Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 3rd of July 2012 (Tue)   #1
swldstn
Member
 
swldstn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 878
Default Back button focus question on 5D Mark III

On the 5D Mark Iii it's real easy to set the main button to do only exposure but there does not appear to be away to change the AF-On or AE (*) to focus only like older models. You can set them to Exposure & Focus but not to Focus only like the ones that required using the CF IV menu.

Am I missing something?
__________________
Steve Waldstein
------------------
Love to Shoot - a Digital SLR is my weapon of choice
Gear List
swldstn is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 3rd of July 2012 (Tue)   #2
John from PA
Goldmember
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 4,303
Default Re: Back button focus question on 5D Mark III

You might want to go to the thread below (which I started), then jump on over to the on-line tutorials that Canon has prepared on the 5DIII. One of the topics cover back button focusing and may be of help in setting up the camera.

http://photography-on-the.net/forum/...ight=tutorials
John from PA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd of July 2012 (Tue)   #3
amfoto1
Cream of the Crop
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 9,822
Default Re: Back button focus question on 5D Mark III

Are you wanting to reverse the way the buttons function or wanting it to not start metering (and IS)?

If just wanting to swap AF-On and AE Lock (*) button functions...

Yes, you are missing something. Custom Function IV - 2: AF-On/AE Lock button switch. Set to Option 1: Enable. That swaps the function of the two buttons.

If wanting the back button to only do focus, then no...

When you have Back Button Focus set up on the 5DII, the back button you choose to use will also start metering (and IS on lenses that have it). A half-press of the shutter release button also starts metering (and IS). Only focus start/focus run is moved to the back button exclusively.

I really can't think of any situation where this would be a problem. Maybe if you told us what you want to do or what problem you are having, we might have a solution.
amfoto1 is online now   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 3rd of July 2012 (Tue)   #4
swldstn
Member
 
swldstn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 878
Default Re: Back button focus question on 5D Mark III

It appears to me that on my 1D Mark IV custom function CF IV-1 gives you

2: Metering start / Meter + AF start

I mistakenly thought it was. Meter start / AF Start so I guess the 5D Mark III sets up identically. My error.
__________________
Steve Waldstein
------------------
Love to Shoot - a Digital SLR is my weapon of choice
Gear List
swldstn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Back button focus on a 5D Mark II Marcodo Canon EOS Digital Cameras 24 12th of May 2013 (Sun) 18:36
Using back button focus question L.Morey Canon EOS Digital Cameras 5 25th of June 2012 (Mon) 23:03
Back button focus on my Mark iv does not work Travelingman Canon EOS Digital Cameras 10 15th of August 2011 (Mon) 09:33
Please Help!!! Back Button Focus on the Mark III 1D Pipernails Canon EOS Digital Cameras 2 16th of April 2010 (Fri) 17:37
a question about back button focus... stitchbug Canon EOS Digital Cameras 2 24th of January 2010 (Sun) 17:39


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 13:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.