Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre Nature & Landscapes Talk
Thread started 03 May 2012 (Thursday) 18:34
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

How to create a natural HDR?

 
kaitlyn2004
Goldmember
1,284 posts
Joined Oct 2009
May 03, 2012 18:34 |  #1

I'm looking to use my -3, 0, +3 exposure shots to help bring out some of the shadows and highlights in a few of my shots...

The problem is when I bring it into Photoshop's HDR Pro or Photomatrix, it looks super "fake". How can I get the more natural look, just being able to bring out some of the details?


Canon 5D mark III
Sigma 35 f1.4 | 16-35 f4L IS | 24-105 f4L IS | 100mm f2.8L Macro IS | 580ex II
Feisol 3441T tripod | Arca-Swiss P0 head | Hoya HD CPL | Lee Filters

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
MCAsan
Goldmember
MCAsan's Avatar
3,527 posts
Joined Jun 2010
Atlanta
May 03, 2012 20:03 |  #2

Isn't"natural HDR" an oxymoron? LOL

I tried CS5 HDR and hated it. I use Nik HDR plugin to LR. You can adjust the tone compression and strength plus several other variables. You can go from deep grunge....to an image you would swear has not been touched. I highly recommend the Nik Suite.


Canon EOS 5DIII | 24-105f4L | 17-40f4L | 100-400 f/4.5-5.6L | 100 f2.8L Macro | Canon EOS 7D | Tamron AF 18-270 f/3.5-6.3 Di II VC PZD| Canon Speedlite 580EXII | Gitzo GT-3531S | RRS BH-55 | Lexar 32GB 600x & 1000x CF cards | Lexar USB 3 reader
www.ourimages.netexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Hikin ­ Mike
Walkin' Like a Penguin Now!
Hikin Mike's Avatar
Joined Aug 2005
Atwater, CA
May 03, 2012 20:37 |  #3

kaitlyn2004 wrote in post #14375405external link
I'm looking to use my -3, 0, +3 exposure shots to help bring out some of the shadows and highlights in a few of my shots...

The problem is when I bring it into Photoshop's HDR Pro or Photomatrix, it looks super "fake". How can I get the more natural look, just being able to bring out some of the details?

Hand-blending. I have a short article in my sig below...


Images in the Backcountry (external link) | Facebook (external link) | Google+ (external link) | Twitter (external link)
SEO for the Photographer (external link) | Creating HDRs Using Layer Masks (external link)
Canon 5D 17-40 Ճ/4L 300 Ճ/4L IS 70-200 Ճ/4L 50 Ճ/1.8 1.4x TC Օ Kenko Ext. Tubes

LOG IN TO REPLY
imjason
Goldmember
1,666 posts
Joined Nov 2010
Bay Area, CA
May 03, 2012 20:39 |  #4

check out the natural hdr thread

http://photography-on-the.net .../showthread.php?t=1​142065


Canon gear: EOS M, Canonet QL17, SX230HS, S95, SD1200IS
Non-Canon gear: D600, D5000, D70, XG-2, U20
Flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
PixelMagic
Cream of the Crop
5,546 posts
Joined Nov 2007
Racine, WI
May 03, 2012 21:06 |  #5

You can use luminosity masks in Photoshop to blend several exposures together and increase dynamic range (however, exposure blending is not the same as HDR).

Most of the time though I just use Lightroom with the LR/Enfuse plugin to give really natural looking results with minimal effort: http://www.photographe​rs-toolbox.com/products/l​renfuse.phpexternal link

kaitlyn2004 wrote in post #14375405external link
I'm looking to use my -3, 0, +3 exposure shots to help bring out some of the shadows and highlights in a few of my shots...

The problem is when I bring it into Photoshop's HDR Pro or Photomatrix, it looks super "fake". How can I get the more natural look, just being able to bring out some of the details?


Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
IslandCrow
Senior Member
IslandCrow's Avatar
589 posts
Joined Oct 2008
Rapid City, SD
May 04, 2012 14:40 |  #6

I actually like Photoshop CS5 for more natural looking HDRs. It definitely takes some practice (of which I certainly need more). But this was an HDR composite done with Photoshop where I think I achieved a pretty natural look, so it is possible. . .

IMAGE: http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f368/IslandCrow/Facebook/South%20Dakota%20Autumn/65980_1636970932949_1497010341_1703100_8270777_n.jpg



LOG IN TO REPLY
pophoto
Senior Member
580 posts
Joined Aug 2009
May 04, 2012 15:08 |  #7

I've had a lot of success using just ONE (1) RAW image in Photomatix to create a realistic looking HDR. A little more processing in CS5 - Nik Color Efex Pro adds an element of pop to the images.


Canon 5D Mark II - 24-105mm, 100mm macro, 70-200mm 2.8L
www.dancphotography.co​mexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
socalrailfan
Goldmember
socalrailfan's Avatar
1,475 posts
Joined Jun 2008
Riverside, CA
May 05, 2012 09:06 |  #8

Oloneo does a great job, check out my Flickr photos for examples.


Dave - Riverside, CA PhotographersNature.co​mexternal link
Canon 60D & 40D. Canon 24-105 L, 10-22, 100mmL 50mm 1.4 and 70-300 L lenses.
My photos on Flickrexternal link, my Google Earth/Panoramio photosexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
IslandCrow
Senior Member
IslandCrow's Avatar
589 posts
Joined Oct 2008
Rapid City, SD
May 08, 2012 17:23 |  #9

pophoto wrote in post #14380009external link
I've had a lot of success using just ONE (1) RAW image in Photomatix to create a realistic looking HDR. A little more processing in CS5 - Nik Color Efex Pro adds an element of pop to the images.

Perhaps I'm misunderstanding what you're saying, but if you're just using one image to do an HDR, and you want it to have a natural look, then what's the point? The way I see it, there are two reasons to do HDR. First is to expand your dynamic range. Second (and this is really tone mapping, not HDR) is to get that "HDR" look. Otherwise, wouldn't you just use the original picture and skip the HDR software entirely? Can't get much more natural than that.




LOG IN TO REPLY
socalrailfan
Goldmember
socalrailfan's Avatar
1,475 posts
Joined Jun 2008
Riverside, CA
May 08, 2012 18:15 |  #10

To me using one image is not producing an HDR image. I have used Oloeno and then Topaz Labs to take one image and make it look like an HDR, but it's still not an HDR to me.


Dave - Riverside, CA PhotographersNature.co​mexternal link
Canon 60D & 40D. Canon 24-105 L, 10-22, 100mmL 50mm 1.4 and 70-300 L lenses.
My photos on Flickrexternal link, my Google Earth/Panoramio photosexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
kaitlyn2004
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
1,284 posts
Joined Oct 2009
May 08, 2012 20:53 |  #11

If I layer my exposures in photoshop and then mask away, won't it NOT blend properly? When I have the -3 and +3 sometimes those may not be "properly" exposed for the lowlights and highlights - so I guess I would have to adjust those to retain some of the detail and then mask accordingly?

I find I rarely have the luxury of determining exactly what the +/- range is for a given scene and being able to truly bracket easily for that. 99% of the time its -3/0/+3... :(


Canon 5D mark III
Sigma 35 f1.4 | 16-35 f4L IS | 24-105 f4L IS | 100mm f2.8L Macro IS | 580ex II
Feisol 3441T tripod | Arca-Swiss P0 head | Hoya HD CPL | Lee Filters

LOG IN TO REPLY
Numenorean
Goldmember
4,975 posts
Joined Feb 2011
May 09, 2012 09:52 |  #12

Use filters and just take one shot ;)


Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
gremlin75
Goldmember
gremlin75's Avatar
Joined Feb 2011
Detroit, MI
May 09, 2012 13:18 |  #13

MCAsan wrote in post #14375805external link
I highly recommend the Nik Suite.

Same here. Nik HDR is simple to use and gives you lots of control over the image or you can just chose from one of their presets.

All the Nik plug-in's are amazing.




LOG IN TO REPLY
IslandCrow
Senior Member
IslandCrow's Avatar
589 posts
Joined Oct 2008
Rapid City, SD
May 10, 2012 12:56 |  #14

Numenorean wrote in post #14404479external link
Use filters and just take one shot ;)

What about a picture inside a building with sunlight streaming through the windows and deep shadows in other areas, or a backlit scene in a forest. . .there are plenty of times a GND simply won't allow you to take a single photo that is properly exposed in all areas. HDR programs can be very useful tools. When used correctly, they can accomplish in minutes what would otherwise take hours with manual blending. When used incorrectly, it looks like something out of a cheesy sci-fi movie.




LOG IN TO REPLY
ee_guy
Junior Member
26 posts
Joined Mar 2012
May 18, 2012 12:59 |  #15

I have two sets of defaults i use in photomatix that i think give more natural looking photos. The settings depend on the level of exposure difference and how i feel about them.
My first one:
Exposure Fusion, method: adjust
Accentuation -1.9
Blending point 6.8
Shadows 6.2
Sharpness 5
Color saturation 2.5
White clip 10
black clip 10
midtone -7.2

My second:
Tone Mapping, Details Enhancer
Strength 100
Color Saturation 42
Luminosity 0
Detail contrast 0
Light adjustments -0.9
Smooth highlights 0
White point 0.746%
Black point 0.25%
Gamma 1
Temperature 0

Bear in mind these settings will change slightly with each set of bracketed photos depending on whats going on in the scene. Try these and then play with the sliders, find a nice range and then save off some presets to start from for future photos. If you take a look at my last 5 uploads to flickr you'll see these settings in action. Also bear in mind that no HDR is going to be perfect out of photomatix. You need to trade off close enough to real and then fix the other non-real parts in photoshop. This is often ghosting if things were moving, dark or dirty skys if the sky was relatively white. Blown out areas that will need to be blended away with a stack of the originals. These are just a few of the things that may or may not need to be fixed. Again they are always changing so youll need to decide at what level the photomatix is good enough and fix the rest in post.


Chris
Canon 7D | Canon EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM | Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II | Tamron AF 70-300mm f/4.0-5.6 SP Di VC USD XLD | Flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

4,076 views & 0 likes for this thread
How to create a natural HDR?
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre Nature & Landscapes Talk


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00149 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is jph bilko
853 guests, 600 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016