Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > RAW, Post Processing and Printing
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 17th of July 2012 (Tue)   #1
amorrison
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 167
Default Transfer to Photoshop greyed out - and fix

Well, I had this problem after upgrading to CS6 and removing CS4. Internet searches will find lots of threads on this but none worked until I tried this. Most registry edits deal with putting values that point to application paths. Mine were already there, and it still didn't work. Reinstalling DPP didn't work. Rebooting didn't work. However, the registry entry that "activates" this option in DPP is below:

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{6DECC242-87EF-11cf-86B4-444553540000}

apparently this is what DPP uses, and by adding the key "ProgID" and for CS6 the value "Photoshop.Application.60" the transfer to photoshop option is activated (at least on my machine) and works. On mine, the CLSID entry was there, but no ProgID key.

Also, here is the URL I found the most helpful figuring this out:

http://digitol.free.fr/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=22

As always, with registry edits, proceed at your own risk.

Good luck!!

- Art
amorrison is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 18th of July 2012 (Wed)   #2
tonylong
....winded
 
tonylong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
Posts: 50,060
Default Re: Transfer to Photoshop greyed out - and fix

I'd advise against using the DPP Transfer to Photoshop function because it creates a "tiff" file buried in your temp files and does not remove it. Do a Convert and Save, and open it in Bridge until Canon "fixes" this!
__________________
Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase
Wildlife project pics here, Biking Photog shoots here, "Suburbia" project here! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here
tonylong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th of July 2012 (Wed)   #3
Lowner
"I'm the original idiot"
 
Lowner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Salisbury, UK.
Posts: 12,526
Default Re: Transfer to Photoshop greyed out - and fix

Tony,

Again, many thanks for info I did not know!

However I religeously run CCleaner once a day and it cleans out all my temp files. I always do what you are suggesting the OP does not do, so if I did not tidy up behind me I can only imagine the mess there would be. Some days there is as much as 200 mb of junk.
__________________
Richard

http://rcb4344.zenfolio.com
Lowner is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 18th of July 2012 (Wed)   #4
René Damkot
Moderator
 
René Damkot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: enschede, netherlands
Posts: 39,850
Default Re: Transfer to Photoshop greyed out - and fix

Bigger problem (IMO) that the filename of the Raw file doesn't transfer, but instead becomes something random like "DPP07DC07120C1746.TIF", which is pretty useless.
__________________
"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams

Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.

MySpace
Get Colormanaged
Twitter

PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
René Damkot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th of July 2012 (Wed)   #5
Lowner
"I'm the original idiot"
 
Lowner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Salisbury, UK.
Posts: 12,526
Default Re: Transfer to Photoshop greyed out - and fix

Rene,

Mine does not. I get exactly the same file name in Photoshop that I did in DPP, which then becomes its standard record ident in my filing system.
__________________
Richard

http://rcb4344.zenfolio.com
Lowner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th of July 2012 (Wed)   #6
amorrison
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 167
Default Re: Transfer to Photoshop greyed out - and fix

Hmmm, I never thought about the temp files collecting. I just looked at my PStemp file directory and there is only one entry there from today. There must be some built-in automatic cleanup going on then because I don't run any cleaners. I use 64bit Win7. They are in Users\Art\AppData\Roaming\Canon\Genzo\PStemp on my machine. It is a pain to navigate to the directory I need from there when I "save-as" though.
amorrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th of July 2012 (Wed)   #7
René Damkot
Moderator
 
René Damkot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: enschede, netherlands
Posts: 39,850
Default Re: Transfer to Photoshop greyed out - and fix

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lowner View Post
Rene,

Mine does not. I get exactly the same file name in Photoshop that I did in DPP, which then becomes its standard record ident in my filing system.
Hmmm. Must be an OSX thing then…

Anyway, it's the reason I use (Batch) convert & save.
__________________
"I think the idea of art kills creativity" - Douglas Adams

Why Color Management.
Color Problems? Click here.

MySpace
Get Colormanaged
Twitter

PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
René Damkot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th of July 2012 (Wed)   #8
tonylong
....winded
 
tonylong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
Posts: 50,060
Default Re: Transfer to Photoshop greyed out - and fix

Quote:
Originally Posted by René Damkot View Post
Bigger problem (IMO) that the filename of the Raw file doesn't transfer, but instead becomes something random like "DPP07DC07120C1746.TIF", which is pretty useless.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lowner View Post
Rene,

Mine does not. I get exactly the same file name in Photoshop that I did in DPP, which then becomes its standard record ident in my filing system.
Quote:
Originally Posted by amorrison View Post
Hmmm, I never thought about the temp files collecting. I just looked at my PStemp file directory and there is only one entry there from today. There must be some built-in automatic cleanup going on then because I don't run any cleaners. I use 64bit Win7. They are in Users\Art\AppData\Roaming\Canon\Genzo\PStemp on my machine. It is a pain to navigate to the directory I need from there when I "save-as" though.
I think the misunderstanding is about the "temp" file. If I recall correctly it does have an "odd" name. Also, it doesn't get stored in a "normal" temp directory, but I don't recall the specific spot where it gets placed.

I'd recommend searching your hard drive for ".tif" files after doing a "transfer to Photoshop" and you should find one that matches the time of your transfer. Delete it (DPP won't do it for you), and then don't use that function!

Hopefully Canon will fix that in a new version, but as far as I know it hasn't happened yet...
__________________
Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase
Wildlife project pics here, Biking Photog shoots here, "Suburbia" project here! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here
tonylong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th of July 2012 (Wed)   #9
tonylong
....winded
 
tonylong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
Posts: 50,060
Default Re: Transfer to Photoshop greyed out - and fix

OK, *DATA UPDATE*!!

I did the deed -- I used the Tranfer to Photoshop Tool, then did a search of my "system" drive for "*.tif". The "not temp" file did show up in a bizarre place.

For my Win7x64, the path is:

C:\Users\[your user name]\AppData\Roaming\Canon\Genzo\PStemp\[some garbled folder name]\

That's the path, again for Win7x64. The actual file name matched the original "base" file name, just with the .tif extension.

If you have another OS, your results will vary, but I would definitely encourage you to check this out! Those tiffs can gobble up disk space!
__________________
Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase
Wildlife project pics here, Biking Photog shoots here, "Suburbia" project here! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here
tonylong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th of July 2012 (Wed)   #10
amorrison
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 167
Default Re: Transfer to Photoshop greyed out - and fix

When I looked through the PStemp directory in my system I did find one .psd file I had accidentally saved there several months ago but that was the only one that was not deleted by some automated cleanup process. Apparently (on my system anyway) it only deletes the .tif files created in the transfer process. I use that transfer function all the time for single file edits and have never deleted a .tif file in that temporary space.
amorrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th of July 2012 (Wed)   #11
tonylong
....winded
 
tonylong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
Posts: 50,060
Default Re: Transfer to Photoshop greyed out - and fix

Quote:
Originally Posted by amorrison View Post
When I looked through the PStemp directory in my system I did find one .psd file I had accidentally saved there several months ago but that was the only one that was not deleted by some automated cleanup process. Apparently (on my system anyway) it only deletes the .tif files created in the transfer process. I use that transfer function all the time for single file edits and have never deleted a .tif file in that temporary space.
Well, that's odd, because others who have checked have found the tif files. I don't know what you may have that differs...

What OS are you using?
__________________
Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase
Wildlife project pics here, Biking Photog shoots here, "Suburbia" project here! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here
tonylong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of July 2012 (Thu)   #12
amorrison
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 167
Default Re: Transfer to Photoshop greyed out - and fix

I am using Windows 7 64bit. I went through a session and tracked what DPP did in the PStemp file. Every time I transferred a file to photoshop it created a directory with a long alpha name like a registry key. Each transfer temp file was put in its own ong named directory. I did not modify the temp files in any way - I always do a save-as and put the edited version somewhere else. I then exited PS, and exited DPP. The PStemp files were still there. I started another session of DPP, and looked at PStemp and they were gone. So, on my system DPP cleans up the temp files when it starts up.
amorrison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of July 2012 (Thu)   #13
Lowner
"I'm the original idiot"
 
Lowner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Salisbury, UK.
Posts: 12,526
Default Re: Transfer to Photoshop greyed out - and fix

Quote:
Originally Posted by amorrison View Post
I am using Windows 7 64bit. I went through a session and tracked what DPP did in the PStemp file. Every time I transferred a file to photoshop it created a directory with a long alpha name like a registry key. Each transfer temp file was put in its own ong named directory. I did not modify the temp files in any way - I always do a save-as and put the edited version somewhere else. I then exited PS, and exited DPP. The PStemp files were still there. I started another session of DPP, and looked at PStemp and they were gone. So, on my system DPP cleans up the temp files when it starts up.
That sounds as though thats what my (Win7 - home) does. So its not my using CCleaner, its tidying up after itself! Good for DPP.
__________________
Richard

http://rcb4344.zenfolio.com
Lowner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of July 2012 (Thu)   #14
tonylong
....winded
 
tonylong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
Posts: 50,060
Default Re: Transfer to Photoshop greyed out - and fix

So you have to close and re-start DPP to do the "cleanup"? OK, new info!
__________________
Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase
Wildlife project pics here, Biking Photog shoots here, "Suburbia" project here! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here
tonylong is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DPP > Transfer to Photoshop ?? Delija RAW, Post Processing and Printing 14 24th of March 2011 (Thu) 14:58
DPP - Transfer to photoshop. ReubenH RAW, Post Processing and Printing 9 5th of December 2010 (Sun) 04:41
Transfer to Photoshop in DPP greyed out bohdank RAW, Post Processing and Printing 21 4th of October 2010 (Mon) 08:18
Transfer to Photoshop (DPP) davidfig RAW, Post Processing and Printing 4 27th of September 2006 (Wed) 19:53
Transfer to photoshop from DPP bshamilton RAW, Post Processing and Printing 3 19th of August 2006 (Sat) 23:08


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.