Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting
Thread started 23 Jul 2012 (Monday) 08:15
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Speedlite 90EX

 
ettsn
Senior Member
ettsn's Avatar
293 posts
Joined Dec 2011
Atlanta, GA
Jul 23, 2012 08:15 |  #1

So this looks interesting. Apparently, it can operate as a Master. I know it was designed for the new mirrorless, but might be a nice option instead of the ST-E2 for 1D/5D owners? It's only $150, can act as Master and still offer fill flash if needed. I wonder how much total control you will have over the flash via on-camera menus?

http://www.bhphotovide​o.com ..._for_Canon.html/kbi​d/3296external link




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
rang
Goldmember
1,638 posts
Joined Jan 2007
Jul 23, 2012 09:58 |  #2

Geez…why the _ell didn't they make this head at least tiltable of not tillable and swivalable??? Instead you can use it as a headlight with Master ability. Lovely.


Lotsa stuff, running outta room and a wife...I keep looking at her and wondering??? :lol:

LOG IN TO REPLY
botw
Goldmember
botw's Avatar
1,145 posts
Joined Feb 2009
Potomac, MD
Jul 23, 2012 11:53 |  #3

Swivel would have been nice. But it's the "pop up flash" for the M. It will likely contribute very little to exposure in master mode.


www.gc5photography.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Tommydigi
Cream of the Crop
Tommydigi's Avatar
Joined May 2010
Chicago
Jul 23, 2012 11:54 |  #4

Why this over a 270Ex2? I assume either works on the M?


Website (external link) | Flickr (external link)
Canon 5DII/7DII/G15 • 24LII • 50L • 100L • 135L • 40 STM • 24-70L F4 IS • 100-400 L II

LOG IN TO REPLY
msowsun
Cream of the Crop
msowsun's Avatar
Joined Jul 2007
Oakville Ont. Canada
Jul 23, 2012 12:24 |  #5

Tommydigi wrote in post #14757127external link
Why this over a 270Ex2? I assume either works on the M?

One reason is that the 90EX can act as master while the 270EX II can not.


Mike Sowsun / S110 / SL1 / EF-S 24mm STM / EF-S 10-18mm STM / EF-S 18-55mm STM / EF-S 18-135mm STM / EF-S 55-250mm STM
5D3 / Samyang 14mm 2.8 / EF 40mm 2.8 STM / EF 50mm 1.8 STM / EF 100mm 2.0 USM / EF 100mm 2.8 USM Macro / EF 24-105mm IS /
EF 70-200mm 2.8L IS Mk II / EF 1.4x II
Full Current and Previously Owned Gear List over 40 years Flickr Photostream (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
agv8or
Goldmember
agv8or's Avatar
1,855 posts
Joined Oct 2006
Midwest
Jul 23, 2012 14:13 |  #6

Now Canon just needs to add "Wireless RT" Slave capabilities and they would have a nice little flash for macro and other uses.


Rand

Gear

LOG IN TO REPLY
lefturn99
Senior Member
lefturn99's Avatar
820 posts
Joined Feb 2005
Tulsa Oklahoma USA
Jul 23, 2012 14:36 as a reply to agv8or's post |  #7

I wondered the same thing. But it says it will control canon speedlites wirelessly. Wirelessly as in infared or wirelessly as in RF?


6D, 5D Mk III, 60D, EOS M, Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
msowsun
Cream of the Crop
msowsun's Avatar
Joined Jul 2007
Oakville Ont. Canada
Jul 23, 2012 14:38 |  #8

lefturn99 wrote in post #14758008external link
I wondered the same thing. But it says it will control canon speedlites wirelessly. Wirelessly as in infared or wirelessly as in RF?

Wireless means no wires. The Canon 90EX actually uses coded visible light signals, so it isn't really Infrared or RF.

Canon has just added a new RF capable system as well, but it is expensive and not built-in to the camera bodies.


Mike Sowsun / S110 / SL1 / EF-S 24mm STM / EF-S 10-18mm STM / EF-S 18-55mm STM / EF-S 18-135mm STM / EF-S 55-250mm STM
5D3 / Samyang 14mm 2.8 / EF 40mm 2.8 STM / EF 50mm 1.8 STM / EF 100mm 2.0 USM / EF 100mm 2.8 USM Macro / EF 24-105mm IS /
EF 70-200mm 2.8L IS Mk II / EF 1.4x II
Full Current and Previously Owned Gear List over 40 years Flickr Photostream (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
krb
Cream of the Crop
krb's Avatar
8,818 posts
Joined Jun 2008
Where southern efficiency and northern charm come together
Jul 23, 2012 14:48 |  #9

msowsun wrote in post #14758015external link
Wireless means no wires. Canon actually used coded visible light signals, so it isn't really Infrared or RF.

You are mistaken.

Flash based controllers like the 580 or the controller built into the 7D use the normal flash bulb so there is visible light being emitted but the flashes being controlled are only able to see the IR portion of the light from these flashes. Just take a look at the ST-E2 controller which has a filter over the bulb so it only emits IR light, not visible light.

Furthermore, Canon's most recent flash and controller, both of which were announced at the same time as the 5D mkIII, are radio based so lefturn99 has a valid question.


-- Ken
Comment and critique is always appreciated!
Flickrexternal link
Gear list

LOG IN TO REPLY
gonzogolf
dumb remark memorialized
28,854 posts
Joined Dec 2006
Jul 23, 2012 14:49 |  #10

ettsn wrote in post #14756020external link
So this looks interesting. Apparently, it can operate as a Master. I know it was designed for the new mirrorless, but might be a nice option instead of the ST-E2 for 1D/5D owners? It's only $150, can act as Master and still offer fill flash if needed. I wonder how much total control you will have over the flash via on-camera menus?

http://www.bhphotovide​o.com ..._for_Canon.html/kbi​d/3296external link

None on the 5D as it doesnt have any in camera flash control menu.




LOG IN TO REPLY
krb
Cream of the Crop
krb's Avatar
8,818 posts
Joined Jun 2008
Where southern efficiency and northern charm come together
Jul 23, 2012 14:54 |  #11

lefturn99 wrote in post #14758008external link
Wirelessly as in infared or wirelessly as in RF?

According to the listing on B&H, it is "Wireless Master Function (Optical)"


-- Ken
Comment and critique is always appreciated!
Flickrexternal link
Gear list

LOG IN TO REPLY
krb
Cream of the Crop
krb's Avatar
8,818 posts
Joined Jun 2008
Where southern efficiency and northern charm come together
Jul 23, 2012 14:58 |  #12

botw wrote in post #14757118external link
But it's the "pop up flash" for the M. It will likely contribute very little to exposure in master mode.

If I am reading this correctly, it is much less powerful than a pop-up flash. The 7D pop-up flash offers coverage to 15mm and has a guide number of 39' feet while this thing has a guide number of 30' and offers 24mm coverage.


-- Ken
Comment and critique is always appreciated!
Flickrexternal link
Gear list

LOG IN TO REPLY
dedsen
Goldmember
dedsen's Avatar
2,580 posts
Joined Aug 2006
Jul 23, 2012 15:46 |  #13

krb wrote in post #14758073external link
You are mistaken.

Flash based controllers like the 580 or the controller built into the 7D use the normal flash bulb so there is visible light being emitted but the flashes being controlled are only able to see the IR portion of the light from these flashes. Just take a look at the ST-E2 controller which has a filter over the bulb so it only emits IR light, not visible light.

Furthermore, Canon's most recent flash and controller, both of which were announced at the same time as the 5D mkIII, are radio based so lefturn99 has a valid question.

I never have understood why some self proclaimed expert always wants to show up and have a pissing contest over the exact frequency of light that is used for Canons optical based system. Canon even states near IR light. What difference does it make? Isn't it close enough just to go with light based vs RF based? It never fails though, just start a thread on this subject and someone will come running and and tell everyone that they are WRONG.



LOG IN TO REPLY
botw
Goldmember
botw's Avatar
1,145 posts
Joined Feb 2009
Potomac, MD
Jul 23, 2012 16:44 |  #14

Now that canon is making the pop up flash a commander, I'd like to see an inexpensive way to add that capability to the 5d2 etc. this might be it if supported in the menu system. Knowing Canon, it won't be.


www.gc5photography.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
krb
Cream of the Crop
krb's Avatar
8,818 posts
Joined Jun 2008
Where southern efficiency and northern charm come together
Jul 23, 2012 17:01 |  #15

botw wrote in post #14758647external link
Now that canon is making the pop up flash a commander, I'd like to see an inexpensive way to add that capability to the 5d2 etc. this might be it if supported in the menu system. Knowing Canon, it won't be.

That's what this 90EX seems to be, except for that "inexpensive" thing.


-- Ken
Comment and critique is always appreciated!
Flickrexternal link
Gear list

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

6,672 views & 0 likes for this thread
Speedlite 90EX
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00312 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.03s
Latest registered member is rheffington
727 guests, 607 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016