Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 13 Apr 2012 (Friday) 06:06
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5D MIII focusing points problem

 
peta62TM
Hatchling
2 posts
Joined Apr 2012
     
Apr 13, 2012 06:06 |  #1

Hello,
this may be a stupid question, but I cannot find a way to set 5D Mark III focusing point behaviour to act like the original 5D did, it means to indicate focus of individual focusing point red when it is focused. It just blinks black, but even when I have nine focusing points, three on some edge close to me and six well behind it, so only three get focused, but all behave the same. Does anybody know where to set it up ?
Thank you,
Peter




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
bobbyz
Cream of the Crop
18,776 posts
Likes: 968
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
     
Apr 13, 2012 08:53 |  #2

There is a thread for it already.


5dmk3, 35L, 85L II, 300mm f2.8 IS I, 400mm f5.6
Fuji XT-1, 14mm f2.8, 23mm f1.4, 35mm f1.4, 56mm f1.2, 90mm f2, 50-140mm f2.8

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
peta62TM
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
2 posts
Joined Apr 2012
     
Apr 14, 2012 04:10 |  #3

bobbyz wrote in post #14258745 (external link)
There is a thread for it already.

I am sorry, I tried to find it then and now, no luck, could you, please, give here a link ?
BTW I called Canon support yesterday morning, they took my phone and email but did not come back yet.
Thank you very much,
Peter




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
G-Tus
Member
Avatar
36 posts
Joined Jun 2010
     
Apr 14, 2012 04:34 |  #4

Hit Menu -> AF Menu Tab 5 -> VF Display Illumination. You can set it from Auto to Enable or On, then it will always blink red when it has achieved focus.

Remember that, just like all previous EOS models, it will only blink red in One Shot focussing mode, AI Servo will never blink red.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Higgs ­ Boson
Goldmember
1,953 posts
Likes: 4
Joined Jan 2011
Location: Texas Hill Country
     
Apr 14, 2012 05:52 |  #5

G-Tus wrote in post #14263597 (external link)
Hit Menu -> AF Menu Tab 5 -> VF Display Illumination. You can set it from Auto to Enable or On, then it will always blink red when it has achieved focus.

Remember that, just like all previous EOS models, it will only blink red in One Shot focussing mode, AI Servo will never blink red.

That doesn't solve the issue at hand. It isn't visible in low light unless you achieve focus so what about when you are composing in low light? Where the heck is the AF point?


A9 | A7R3 | 25 | 55 | 85

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
h4y4sh1
Member
150 posts
Likes: 5
Joined Jan 2007
Location: Indonesia
     
Apr 14, 2012 06:55 |  #6

Here's the link
http://photography-on-the.net …/showthread.php​?t=1167057
Apparently, there's no way to make it behave like the original 5D


5DMKIII, 5Dc, 24 f1.4 L MKII, 35 f1.4 L, 50 f1.2 L, 85 f1.2 L MKII, 135 f2 L, 300 f4 L IS, 16-35 f2.8 L, 24-105 f4 L IS, 70-200 f2.8 L IS
100mm f2.8 macro
Flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
wookiee2cu
Senior Member
614 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Mar 2007
Location: Seattle, WA.
     
May 06, 2012 23:11 |  #7

There was a recent interview with Chuck Westfall and this was brought up. Sounds like there may be a firmware update for this in the future http://www.youtube.com …er_embedded&v=8​EIdV4mAcpo (external link)! I believe it's around the 8 minute mark




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
pwp3
Hatchling
7 posts
Joined Jun 2009
Location: Sydney Australia
     
May 06, 2012 23:24 as a reply to  @ h4y4sh1's post |  #8

Here's the really bad news. The 1DX has exactly the same design flaw. Did Canon ask photographers to beta test the 5D3 & 1DX? Whether this was a conscious design decision or a breathtaking oversight I guess we'll never know.

But the firmware fix has to be delivered ASAP.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
rick_reno
Cream of the Crop
44,636 posts
Likes: 124
Joined Dec 2010
     
May 07, 2012 00:31 |  #9

pwp3 wrote in post #14390923 (external link)
Here's the really bad news. The 1DX has exactly the same design flaw. Did Canon ask photographers to beta test the 5D3 & 1DX? Whether this was a conscious design decision or a breathtaking oversight I guess we'll never know.

But the firmware fix has to be delivered ASAP.

you're assuming Canon sees this as a flaw and will do a fix. I'm not sure of that.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sempaidavid
Senior Member
Avatar
890 posts
Joined Nov 2006
Location: Fresno CA
     
May 07, 2012 00:37 |  #10

If they think fixing a light leak issue that only effects pictures shot with a lens cap on is cause for a hardware fix, this better be worth a firmware fix.


5D mkIII, 1D mkIV, Tokina 16-28 f/2.8, EF 24-70L, EF 70-200 f/2.8L II IS, EF 100-400L, EF 85 f/1.8, Sigma 50 f/1.4, EF 24-105
http://www.davidcostap​hotography.com (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
Avatar
11,790 posts
Likes: 197
Joined Nov 2007
Location: Traryd, Sweden
     
May 07, 2012 03:21 as a reply to  @ sempaidavid's post |  #11

The 7D works exactly the same. If you want to, you can configure a button to illuminate the VF info before focusing, so you can see where the points are. I don't know if the same can be done on the 1D X or the 5D Mark III.


Anders

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Maverique
Senior Member
Avatar
880 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Jan 2011
Location: Portugal
     
May 07, 2012 03:27 |  #12

You mean you want the focus points to light up when they are focusing, blinking like they do in the 5d2 and I imagine the 5dc, right? Can you imagine how hard it would be to see your subject with a lot of focus points all lit up?


My website (external link) | My facebook (external link) | My flickr (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
elrey2375
Thinks it's irresponsible
Avatar
4,982 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 270
Joined Nov 2011
     
May 07, 2012 04:01 |  #13

I'm on the record as not really seeing what the problem is. You hit the button, lights are up, move them around to wherever you want, boom, you're done.


http://emjfotografi.co​m/ (external link)
http://500px.com/EMJFo​tografi (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
pwp3
Hatchling
7 posts
Joined Jun 2009
Location: Sydney Australia
     
May 07, 2012 07:35 |  #14

rick_reno wrote in post #14391161 (external link)
you're assuming Canon sees this as a flaw and will do a fix. I'm not sure of that.

Chuck Westfall from Canon US states in an interview that this is an issue and that they're actively looking at a fix. No timeline on this. Hopefully this is firmware fixable.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
pwp3
Hatchling
7 posts
Joined Jun 2009
Location: Sydney Australia
     
May 07, 2012 07:38 |  #15

Maverique wrote in post #14391541 (external link)
You mean you want the focus points to light up when they are focusing, blinking like they do in the 5d2 and I imagine the 5dc, right? Can you imagine how hard it would be to see your subject with a lot of focus points all lit up?

The phenomenon happens in AI Servo mode. No, you definitely don't want the whole 61 point array lighting up...you need to see your selected point to keep it on your moving subject. Just like the 1D4.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

9,045 views & 0 likes for this thread
5D MIII focusing points problem
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.1forum software
version 2.1 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is mashy
737 guests, 396 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.