has exactly the same design flaw. Did Canon ask photographers to beta test the 5D3 & 1DX? Whether this was a conscious design decision or a breathtaking oversight I guess we'll never know.

But the firmware fix has to be delivered ASAP.

you're assuming Canon sees this as a flaw and will do a fix. I'm not sure of that.




LOG IN TO REPLY
sempaidavid
Senior Member
sempaidavid's Avatar
890 posts
Joined Nov 2006
Fresno CA
May 07, 2012 00:37 |  #10

If they think fixing a light leak issue that only effects pictures shot with a lens cap on is cause for a hardware fix, this better be worth a firmware fix.


5D mkIII, 1D mkIV, Tokina 16-28 f/2.8, EF 24-70L, EF 70-200 f/2.8L II IS, EF 100-400L, EF 85 f/1.8, Sigma 50 f/1.4, EF 24-105
http://www.davidcostap​hotography.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
apersson850's Avatar
11,404 posts
Joined Nov 2007
Traryd, Sweden
May 07, 2012 03:21 as a reply to sempaidavid's post |  #11

The 7D works exactly the same. If you want to, you can configure a button to illuminate the VF info before focusing, so you can see where the points are. I don't know if the same can be done on the 1D X or the 5D Mark III.


Anders

LOG IN TO REPLY
Maverique
Senior Member
Maverique's Avatar
878 posts
Joined Jan 2011
Portugal
May 07, 2012 03:27 |  #12

You mean you want the focus points to light up when they are focusing, blinking like they do in the 5d2 and I imagine the 5dc, right? Can you imagine how hard it would be to see your subject with a lot of focus points all lit up?


My websiteexternal link | My facebookexternal link | My flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
elrey2375
Thinks it's irresponsible
elrey2375's Avatar
4,951 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Nov 2011
May 07, 2012 04:01 |  #13

I'm on the record as not really seeing what the problem is. You hit the button, lights are up, move them around to wherever you want, boom, you're done.


http://emjfotografi.co​m/external link
http://500px.com/EMJFo​tografiexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
pwp3
Hatchling
7 posts
Joined Jun 2009
Sydney Australia
May 07, 2012 07:35 |  #14

rick_reno wrote in post #14391161external link
you're assuming Canon sees this as a flaw and will do a fix. I'm not sure of that.

Chuck Westfall from Canon US states in an interview that this is an issue and that they're actively looking at a fix. No timeline on this. Hopefully this is firmware fixable.




LOG IN TO REPLY
pwp3
Hatchling
7 posts
Joined Jun 2009
Sydney Australia
May 07, 2012 07:38 |  #15

Maverique wrote in post #14391541external link
You mean you want the focus points to light up when they are focusing, blinking like they do in the 5d2 and I imagine the 5dc, right? Can you imagine how hard it would be to see your subject with a lot of focus points all lit up?

The phenomenon happens in AI Servo mode. No, you definitely don't want the whole 61 point array lighting up...you need to see your selected point to keep it on your moving subject. Just like the 1D4.




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

7,859 views & 0 likes for this thread
5D MIII focusing points problem
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.0031 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.03s
Latest registered member is P1E2T3
1153 guests, 607 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016