Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Small Flash and Studio Lighting
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 29th of June 2012 (Fri)   #1
cvc7chris
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Roanoke, va
Posts: 17
Default Using a Canon ML-3 Macrolighit Flash

i got a Canon T2i and i just got a 50mm 1.8 for starters. i also just won a Canon macrolite 3 and i was wondering if i'll need an adapter or anything? if $47 bucks a good deal for a ML-3?

mine is just like this.


Update: i recieved it today and when i try to use all the pictures are way too over exposed. i can't figure out how to turn the flash down a little bit, ugh i still haven't read the manual.
cvc7chris is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 30th of June 2012 (Sat)   #2
tim
Light Bringer
 
tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 49,357
Default Re: Using a Canon ML-3 Macrolighit Flash

I don't have a clue about the flash. If it has an ETTL mode, try it. If not, try to work out how to manually set the power. Manual flash is easy enough, so long as you're not in a hurry. Pretty much just set your exposure, take a shot, adjust flash power to achieve desired result.
tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th of November 2012 (Mon)   #3
fire_rescue
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 126
Default Re: Using a Canon ML-3 Macrolighit Flash

There are not manual settings if I remember right (on the flash itself), so the only way to use the ML-series of ring flashes is to use all manual on the body, and like tim said... adjust as necessary.
fire_rescue is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 29th of December 2012 (Sat)   #4
KingRoach
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 165
Default Re: Using a Canon ML-3 Macrolighit Flash

Hello. I have that exact same flash, and I love it, but it will only fire at full power. There is no solution to that.

Even if you use the fastest shutter possible, the smallest aperture possible, and the lowest ISO possible, you would still get overexposed pictures. Yes, it is that powerful.

Some people have come up with ways to power it down, like simply covering half of each of the xenon tubes with black tape and adding another paper layer to diffuse the remaining light. This halves the amount of light and I guess still works even though I haven't tried it yet.

My solution has been to use a variable ND filter to stop down the light. It's a very tricky and annoying process because you would then not really see what you're focusing at unless its a fixed object.

Enjoy.
KingRoach is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ExpoImaging Ray Flash Ring Flash Adapter for Canon 580EX II Review jason324 Small Flash and Studio Lighting 17 27th of August 2011 (Sat) 17:59
Mecablitz 58AF-1 Flash (Canon fit) or CANON 580EX AF SPEEDLIGHT FLASH gibralphotar Small Flash and Studio Lighting 3 17th of May 2007 (Thu) 11:55


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.