Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18th of December 2005 (Sun)   #1
jslice
Member
 
jslice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 99
Default Canon 10D Err 02 Message

I recently purchased a Canon 10D and took approx. 150 pics at a park during the day. Everything was fine. this weekend I was photographing a wedding and 5 shots into the wedding I got the Err 02 message. I took the card out and reformatted it in the a Canon Rebel and it worked fine. I am not sure if I tried to review a photo before it was completely written to the CF card. Has anyone else ran into this problem?

Last edited by jslice : 19th of December 2005 (Mon) at 14:15.
jslice is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 18th of December 2005 (Sun)   #2
Citizensmith
Cream of the Crop
 
Citizensmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA USA
Posts: 6,381
Default Re: Canon 10D Err 02 Message

I haven't ran into that problem, but the review thing won't be it. A crappy card, or loss of power/connection to the card while writing maybe?
__________________
My POTN Gallery, Complete gear list,
Tradition - Just because you've always done it that way doesn't mean it's not incredibly stupid.
Citizensmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of December 2005 (Mon)   #3
Neilyb
Goldmember
 
Neilyb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Munich
Posts: 4,738
Default Re: Canon 10D Err 02 Message

I had this with my 350D, wouldn't read the card, wouldn't format it. Tried it in the PC, card was crackered! Had to take it back to the shop. Presumably you've tried another card and that is fine?
Neilyb is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 19th of December 2005 (Mon)   #4
jslice
Member
 
jslice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 99
Default Re: Canon 10D Err 02 Message

Thanks for your replies. I spoke with a canon technician this morning and was told that the problem is likely due to having the auto playback turned on and trying to reivew the pics before they are actually written to the card ( still in the buffer). They advised to turn off the auto review and try that. The card works fine in our Canon Digital Rebel. Hopefully that will work.
jslice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of December 2005 (Mon)   #5
Citizensmith
Cream of the Crop
 
Citizensmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA USA
Posts: 6,381
Default Re: Canon 10D Err 02 Message

So the canon tech said the problem is due to features normally offered by the camera itself and yet it has never come up as a problem with anyone else ever before. Seems odd. Seems more like tech trying to come up with an easy to swallow solution to keep the call short. At least it is something that should be repeatable. Deliberately try and make it go wrong. If it really is what they decribed then it should be easy to confirm.
__________________
My POTN Gallery, Complete gear list,
Tradition - Just because you've always done it that way doesn't mean it's not incredibly stupid.
Citizensmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of December 2005 (Mon)   #6
Zepher
Senior Member
 
Zepher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Norfolk,VA
Posts: 1,626
Default Re: Canon 10D Err 02 Message

i've gotten that error twice with my D60. the CF card was empty before I started to shoot when I got that error after a couple of frames.
I am using Lexar Media cards, which someone mentioned to me that they aren't that good with Canon cameras, but I have 2 left over from my Kodak DC-260 and those are what I am going to use till I need to get more.
__________________
Manny Desantos
Intel C2Q Q6600 3.06Ghz, 8GB Ram, 8.1TB, XFX HD5850, Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit, PS CS4 EXT

Canon 40D, EF 28-70L, 2x Canon XH-A1 HDV, Canon HV30 HDV
❶______________________________________
Zepher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of December 2005 (Mon)   #7
Citizensmith
Cream of the Crop
 
Citizensmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA USA
Posts: 6,381
Default Re: Canon 10D Err 02 Message

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zepher
I am using Lexar Media cards, which someone mentioned to me that they aren't that good with Canon cameras
Never heard that before. I've used numerous Lexar cards with numerous canon powershot cameras and never had a problem.
__________________
My POTN Gallery, Complete gear list,
Tradition - Just because you've always done it that way doesn't mean it's not incredibly stupid.
Citizensmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st of December 2005 (Wed)   #8
Swanphoto
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2
Default Re: Canon 10D Err 02 Message

I have a 20D and MKII 1D and seem to be having alot of problems with lexar 80X cards, I have the latest firmware and format my cards before every job and still have problems. I have another one thats has to go to lexar for recovery from my job just this last weekend and just got one back from them, I am switching to Scandisk because I heard the same that Canon perfers scandisk and not lexar.
Swanphoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st of December 2005 (Wed)   #9
bcascio
Member
 
bcascio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tbilisi, Georgia
Posts: 84
Default Re: Canon 10D Err 02 Message

New to the site but wanted to add my 2 cents... I have a Canon 350D and 10D and use only Sandisk cards, with over 34,000 I have never come across this problem.
bcascio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd of December 2005 (Fri)   #10
jslice
Member
 
jslice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 99
Default Re: Canon 10D Err 02 Message

I purchased the 10D used from a local camera store. I had planned on using it for upcoming weddings that I am shooting the end of December and 2 the first week of January. They offered to send the camera in for repair (seems that there is a problem with the motherboard, most likely due to the prior owner shorting it out with attached external flash) this would take at least 2 weeks, or refund me the amount I purchased it for. I chose the 3rd option which was a Rebel 350D at their cost, less the amount I already paid for the 10D. I am surprised at how truely small the new Rebel XT is. Just got it this morning. Thanks again for the responses.
jslice is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CF Card Err message jr#8 Canon EOS Digital Cameras 3 12th of January 2007 (Fri) 21:21
"CF Err" Message on Canon 20D bobgarv Canon EOS Digital Cameras 7 29th of July 2005 (Fri) 06:25
Err. message: No Camera was found liviu_i Canon G-series Digital Cameras 23 3rd of July 2005 (Sun) 13:13
What does ''Err 99'' Mean Canon 10d TRUUCHA Canon EOS Digital Cameras 6 3rd of February 2005 (Thu) 07:32
Magicstor 2.2GB Err 02 message on 10D wcapald Canon EOS Digital Cameras 17 5th of July 2004 (Mon) 01:19


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.