Index  •   • New Posts  •   • RTAT  •   • "Best Of"  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New Posts  •   • RTAT  •   • "Best Of"  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 04 Nov 2012 (Sunday) 09:18
PREV/NEXT

EOS 600D Red blinking Light ?

 
CobraGT40
Member
CobraGT40's Avatar
37 posts

Joined Jun 2012

Aurora, IL
MORE INFO

Hey all
I haven't posted in a while but when I took my 600D out the other day to snap some pics for a CraigsList Ad and noticed a red blinking light in the lower right-hand corner on the back of the body. I did a Google search thinking it might be a simple solution but it got me nowhere. I bought the camera last May and really haven't used it a whole lot... I practiced with it for several hours before going to the big airshow and got a LOT of practice with it at said airshow...a whole weeks worth and at least 6000 pics. That whole time the camera has been babied, always kept in the case, always capped when not in use, never got wet or even used in a humid environment, never dropped etc.

That was the last time I used it...It's been sitting in the case since then with the battery removed.

Can anyone tell me what the red blinking light means and what I need to do to get this thing back on track ?

Thanks !

Scott

Nov 04, 2012 09:18



LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
CobraGT40
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
CobraGT40's Avatar
37 posts

Joined Jun 2012

Aurora, IL
MORE INFO

OK...I just went through a few other possibilites to determine what the issue is. One of which was to fire up the camera without the memory card. That got rid of the blinking light. I put the card back in and back came the blinking light. Could it possibly be a bad card or corrupted file ? The card is a Sandisk Extreme SD-HC 16gb C10.

Nov 04, 2012 09:29



LOG IN TO REPLY
Wallace ­ River
Cream of the Crop
Wallace River's Avatar
10,207 posts
GALLERY: 14 photos
Joined Jul 2010

Wallace, Nova Scotia
MORE INFO

The blinking red light is usually a sign that the camera's buffer is full, normally after a burst of many shots, and the camera is in the process of moving files from the buffer to the memory card. If the card is corrupted, I suppose it could make it behave this way too.

Nov 04, 2012 09:32 as a reply to CobraGT40's post 2 minutes earlier.

IAN - Living life on the shores of the Wallace River in northern Nova Scotia, Canada :
Canon 1D4, 1D-X, almost enough glass.
My Flickrexternal link.

LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
5,462 posts
Joined May 2003

Southeast Pennsylvania
MORE INFO

Start with doing a low level format on the bad card (in camera) or test with another card. You'll likely loose any pictures on the card so try to move them off with a PC first.

Nov 04, 2012 09:39



LOG IN TO REPLY
Echo63
Goldmember
Echo63's Avatar
2,455 posts

Joined Aug 2006

Perth - Western Australia - Earth
MORE INFO

Pretty sure the blinking red light just signifies that the camera is accessing the card.

There is a little red light on the back of my Mk4 that blinks when I shut the card door or have finished shooting a burst of photos.

If its blinking all the time the. You probably have an issue with your card.
Try formatting it as a first step, if that doesn't work then you will probably need to bin the card (assuming a different card fixes the issue)

Nov 04, 2012 09:51

My Best Imageswww.echo63.deviantart.​comexternal link
Gear listhttp://photography-on-the.net ...p?p=2463426&postcou​nt=385

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
CobraGT40
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
CobraGT40's Avatar
37 posts

Joined Jun 2012

Aurora, IL
MORE INFO

Just transferred files to my PC and formatted the card. Problem solved !

Thanks everyone !

Nov 04, 2012 09:58 as a reply to Echo63's post 7 minutes earlier.



LOG IN TO REPLY
CallumRD1
Senior Member
306 posts
Joined Sep 2012
MORE INFO

I had the same problem on my T3i/600D. It kept blinking whenever my 16gb card was in the camera (it wasn't full). Once I took all of the pictures off the card, the light stopped blinking. I don't know what the problem was, but it didn't last once the card was emptied.

Nov 04, 2012 11:52 as a reply to CobraGT40's post 1 hour earlier.

Canon 7D, EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM, EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM, EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS II, Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 USM, EF 50mm f/1.8 II, Yongnuo YN-500EX
Flickrexternal link
Purchase my Printsexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
apersson850's Avatar
10,916 posts

Joined Nov 2007

Traryd, Sweden
MORE INFO

It seems that when you put in a card, which already contains images, in cameras that are new enough to allow RAW development in-camera, the camera builds a database of applicable files on the card. It knows immediately if there is any RAW to develop, without scanning the card when you invoke that function. When you are taking pictures, the database is built as you shoot, but when a card with images is inserted, it takes a while to do it.
This has baffled some 7D users, who upgraded to version 2 as well.

Nov 04, 2012 14:26 as a reply to CallumRD1's post 2 hours earlier.

Anders

LOG IN TO REPLY
Keebert
Senior Member
Keebert's Avatar
613 posts

Joined Feb 2011

Texas
MORE INFO

This happens to me on my 60D when the card has a fair number of shots on it (but not necessarily close to full). I have searched and searched and found nothing on this issue and it doesn't do anything other than annoy with the blinking. Of course, it goes away when I delete the files or format the card and will come back after I start filling the card up.

I suspect it's something to do with the fact that these cameras are not used to the 32GB and larger card sizes that are commonly available these days. Other than the blinking, everything else works as it should.

Nov 04, 2012 17:57

5D3, 50/1.4, 40/2.8, 24-105L, 100L, 70-200L II, 400/5.6L, 600EX-RT, Zuiko 28/2.8, flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY

23,737 views & 0 likes for this thread
EOS 600D Red blinking Light ?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras

NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO THE FORUMS
Registered members get all the features: search, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, own reviews...




SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF    •   JUMP TO FORUM    •   FORUM RULES    •   Index    •   New Posts    •   RTAT    •   "Best Of"    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality. We do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browsers' data storage methods.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.1version 1.1
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00088 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is pse88
958 guests, 704 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014