Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Small Compact Digitals by Canon
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11th of November 2012 (Sun)   #1
SharonC
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 15
Default Canon SX 500 IS

Hello everyone. I'm new here. I found this forum while researching Canon Point and Shoots. I've purchased a Canon SX 500 IS to replace my old Canon. I have the option to return...I chose this particular camera over the SX50 because of the smaller size.
I'm finding that the sharpness of the picture is not quite what I expected from a camera of this type. I do realize that it could be me, and not the camera. I should explain that I'm not terribly knowledgeable about photography...just like to point and shoot using automatic mode. I do think I'll hang around on this forum and try and learn more!

Does anyone have the SX500?

Last edited by SharonC : 11th of November 2012 (Sun) at 05:45.
SharonC is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 11th of November 2012 (Sun)   #2
eyalg
Member
 
eyalg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 583
Default Re: Canon SX 500 IS

The SX500 is not as powerful as the SX50, both in terms of zoom,
but more importantly - in terms of sensor quality and low-light support.
The SX500 has a CCD sensor, unlike the SX50's CMOS sensor.
If you're taking shots at full zoom in an unlit environment,
you're bound to get blurry photos. If you're not replacing the camera,
try (in any case, actually) to zoom out, turn some light on, or use a tripod.

-eyalg
__________________
My Digital Camera Guide - www.eyalg.com
eyalg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th of November 2012 (Sun)   #3
SharonC
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 15
Default Re: Canon SX 500 IS

I will mostly be taking shots of family, pets,...the basics. The zoom, although nice for some situations, is not priority for my use. I chose this camera mostly for the feel in my hand, and the size. The photos I'm taking are not really blurry, just not "crisp"....I'll post a photo in a bit....
SharonC is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 11th of November 2012 (Sun)   #4
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 67,794
Default Re: Canon SX 500 IS

Could you post some examples, and include the EXIF? There are a number of different possible causes which we can't really respond to without the examples.
__________________
Jon
----------

Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities

Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE
Jon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th of November 2012 (Sun)   #5
SharonC
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 15
Default Re: Canon SX 500 IS

Some shots with this camera...just quickly done. I think the pics look softened...not crisp as my old A540.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0130.jpg (95.5 KB, 248 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0134.jpg (109.9 KB, 246 views)
SharonC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th of November 2012 (Sun)   #6
SharonC
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 15
Default Re: Canon SX 500 IS

...and this one using Macro. I focused on the stem, got the green light...but it's not clear. Another thing that I should mention is that I usually get a "shaky camera" symbol. I'm trying very hard to keep the camera still to no avail.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0125.jpg (152.1 KB, 247 views)

Last edited by SharonC : 11th of November 2012 (Sun) at 07:58.
SharonC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th of November 2012 (Sun)   #7
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 67,794
Default Re: Canon SX 500 IS

We still need the EXIF data, which is automatically recorded to the photo and can be viewed in most photo utilities. But at a first guess, you may be trying to focus closer than the camera is capable of. Notice how the leaf in the second photo looks a bit sharper than the budgie.
__________________
Jon
----------

Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities

Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE
Jon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th of November 2012 (Sun)   #8
SharonC
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 15
Default Re: Canon SX 500 IS

I have no clue how to get EXIF data...
SharonC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th of November 2012 (Sun)   #9
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 67,794
Default Re: Canon SX 500 IS

Are you using the Canon software? If you are, when you open the picture, it'll tell you. Most operating systems will also let you see it when you open the picture and choose "Properties".
__________________
Jon
----------

Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities

Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE
Jon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th of November 2012 (Sun)   #10
SharonC
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 15
Default Re: Canon SX 500 IS

Ok...here's what I found for the pic of the Linnie on the plant. I hope this is what you need....


Horizontal and vertical Resolution...180dpi
Bit depth...24
Resolution..unit 2
colour rep...sRGB
compressed bits...3
fstop f/3.4
exposure time...1/13 sec
Iso speed 180_800
Exp. bias ...0step
Focal Length...4mm
Max Aperture...3.53125
Metering mode...Pattern
Flash Mode...No Flash/cumpulsory

I haven't checked out the CDRom yet...just consulted the users guide. In case you can't tell already, I'm an older person who can easily remember film cameras, and no computers!

Last edited by SharonC : 11th of November 2012 (Sun) at 08:48.
SharonC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th of November 2012 (Sun)   #11
eyalg
Member
 
eyalg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 583
Default Re: Canon SX 500 IS

It seems the ISO is high and the shutter speed is low.
The first two also seem to be out of focus.

-eyalg
__________________
My Digital Camera Guide - www.eyalg.com
eyalg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th of November 2012 (Sun)   #12
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 67,794
Default Re: Canon SX 500 IS

1/13 sec. is very slow, even with image stabilization, on a camera where you have to hold it at arms length to compose the image. And ISO 800 will be very "noisy" (look at the colour speckling on the solid-colour areas to see what this means). Both of those will make pictures look fuzzy. Try adding flash, just like you would have with Kodachrome.
__________________
Jon
----------

Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities

Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE
Jon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th of November 2012 (Sun)   #13
SharonC
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 15
Default Re: Canon SX 500 IS

Ok...so if I have the camera in auto mode, shouldn't it "adjust" ISO and shutter speed to what it needs? I've already tried using flash as opposed to no flash, and often find that the flash distorts the colour. This camera is new to the market....maybe it's not as good as some others?
SharonC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th of November 2012 (Sun)   #14
SharonC
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 15
Default Re: Canon SX 500 IS

OK...simaliar shot with flash...

1/20th of a sec now and ISO is 640
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0128.jpg (133.6 KB, 241 views)

Last edited by SharonC : 11th of November 2012 (Sun) at 09:27.
SharonC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th of November 2012 (Sun)   #15
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

 
Jon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 67,794
Default Re: Canon SX 500 IS

Quote:
Originally Posted by SharonC View Post
Ok...so if I have the camera in auto mode, shouldn't it "adjust" ISO and shutter speed to what it needs? I've already tried using flash as opposed to no flash, and often find that the flash distorts the colour. This camera is new to the market....maybe it's not as good as some others?
"What it needs" is what it needs to get a properly exposed shot, even if that's a properly exposed blur. On a tripod, it could probably get you a sharp shot at that speed, but not hand-held. You'll notice that in the shot with flash, he's sharper. This may be because of two things - the shutter speed, when using flash, is less important since the flash (which is very short) does most of the exposing to the closer part of the picture (flash range at wide is only 1.6-16 ft, and if it's exposing for something close in, stuff in the background won't be lit by the flash), and you weren't as close to your subject.

When you use flash, the camera sets its white balance (not all "white light" is the same colour) correctly for the flash. If part of the scene is lit by incandescent or fluorescent lights, or by shade, cloudy skies, or some other kind of light, the part of the picture illuminated by that other light may look funny. For instance, incandescent lights are much "warmer" than daylight or a flash, so parts of a flash-lit photo that are being illuminated mainly by the incandescents will look orangey.
__________________
Jon
----------

Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities

Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE
Jon is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 15:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.