Index  •   • New Posts  •   • RTAT  •   • "Best Of"  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New Posts  •   • RTAT  •   • "Best Of"  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting
Thread started 30 Jul 2012 (Monday) 16:44
PREV/NEXT

Yongnuo YN-622C Controller Trigger

 
spitfirejd
Goldmember
spitfirejd's Avatar
1,337 posts

Joined Dec 2006

Hampton, Virginia
MORE INFO

Has anyone had any problems mounting flashes with these in softboxes? I have a Cheetahstand SpeedPro bracket and QBox and since I have 430EXII flashes, I can't use the PC cord option.

Sep 10, 2012 16:32

JD
Canon 7D, Digital Rebel XTi
Canon 100mm f2.8 Macro / 24-105 f4 L IS / 300 f4 L IS / Extender 1.4x II / Tamron 17-50 f2.8 / Canon 430EX & 430EX II

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
CliveyBoy
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
CliveyBoy's Avatar
3,025 posts

Joined Nov 2005

Tauranga, NZ
MORE INFO

spitfirejd wrote in post #14973293external link
Has anyone had any problems mounting flashes with these in softboxes? I have a Cheetahstand SpeedPro bracket and QBox and since I have 430EXII flashes, I can't use the PC cord option.

No problems, but I did need to slightly modify my brackets. All my mounts were 1/4-20 screws. I bought some Frio coldshoes as adapters between the screws and the hot-shoe. They are brilliant - safe, slimline but add just over a half-inch thickness to the assembly. I would not use a clamp-type cold shoe, for safety reasons.

I use two 430EXIIs on 622 triggers in the parabolic softbox.

Sep 10, 2012 17:55

Clive, and Great G/D Abbie
50D; 580EXII, 430EXII, 550EX, YN568EX; YN-622C controllers TOYUG v4.11 YN622 User Guideexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
spitfirejd
Goldmember
spitfirejd's Avatar
1,337 posts

Joined Dec 2006

Hampton, Virginia
MORE INFO

Thanks, Clive. I had to look those Frio coldshoes up. Small and cheap as chips. Hard to beat.

Sep 10, 2012 18:15

JD
Canon 7D, Digital Rebel XTi
Canon 100mm f2.8 Macro / 24-105 f4 L IS / 300 f4 L IS / Extender 1.4x II / Tamron 17-50 f2.8 / Canon 430EX & 430EX II

LOG IN TO REPLY
CliveyBoy
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
CliveyBoy's Avatar
3,025 posts

Joined Nov 2005

Tauranga, NZ
MORE INFO

Here's the rig:

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos.

An L-bracket to lie flashes close to umbrella axis. Made double-duty by strap at back and a padded one underneath heads. Easy switch access on both 622 and 430. No need to see LCD displays - its all in the camera.

Frios allow access to 622 batttery compartment without dismounting.

Sep 10, 2012 19:02

Clive, and Great G/D Abbie
50D; 580EXII, 430EXII, 550EX, YN568EX; YN-622C controllers TOYUG v4.11 YN622 User Guideexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
ShotByTom
Goldmember
ShotByTom's Avatar
2,657 posts

Joined Aug 2005

Indianapolis
MORE INFO

I'll be trying out this bracket when I get my triggers and other flash, not sure if/how this would work with a softbox:

http://www.paramountco​rds.com/proddetail.asp​?prod=DSUB-2CSexternal link

Sep 10, 2012 20:05

Gear
Websiteexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
CliveyBoy
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
CliveyBoy's Avatar
3,025 posts

Joined Nov 2005

Tauranga, NZ
MORE INFO

lianggc wrote in post #14971571external link
Yeah, you need to set the group combination using [TEST] + [GP SET].

Ah! The Test and the single-pin camera are doing essentially the same job, so the Test instructions also apply to the Type C camera. Clever.

Sep 10, 2012 21:52

Clive, and Great G/D Abbie
50D; 580EXII, 430EXII, 550EX, YN568EX; YN-622C controllers TOYUG v4.11 YN622 User Guideexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Trailboy
Senior Member
479 posts
Joined Jan 2009
MORE INFO

spitfirejd wrote in post #14973692external link
Thanks, Clive. I had to look those Frio coldshoes up. Small and cheap as chips. Hard to beat.

Cheap as chips? Want some fish with your chips?

http://www.ebay.co.uk ...ain_0&hash=item20ca​dffb2fexternal link

BTW, I wouldn't go to www.friocoldshoe.comexternal link unless you have other problems at the mo. ;)

Sep 11, 2012 04:27



LOG IN TO REPLY
CliveyBoy
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
CliveyBoy's Avatar
3,025 posts

Joined Nov 2005

Tauranga, NZ
MORE INFO

I bought genuine Frios from the maker,
http://www.enlightphot​opro.com/external link

They turned up, a hemisphere away, in less than 48 hours. They supplied from this country's distributor. 3 for US$40.

Sep 11, 2012 14:51

Clive, and Great G/D Abbie
50D; 580EXII, 430EXII, 550EX, YN568EX; YN-622C controllers TOYUG v4.11 YN622 User Guideexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
spitfirejd
Goldmember
spitfirejd's Avatar
1,337 posts

Joined Dec 2006

Hampton, Virginia
MORE INFO

Trailboy wrote in post #14975663external link
Cheap as chips? Want some fish with your chips?

http://www.ebay.co.uk ...ain_0&hash=item20ca​dffb2fexternal link

BTW, I wouldn't go to www.friocoldshoe.comexternal link unless you have other problems at the mo. ;)

What's wrong with the Frio coldshoes? I try to avoid buying things off eBay, too many crooks there. B&H has the Frio coldshoes, that's where I looked them up. Unless there is a problem with them, I'd rather spend an extra $5 or whatever and get them from a place I know and trust.

Sep 11, 2012 15:47

JD
Canon 7D, Digital Rebel XTi
Canon 100mm f2.8 Macro / 24-105 f4 L IS / 300 f4 L IS / Extender 1.4x II / Tamron 17-50 f2.8 / Canon 430EX & 430EX II

LOG IN TO REPLY
Trailboy
Senior Member
479 posts
Joined Jan 2009
MORE INFO

Nothing at all.

Some users of the frio prefer the fish design, as in the comments below, even though they are three times cheaper.

http://www.lightingrum​ours.com ...-a-fish-shaped-rival-2377external link

Sep 11, 2012 15:59



LOG IN TO REPLY
JJD.Photography
Goldmember
1,340 posts
Joined Apr 2005

Savannah, Georgia - USA
MORE INFO

How many 622c's?

I just placed an order for a pair of the 622C's. Will I need another 622C to add a second OCF?

The setup will be 50D w/ 580EXII & YN-565EX.

Thanks for any info :cool:

Sep 12, 2012 03:22 as a reply to Trailboy's post 11 hours earlier.

His And Her Photographsexternal link
flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
hbomb69
Member
hbomb69's Avatar
225 posts

Joined Jan 2007

Lancashire, UK
MORE INFO

JJD.Photography wrote in post #14980202external link
I just placed an order for a pair of the 622C's. Will I need another 622C to add a second OCF?

The setup will be 50D w/ 580EXII & YN-565EX.

Thanks for any info :cool:

Yes, There is 2 transivers in the box, so you would need another set to add a second OCF

Each of the transivers can act as a transmitter or a receiver, Think of it as you will now have the option to use the 4th unit for another flash, or a secondary transmitter...:)

Mike

Sep 12, 2012 03:33

CANON 5D MKIII x 2 / CANON 50D / CANON 550D
http://www.michaelhard​castle.co.ukexternal link
Facebook.com/michaelha​rdcastlephotography

LOG IN TO REPLY
Stealther
Member
184 posts
Joined Jan 2012

California
MORE INFO

Or you could just order 3 instead of 4 :)

Oh, they are on sale now too --Link to their Facebook post with discount codes--external link

Sep 12, 2012 06:45

Chris
Canon 5DMk2 | Canon 10-22 | Canon 17-40 4.0 | Canon 50 1.8 | Canon 70-200 2.8 II | Canon 600EX-RT | Manfrotto 055XPROB | Manfrotto 468MG | RRS B2LRII
My Feedback

LOG IN TO REPLY
mdaddyrabbit
Goldmember
mdaddyrabbit's Avatar
1,639 posts
GALLERY: 1 photo
Joined Mar 2005

North Carolina
MORE INFO

With no lighting equipment experience at all, I would like to know if I buy this http://www.bhphotovide​o.com ...ek_4_0_Monolight_an​d.htmlexternal link

and the YN-622C's using a Canon 60D will this work? If so how would the YN-622C connect to the light? Would I need to order other equipment or wiring for this to be successful?

Sep 12, 2012 07:32 as a reply to spitfirejd's post 1 day earlier.

Websiteexternal link

CANON

LOG IN TO REPLY
ShotByTom
Goldmember
ShotByTom's Avatar
2,657 posts

Joined Aug 2005

Indianapolis
MORE INFO

mdaddyrabbit wrote in post #14980566external link
With no lighting equipment experience at all, I would like to know if I buy this http://www.bhphotovide​o.com ...ek_4_0_Monolight_an​d.htmlexternal link

and the YN-622C's using a Canon 60D will this work? If so how would the YN-622C connect to the light? Would I need to order other equipment or wiring for this to be successful?

You would have to connect it using a pc sync cord. There is a pc port on the back of that light, so it would likely work with the 622's, just not in ETTL.

Sep 12, 2012 08:32

Gear
Websiteexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY

438,244 views & 0 likes for this thread
Yongnuo YN-622C Controller Trigger
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting

NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO THE FORUMS
Registered members get all the features: search, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, own reviews...




SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF    •   JUMP TO FORUM    •   FORUM RULES    •   Index    •   New Posts    •   RTAT    •   "Best Of"    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality. We do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browsers' data storage methods.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.1version 1.1
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00119 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is dcottle1
887 guests, 868 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014