Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 04 Nov 2012 (Sunday) 09:18
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

EOS 600D Red blinking Light ?

 
CobraGT40
Member
CobraGT40's Avatar
37 posts
Joined Jun 2012
Aurora, IL
Nov 04, 2012 09:18 |  #1

Hey all
I haven't posted in a while but when I took my 600D out the other day to snap some pics for a CraigsList Ad and noticed a red blinking light in the lower right-hand corner on the back of the body. I did a Google search thinking it might be a simple solution but it got me nowhere. I bought the camera last May and really haven't used it a whole lot... I practiced with it for several hours before going to the big airshow and got a LOT of practice with it at said airshow...a whole weeks worth and at least 6000 pics. That whole time the camera has been babied, always kept in the case, always capped when not in use, never got wet or even used in a humid environment, never dropped etc.

That was the last time I used it...It's been sitting in the case since then with the battery removed.

Can anyone tell me what the red blinking light means and what I need to do to get this thing back on track ?

Thanks !

Scott




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
CobraGT40
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
CobraGT40's Avatar
37 posts
Joined Jun 2012
Aurora, IL
Nov 04, 2012 09:29 |  #2

OK...I just went through a few other possibilites to determine what the issue is. One of which was to fire up the camera without the memory card. That got rid of the blinking light. I put the card back in and back came the blinking light. Could it possibly be a bad card or corrupted file ? The card is a Sandisk Extreme SD-HC 16gb C10.




LOG IN TO REPLY
Wallace ­ River
" ...a bit of a pervy voyeur "
Wallace River's Avatar
11,578 posts
Gallery: 65 photos
Joined Jul 2010
Wallace, Nova Scotia
Nov 04, 2012 09:32 as a reply to CobraGT40's post |  #3

The blinking red light is usually a sign that the camera's buffer is full, normally after a burst of many shots, and the camera is in the process of moving files from the buffer to the memory card. If the card is corrupted, I suppose it could make it behave this way too.


IAN - Living life on the shores of the Wallace River in northern Nova Scotia, Canada :
Canon 1D4, 1D-X, almost enough glass.
My Flickr (external link). http://ianmurray.zenfo​lio.com/ (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
6,270 posts
Joined May 2003
Southeast Pennsylvania
Nov 04, 2012 09:39 |  #4

Start with doing a low level format on the bad card (in camera) or test with another card. You'll likely loose any pictures on the card so try to move them off with a PC first.




LOG IN TO REPLY
Echo63
Goldmember
Echo63's Avatar
2,734 posts
Joined Aug 2006
Perth - Western Australia - Earth
Nov 04, 2012 09:51 |  #5

Pretty sure the blinking red light just signifies that the camera is accessing the card.

There is a little red light on the back of my Mk4 that blinks when I shut the card door or have finished shooting a burst of photos.

If its blinking all the time the. You probably have an issue with your card.
Try formatting it as a first step, if that doesn't work then you will probably need to bin the card (assuming a different card fixes the issue)


My Best Imageswww.echo63.deviantart.​comexternal link
Gear listhttp://photography-on-the.net ...p?p=2463426&postcou​nt=385

LOG IN TO REPLY
CobraGT40
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
CobraGT40's Avatar
37 posts
Joined Jun 2012
Aurora, IL
Nov 04, 2012 09:58 as a reply to Echo63's post |  #6

Just transferred files to my PC and formatted the card. Problem solved !

Thanks everyone !




LOG IN TO REPLY
CallumRD1
Senior Member
Joined Sep 2012
Nov 04, 2012 11:52 as a reply to CobraGT40's post |  #7

I had the same problem on my T3i/600D. It kept blinking whenever my 16gb card was in the camera (it wasn't full). Once I took all of the pictures off the card, the light stopped blinking. I don't know what the problem was, but it didn't last once the card was emptied.


Canon EOS 7D Mark II | Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM, EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM, EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM, EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM, EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM, EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS II, EF 50mm f/1.8 II |

LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
apersson850's Avatar
11,265 posts
Joined Nov 2007
Traryd, Sweden
Nov 04, 2012 14:26 as a reply to CallumRD1's post |  #8

It seems that when you put in a card, which already contains images, in cameras that are new enough to allow RAW development in-camera, the camera builds a database of applicable files on the card. It knows immediately if there is any RAW to develop, without scanning the card when you invoke that function. When you are taking pictures, the database is built as you shoot, but when a card with images is inserted, it takes a while to do it.
This has baffled some 7D users, who upgraded to version 2 as well.


Anders

LOG IN TO REPLY
Keebert
Senior Member
Keebert's Avatar
613 posts
Joined Feb 2011
Texas
Nov 04, 2012 17:57 |  #9

This happens to me on my 60D when the card has a fair number of shots on it (but not necessarily close to full). I have searched and searched and found nothing on this issue and it doesn't do anything other than annoy with the blinking. Of course, it goes away when I delete the files or format the card and will come back after I start filling the card up.

I suspect it's something to do with the fact that these cameras are not used to the 32GB and larger card sizes that are commonly available these days. Other than the blinking, everything else works as it should.


5D3, 50/1.4, 40/2.8, 24-105L, 100L, 70-200L II, 400/5.6L, 600EX-RT, Zuiko 28/2.8, flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

43,803 views & 0 likes for this thread
EOS 600D Red blinking Light ?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00091 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is CCPix
769 guests, 551 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 5577, that happened on Mar 02, 2016