LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


Yongnuo YN-622C Controller Trigger

FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting
Thread started 30 Jul 2012 (Monday) 16:44   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
spitfirejd
Goldmember
spitfirejd's Avatar
Joined Dec 2006
1,337 posts
Hampton, Virginia
[MORE/SHARE]

Has anyone had any problems mounting flashes with these in softboxes? I have a Cheetahstand SpeedPro bracket and QBox and since I have 430EXII flashes, I can't use the PC cord option.

Post #376, Sep 10, 2012 16:32:28


JD
Canon 7D, Digital Rebel XTi
Canon 100mm f2.8 Macro / 24-105 f4 L IS / 300 f4 L IS / Extender 1.4x II / Tamron 17-50 f2.8 / Canon 430EX & 430EX II

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
CliveyBoy
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
CliveyBoy's Avatar
Joined Nov 2005
2,950 posts
Tauranga, NZ
[MORE/SHARE]

spitfirejd wrote in post #14973293external link
Has anyone had any problems mounting flashes with these in softboxes? I have a Cheetahstand SpeedPro bracket and QBox and since I have 430EXII flashes, I can't use the PC cord option.

No problems, but I did need to slightly modify my brackets. All my mounts were 1/4-20 screws. I bought some Frio coldshoes as adapters between the screws and the hot-shoe. They are brilliant - safe, slimline but add just over a half-inch thickness to the assembly. I would not use a clamp-type cold shoe, for safety reasons.

I use two 430EXIIs on 622 triggers in the parabolic softbox.

Post #377, Sep 10, 2012 17:55:33


Clive, and Great G/D Abbie
50D; 580EXII, 430EXII, 550EX, YN568EX; YN-622C controllers
TOYUG v4.09 YN622 Guide https://docs.google.co​m ...7OmmGIg0gMVFpqNkpBY​XBHajAexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
spitfirejd
Goldmember
spitfirejd's Avatar
Joined Dec 2006
1,337 posts
Hampton, Virginia
[MORE/SHARE]

Thanks, Clive. I had to look those Frio coldshoes up. Small and cheap as chips. Hard to beat.

Post #378, Sep 10, 2012 18:15:42


JD
Canon 7D, Digital Rebel XTi
Canon 100mm f2.8 Macro / 24-105 f4 L IS / 300 f4 L IS / Extender 1.4x II / Tamron 17-50 f2.8 / Canon 430EX & 430EX II

LOG IN TO REPLY
CliveyBoy
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
CliveyBoy's Avatar
Joined Nov 2005
2,950 posts
Tauranga, NZ
[MORE/SHARE]

Here's the rig:

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos.

An L-bracket to lie flashes close to umbrella axis. Made double-duty by strap at back and a padded one underneath heads. Easy switch access on both 622 and 430. No need to see LCD displays - its all in the camera.

Frios allow access to 622 batttery compartment without dismounting.

Post #379, Sep 10, 2012 19:02:07


Clive, and Great G/D Abbie
50D; 580EXII, 430EXII, 550EX, YN568EX; YN-622C controllers
TOYUG v4.09 YN622 Guide https://docs.google.co​m ...7OmmGIg0gMVFpqNkpBY​XBHajAexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
ShotByTom
Goldmember
ShotByTom's Avatar
Joined Aug 2005
2,650 posts
Indianapolis
[MORE/SHARE]

I'll be trying out this bracket when I get my triggers and other flash, not sure if/how this would work with a softbox:

http://www.paramountco​rds.com/proddetail.asp​?prod=DSUB-2CSexternal link

Post #380, Sep 10, 2012 20:05:02


Gear
Websiteexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
CliveyBoy
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
CliveyBoy's Avatar
Joined Nov 2005
2,950 posts
Tauranga, NZ
[MORE/SHARE]

lianggc wrote in post #14971571external link
Yeah, you need to set the group combination using [TEST] + [GP SET].

Ah! The Test and the single-pin camera are doing essentially the same job, so the Test instructions also apply to the Type C camera. Clever.

Post #381, Sep 10, 2012 21:52:15


Clive, and Great G/D Abbie
50D; 580EXII, 430EXII, 550EX, YN568EX; YN-622C controllers
TOYUG v4.09 YN622 Guide https://docs.google.co​m ...7OmmGIg0gMVFpqNkpBY​XBHajAexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Trailboy
Senior Member
Joined Jan 2009
471 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

spitfirejd wrote in post #14973692external link
Thanks, Clive. I had to look those Frio coldshoes up. Small and cheap as chips. Hard to beat.

Cheap as chips? Want some fish with your chips?

http://www.ebay.co.uk ...ain_0&hash=item20ca​dffb2fexternal link

BTW, I wouldn't go to www.friocoldshoe.comexternal link unless you have other problems at the mo. ;)

Post #382, Sep 11, 2012 04:27:05




LOG IN TO REPLY
CliveyBoy
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
CliveyBoy's Avatar
Joined Nov 2005
2,950 posts
Tauranga, NZ
[MORE/SHARE]

I bought genuine Frios from the maker,
http://www.enlightphot​opro.com/external link

They turned up, a hemisphere away, in less than 48 hours. They supplied from this country's distributor. 3 for US$40.

Post #383, Sep 11, 2012 14:51:50


Clive, and Great G/D Abbie
50D; 580EXII, 430EXII, 550EX, YN568EX; YN-622C controllers
TOYUG v4.09 YN622 Guide https://docs.google.co​m ...7OmmGIg0gMVFpqNkpBY​XBHajAexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
spitfirejd
Goldmember
spitfirejd's Avatar
Joined Dec 2006
1,337 posts
Hampton, Virginia
[MORE/SHARE]

Trailboy wrote in post #14975663external link
Cheap as chips? Want some fish with your chips?

http://www.ebay.co.uk ...ain_0&hash=item20ca​dffb2fexternal link

BTW, I wouldn't go to www.friocoldshoe.comexternal link unless you have other problems at the mo. ;)

What's wrong with the Frio coldshoes? I try to avoid buying things off eBay, too many crooks there. B&H has the Frio coldshoes, that's where I looked them up. Unless there is a problem with them, I'd rather spend an extra $5 or whatever and get them from a place I know and trust.

Post #384, Sep 11, 2012 15:47:16


JD
Canon 7D, Digital Rebel XTi
Canon 100mm f2.8 Macro / 24-105 f4 L IS / 300 f4 L IS / Extender 1.4x II / Tamron 17-50 f2.8 / Canon 430EX & 430EX II

LOG IN TO REPLY
Trailboy
Senior Member
Joined Jan 2009
471 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Nothing at all.

Some users of the frio prefer the fish design, as in the comments below, even though they are three times cheaper.

http://www.lightingrum​ours.com ...-a-fish-shaped-rival-2377external link

Post #385, Sep 11, 2012 15:59:28




LOG IN TO REPLY
JJD.Photography
Goldmember
Joined Apr 2005
1,295 posts
In the dark, setting up for a sunrise shot!
[MORE/SHARE]

How many 622c's?

I just placed an order for a pair of the 622C's. Will I need another 622C to add a second OCF?

The setup will be 50D w/ 580EXII & YN-565EX.

Thanks for any info :cool:

Post #386, Sep 12, 2012 03:22:28 as a reply to Trailboy's post 11 hours earlier.


Flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
hbomb69
Senior Member
hbomb69's Avatar
Joined Jan 2007
205 posts
Lancashire, UK
[MORE/SHARE]

JJD.Photography wrote in post #14980202external link
I just placed an order for a pair of the 622C's. Will I need another 622C to add a second OCF?

The setup will be 50D w/ 580EXII & YN-565EX.

Thanks for any info :cool:

Yes, There is 2 transivers in the box, so you would need another set to add a second OCF

Each of the transivers can act as a transmitter or a receiver, Think of it as you will now have the option to use the 4th unit for another flash, or a secondary transmitter...:)

Mike

Post #387, Sep 12, 2012 03:33:10


CANON 5D MKIII x 2 / CANON 50D / CANON 550D
www.michaelhardcastle.​co.ukexternal link
www.facebook.com/micha​elhardcastlephotograph​y

LOG IN TO REPLY
Stealther
Senior Member
Joined Jan 2012
184 posts
California
[MORE/SHARE]

Or you could just order 3 instead of 4 :)

Oh, they are on sale now too --Link to their Facebook post with discount codes--external link

Post #388, Sep 12, 2012 06:45:22


Chris
Canon 5DMk2 | Canon 10-22 | Canon 17-40 4.0 | Canon 50 1.8 | Canon 70-200 2.8 II | Canon 600EX-RT | Manfrotto 055XPROB | Manfrotto 468MG | RRS B2LRII
My Feedback

LOG IN TO REPLY
mdaddyrabbit
Goldmember
mdaddyrabbit's Avatar
Joined Mar 2005
1,624 posts
North Carolina
[MORE/SHARE]

With no lighting equipment experience at all, I would like to know if I buy this http://www.bhphotovide​o.com ...ek_4_0_Monolight_an​d.htmlexternal link

and the YN-622C's using a Canon 60D will this work? If so how would the YN-622C connect to the light? Would I need to order other equipment or wiring for this to be successful?

Post #389, Sep 12, 2012 07:32:44 as a reply to spitfirejd's post 1 day earlier.


Websiteexternal link

CANON

LOG IN TO REPLY
ShotByTom
Goldmember
ShotByTom's Avatar
Joined Aug 2005
2,650 posts
Indianapolis
[MORE/SHARE]

mdaddyrabbit wrote in post #14980566external link
With no lighting equipment experience at all, I would like to know if I buy this http://www.bhphotovide​o.com ...ek_4_0_Monolight_an​d.htmlexternal link

and the YN-622C's using a Canon 60D will this work? If so how would the YN-622C connect to the light? Would I need to order other equipment or wiring for this to be successful?

You would have to connect it using a pc sync cord. There is a pc port on the back of that light, so it would likely work with the 622's, just not in ETTL.

Post #390, Sep 12, 2012 08:32:24


Gear
Websiteexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
412,088 views & 0 likes for this thread
Yongnuo YN-622C Controller Trigger
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00138 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
1133 guests, 805 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is Maikuuni

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.