LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


Canon SX 500 IS

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Small Compact Digitals by Canon
Thread started 11 Nov 2012 (Sunday) 05:33   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
SharonC
Mostly Lurking
Joined Nov 2012
15 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Hello everyone. I'm new here. I found this forum while researching Canon Point and Shoots. I've purchased a Canon SX 500 IS to replace my old Canon. I have the option to return...I chose this particular camera over the SX50 because of the smaller size.
I'm finding that the sharpness of the picture is not quite what I expected from a camera of this type. I do realize that it could be me, and not the camera. I should explain that I'm not terribly knowledgeable about photography...just like to point and shoot using automatic mode. I do think I'll hang around on this forum and try and learn more!

Does anyone have the SX500?

Post #1, Nov 11, 2012 05:33:56




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
eyalg
Senior Member
eyalg's Avatar
Joined May 2008
583 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

The SX500 is not as powerful as the SX50, both in terms of zoom,
but more importantly - in terms of sensor quality and low-light support.
The SX500 has a CCD sensor, unlike the SX50's CMOS sensor.
If you're taking shots at full zoom in an unlit environment,
you're bound to get blurry photos. If you're not replacing the camera,
try (in any case, actually) to zoom out, turn some light on, or use a tripod.

-eyalg

Post #2, Nov 11, 2012 06:47:59


My Digital Camera Guide - www.eyalg.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
SharonC
THREAD ­ STARTER
Mostly Lurking
Joined Nov 2012
15 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

I will mostly be taking shots of family, pets,...the basics. The zoom, although nice for some situations, is not priority for my use. I chose this camera mostly for the feel in my hand, and the size. The photos I'm taking are not really blurry, just not "crisp"....I'll post a photo in a bit....

Post #3, Nov 11, 2012 07:33:59 as a reply to eyalg's post 46 minutes earlier.




LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

Jon's Avatar
Joined Jun 2004
68,204 posts
Bethesda, MD USA
[MORE/SHARE]

Could you post some examples, and include the EXIF? There are a number of different possible causes which we can't really respond to without the examples.

Post #4, Nov 11, 2012 07:41:34


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

LOG IN TO REPLY
SharonC
THREAD ­ STARTER
Mostly Lurking
Joined Nov 2012
15 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Some shots with this camera...just quickly done. I think the pics look softened...not crisp as my old A540.

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos.

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos.

Post #5, Nov 11, 2012 07:47:40 as a reply to SharonC's post 13 minutes earlier.




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
SharonC
THREAD ­ STARTER
Mostly Lurking
Joined Nov 2012
15 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

...and this one using Macro. I focused on the stem, got the green light...but it's not clear. Another thing that I should mention is that I usually get a "shaky camera" symbol. I'm trying very hard to keep the camera still to no avail.

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos.

Post #6, Nov 11, 2012 07:55:50 as a reply to SharonC's post 8 minutes earlier.




LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

Jon's Avatar
Joined Jun 2004
68,204 posts
Bethesda, MD USA
[MORE/SHARE]

We still need the EXIF data, which is automatically recorded to the photo and can be viewed in most photo utilities. But at a first guess, you may be trying to focus closer than the camera is capable of. Notice how the leaf in the second photo looks a bit sharper than the budgie.

Post #7, Nov 11, 2012 07:57:41


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

LOG IN TO REPLY
SharonC
THREAD ­ STARTER
Mostly Lurking
Joined Nov 2012
15 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

I have no clue how to get EXIF data...:oops:

Post #8, Nov 11, 2012 08:10:00 as a reply to Jon's post 12 minutes earlier.




LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

Jon's Avatar
Joined Jun 2004
68,204 posts
Bethesda, MD USA
[MORE/SHARE]

Are you using the Canon software? If you are, when you open the picture, it'll tell you. Most operating systems will also let you see it when you open the picture and choose "Properties".

Post #9, Nov 11, 2012 08:31:17


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

LOG IN TO REPLY
SharonC
THREAD ­ STARTER
Mostly Lurking
Joined Nov 2012
15 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Ok...here's what I found for the pic of the Linnie on the plant. I hope this is what you need....


Horizontal and vertical Resolution...180dpi
Bit depth...24
Resolution..unit 2
colour rep...sRGB
compressed bits...3
fstop f/3.4
exposure time...1/13 sec
Iso speed 180_800
Exp. bias ...0step
Focal Length...4mm
Max Aperture...3.53125
Metering mode...Pattern
Flash Mode...No Flash/cumpulsory

I haven't checked out the CDRom yet...just consulted the users guide. In case you can't tell already, I'm an older person who can easily remember film cameras, and no computers!

Post #10, Nov 11, 2012 08:43:13 as a reply to Jon's post 11 minutes earlier.




LOG IN TO REPLY
eyalg
Senior Member
eyalg's Avatar
Joined May 2008
583 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

It seems the ISO is high and the shutter speed is low.
The first two also seem to be out of focus.

-eyalg

Post #11, Nov 11, 2012 08:56:39


My Digital Camera Guide - www.eyalg.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

Jon's Avatar
Joined Jun 2004
68,204 posts
Bethesda, MD USA
[MORE/SHARE]

1/13 sec. is very slow, even with image stabilization, on a camera where you have to hold it at arms length to compose the image. And ISO 800 will be very "noisy" (look at the colour speckling on the solid-colour areas to see what this means). Both of those will make pictures look fuzzy. Try adding flash, just like you would have with Kodachrome.

Post #12, Nov 11, 2012 08:57:06


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

LOG IN TO REPLY
SharonC
THREAD ­ STARTER
Mostly Lurking
Joined Nov 2012
15 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Ok...so if I have the camera in auto mode, shouldn't it "adjust" ISO and shutter speed to what it needs? I've already tried using flash as opposed to no flash, and often find that the flash distorts the colour. This camera is new to the market....maybe it's not as good as some others?

Post #13, Nov 11, 2012 09:07:11 as a reply to Jon's post 10 minutes earlier.




LOG IN TO REPLY
SharonC
THREAD ­ STARTER
Mostly Lurking
Joined Nov 2012
15 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

OK...simaliar shot with flash...

1/20th of a sec now and ISO is 640

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos.

Post #14, Nov 11, 2012 09:24:08 as a reply to SharonC's post 16 minutes earlier.




LOG IN TO REPLY
Jon
Moderator

Cocker Spaniel Mod

Jon's Avatar
Joined Jun 2004
68,204 posts
Bethesda, MD USA
[MORE/SHARE]

SharonC wrote in post #15232644external link
Ok...so if I have the camera in auto mode, shouldn't it "adjust" ISO and shutter speed to what it needs? I've already tried using flash as opposed to no flash, and often find that the flash distorts the colour. This camera is new to the market....maybe it's not as good as some others?

"What it needs" is what it needs to get a properly exposed shot, even if that's a properly exposed blur. On a tripod, it could probably get you a sharp shot at that speed, but not hand-held. You'll notice that in the shot with flash, he's sharper. This may be because of two things - the shutter speed, when using flash, is less important since the flash (which is very short) does most of the exposing to the closer part of the picture (flash range at wide is only 1.6-16 ft, and if it's exposing for something close in, stuff in the background won't be lit by the flash), and you weren't as close to your subject.

When you use flash, the camera sets its white balance (not all "white light" is the same colour) correctly for the flash. If part of the scene is lit by incandescent or fluorescent lights, or by shade, cloudy skies, or some other kind of light, the part of the picture illuminated by that other light may look funny. For instance, incandescent lights are much "warmer" than daylight or a flash, so parts of a flash-lit photo that are being illuminated mainly by the incandescents will look orangey.

Post #15, Nov 11, 2012 10:13:09


Jon
----------
Cocker Spaniels
Maryland and Virginia activities
Image Posting Rules and Image Posting FAQ
Report SPAM, Don't Answer It! (link)
PERSONAL MESSAGING REGARDING SELLING OR BUYING ITEMS WITH MEMBERS WHO HAVE NO POSTS IN FORUMS AND/OR WHO YOU DO NOT KNOW FROM FORUMS IS HEREBY DECLARED STRICTLY STUPID AND YOU WILL GET BURNED.
PAYPAL GIFT NO LONGER ALLOWED HERE

LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
6,516 views & 0 likes for this thread
Canon SX 500 IS
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Small Compact Digitals by Canon



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00084 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
834 guests, 537 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is g1en

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.