LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


My 5DMarkII does not recognize the AF of...

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 03 Nov 2012 (Saturday) 23:09   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
lannes
Goldmember
lannes's Avatar
Joined Dec 2009
4,374 posts
Perth, Australia
[MORE/SHARE]

apersson850 wrote in post #15222414external link
But then why would other lenses work on the camera?

beacuse the 50mm being a cheapie with a plastic mount , could have have lower manufacturing tolerances than an "L" for example with a metal mount.
The op's other lenses that work with the body appear to be "L's"

Post #31, Nov 09, 2012 06:14:28


1Dx, 1DM4, 5DM2, 7D, EOS-M, 8-15L, 17-40L, 24 TSE II, 24-105L, 50L, 85L II, 100L, 135L, 200L f/2.8, 300L f/4, 70-200L II, 70-300L, 400Lf/5.6

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Pepe ­ Guitarra
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Pepe Guitarra's Avatar
Joined Jul 2012
800 posts
Southern California
[MORE/SHARE]

lannes wrote in post #15225535external link
beacuse the 50mm being a cheapie with a plastic mount , could have have lower manufacturing tolerances than an "L" for example with a metal mount.
The op's other lenses that work with the body appear to be "L's"

But, it was working at certain time. It was after about one month of not using the 50/1.8 that it stopped. Then, I bought a new 50/1.8 lens, and it does not work. I think it is witchcraft :(

Post #32, Nov 09, 2012 07:19:04


It's not a photo until you print it! :cool:
Click hereexternal link, this is myflickrexternal link gallery

LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
apersson850's Avatar
Joined Nov 2007
10,711 posts
Traryd, Sweden
[MORE/SHARE]

Maybe Gremlins. Don't add water! :)

Post #33, Nov 09, 2012 07:31:45 as a reply to Pepe Guitarra's post 12 minutes earlier.


Anders

LOG IN TO REPLY
lannes
Goldmember
lannes's Avatar
Joined Dec 2009
4,374 posts
Perth, Australia
[MORE/SHARE]

Pepe Guitarra wrote in post #15225657external link
But, it was working at certain time. It was after about one month of not using the 50/1.8 that it stopped. Then, I bought a new 50/1.8 lens, and it does not work. I think it is witchcraft :(

That's why I suspect one of your pins in the lens mount might be damaged

Post #34, Nov 09, 2012 07:53:28


1Dx, 1DM4, 5DM2, 7D, EOS-M, 8-15L, 17-40L, 24 TSE II, 24-105L, 50L, 85L II, 100L, 135L, 200L f/2.8, 300L f/4, 70-200L II, 70-300L, 400Lf/5.6

LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
apersson850's Avatar
Joined Nov 2007
10,711 posts
Traryd, Sweden
[MORE/SHARE]

But why would it then work with other lenses? Which he states it does.

Post #35, Nov 09, 2012 07:55:58 as a reply to lannes's post 2 minutes earlier.


Anders

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Virto
Goldmember
Virto's Avatar
Joined Nov 2010
1,646 posts
Elgin, IL
[MORE/SHARE]

lannes wrote in post #15225535external link
beacuse the 50mm being a cheapie with a plastic mount , could have have lower manufacturing tolerances than an "L" for example with a metal mount.
The op's other lenses that work with the body appear to be "L's"

I can't imagine that being the issue, especially since he's tried it with two separate EF 50 1.8s. That kind of rules out the lens being the issue, in my opinion.

MAYBE there's some pin damage on the body, but if other lenses focus and can use the full aperture correctly, I'd kind of shrug that issue off. Maybe a corrupt firmware or failing logic board.

The mount on the 50 is molded plastic, but the tolerances are the same as one of the metal mounts. Unless it was shaved down or obviously cracked, it shouldn't be the issue.

Post #36, Nov 09, 2012 10:57:19


Kelly - EOS 5D - EOS 40D - Rebel XS - EOS 10D - EOS 1D - SX230 - AE-1 - OM-1n - Minolta Himatic7 - EOS-1N
ABR800 - Several flashes, remote triggers, stands, too many and yet not enough lenses

LOG IN TO REPLY
Pepe ­ Guitarra
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Pepe Guitarra's Avatar
Joined Jul 2012
800 posts
Southern California
[MORE/SHARE]

lannes wrote in post #15219583external link
I think one of the spring loaded lens mount pins must be stuck and not connecting to the lens gold connectors on the 50mm, are they all the same height

looking in from the front, the three pins on the left are as a group higher than the main set of pins, maybe one of these is just not connecting properly

BINGO. At the time lannes's post, I checked and the three higher pins looked OK. HOwever, today, the camera started acting with the L lenses. I removed the lens to clean the pins and noticed that the third pin (of the highest) left to right is fully depressed and does not come up. At least I now found the problem. I am planning in walking to Canon service (about 5 miles from here) to see if they want to check my camera. My question now is: Has anyone had this problem? Is this a big deal? I appreciate your answers. This morning I used the 5DII camera with my EF 24-105L lenses taking some photos for christmas cards and the photos came really nice, I would not change the 5DII for anything else. Let me know if I should worry, or is this a minor thing?
Thanks, Pepe.

Post #37, Nov 10, 2012 19:21:50


It's not a photo until you print it! :cool:
Click hereexternal link, this is myflickrexternal link gallery

LOG IN TO REPLY
lannes
Goldmember
lannes's Avatar
Joined Dec 2009
4,374 posts
Perth, Australia
[MORE/SHARE]

They will just replace the pin connector it's part CG2-2311 on the spare part catalog for the 5DII

http://www.filefactory​.com/file/5diwg1mb6z1lexternal link

Post #38, Nov 10, 2012 22:07:54


1Dx, 1DM4, 5DM2, 7D, EOS-M, 8-15L, 17-40L, 24 TSE II, 24-105L, 50L, 85L II, 100L, 135L, 200L f/2.8, 300L f/4, 70-200L II, 70-300L, 400Lf/5.6

LOG IN TO REPLY
rrblint
Listen! .... do you smell something?
rrblint's Avatar
Joined May 2012
8,529 posts
U.S.A.
[MORE/SHARE]

Glad you found out what the problem is.:)...Kudos to lannes for solving the puzzle.

Hope you get it fixed quickly.

Post #39, Nov 10, 2012 22:13:51 as a reply to lannes's post 5 minutes earlier.


Mark-BAT

LOG IN TO REPLY
Pepe ­ Guitarra
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Pepe Guitarra's Avatar
Joined Jul 2012
800 posts
Southern California
[MORE/SHARE]

rrblint wrote in post #15231544external link
Glad you found out what the problem is.:)...Kudos to lannes for solving the puzzle.

Hope you get it fixed quickly.

Thanks, I will take it on Tuesday to Canon to see how long it would take to fix it. I will let you know. I feel better now, that I know it is the camera, and that it is just one connector pin.

Post #40, Nov 10, 2012 23:02:53


It's not a photo until you print it! :cool:
Click hereexternal link, this is myflickrexternal link gallery

LOG IN TO REPLY
Pepe ­ Guitarra
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Pepe Guitarra's Avatar
Joined Jul 2012
800 posts
Southern California
[MORE/SHARE]

Virto wrote in post #15226470external link
... MAYBE there's some pin damage on the body, but if other lenses focus and can use the full aperture correctly, I'd kind of shrug that issue off. Maybe a corrupt firmware or failing logic board....

Correct, first, the pin on the camera was loose, but not recessed. Only the 50/1.8 ii noticed it. Today, the pin recessed inside the body, and the L lens noticed it, as I did. Well, live and learn.

Post #41, Nov 10, 2012 23:30:17


It's not a photo until you print it! :cool:
Click hereexternal link, this is myflickrexternal link gallery

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Pepe ­ Guitarra
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Pepe Guitarra's Avatar
Joined Jul 2012
800 posts
Southern California
[MORE/SHARE]

Well, I saw the camera connector bridge piece that lannes mentioned on Ebay for $28 (sold by Procamerarepair of San Diego, CA). It seems very easy to replace: two mall screw, and two connectors to unplug and plug and screw back again. I ordered the piece. However, I did not have the guts to do it. So, I took it to Canon. They charged me $219 for the work and warranty it for 6 months. I paid and left the camera. I will have it back in one week. I will keep you posted. What I learned from Canon customer service: two hours wait!. It is not worth it. You can fill the application in the internet and ship it. It is easier.

Post #42, Nov 12, 2012 15:47:54 as a reply to Pepe Guitarra's post 1 day earlier.


It's not a photo until you print it! :cool:
Click hereexternal link, this is myflickrexternal link gallery

LOG IN TO REPLY
lannes
Goldmember
lannes's Avatar
Joined Dec 2009
4,374 posts
Perth, Australia
[MORE/SHARE]

Pepe Guitarra wrote in post #15237863external link
Well, I saw the camera connector bridge piece that lannes mentioned on Ebay for $28 (sold by Procamerarepair of San Diego, CA). It seems very easy to replace: two mall screw, and two connectors to unplug and plug and screw back again. I ordered the piece. However, I did not have the guts to do it. So, I took it to Canon. They charged me $219 for the work and warranty it for 6 months. I paid and left the camera. I will have it back in one week. I will keep you posted. What I learned from Canon customer service: two hours wait!. It is not worth it. You can fill the application in the internet and ship it. It is easier.

hopefully that fixes your problem, interesting to find out what caused the problem in the first place, was it a lens with a poor tolerance which broke the spring loaded pin ?

Did you ever use any non canon lens or TC's that were tight to get on or required extra effort to get it locked in place ?

Post #43, Nov 12, 2012 17:22:33


1Dx, 1DM4, 5DM2, 7D, EOS-M, 8-15L, 17-40L, 24 TSE II, 24-105L, 50L, 85L II, 100L, 135L, 200L f/2.8, 300L f/4, 70-200L II, 70-300L, 400Lf/5.6

LOG IN TO REPLY
Pepe ­ Guitarra
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Pepe Guitarra's Avatar
Joined Jul 2012
800 posts
Southern California
[MORE/SHARE]

lannes wrote in post #15238170external link
hopefully that fixes your problem, interesting to find out what caused the problem in the first place, was it a lens with a poor tolerance which broke the spring loaded pin ?

Did you ever use any non canon lens or TC's that were tight to get on or required extra effort to get it locked in place ?

I used adapters with chip to use manual Takumar lenses. They seems just like the other lenses. However, in terms of tolerance, that could be the problem. The reason I bought the 5DII was to use my Takumar lenses on a FF. I am going to stop, I really found the Canon lenses superior to any other lens I have used before.
I ordered the contact bridge, but decided to take the camera to Canon. The contact bridge (the part you mentioned) seems easy to install (two screws and disconnect and connect two connectors). However, I am not that handy and for the first time, I want to take it to Canon.

Post #44, Nov 12, 2012 17:54:01


It's not a photo until you print it! :cool:
Click hereexternal link, this is myflickrexternal link gallery

LOG IN TO REPLY
Pepe ­ Guitarra
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Pepe Guitarra's Avatar
Joined Jul 2012
800 posts
Southern California
[MORE/SHARE]

Well, one week later, I received the camera from Canon. They replaced the contact bridge (or lens interface) and send it back. The camera now works fine. Thanks everyone for their input.

Post #45, Nov 21, 2012 22:03:05 as a reply to Pepe Guitarra's post 9 days earlier.


It's not a photo until you print it! :cool:
Click hereexternal link, this is myflickrexternal link gallery

LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
2,472 views & 0 likes for this thread
My 5DMarkII does not recognize the AF of...
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00123 for 5 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.03s
1082 guests, 799 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is Billzo

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.