Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting
Thread started 30 Jul 2012 (Monday) 16:44
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Yongnuo YN-622C Controller Trigger

 
spitfirejd
Goldmember
spitfirejd's Avatar
1,347 posts
Joined Dec 2006
Hampton, Virginia
Sep 10, 2012 16:32 |  #376

Has anyone had any problems mounting flashes with these in softboxes? I have a Cheetahstand SpeedPro bracket and QBox and since I have 430EXII flashes, I can't use the PC cord option.


JD
Canon 7D, Digital Rebel XTi
Canon 100mm f2.8 Macro / 24-105 f4 L IS / 300 f4 L IS / Extender 1.4x II / Tamron 17-50 f2.8 / Canon 430EX & 430EX II

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
CliveyBoy
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
CliveyBoy's Avatar
3,253 posts
Joined Nov 2005
Tauranga, NZ
Sep 10, 2012 17:55 |  #377

spitfirejd wrote in post #14973293external link
Has anyone had any problems mounting flashes with these in softboxes? I have a Cheetahstand SpeedPro bracket and QBox and since I have 430EXII flashes, I can't use the PC cord option.

No problems, but I did need to slightly modify my brackets. All my mounts were 1/4-20 screws. I bought some Frio coldshoes as adapters between the screws and the hot-shoe. They are brilliant - safe, slimline but add just over a half-inch thickness to the assembly. I would not use a clamp-type cold shoe, for safety reasons.

I use two 430EXIIs on 622 triggers in the parabolic softbox.


Clive, and Great G/D Abbie
50D; 580EXII, 430EXII, 550EX, YN685EX; YN-622C II, YN622C-TX and YN560-TX controllers TOYUG II v5.0 YN622 System Guide (external link)
I tried retiring, but gave it up - it's a dead end

LOG IN TO REPLY
spitfirejd
Goldmember
spitfirejd's Avatar
1,347 posts
Joined Dec 2006
Hampton, Virginia
Sep 10, 2012 18:15 |  #378

Thanks, Clive. I had to look those Frio coldshoes up. Small and cheap as chips. Hard to beat.


JD
Canon 7D, Digital Rebel XTi
Canon 100mm f2.8 Macro / 24-105 f4 L IS / 300 f4 L IS / Extender 1.4x II / Tamron 17-50 f2.8 / Canon 430EX & 430EX II

LOG IN TO REPLY
CliveyBoy
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
CliveyBoy's Avatar
3,253 posts
Joined Nov 2005
Tauranga, NZ
Sep 10, 2012 19:02 |  #379

Here's the rig:

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.

An L-bracket to lie flashes close to umbrella axis. Made double-duty by strap at back and a padded one underneath heads. Easy switch access on both 622 and 430. No need to see LCD displays - its all in the camera.

Frios allow access to 622 batttery compartment without dismounting.

Clive, and Great G/D Abbie
50D; 580EXII, 430EXII, 550EX, YN685EX; YN-622C II, YN622C-TX and YN560-TX controllers TOYUG II v5.0 YN622 System Guide (external link)
I tried retiring, but gave it up - it's a dead end

LOG IN TO REPLY
ShotByTom
Goldmember
ShotByTom's Avatar
2,817 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Aug 2005
Indianapolis
Sep 10, 2012 20:05 |  #380

I'll be trying out this bracket when I get my triggers and other flash, not sure if/how this would work with a softbox:

http://www.paramountco​rds.com/proddetail.asp​?prod=DSUB-2CSexternal link


Gear
Websiteexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
CliveyBoy
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
CliveyBoy's Avatar
3,253 posts
Joined Nov 2005
Tauranga, NZ
Sep 10, 2012 21:52 |  #381

lianggc wrote in post #14971571external link
Yeah, you need to set the group combination using [TEST] + [GP SET].

Ah! The Test and the single-pin camera are doing essentially the same job, so the Test instructions also apply to the Type C camera. Clever.


Clive, and Great G/D Abbie
50D; 580EXII, 430EXII, 550EX, YN685EX; YN-622C II, YN622C-TX and YN560-TX controllers TOYUG II v5.0 YN622 System Guide (external link)
I tried retiring, but gave it up - it's a dead end

LOG IN TO REPLY
Trailboy
Senior Member
538 posts
Joined Jan 2009
Sep 11, 2012 04:27 |  #382

spitfirejd wrote in post #14973692external link
Thanks, Clive. I had to look those Frio coldshoes up. Small and cheap as chips. Hard to beat.

Cheap as chips? Want some fish with your chips?

http://www.ebay.co.uk ...ain_0&hash=item20ca​dffb2fexternal link

BTW, I wouldn't go to www.friocoldshoe.comexternal link unless you have other problems at the mo. ;)




LOG IN TO REPLY
CliveyBoy
THREAD ­ STARTER
Goldmember
CliveyBoy's Avatar
3,253 posts
Joined Nov 2005
Tauranga, NZ
Sep 11, 2012 14:51 |  #383

I bought genuine Frios from the maker,
http://www.enlightphot​opro.com/external link

They turned up, a hemisphere away, in less than 48 hours. They supplied from this country's distributor. 3 for US$40.


Clive, and Great G/D Abbie
50D; 580EXII, 430EXII, 550EX, YN685EX; YN-622C II, YN622C-TX and YN560-TX controllers TOYUG II v5.0 YN622 System Guide (external link)
I tried retiring, but gave it up - it's a dead end

LOG IN TO REPLY
spitfirejd
Goldmember
spitfirejd's Avatar
1,347 posts
Joined Dec 2006
Hampton, Virginia
Sep 11, 2012 15:47 |  #384

Trailboy wrote in post #14975663external link
Cheap as chips? Want some fish with your chips?

http://www.ebay.co.uk ...ain_0&hash=item20ca​dffb2fexternal link

BTW, I wouldn't go to www.friocoldshoe.comexternal link unless you have other problems at the mo. ;)

What's wrong with the Frio coldshoes? I try to avoid buying things off eBay, too many crooks there. B&H has the Frio coldshoes, that's where I looked them up. Unless there is a problem with them, I'd rather spend an extra $5 or whatever and get them from a place I know and trust.


JD
Canon 7D, Digital Rebel XTi
Canon 100mm f2.8 Macro / 24-105 f4 L IS / 300 f4 L IS / Extender 1.4x II / Tamron 17-50 f2.8 / Canon 430EX & 430EX II

LOG IN TO REPLY
Trailboy
Senior Member
538 posts
Joined Jan 2009
Sep 11, 2012 15:59 |  #385

Nothing at all.

Some users of the frio prefer the fish design, as in the comments below, even though they are three times cheaper.

http://www.lightingrum​ours.com ...-a-fish-shaped-rival-2377external link




LOG IN TO REPLY
JJD.Photography
Goldmember
1,398 posts
Joined Apr 2005
Savannah, Georgia - USA
Sep 12, 2012 03:22 as a reply to Trailboy's post |  #386

How many 622c's?

I just placed an order for a pair of the 622C's. Will I need another 622C to add a second OCF?

The setup will be 50D w/ 580EXII & YN-565EX.

Thanks for any info :cool:


His And Her Photographsexternal link
flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
hbomb69
Member
hbomb69's Avatar
Joined Jan 2007
Lancashire, UK
Sep 12, 2012 03:33 |  #387

JJD.Photography wrote in post #14980202external link
I just placed an order for a pair of the 622C's. Will I need another 622C to add a second OCF?

The setup will be 50D w/ 580EXII & YN-565EX.

Thanks for any info :cool:

Yes, There is 2 transivers in the box, so you would need another set to add a second OCF

Each of the transivers can act as a transmitter or a receiver, Think of it as you will now have the option to use the 4th unit for another flash, or a secondary transmitter...:)

Mike


CANON 5D MKIII x 2 / CANON 50D / CANON 550D
http://www.michaelhard​castle.co.ukexternal link
Facebook.com/michaelha​rdcastlephotography

LOG IN TO REPLY
Stealther
Member
184 posts
Joined Jan 2012
California
Sep 12, 2012 06:45 |  #388

Or you could just order 3 instead of 4 :)

Oh, they are on sale now too --Link to their Facebook post with discount codes--external link


Chris
Canon 5DMk2 | Canon 10-22 | Canon 17-40 4.0 | Canon 50 1.8 | Canon 70-200 2.8 II | Canon 600EX-RT | Manfrotto 055XPROB | Manfrotto 468MG | RRS B2LRII
My Feedback

LOG IN TO REPLY
mdaddyrabbit
Goldmember
mdaddyrabbit's Avatar
Joined Mar 2005
North Carolina
Sep 12, 2012 07:32 as a reply to spitfirejd's post |  #389

With no lighting equipment experience at all, I would like to know if I buy this http://www.bhphotovide​o.com ...ek_4_0_Monolight_an​d.htmlexternal link

and the YN-622C's using a Canon 60D will this work? If so how would the YN-622C connect to the light? Would I need to order other equipment or wiring for this to be successful?


Websiteexternal link

CANON

LOG IN TO REPLY
ShotByTom
Goldmember
ShotByTom's Avatar
2,817 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Aug 2005
Indianapolis
Sep 12, 2012 08:32 |  #390

mdaddyrabbit wrote in post #14980566external link
With no lighting equipment experience at all, I would like to know if I buy this http://www.bhphotovide​o.com ...ek_4_0_Monolight_an​d.htmlexternal link

and the YN-622C's using a Canon 60D will this work? If so how would the YN-622C connect to the light? Would I need to order other equipment or wiring for this to be successful?

You would have to connect it using a pc sync cord. There is a pc port on the back of that light, so it would likely work with the 622's, just not in ETTL.


Gear
Websiteexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

548,320 views & 0 likes for this thread
Yongnuo YN-622C Controller Trigger
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00194 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.04s
Latest registered member is jennylouns
918 guests, 545 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016