Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > Talk About Photography > Weddings and Other Family Events Talk
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 8th of August 2012 (Wed)   #1
pattrick70

Default help with settings for outdoor wedding?

I am shooting my sisters wedding, (shes knows im not a pro, she has someone for formal pictures so there are no real expectations) I mostly shoot my kids, toddler and baby with my t1i and 50 1.4. never really use flash. I am going to rent the 5d mark iii , and couple of lenses and a flash. probably 16-35l and 70-200 2.8? and open to suggestions if you think something else would work better. My main question is besides M what settings do you think I will have the best luck in. Im sure I will be experimenting as im getting the camera for about a week before the wedding. any tips on what setting will work with a 580 speedlite to use for filler would be greatly appreciated. the wedding is outdoors but there is a tent. also do you think those lenses will fit my needs. thanks for any help
Old 8th of August 2012 (Wed)   #2
siddr20
Goldmember

Default Re: help with settings for outdoor wedding?

I think the 24-70L will be more useful than the 16-35L. But then again all depends on your shooting style, the location etc. Bring that 50 1.4 as well and rent the 70-200L also.

You will have more luck knowing how to balance ambient light and flash. Make sure you practice this before you do your sisters wedding. Maybe this link might help:http://www.photocrati.com/balancing-...ight-outdoors/
Just did a quick google search.

If there is a tent then maybe you can bounce the light. But then again we cant tell what to do as we have never seen the location before.
Perhaps there might be enough natural light that you wont need flash.

Better yet scout the location out a day or two before the wedding. Take a friend down and practice some shots.