Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 05 Jul 2012 (Thursday) 04:14
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Help!!! Err 30 code on my new 1100d

 
Steve ­ GT
Hatchling
1 post
Joined Jul 2012
     
Jul 05, 2012 04:14 |  #1

Hi guys in need of a bit of help*

Had my Canon eos 1100d for a week now. It's been working totally fine up until yesterday in which were getting an err 30 message on the screen after we take a picture. If you click the take picture button with this message displayed it dissapeares to let you take another picture but then happens again when another picture is taken. It won't let you take continuous shots just one at a time followed by an err30 message

The whole message says the following
" shooting is not possible due to an error. Turn the camera off an on again or reinstall the battery"

We did what it said and still nothing

If this helps when these problems started we had the lens that came with it which was a canon efs 18-55mm and we put a 18month old 4gb San disk HC SD card in it.*

We've since bought a new Sd card which is a much better San disk extreme 8gb 30mb/s 200x read write hd card but still with this new ad card the err 30 code still appears

Anyone got any ideas please. Thanks a lot

Steve




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
Midaso
Member
Avatar
53 posts
Joined Apr 2009
Location: Netherlands
     
Jul 05, 2012 06:24 |  #2

Error 30 would indicate something's wrong with the shutter.
Did you buy this new? If so, i'd suggest you exchange it.
You could also try to reset it, by taking the battery out, and the small lithium battery, which can also be found inside the battery compartment.
Leave them out for half an hour or so, put both batteries back in, and see if that helps.

Let us know if this helps ok? Good luck!




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
watt100
Cream of the Crop
14,021 posts
Likes: 29
Joined Jun 2008
     
Jul 05, 2012 11:56 |  #3

Steve GT wrote in post #14672647 (external link)
Hi guys in need of a bit of help*

Had my Canon eos 1100d for a week now. It's been working totally fine up until yesterday in which were getting an err 30 message on the screen after we take a picture. If you click the take picture button with this message displayed it dissapeares to let you take another picture but then happens again when another picture is taken. It won't let you take continuous shots just one at a time followed by an err30 message

The whole message says the following
" shooting is not possible due to an error. Turn the camera off an on again or reinstall the battery"

We did what it said and still nothing

If this helps when these problems started we had the lens that came with it which was a canon efs 18-55mm and we put a 18month old 4gb San disk HC SD card in it.*

We've since bought a new Sd card which is a much better San disk extreme 8gb 30mb/s 200x read write hd card but still with this new ad card the err 30 code still appears

Anyone got any ideas please. Thanks a lot

Steve

if you have tried the battery change, lens contacts, etc. then take it back, a new camera should not have error messages !




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
yasasMx
Hatchling
1 post
Joined Oct 2012
     
Oct 21, 2012 10:06 |  #4

Steve GT wrote in post #14672647 (external link)
Hi guys in need of a bit of help*

Had my Canon eos 1100d for a week now. It's been working totally fine up until yesterday in which were getting an err 30 message on the screen after we take a picture. If you click the take picture button with this message displayed it dissapeares to let you take another picture but then happens again when another picture is taken. It won't let you take continuous shots just one at a time followed by an err30 message

The whole message says the following
" shooting is not possible due to an error. Turn the camera off an on again or reinstall the battery"

We did what it said and still nothing

If this helps when these problems started we had the lens that came with it which was a canon efs 18-55mm and we put a 18month old 4gb San disk HC SD card in it.*

We've since bought a new Sd card which is a much better San disk extreme 8gb 30mb/s 200x read write hd card but still with this new ad card the err 30 code still appears

Anyone got any ideas please. Thanks a lot

Steve

I have this same exact error (err 30) coming up on my 1100D also.
But in my case it's bit different.


1. I get this error in any mode
2. However, Even though the error raised, if i turn off the camera and
turn it on again i can see the captured image is there.
3. Only thing is i cannot review the image as soon as i capture it,
it just show me the error. But the image is actually saved in the SD card.

4. After clicking the photo (get the error),
then i need to press half way down the capture button and
after that if i hit the play button to review the image. it's there.

So my point is can't this be a firmware bug ?? instead of a shutter issue ?
because the image is actually captured :mad::mad:

Please help some one




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Yogi ­ Bear
Goldmember
1,492 posts
Likes: 3
Joined Feb 2009
Location: League City, TX USA (Houston)
     
Oct 21, 2012 16:08 as a reply to  @ yasasMx's post |  #5

From the explanation for Error #30, it appears that there is a shutter malfunction: http://www.learn.usa.c​anon.com …2012/eos_error_​msgs.shtml (external link)

"Err 30: Shutter malfunction
Unlike Error 20, this one does point to some sort of problem with the shutter… it could be either a mechanical problem, or some sort of electronic communication error."

I can't think of a DIY solution for this so, it looks like you need to send the camera in to Canon for service.

Is the camera still under warranty? Where do you live?

Yogi


Canon EOS 7D | EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM | EF-S 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 IS |
EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS USM | 250D | EF-S 10-22 mm f/3.5-4.5 USM | 580 EX II |

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Billy_Hollywood
Hatchling
1 post
Joined Oct 2012
     
Oct 22, 2012 13:08 as a reply to  @ Yogi Bear's post |  #6

Hello all,

I just purchased a new T3 and it has that problem with "Err 30". The guy I purchased it from got it to work for a little while so I bought it. Then it would not work anymore after a few days. So I did much research and came across this sight. I found a repair shop in Glendale California that will fix this problem with a new shutter. They charge 168.00 dollars which is better than the 300.00 dollars that Canon charges. If you want the information on this repair, send me an e-mail. Thanks. I now think that this is a recall item for Canon. Canon should fix it for free on new cameras. I have XTi's that I have roller bladed hundreds of miles across Los Angeles with. Dropped them repeatedly and they still keep on working. I cannot afford to buy the professional models.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
rrblint
Listen! .... do you smell something?
Avatar
20,484 posts
Gallery: 38 photos
Best ofs: 2
Likes: 1420
Joined May 2012
Location: U.S.A.
     
Oct 22, 2012 14:04 as a reply to  @ Billy_Hollywood's post |  #7

Sounds like an epidemic of ERR 30 here...I wonder what's up?


Mark

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
nuni82
Hatchling
1 post
Joined Feb 2013
     
Feb 04, 2013 11:20 as a reply to  @ rrblint's post |  #8

I have this error too. I bought my camera in September 2012 and my camera started showing this code on late October. I was on vacation in early November and the camera started working normally again (must've been the magic of being in Disney World...) but then went back to this error again.
I called Canon and they said I have to send my camera in to get repaired. I wonder if it's really a recall. I'd love to get the t3i or even T4i! :cool: Hopefully I can have my camera back soon.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mwsilver
Goldmember
3,670 posts
Gallery: 17 photos
Likes: 306
Joined Oct 2011
Location: Central New Jersey
     
Feb 04, 2013 12:50 |  #9

Billy_Hollywood wrote in post #15154683 (external link)
Hello all,

I just purchased a new T3 and it has that problem with "Err 30". The guy I purchased it from got it to work for a little while so I bought it. Then it would not work anymore after a few days. So I did much research and came across this sight. I found a repair shop in Glendale California that will fix this problem with a new shutter. They charge 168.00 dollars which is better than the 300.00 dollars that Canon charges. If you want the information on this repair, send me an e-mail. Thanks. I now think that this is a recall item for Canon. Canon should fix it for free on new cameras. I have XTi's that I have roller bladed hundreds of miles across Los Angeles with. Dropped them repeatedly and they still keep on working. I cannot afford to buy the professional models.

You indicate it new, but i suspect you mean new for you. If you bought it privately and have no warranty I would go back to the seller and ask for a refund. Not exactly sure what "The guy I purchased it from got it to work for a little while so I bought it." means. If there was a problem but he was able to work around it, you probably never should have bought the camera in the first place, but in any case if you've only owned it for a few days you should demand a refund and not spend a dime on repairs.


Mark
Canon 7D2, 60D, T3i, T2i, Sigma 18-35 f/1.8, 30 f/1.4. Canon EF 70-200 L f/4 IS, EF 35 f/2 IS, EFs 10-18 STM, EFs 15-85, EFs 18-200, EF 50 f/1.8 STM, Tamron 18-270 PZD, B+W MRC CPL, Canon 320EX, Vanguard Alta Pro 254CT & SBH 250 head. RODE Stereo Videomic Pro, DXO PhotoLab, Elements 15

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
mwsilver
Goldmember
3,670 posts
Gallery: 17 photos
Likes: 306
Joined Oct 2011
Location: Central New Jersey
     
Feb 04, 2013 12:53 |  #10

nuni82 wrote in post #15570935 (external link)
I have this error too. I bought my camera in September 2012 and my camera started showing this code on late October. I was on vacation in early November and the camera started working normally again (must've been the magic of being in Disney World...) but then went back to this error again.
I called Canon and they said I have to send my camera in to get repaired. I wonder if it's really a recall. I'd love to get the t3i or even T4i! :cool: Hopefully I can have my camera back soon.

Luckily for those that purchased it from an authorized dealer the cost for repair will be covered except perhaps for the shipping.


Mark
Canon 7D2, 60D, T3i, T2i, Sigma 18-35 f/1.8, 30 f/1.4. Canon EF 70-200 L f/4 IS, EF 35 f/2 IS, EFs 10-18 STM, EFs 15-85, EFs 18-200, EF 50 f/1.8 STM, Tamron 18-270 PZD, B+W MRC CPL, Canon 320EX, Vanguard Alta Pro 254CT & SBH 250 head. RODE Stereo Videomic Pro, DXO PhotoLab, Elements 15

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

30,616 views & 0 likes for this thread
Help!!! Err 30 code on my new 1100d
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.0forum software
version 2.0 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is fishesman
696 guests, 414 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.