Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre Macro Talk
Thread started 31 May 2012 (Thursday) 21:30
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Extension Tubes and Fstop

 
ottem16
Member
34 posts
Joined Nov 2011
May 31, 2012 21:30 |  #1

Hello, I just received extension tubes and have been playing with them but I know I have to set the fstop on the lens before adding the tubes but I'm not sure how to do this. I have searched all over and can't find it.

My setup is a Canon T2i with a 50mm 1.8 lens.

Thank you in advance!




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Paul ­ Bailey
Senior Member
266 posts
Joined May 2012
Cheshire
Jun 01, 2012 04:10 |  #2

i also wondered how to do this and as far as i can tell after a little research you start with the camera and lens conencted normally (no Tubes) set the fstop in the camera settings then power off the camera remove the lens still set to whatever fstop you chose and fit the tubes then attach lens as no power reaches the lens so the fstop remains set i will try this method when my camera returns from hospital as its sick at the moment and i fear canon is performing major sergery on it..


Canon EOS 550D 18-55mm isII kit lens
Canon EF 75-300mm 1:4-5:6 III USM
Extention Tubes
+1,+2,+4,+10 Closeup Filters
Prior Planning And Preperation Prevents Poor Performance..:D

LOG IN TO REPLY
IanClark
Goldmember
2,501 posts
Joined Apr 2012
Liverpool
Jun 01, 2012 05:21 |  #3

Yup, agree with Paul above. I also believe the trick is to set your Aperture with a regular lens attached to the camera.
Leaving the camera powered ON, disconnect your lens, attach your extension tubes and lens and you should be good.

I don't think there should be an issue with regards to the disconnecting and connecting of lenses with the camera on but I would take the normal precautions. Don't do it in the rain or dusty/windy environments.


Ian Clark
My Gallery on Smugmugexternal link
Kit List

LOG IN TO REPLY
Guari
Member
200 posts
Joined May 2012
Jun 01, 2012 05:23 |  #4

IanClark wrote in post #14515214external link
I don't think there should be an issue with regards to the disconnecting and connecting of lenses with the camera on but I would take the normal precautions. Don't do it in the rain or dusty/windy environments.

Only problem is that disconnecting with the camera off, that means there is static on the surface of the sensor and dust will cling much more easily..


My blogexternal link
My FB pageexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
LordV
Macro Photo-Lord of the Year 2006
LordV's Avatar
58,911 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Joined Oct 2005
Worthing UK
Jun 01, 2012 05:35 |  #5

Just to clarify and assuming you have non communicating extension tubes, you do need the lens directly on the camera- set the aperture you want in say Av mode, press the DOF preview button and remove the lens whilst keeping the button depressed. The lens will keep the set aperture until it is connected normally again.
Brian v.


http://www.flickr.com/​photos/lordv/ (external link)
http://www.lordv.smugm​ug.com/ (external link)
Macro Hints and tips
Canon 600D, 40D, 5D mk2, 7D, Tamron 90mm macro, Sigma 105mm OS, Canon MPE-65,18-55 kit lens X2, canon 200mm F2.8 L, Tamron 28-70mm xrdi, Other assorted bits

LOG IN TO REPLY
IanClark
Goldmember
2,501 posts
Joined Apr 2012
Liverpool
Jun 01, 2012 07:18 |  #6

Ahh well spotted Brian. I'd forgotten about the ADEP button.


Ian Clark
My Gallery on Smugmugexternal link
Kit List

LOG IN TO REPLY
orionmystery
Cream of the Crop
orionmystery's Avatar
11,996 posts
Joined Apr 2008
Malaysia
Jun 01, 2012 08:24 |  #7

I tried this with my Tamron 17-50mm, holding down the DOF preview button and releasing the lens. The aperture blades jammed and I had to send the lens in for repair.


Kurt, 70D/40D, Laowa 15mm, 60mm F2/270EX, MP-E65/MT-24EX for full flash (external link), Sigma 150 +1.4x TC for natural light (external link).
Plan a macro/herping trip with us:
Borneo Herp Tour Nov 2017 (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
Lester ­ Wareham
Moderator
Lester Wareham's Avatar
Joined Jul 2005
Hampshire, UK
Jun 01, 2012 11:46 |  #8

I'll move this to talk about.

To be honest I would pay a little more for tubes with electronic connections in.


My Photography Home Page (external link) RSS Feed (external link)
Gear List
FAQ on UV and Clear Protective Filters
Macrophotography by LordV

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

1,623 views & 0 likes for this thread
Extension Tubes and Fstop
FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre Macro Talk


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00076 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is surf75
823 guests, 348 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016