LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


Do I need Lightroom if I already have PS CS6?

FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing
Thread started 26 Aug 2012 (Sunday) 14:49   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
tvphotog
Cream of the Crop
tvphotog's Avatar
Joined Aug 2007
5,788 posts
New York City
[MORE/SHARE]

I got a trial disc of Lightroom with the CS6 package. Is there any reason to have both.

I have a method of storing and saving photos already, and I'm not sure if I need Lightroom and if there are any advantages to it.

Post #1, Aug 26, 2012 14:49:51


Jay
Ireland in Word and Imageexternal link Jay Ben Imagesexternal link5D III | 5D II | 7D | Powershot S100 | 24-105L | 100-400L | 16-35 f/2.8 IIL | 24 T/S f /3.5L II | 17 T/S f/4L | 50mm f/1.2L | 35mm f/1.4L | 580 EX II | 600 EX-RT | Feisol 3441T/Markins Q3T lever QR | Gitzo 3542L Markins Qi20 BV-22 screw clamp | Gitzo 5561T RRS MH-02 head

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
PerfectTan
Senior Member
PerfectTan's Avatar
Joined Aug 2010
440 posts
Washington
[MORE/SHARE]

I usually start with LR, and the polish the photo with CS.

Post #2, Aug 26, 2012 14:52:53


My Gear: Do you really want to know?

LOG IN TO REPLY
Ratjack
Goldmember
Joined Apr 2012
1,550 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

PerfectTan wrote in post #14909341external link
I usually start with LR, and the polish the photo with CS.

This

Post #3, Aug 26, 2012 14:58:23


5D Mark III / 60D / 70-200 2.8L IS II / 24-105L / 18-200 / 50 1.8 / Tamron 70-300 VC

LOG IN TO REPLY
bdpaco
Senior Member
Joined Aug 2009
696 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Only if you shoot RAW (IMO of course).

Post #4, Aug 26, 2012 15:01:12


My Blog
http://rickbandaphotog​raphy.blogspot.com/external link
My Website
www.rickbandaphoto.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
tvphotog
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
tvphotog's Avatar
Joined Aug 2007
5,788 posts
New York City
[MORE/SHARE]

bdpaco wrote in post #14909377external link
Only if you shoot RAW (IMO of course).

Yes, I shoot only RAW. How do you work the shots?

Post #5, Aug 26, 2012 15:11:46


Jay
Ireland in Word and Imageexternal link Jay Ben Imagesexternal link5D III | 5D II | 7D | Powershot S100 | 24-105L | 100-400L | 16-35 f/2.8 IIL | 24 T/S f /3.5L II | 17 T/S f/4L | 50mm f/1.2L | 35mm f/1.4L | 580 EX II | 600 EX-RT | Feisol 3441T/Markins Q3T lever QR | Gitzo 3542L Markins Qi20 BV-22 screw clamp | Gitzo 5561T RRS MH-02 head

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
RichSoansPhotos
Cream of the Crop
RichSoansPhotos's Avatar
Joined Aug 2007
5,618 posts
London, UK
[MORE/SHARE]

bdpaco wrote in post #14909377external link
Only if you shoot RAW (IMO of course).


Not really, you only need it if you have a load of photos to edit in a rush

Post #6, Aug 26, 2012 15:20:04


Bodies: Canon 50D, Canon 5DMKII
Lenses: Canon 50mm 1.8, Canon 85mm 1.8 USM,
Canon 16-35mm 2.8L USM II Canon 24-70mm 2.8L USM, Canon 70-200mm 2.8L IS USM II
Compact: Canon G12 www.richiesoansphotogr​aphy.co.ukexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Wilt
Wilt is an old fart who has extensive experience with many brands and many formats of cameras, and extensive lighting knowledge of both studio lighting and speedlights
Wilt's Avatar
Joined Aug 2005
33,492 posts
SF Bay area, CA
[MORE/SHARE]

One MUST fundamentally first understand that what LR does is NOT the same as what Adobe Creative Suite does. Consider that the range of functions to be found in various software consists of the following
1.RAW conversion (takes .CR2 files to JPG or TIFF)
2.Management of the digital photo database (a.k.a Digital Asset Management)
3.Manipulation of photo zones (areas)
4.Pixel-level photo and graphics manipulation

Now let us look at what each program does...
•Photoshop started as #4 aimed strongly at graphic artists; LR started as a #1 RAW convertor + #3 Digital Asset Management
•In creating Creative Suite (CS), Adobe started with Photoshop module as Super #4, and added Adobe Camera (ACR) RAW module for #1, and CS Bridge module for a bit of #2, and also beefed up the photo manipulation with #3. CS Bridge has less robust features for #2, compared to what LR can do.
•Adobe bought rights to RAW Shooter as #1, and fleshed it out with #2, to create and launch Lightroom 1. It later added #3 capabilities (Brush) in LR3. Note that LR lacks #4, and most folks use simpler programs like Elements or Paint Shop Pro for pixel-level editing needs, to supplement what LR can do.


So when you consider 'LR or CS?', one needs to carefully consider the breadth of software capabilities that will be needed.

The most commonly used RAW convertor on POTN is Lightroom; the RAW conversion within CS is #2. http://photography-on-the.net/forum/...6#pos​t13665896

CS is more expensive than LR, especially later in update costs. In Nov 2011, Lightroom ($196 Amazon) was a small fraction of the cost of Photoshop CS5 ($650 Amazon), and cost less for software updates, too ($99) vs ($140). Then Adobe announced a new policy on pricing of CS, hitting hard those who skipped versions in the upgrade pathway; a severe reaction among users caused them to backpedal a bit, but the handwriting was clearly shown about their intentions for CS licensing.

Using LR + Elements/Paint Shop Pro is an alternative to the all-in-one and more costly Creative Suite.

Post #7, Aug 26, 2012 15:27:44


You need to give me OK to edit your image and repost!
Canon dSLR system, Olympus OM 35mm system, Bronica ETRSi 645 system, Horseman LS 4x5 system, Metz flashes, Dynalite studio lighting, and too many accessories to mention
Keep POTN alive and well with member support http://photography-on-the.net/forum/donate.p​hp

LOG IN TO REPLY
D ­ Thompson
Goldmember
D Thompson's Avatar
Joined Feb 2008
3,702 posts
Georgetown, Ky
[MORE/SHARE]

tvphotog wrote in post #14909332external link
I got a trial disc of Lightroom with the CS6 package. Is there any reason to have both.

I have a method of storing and saving photos already, and I'm not sure if I need Lightroom and if there are any advantages to it.

No, but I'll be out numbered in my opinion. Since you have CS6 and a method of storing/saving photos then IMO LR would offer no advantage over using Bridge and ACR.

Post #8, Aug 26, 2012 16:52:19


Dennis
Canon 5D 20D l Georgetown KY Photographerexternal link
I have not yet begun to procrastinate!
We'll be friends until we are old and senile. Then, we'll be new friends every day thereafter.

LOG IN TO REPLY
imjason
Goldmember
Joined Nov 2010
1,666 posts
Bay Area, CA
[MORE/SHARE]

only one way to find out if you want/need to use it. download the trial version on adobe's website.

Post #9, Aug 26, 2012 17:54:58


Canon gear: EOS M, Canonet QL17, SX230HS, S95, SD1200IS
Non-Canon gear: D600, D5000, D70, XG-2, U20
Flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
You-by-Lou
Goldmember
You-by-Lou's Avatar
Joined Aug 2011
1,687 posts
Manhattan
[MORE/SHARE]

Thanks wilt for some gret info

Post #10, Aug 26, 2012 18:16:53


You may say I'm a Zoomer, But I'm not the only one
Canon 5D mkIII
135L my new favorite

LOG IN TO REPLY
tvphotog
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
tvphotog's Avatar
Joined Aug 2007
5,788 posts
New York City
[MORE/SHARE]

Interesting discussion.

Post #11, Aug 26, 2012 18:38:13


Jay
Ireland in Word and Imageexternal link Jay Ben Imagesexternal link5D III | 5D II | 7D | Powershot S100 | 24-105L | 100-400L | 16-35 f/2.8 IIL | 24 T/S f /3.5L II | 17 T/S f/4L | 50mm f/1.2L | 35mm f/1.4L | 580 EX II | 600 EX-RT | Feisol 3441T/Markins Q3T lever QR | Gitzo 3542L Markins Qi20 BV-22 screw clamp | Gitzo 5561T RRS MH-02 head

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
torkk
Senior Member
Joined Sep 2007
338 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

So, Elements is pretty good? I never used it before. I liked cs but I dont I really ever used most of what it offers. For me, I need to adjust exp and the like which I do in LR4. I have HDR software, but I have photos that could use maybe sky changes, total background swaps and stuff like that.

Would Elements 10 be good for that?

I should add, that most if not all if do is from my website where I sell prints.

Post #12, Aug 27, 2012 18:51:31


http://www.bluebeardim​agery.com/external link
http://blue-beard-imagery.artistwebsites​.com/external link
60D .... Canon 7/200 f4...Rebel XT Canon kit 18/55.....Canon 55-250 IS...... Tamron 10-24....throw in some old M42s :D

LOG IN TO REPLY
tonylong
do I really have to respond?
tonylong's Avatar
Joined Sep 2007
53,001 posts
Vancouver, WA USA
[MORE/SHARE]

torkk wrote in post #14914820external link
So, Elements is pretty good? I never used it before. I liked cs but I dont I really ever used most of what it offers. For me, I need to adjust exp and the like which I do in LR4. I have HDR software, but I have photos that could use maybe sky changes, total background swaps and stuff like that.

Would Elements 10 be good for that?

I should add, that most if not all if do is from my website where I sell prints.

You can do what you are describing with Elements. If you have Lightroom then you have a superior Raw processor (and organizer) and with Elements you can do things like swapping backgrounds and removing stuff and such.

Post #13, Aug 28, 2012 04:55:30


Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBaseexternal link
Wildlife project pics hereexternal link, Biking Photog shoots hereexternal link, "Suburbia" project hereexternal link! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics hereexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
You-by-Lou
Goldmember
You-by-Lou's Avatar
Joined Aug 2011
1,687 posts
Manhattan
[MORE/SHARE]

249 today only at B&H student/teacher

Post #14, Aug 28, 2012 07:37:37


You may say I'm a Zoomer, But I'm not the only one
Canon 5D mkIII
135L my new favorite

LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
2,394 views & 0 likes for this thread
Do I need Lightroom if I already have PS CS6?
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00105 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
884 guests, 777 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is Alex3uerfuer

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.