Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > Talk About Photography > Nature & Landscapes Talk
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 3rd of May 2012 (Thu)   #1
kaitlyn2004
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 951
Default How to create a natural HDR?

I'm looking to use my -3, 0, +3 exposure shots to help bring out some of the shadows and highlights in a few of my shots...

The problem is when I bring it into Photoshop's HDR Pro or Photomatrix, it looks super "fake". How can I get the more natural look, just being able to bring out some of the details?
__________________
KMcLachlan on 500px
Canon 5D mark III
Sigma 35 f1.4 | 24-105 f4L IS | 100mm f2.8L Macro IS | 580ex II
Manfrotto 190CXPRO4 tripod | Manfrotto 498RC2 head | Hoya HD CPL | B+W ND110
kaitlyn2004 is online now   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 3rd of May 2012 (Thu)   #2
MCAsan
Goldmember
 
MCAsan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 3,527
Default Re: How to create a natural HDR?

Isn't"natural HDR" an oxymoron? LOL

I tried CS5 HDR and hated it. I use Nik HDR plugin to LR. You can adjust the tone compression and strength plus several other variables. You can go from deep grunge....to an image you would swear has not been touched. I highly recommend the Nik Suite.
__________________
Canon EOS 5DIII | 24-105f4L | 17-40f4L | 100-400 f/4.5-5.6L | 100 f2.8L Macro | Canon EOS 7D | Tamron AF 18-270 f/3.5-6.3 Di II VC PZD| Canon Speedlite 580EXII | Gitzo GT-3531S | RRS BH-55 | Lexar 32GB 600x & 1000x CF cards | Lexar USB 3 reader

www.ourimages.net
MCAsan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of May 2012 (Thu)   #3
Hikin Mike
Walkin' Like a Penguin Now!
 
Hikin Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Atwater, CA
Posts: 6,124
Default Re: How to create a natural HDR?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaitlyn2004 View Post
I'm looking to use my -3, 0, +3 exposure shots to help bring out some of the shadows and highlights in a few of my shots...

The problem is when I bring it into Photoshop's HDR Pro or Photomatrix, it looks super "fake". How can I get the more natural look, just being able to bring out some of the details?
Hand-blending. I have a short article in my sig below...
__________________
Images in the Backcountry | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter
SEO for the Photographer | Creating HDRs Using Layer Masks
Canon 5D 17-40 /4L 300 /4L IS 70-200 /4L 50 /1.8 1.4x TC Kenko Ext. Tubes
Hikin Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 3rd of May 2012 (Thu)   #4
imjason
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 1,661
Default Re: How to create a natural HDR?

check out the natural hdr thread

http://photography-on-the.net/forum/....php?t=1142065
__________________
Canon gear: EOS M, Canonet QL17, SX230HS, S95, SD1200IS
Non-Canon gear: D600, D5000, D70, XG-2, U20
Flickr
imjason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of May 2012 (Thu)   #5
PixelMagic
Cream of the Crop
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Racine, WI
Posts: 5,526
Default Re: How to create a natural HDR?

You can use luminosity masks in Photoshop to blend several exposures together and increase dynamic range (however, exposure blending is not the same as HDR).

Most of the time though I just use Lightroom with the LR/Enfuse plugin to give really natural looking results with minimal effort: http://www.photographers-toolbox.com...s/lrenfuse.php


Quote:
Originally Posted by kaitlyn2004 View Post
I'm looking to use my -3, 0, +3 exposure shots to help bring out some of the shadows and highlights in a few of my shots...

The problem is when I bring it into Photoshop's HDR Pro or Photomatrix, it looks super "fake". How can I get the more natural look, just being able to bring out some of the details?
__________________
Gear List
PixelMagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th of May 2012 (Fri)   #6
IslandCrow
Member
 
IslandCrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Rapid City, SD
Posts: 589
Default Re: How to create a natural HDR?

I actually like Photoshop CS5 for more natural looking HDRs. It definitely takes some practice (of which I certainly need more). But this was an HDR composite done with Photoshop where I think I achieved a pretty natural look, so it is possible. . .

IslandCrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th of May 2012 (Fri)   #7
pophoto
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 574
Default Re: How to create a natural HDR?

I've had a lot of success using just ONE (1) RAW image in Photomatix to create a realistic looking HDR. A little more processing in CS5 - Nik Color Efex Pro adds an element of pop to the images.
pophoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th of May 2012 (Sat)   #8
socalrailfan
Senior Member
 
socalrailfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 1,452
Default Re: How to create a natural HDR?

Oloneo does a great job, check out my Flickr photos for examples.
__________________
Dave - Riverside, CA PhotographersNature.com
Canon 60D & 40D. Canon 24-105 L, 10-22, 100mmL 50mm 1.4 and 70-300 L lenses.
My photos on Flickr, my Google Earth/Panoramio photos
socalrailfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th of May 2012 (Tue)   #9
IslandCrow
Member
 
IslandCrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Rapid City, SD
Posts: 589
Default Re: How to create a natural HDR?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pophoto View Post
I've had a lot of success using just ONE (1) RAW image in Photomatix to create a realistic looking HDR. A little more processing in CS5 - Nik Color Efex Pro adds an element of pop to the images.
Perhaps I'm misunderstanding what you're saying, but if you're just using one image to do an HDR, and you want it to have a natural look, then what's the point? The way I see it, there are two reasons to do HDR. First is to expand your dynamic range. Second (and this is really tone mapping, not HDR) is to get that "HDR" look. Otherwise, wouldn't you just use the original picture and skip the HDR software entirely? Can't get much more natural than that.
IslandCrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th of May 2012 (Tue)   #10
socalrailfan
Senior Member
 
socalrailfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 1,452
Default Re: How to create a natural HDR?

To me using one image is not producing an HDR image. I have used Oloeno and then Topaz Labs to take one image and make it look like an HDR, but it's still not an HDR to me.
__________________
Dave - Riverside, CA PhotographersNature.com
Canon 60D & 40D. Canon 24-105 L, 10-22, 100mmL 50mm 1.4 and 70-300 L lenses.
My photos on Flickr, my Google Earth/Panoramio photos
socalrailfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th of May 2012 (Tue)   #11
kaitlyn2004
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 951
Default Re: How to create a natural HDR?

If I layer my exposures in photoshop and then mask away, won't it NOT blend properly? When I have the -3 and +3 sometimes those may not be "properly" exposed for the lowlights and highlights - so I guess I would have to adjust those to retain some of the detail and then mask accordingly?

I find I rarely have the luxury of determining exactly what the +/- range is for a given scene and being able to truly bracket easily for that. 99% of the time its -3/0/+3...
__________________
KMcLachlan on 500px
Canon 5D mark III
Sigma 35 f1.4 | 24-105 f4L IS | 100mm f2.8L Macro IS | 580ex II
Manfrotto 190CXPRO4 tripod | Manfrotto 498RC2 head | Hoya HD CPL | B+W ND110
kaitlyn2004 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 9th of May 2012 (Wed)   #12
Numenorean
Goldmember
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4,728
Default Re: How to create a natural HDR?

Use filters and just take one shot
__________________
Gear List
Numenorean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th of May 2012 (Wed)   #13
gremlin75
Senior Member
 
gremlin75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 1,960
Default Re: How to create a natural HDR?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MCAsan View Post
I highly recommend the Nik Suite.
Same here. Nik HDR is simple to use and gives you lots of control over the image or you can just chose from one of their presets.

All the Nik plug-in's are amazing.
gremlin75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th of May 2012 (Thu)   #14
IslandCrow
Member
 
IslandCrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Rapid City, SD
Posts: 589
Default Re: How to create a natural HDR?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Numenorean View Post
Use filters and just take one shot
What about a picture inside a building with sunlight streaming through the windows and deep shadows in other areas, or a backlit scene in a forest. . .there are plenty of times a GND simply won't allow you to take a single photo that is properly exposed in all areas. HDR programs can be very useful tools. When used correctly, they can accomplish in minutes what would otherwise take hours with manual blending. When used incorrectly, it looks like something out of a cheesy sci-fi movie.
IslandCrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th of May 2012 (Fri)   #15
ee_guy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 26
Default Re: How to create a natural HDR?

I have two sets of defaults i use in photomatix that i think give more natural looking photos. The settings depend on the level of exposure difference and how i feel about them.
My first one:
Exposure Fusion, method: adjust
Accentuation -1.9
Blending point 6.8
Shadows 6.2
Sharpness 5
Color saturation 2.5
White clip 10
black clip 10
midtone -7.2

My second:
Tone Mapping, Details Enhancer
Strength 100
Color Saturation 42
Luminosity 0
Detail contrast 0
Light adjustments -0.9
Smooth highlights 0
White point 0.746%
Black point 0.25%
Gamma 1
Temperature 0

Bear in mind these settings will change slightly with each set of bracketed photos depending on whats going on in the scene. Try these and then play with the sliders, find a nice range and then save off some presets to start from for future photos. If you take a look at my last 5 uploads to flickr you'll see these settings in action. Also bear in mind that no HDR is going to be perfect out of photomatix. You need to trade off close enough to real and then fix the other non-real parts in photoshop. This is often ghosting if things were moving, dark or dirty skys if the sky was relatively white. Blown out areas that will need to be blended away with a stack of the originals. These are just a few of the things that may or may not need to be fixed. Again they are always changing so youll need to decide at what level the photomatix is good enough and fix the rest in post.
__________________
Chris
Canon 7D | Canon EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM | Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II | Tamron AF 70-300mm f/4.0-5.6 SP Di VC USD XLD | Flickr

Last edited by ee_guy : 18th of May 2012 (Fri) at 13:02.
ee_guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I create this? synapxe RAW, Post Processing and Printing 16 22nd of September 2010 (Wed) 00:26
Old Create hondafans Nature & Landscapes 0 20th of September 2010 (Mon) 12:36
Light. Natural vs natural vs flash LordV Macro 8 17th of June 2007 (Sun) 13:43
how do I create.... guitarboy RAW, Post Processing and Printing 2 23rd of September 2006 (Sat) 21:28
can you create a CD of only 4X6's? rayray The Business of Photography 10 31st of May 2006 (Wed) 16:22


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 21:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.