Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > RAW, Post Processing and Printing
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 14th of April 2012 (Sat)   #1
Josh_30

Default Best aspect ratio for online galleries?

I'm fairly new to selling my images, and I have a question. Since many of the online image galleries (smugmug, etc) allow you to print multiple sizes of photos from a single image, what is the most appropriate aspect ratio to use when cropping photos? It would be nice if 8x10, 4x6, 5x7, etc were all the same aspect ratio, but unfortunately they're not.
Currently, I just crop way too wide, to make up for any differences,but that seems sort of... arbitrary and lends itself to making galleries look a bit unprofessional since they may all be slightly different aspect ratios. I remember reading somewhere that 8x10 is preferred, but I can't remember where or why that was the case.
Thanks!
GEAR LIST 5D Mark III/G11/60D/580EX II/430EX/430EX II/Tokina 10-17/17-35 2.8L/24-70 2.8L/24-105 4L IS/70-200 2.8L IS/EF 50 1.4/EF 85 1.8/TAMRON SP AF 1.4x/TAMRON SP AF 90 2.8 MACRO/Manfrotto 209 & 055XPROB/488RC2/GITZO 1541T/MARKINS Q3T
Josh_30 is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 14th of April 2012 (Sat)   #2
FlyingPhotog
Cream of the "Prop"

Default Re: Best aspect ratio for online galleries?

If you work in Abobe Lightroom, you can create multiple aspect ratios (virtually) from your original and upload them as unique images.

On my Zenfolio-hosted gallery, I simply created price lists that don't offer sizes on images where I know they wouldn't work.
Old 14th of April 2012 (Sat)   #3
tonylong
do I really have to respond?