LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


Canon 10D Err 02 Message

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 18 Dec 2005 (Sunday) 20:58   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
jslice
Member
jslice's Avatar
Joined Nov 2005
99 posts
Virginia
[MORE/SHARE]

I recently purchased a Canon 10D and took approx. 150 pics at a park during the day. Everything was fine. this weekend I was photographing a wedding and 5 shots into the wedding I got the Err 02 message. I took the card out and reformatted it in the a Canon Rebel and it worked fine. I am not sure if I tried to review a photo before it was completely written to the CF card. Has anyone else ran into this problem?

Post #1, Dec 18, 2005 20:58:17


Canon 20D x 2, BG-E2 Grip, Canon Digital Rebel, Canon BG-E1 Grip, Sigma 17-70mm f2.8-4.5, Tamron AF 28-75mm f2.8, Canon 50mm 1.8mm II, Canon 420EX Flash, Sigma 70-300mm Macro f4-5.6, Quantaray QDC 900WA Flash (2)
http://www.whitetelfer​photography.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Citizensmith
Cream of the Crop
Citizensmith's Avatar
Joined Dec 2004
6,382 posts
Sacramento, CA USA
[MORE/SHARE]

I haven't ran into that problem, but the review thing won't be it. A crappy card, or loss of power/connection to the card while writing maybe?

Post #2, Dec 18, 2005 22:04:54


My POTN Gallery, Complete gear list,
Tradition - Just because you've always done it that way doesn't mean it's not incredibly stupid.

LOG IN TO REPLY
Neilyb
Goldmember
Neilyb's Avatar
Joined Sep 2005
4,810 posts
Munich
[MORE/SHARE]

I had this with my 350D, wouldn't read the card, wouldn't format it. Tried it in the PC, card was crackered! Had to take it back to the shop. Presumably you've tried another card and that is fine?

Post #3, Dec 19, 2005 07:10:56 as a reply to Citizensmith's post 9 hours earlier.


http://natureimmortal.​blogspot.comexternal link

http://www.natureimmor​tal.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
jslice
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
jslice's Avatar
Joined Nov 2005
99 posts
Virginia
[MORE/SHARE]

Thanks for your replies. I spoke with a canon technician this morning and was told that the problem is likely due to having the auto playback turned on and trying to reivew the pics before they are actually written to the card ( still in the buffer). They advised to turn off the auto review and try that. The card works fine in our Canon Digital Rebel. Hopefully that will work.

Post #4, Dec 19, 2005 14:15:42


Canon 20D x 2, BG-E2 Grip, Canon Digital Rebel, Canon BG-E1 Grip, Sigma 17-70mm f2.8-4.5, Tamron AF 28-75mm f2.8, Canon 50mm 1.8mm II, Canon 420EX Flash, Sigma 70-300mm Macro f4-5.6, Quantaray QDC 900WA Flash (2)
http://www.whitetelfer​photography.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Citizensmith
Cream of the Crop
Citizensmith's Avatar
Joined Dec 2004
6,382 posts
Sacramento, CA USA
[MORE/SHARE]

So the canon tech said the problem is due to features normally offered by the camera itself and yet it has never come up as a problem with anyone else ever before. Seems odd. Seems more like tech trying to come up with an easy to swallow solution to keep the call short. At least it is something that should be repeatable. Deliberately try and make it go wrong. If it really is what they decribed then it should be easy to confirm.

Post #5, Dec 19, 2005 14:26:19


My POTN Gallery, Complete gear list,
Tradition - Just because you've always done it that way doesn't mean it's not incredibly stupid.

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Zepher
Goldmember
Zepher's Avatar
Joined Nov 2005
1,626 posts
Norfolk,VA
[MORE/SHARE]

i've gotten that error twice with my D60. the CF card was empty before I started to shoot when I got that error after a couple of frames.
I am using Lexar Media cards, which someone mentioned to me that they aren't that good with Canon cameras, but I have 2 left over from my Kodak DC-260 and those are what I am going to use till I need to get more.

Post #6, Dec 19, 2005 14:35:53


Manny Desantos
Intel C2Q Q6600 3.06Ghz, 8GB Ram, 8.1TB, XFX HD5850, Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit, PS CS4 EXTexternal link

Canon 40D, EF 28-70L, 2x Canon XH-A1 HDV, Canon HV30 HDV
❶_______________

LOG IN TO REPLY
Citizensmith
Cream of the Crop
Citizensmith's Avatar
Joined Dec 2004
6,382 posts
Sacramento, CA USA
[MORE/SHARE]

Zepher wrote:
I am using Lexar Media cards, which someone mentioned to me that they aren't that good with Canon cameras

Never heard that before. I've used numerous Lexar cards with numerous canon powershot cameras and never had a problem.

Post #7, Dec 19, 2005 18:09:49 as a reply to Zepher's post 3 hours earlier.


My POTN Gallery, Complete gear list,
Tradition - Just because you've always done it that way doesn't mean it's not incredibly stupid.

LOG IN TO REPLY
Swanphoto
Hatchling
Joined Sep 2005
2 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

I have a 20D and MKII 1D and seem to be having alot of problems with lexar 80X cards, I have the latest firmware and format my cards before every job and still have problems. I have another one thats has to go to lexar for recovery from my job just this last weekend and just got one back from them, I am switching to Scandisk because I heard the same that Canon perfers scandisk and not lexar.

Post #8, Dec 21, 2005 21:46:11 as a reply to Citizensmith's post 2 days earlier.




LOG IN TO REPLY
bcascio
Member
bcascio's Avatar
Joined Dec 2005
84 posts
Tbilisi, Georgia
[MORE/SHARE]

New to the site but wanted to add my 2 cents... I have a Canon 350D and 10D and use only Sandisk cards, with over 34,000 I have never come across this problem.

Post #9, Dec 21, 2005 23:13:35 as a reply to Swanphoto's post 1 hour earlier.


5D with Grip;10D with Grip (needs new shutter :evil:) 350D; 580EX; EF50 II; EF 17-40L; EF 24-105L; EF100-400L; Tamron 28-75; EF 28-200; EF20-35

LOG IN TO REPLY
jslice
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
jslice's Avatar
Joined Nov 2005
99 posts
Virginia
[MORE/SHARE]

I purchased the 10D used from a local camera store. I had planned on using it for upcoming weddings that I am shooting the end of December and 2 the first week of January. They offered to send the camera in for repair (seems that there is a problem with the motherboard, most likely due to the prior owner shorting it out with attached external flash) this would take at least 2 weeks, or refund me the amount I purchased it for. I chose the 3rd option which was a Rebel 350D at their cost, less the amount I already paid for the 10D. I am surprised at how truely small the new Rebel XT is. Just got it this morning. Thanks again for the responses.

Post #10, Dec 23, 2005 16:46:07


Canon 20D x 2, BG-E2 Grip, Canon Digital Rebel, Canon BG-E1 Grip, Sigma 17-70mm f2.8-4.5, Tamron AF 28-75mm f2.8, Canon 50mm 1.8mm II, Canon 420EX Flash, Sigma 70-300mm Macro f4-5.6, Quantaray QDC 900WA Flash (2)
http://www.whitetelfer​photography.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
10,830 views & 0 likes for this thread
Canon 10D Err 02 Message
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00112 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
898 guests, 797 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is Chanotrevino

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.