Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses
Thread started 14 Oct 2012 (Sunday) 03:54
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Use a macro lens for slides

 
lddw
Member
60 posts
Joined Jun 2009
France
Oct 14, 2012 03:54 |  #1

Hi,

I want to copy thousand of slides and have seen that the fastest solution is the use of a macro lens together with a slide holder (Opteka slide copier).

Do you know if it would still work if I remove the optic contained in the Opteka to just use it as an extension tube ? I will mount it on a 100mm macro lens (or shorter macro lens).


1Ds Mark II - 35mm 1.4L - 135mm 2.0L

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Canon ­ Bob
Goldmember
1,979 posts
Joined May 2007
Poitou-Charente, France
Oct 14, 2012 04:18 |  #2

I've tried various methods of copying and found the best results are obtained using an Ohnar slide copier. It has its own optics and zoom (if required) and mounts directly to the camera body (via an adapter).

Bob (also in France)


1Dx (2), 5D3, 1D4, 5D2(590nm), 5D2(720nm) EF600 EF400 EF300 EF300 EF200 EF200-II EF180L EF135L EF100 EF85-II EF50L TS-E24L-II TS-E45 TS-E90 MP-E65 EF70-200-II EF24-70/4 EF16-35/4 EF8-15/4 EF11-24/4 Zeiss 15/2.8 18/3.5 21/2.8 25/2 28/2 35/1.4 35/2 50/1.4 50/2 85/1.4 100/2 135/2 T/C's L-SC & a WIFE!

LOG IN TO REPLY
lddw
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
60 posts
Joined Jun 2009
France
Oct 14, 2012 05:05 |  #3

Merci for you for your advice, I'm taking a look at this slide mount (eventually modifying this mount)

I really would like to avoid an slide mount with incorporated optic since it will reduce the quallity. Have you also tried slide mount without incorporated optic ?


1Ds Mark II - 35mm 1.4L - 135mm 2.0L

LOG IN TO REPLY
Canon ­ Bob
Goldmember
1,979 posts
Joined May 2007
Poitou-Charente, France
Oct 14, 2012 07:38 as a reply to lddw's post |  #4

I've got various options and tried them all at some time of other.

Prior to getting the dedicated copier, I had an old FD Autobellows with a T2 copying adapter (glassless) that was quite good (FD50 macro lens on the end). I've also tried doing a straight macro shot with the EF50cm and EF100L and the slide mounted on a light box...not brilliant.

I used the Ohnar copier with a diffused flash firing from behind the slide and this seems to be a usable light source.

Bob


1Dx (2), 5D3, 1D4, 5D2(590nm), 5D2(720nm) EF600 EF400 EF300 EF300 EF200 EF200-II EF180L EF135L EF100 EF85-II EF50L TS-E24L-II TS-E45 TS-E90 MP-E65 EF70-200-II EF24-70/4 EF16-35/4 EF8-15/4 EF11-24/4 Zeiss 15/2.8 18/3.5 21/2.8 25/2 28/2 35/1.4 35/2 50/1.4 50/2 85/1.4 100/2 135/2 T/C's L-SC & a WIFE!

LOG IN TO REPLY
Windsun33
Member
132 posts
Joined Mar 2012
Phoenix AZ
Oct 14, 2012 09:52 |  #5

I tried using macro setups to copy slides, but had various issues. One of the main ones was getting even and correct light, but focus can also be an issue.

I finally ended up getting the Plustek 7600 dedicated slide copier, which seems to do a pretty good job. It also does 35mm color and B&W film.


Canon EOS 6D, EOS 70D | Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM, EF 70-200mm f/4L IS USM, EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM | Canon Macro Twin Lite MT-24EX, Speedlite 600EX-RT

LOG IN TO REPLY
LJ3Jim
Senior Member
376 posts
Joined Jan 2012
Pacific Northwest
Oct 14, 2012 14:36 as a reply to Windsun33's post |  #6

I also wanted to copy thousands of slides. I wasn't terribly concerned about image quality for most of the slides; I just wanted electronic copies. If I needed great quality for some images, my local camera shop can do that.

I have a Plustek scanner, but it was way too slow (about a minute per slide). I decided to try photographing the slides using my 100 macro lens on my 60D. I tested by simply hand-holding a slide to see if I could photograph it. I could, so I made the following fixture:

IMAGE: http://www.lj3.com/misc/slidecopier.jpg

The slides were held to the left side of the center board (where the red oval is). I used 4 flat-head screws to create a place to insert the slide. To the left is a white piece of paper wrapped around the end of my fixture. Then I used a small LED reading light as the light source. I attached the camera by bolting the head of my monopod to the fixture. I used Auto White Balance on my 60D.

Using this, I could photograph 5 - 6 slides per minute. I did almost 4000 slides over the course of a week. Here is one sample. The original slide was taken in 1977:

IMAGE: http://www.lj3.com/misc/sample.jpg

After each slide was photographed, post-processing was primarily limited to straightening and cropping. I'm happy with the results, and I now have electronic copies of about 30 years worth of slides.

Regards, Jim

LJ3 Photographyexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
DreDaze
happy with myself for not saying anything stupid
DreDaze's Avatar
16,293 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Joined Mar 2006
S.F. Bay Area
Oct 14, 2012 14:53 |  #7

i bought this:
http://www.amazon.com ...polaroid+slide+dupl​icatorexternal link

it didn't work well with my 100mm macro, so i popped out the optic inside, and then got a couple pvc pipes to frankenstein it to make the slide farther out so i can get the whole image, and then crop in photoshop...it's pretty quick, i just mount the camera to my tripod, and backlight it. the 2 slide holders make it go a bit faster i think


Andre or Dre
gear list
flickr (external link)
my 366 for 2016 (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
The ­ Fox
Goldmember
The Fox's Avatar
1,694 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Jul 2007
Huntington Beach, Ca
Oct 14, 2012 15:32 |  #8

If you have thousands to do, I would honestly say send them out to be scanned. It will save you much more time then you save in money.

Nick


"I work from awkwardness. By that I mean I don't arrange things. If I stand in front of something, instead of arranging it, I arrange myself" -Diane Arbus
7D Gripped x2 | 50D Gripped | 17-50mm F2.8 | 35mm F1.4 | 50mm F1.4 | 85mm F1.8 | 70-200mm F4L IS |

LOG IN TO REPLY
lddw
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
60 posts
Joined Jun 2009
France
Oct 15, 2012 11:01 |  #9

Thank you for your advices, i'll go for the 100mm macro with adjusted slide mount.


1Ds Mark II - 35mm 1.4L - 135mm 2.0L

LOG IN TO REPLY
lddw
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
60 posts
Joined Jun 2009
France
Dec 07, 2012 15:50 |  #10

Good. I finally had the time to scan some slides with a 100mm macro and an adapted slide mount with no additional optics. When I will have time, I'll take a picture of the modified slide mount.

Here are a picture and a (here 100%) crop.

If you want to find better settings for the picture, here is the raw file :
https://documents.epfl​.ch ...d/ldudok/www/VC4W95​02.CR2 (external link)

IMAGE NOT FOUND IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
http://s18.postimage.o​rg/uf0zkicxz/forum.jpg (external link)
HTTP response: NOT FOUND | MIME changed to 'image/png'


IMAGE NOT FOUND IMAGE IS A REDIRECT OR MISSING!
http://s18.postimage.o​rg/bb7o4603r/forum_cro​p.jpg (external link)
HTTP response: NOT FOUND | MIME changed to 'image/png'

1Ds Mark II - 35mm 1.4L - 135mm 2.0L

LOG IN TO REPLY
2005GLI
Goldmember
2005GLI's Avatar
1,727 posts
Joined Apr 2005
Jul 06, 2013 19:51 |  #11

bringing this from the dead. do you have any measurements for the wood and distance from slide to camera?


Canon XT|BGE3|40D|BGE2|24-105 F4/L|70-200 F/2.8 APO|
|12-24 F/4|50 F/1.8|8mm F/4|kit lens|
|Other goodies that I can't fit in here|

LOG IN TO REPLY
LJ3Jim
Senior Member
376 posts
Joined Jan 2012
Pacific Northwest
Jul 07, 2013 11:04 |  #12

2005GLI wrote in post #16097435external link
bringing this from the dead. do you have any measurements for the wood and distance from slide to camera?

I didn't actually measure anything. I bolted the head from my monopod to a board to attach the camera. Then I handheld a slide and moved it back and forth (taking a few test pictures) to determine where the slide needed to be with regards to the camera. I would guess that the slide ended up being 4 - 5 inches from the end of my 100mm macro lens. Then I cut up some more wood so that I could position it about where it should be. As you can see from the picture, I did mount the camera on one board, and then I put second board on top of that to allow some left/right sliding as needed. The height of the vertical board that holds the slide and the location of the slide itself were also determined by trial and error. My fixture wouldn't work with any other combination of head/body/lens. Sorry for the lack of detail, but I hope this gives some insight as to the trial-and-error process I used. Even with that, it still only took a couple of hours to hack the rig together. I made everything from a scrap 1x6 and a few hardware brackets that were leftover from previous projects. Total cost was $0. :)

Regards, Jim


LJ3 Photographyexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Wilt
Wilt is an old fart who has extensive experience with many brands and many formats of cameras, and extensive lighting knowledge of both studio lighting and speedlights
Wilt's Avatar
35,249 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Aug 2005
Belmont, CA
Jul 07, 2013 11:50 |  #13

Canon 100mm f/2.8 USM macro focuses to 0.31m. If it were focused to 0.425 meters (16.73"), it would have 0.62x magnification which would permit full 24x36mm frame area to fill the APS-C size frame.


You need to give me OK to edit your image and repost!
Canon dSLR system, Olympus OM 35mm system, Bronica ETRSi 645 system, Horseman LS 4x5 system, Metz flashes, Dynalite studio lighting, and too many accessories to mention
Keep POTN alive and well with member support http://photography-on-the.net/forum/donate.p​hp

LOG IN TO REPLY
gasrocks
Cream of the Crop
gasrocks's Avatar
13,431 posts
Joined Mar 2005
Portage, Wisconsin USA
Jul 07, 2013 13:18 |  #14

My experience says you will get better results doing slides with a good scanner than with any macro lens.


GEAR LIST
_______________

LOG IN TO REPLY
DreDaze
happy with myself for not saying anything stupid
DreDaze's Avatar
16,293 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Joined Mar 2006
S.F. Bay Area
Jul 07, 2013 14:12 |  #15

gasrocks wrote in post #16099055external link
My experience says you will get better results doing slides with a good scanner than with any macro lens.

I think it's more about the time involved


Andre or Dre
gear list
flickr (external link)
my 366 for 2016 (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

5,866 views & 0 likes for this thread
Use a macro lens for slides
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EF and EF-S Lenses


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00142 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.03s
Latest registered member is Phillips101
760 guests, 645 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 5175, that happened on Jun 16, 2015