Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EF and EF-S Lenses
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 14th of October 2012 (Sun)   #1
lddw
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: France
Posts: 60
Default Use a macro lens for slides

Hi,

I want to copy thousand of slides and have seen that the fastest solution is the use of a macro lens together with a slide holder (Opteka slide copier).

Do you know if it would still work if I remove the optic contained in the Opteka to just use it as an extension tube ? I will mount it on a 100mm macro lens (or shorter macro lens).
__________________
1Ds Mark II - 35mm 1.4L - 135mm 2.0L
lddw is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 14th of October 2012 (Sun)   #2
Canon Bob
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Poitou-Charentes, France
Posts: 1,752
Default Re: Use a macro lens for slides

I've tried various methods of copying and found the best results are obtained using an Ohnar slide copier. It has its own optics and zoom (if required) and mounts directly to the camera body (via an adapter).

Bob (also in France)
__________________
1Dx (2), 5D3, 5D2(590nm), 5D2(720nm) EF600L EF400L EF300L EF300L EF200L EF200LII EF180L EF135L EF100L EF85LII EF50L TS-E24LII TS-E45 TS-E90 MP-E65 EF24-70LII EF24-105L EF17-40L EF8-15L Zeiss 15/2.8 18/3.5 21/2.8 25/2 28/2 35/1.4 35/2 50/1.4 50/2 85/1.4 100/2 135/2 T/C's L-SC & a WIFE!
Canon Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th of October 2012 (Sun)   #3
lddw
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: France
Posts: 60
Default Re: Use a macro lens for slides

Merci for you for your advice, I'm taking a look at this slide mount (eventually modifying this mount)

I really would like to avoid an slide mount with incorporated optic since it will reduce the quallity. Have you also tried slide mount without incorporated optic ?
__________________
1Ds Mark II - 35mm 1.4L - 135mm 2.0L
lddw is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 14th of October 2012 (Sun)   #4
Canon Bob
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Poitou-Charentes, France
Posts: 1,752
Default Re: Use a macro lens for slides

I've got various options and tried them all at some time of other.

Prior to getting the dedicated copier, I had an old FD Autobellows with a T2 copying adapter (glassless) that was quite good (FD50 macro lens on the end). I've also tried doing a straight macro shot with the EF50cm and EF100L and the slide mounted on a light box...not brilliant.

I used the Ohnar copier with a diffused flash firing from behind the slide and this seems to be a usable light source.

Bob
__________________
1Dx (2), 5D3, 5D2(590nm), 5D2(720nm) EF600L EF400L EF300L EF300L EF200L EF200LII EF180L EF135L EF100L EF85LII EF50L TS-E24LII TS-E45 TS-E90 MP-E65 EF24-70LII EF24-105L EF17-40L EF8-15L Zeiss 15/2.8 18/3.5 21/2.8 25/2 28/2 35/1.4 35/2 50/1.4 50/2 85/1.4 100/2 135/2 T/C's L-SC & a WIFE!
Canon Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th of October 2012 (Sun)   #5
Windsun33
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 102
Default Re: Use a macro lens for slides

I tried using macro setups to copy slides, but had various issues. One of the main ones was getting even and correct light, but focus can also be an issue.

I finally ended up getting the Plustek 7600 dedicated slide copier, which seems to do a pretty good job. It also does 35mm color and B&W film.
Windsun33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th of October 2012 (Sun)   #6
LJ3Jim
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 92
Default Re: Use a macro lens for slides

I also wanted to copy thousands of slides. I wasn't terribly concerned about image quality for most of the slides; I just wanted electronic copies. If I needed great quality for some images, my local camera shop can do that.

I have a Plustek scanner, but it was way too slow (about a minute per slide). I decided to try photographing the slides using my 100 macro lens on my 60D. I tested by simply hand-holding a slide to see if I could photograph it. I could, so I made the following fixture:



The slides were held to the left side of the center board (where the red oval is). I used 4 flat-head screws to create a place to insert the slide. To the left is a white piece of paper wrapped around the end of my fixture. Then I used a small LED reading light as the light source. I attached the camera by bolting the head of my monopod to the fixture. I used Auto White Balance on my 60D.

Using this, I could photograph 5 - 6 slides per minute. I did almost 4000 slides over the course of a week. Here is one sample. The original slide was taken in 1977:



After each slide was photographed, post-processing was primarily limited to straightening and cropping. I'm happy with the results, and I now have electronic copies of about 30 years worth of slides.

Regards, Jim
__________________
70D (2), EF-S 18-135 STM, EF-S 55-250 STM, EF 100L IS Macro, EF 100-400L, EF 300L 2.8 II, 1.4x III, 2x III, 430EX II
LJ3Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th of October 2012 (Sun)   #7
DreDaze
Cream of the Crop
 
DreDaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: S.F. Bay Area
Posts: 13,996
Default Re: Use a macro lens for slides

i bought this:
http://www.amazon.com/Polaroid-Slide...ide+duplicator

it didn't work well with my 100mm macro, so i popped out the optic inside, and then got a couple pvc pipes to frankenstein it to make the slide farther out so i can get the whole image, and then crop in photoshop...it's pretty quick, i just mount the camera to my tripod, and backlight it. the 2 slide holders make it go a bit faster i think
__________________
Andre or Dre
gear list
flickr
DreDaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th of October 2012 (Sun)   #8
The Fox
Senior Member
 
The Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 1,677
Default Re: Use a macro lens for slides

If you have thousands to do, I would honestly say send them out to be scanned. It will save you much more time then you save in money.

Nick
__________________
"I work from awkwardness. By that I mean I don't arrange things. If I stand in front of something, instead of arranging it, I arrange myself" -Diane Arbus

50D Gripped | 20D Gripped | 17-50mm F2.8 | 50mm F1.4 | 85mm F1.8 | 100mm F2.8 Macro | 70-200mm F4L IS | Mamiya RB67
The Fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th of October 2012 (Mon)   #9
lddw
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: France
Posts: 60
Default Re: Use a macro lens for slides

Thank you for your advices, i'll go for the 100mm macro with adjusted slide mount.
__________________
1Ds Mark II - 35mm 1.4L - 135mm 2.0L
lddw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of December 2012 (Fri)   #10
lddw
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: France
Posts: 60
Default Re: Use a macro lens for slides

Good. I finally had the time to scan some slides with a 100mm macro and an adapted slide mount with no additional optics. When I will have time, I'll take a picture of the modified slide mount.

Here are a picture and a (here 100%) crop.

If you want to find better settings for the picture, here is the raw file :
https://documents.epfl.ch/users/l/ld...w/VC4W9502.CR2



__________________
1Ds Mark II - 35mm 1.4L - 135mm 2.0L

Last edited by lddw : 7th of December 2012 (Fri) at 15:56.
lddw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th of July 2013 (Sat)   #11
2005GLI
Senior Member
 
2005GLI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,718
Default Re: Use a macro lens for slides

bringing this from the dead. do you have any measurements for the wood and distance from slide to camera?
__________________
Canon XT|BGE3|40D|BGE2|24-105 F4/L|70-200 F/2.8 APO|
|12-24 F/4|50 F/1.8|8mm F/4|kit lens|
|Other goodies that I can't fit in here|
2005GLI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of July 2013 (Sun)   #12
LJ3Jim
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 92
Default Re: Use a macro lens for slides

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2005GLI View Post
bringing this from the dead. do you have any measurements for the wood and distance from slide to camera?
I didn't actually measure anything. I bolted the head from my monopod to a board to attach the camera. Then I handheld a slide and moved it back and forth (taking a few test pictures) to determine where the slide needed to be with regards to the camera. I would guess that the slide ended up being 4 - 5 inches from the end of my 100mm macro lens. Then I cut up some more wood so that I could position it about where it should be. As you can see from the picture, I did mount the camera on one board, and then I put second board on top of that to allow some left/right sliding as needed. The height of the vertical board that holds the slide and the location of the slide itself were also determined by trial and error. My fixture wouldn't work with any other combination of head/body/lens. Sorry for the lack of detail, but I hope this gives some insight as to the trial-and-error process I used. Even with that, it still only took a couple of hours to hack the rig together. I made everything from a scrap 1x6 and a few hardware brackets that were leftover from previous projects. Total cost was $0.

Regards, Jim
__________________
70D (2), EF-S 18-135 STM, EF-S 55-250 STM, EF 100L IS Macro, EF 100-400L, EF 300L 2.8 II, 1.4x III, 2x III, 430EX II
LJ3Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of July 2013 (Sun)   #13
Wilt
Cream of the Crop
 
Wilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: California
Posts: 32,775
Default Re: Use a macro lens for slides

Canon 100mm f/2.8 USM macro focuses to 0.31m. If it were focused to 0.425 meters (16.73"), it would have 0.62x magnification which would permit full 24x36mm frame area to fill the APS-C size frame.
__________________
Canon dSLR system, Olympus OM 35mm system, Bronica ETRSi 645 system, Horseman LS 4x5 system, Metz flashes, Dynalite studio lighting, and too many accessories to mention
Keep POTN alive and well with member support http://photography-on-the.net/forum/donate.php
Wilt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of July 2013 (Sun)   #14
gasrocks
Cream of the Crop
 
gasrocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Portage, Wisconsin USA
Posts: 13,223
Default Re: Use a macro lens for slides

My experience says you will get better results doing slides with a good scanner than with any macro lens.
__________________
GEAR LIST
__________________
gasrocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th of July 2013 (Sun)   #15
DreDaze
Cream of the Crop
 
DreDaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: S.F. Bay Area
Posts: 13,996
Default Re: Use a macro lens for slides

Quote:
Originally Posted by gasrocks View Post
My experience says you will get better results doing slides with a good scanner than with any macro lens.
I think it's more about the time involved
__________________
Andre or Dre
gear list
flickr
DreDaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Macro: dedicated Macro 100mm lens vs 70-300 macro lenses?? nekrosoft13 Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 4 16th of June 2010 (Wed) 18:40
Macro Lens without Macro, Help! (Tamron AF 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6 LD Macro Autofocus) janapriya Canon EF and EF-S Lenses 6 21st of May 2007 (Mon) 22:47
old slides bvi steve General Photography Talk 5 24th of March 2006 (Fri) 14:02
Slides henkbos Critique Corner 2 16th of September 2003 (Tue) 05:59


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 22:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.