LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


EOS Utility problems.

FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 04 Jan 2013 (Friday) 15:27   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
twinkle_2k86
Senior Member
Joined Jul 2009
125 posts
Andover/ Salisbury uk
[MORE/SHARE]

I having problems with EOS utility. I have the discs, but my CD drive dont work :(.

I have managed to download a copy of DDP version 1, and then updated from the canon site to the latest version (3.12.52.0) This all opens fine etc.

Trouble is i downloaded the latest version EOS utility from canon, and try and run it, but it wont run. I get a message to say,

Software cant find, EOS utlility, EOS viewer utility, File viewer utility and camera window DSLR. please in insert CD.

I have windows 7, and its a canon 40d im trying to connect up.

Any help please, as im now lost.

cheers :)

Post #1, Jan 04, 2013 15:27:12


Jon Harris Photography.
Canon 40D ,Gripped, 50mm 1.8 II, 28-70 II f3.5-4.5, 75-300 IS USM,
sigma ef-500 super dg, Manfotto 075 tripod, 029 head.

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
jacuff
Goldmember
jacuff's Avatar
Joined Apr 2008
2,581 posts
Knoxville, TN
[MORE/SHARE]

Get on another computer. Burn the CD to an ISO. Install a Virtual CD program like Daemon Tools (watch out for the loaded bloatware) and mount the ISO. So glad Windows 8 made ISO mounting native to the OS.

Post #2, Jan 04, 2013 15:29:56


Gear, Feedback (eBayexternal link), Webexternal link, Blogexternal link, FBexternal link, Twitterexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
TSchrief
Goldmember
TSchrief's Avatar
Joined Aug 2012
2,099 posts
Bourbon, Indiana
[MORE/SHARE]
banned

It would be easier to take the CD to a friends house and copy the CD to a blank, formatted, sufficiently large USB thumb drive. I do that all the time. My old laptop doesn't even have a CD drive. Its never been a problem.

Post #3, Jan 04, 2013 17:18:39


Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
twinkle_2k86
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Joined Jul 2009
125 posts
Andover/ Salisbury uk
[MORE/SHARE]

TSchrief wrote in post #15445398external link
It would be easier to take the CD to a friends house and copy the CD to a blank, formatted, sufficiently large USB thumb drive. I do that all the time. My old laptop doesn't even have a CD drive. Its never been a problem.

Cheers, will give this a go first.

Post #4, Jan 05, 2013 04:52:23


Jon Harris Photography.
Canon 40D ,Gripped, 50mm 1.8 II, 28-70 II f3.5-4.5, 75-300 IS USM,
sigma ef-500 super dg, Manfotto 075 tripod, 029 head.

LOG IN TO REPLY
Lowner
"I'm the original idiot"
Lowner's Avatar
Joined Jul 2007
12,885 posts
Salisbury, UK.
[MORE/SHARE]

Why not get the CD drive fixed?

Post #5, Jan 05, 2013 05:18:24 as a reply to twinkle_2k86's post 26 minutes earlier.


Richard

http://rcb4344.zenfoli​o.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
jr#8
Goldmember
jr#8's Avatar
Joined Aug 2005
2,333 posts
NJ
[MORE/SHARE]

Why doesnt canon have these files on there website. I Just installed a new HD in my Laptop and cant get the original software for a 20D. They have all the updates on the site

Post #6, Jan 05, 2013 06:29:36


Astrophotography,Fishi​ng
Canon 20D,Canon 100mm-400mm "L" IS USM,50mm 1.4 USM, Tamron AF28-80mm Asph, Canon 50mm FD Backwards Macro
Canon Speedlite 430 EX ,Bogen Monopod
Stroboframe

LOG IN TO REPLY
twinkle_2k86
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Joined Jul 2009
125 posts
Andover/ Salisbury uk
[MORE/SHARE]

Lowner wrote in post #15447193external link
Why not get the CD drive fixed?

Have tried, its when I upgraded to windows 7, for some reason the cd drive won't work. When pluged in, the laptop stalls on start up everytime. If not pluged in it boots up perfect.

Post #7, Jan 05, 2013 17:06:21


Jon Harris Photography.
Canon 40D ,Gripped, 50mm 1.8 II, 28-70 II f3.5-4.5, 75-300 IS USM,
sigma ef-500 super dg, Manfotto 075 tripod, 029 head.

LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
Joined May 2003
5,289 posts
Southeast Pennsylvania
[MORE/SHARE]

Start with PC off then remove the drive and boot the PC. Go into device manager, or whatever it may be called in Win7 and expand the tree to look at the hardware. Delete any reference to the drive. Once done plug the drive back in and you should get a message about "new hardware." Let Win7 try to find the driver for it but if it can't then point it to the drive manufacturers site.

Post #8, Jan 05, 2013 22:25:20




LOG IN TO REPLY
MikeWa
Senior Member
MikeWa's Avatar
Joined Apr 2012
515 posts
Seattle Washington
[MORE/SHARE]

Go here. http://usa.canon.com ...eos_7d#DriversAndSo​ftwareexternal link

Select 'drivers and software' enter your computer system and download the program to your computer. No disc needed.

Mike

Post #9, Jan 06, 2013 13:24:23 as a reply to John from PA's post 14 hours earlier.


Mike...G9; EOS 7D; EF-S 10-22mm; EF-S 18-135mm IS; EF 28-300mm F3.5-5.6L; EF 70-300mm IS USM; EF 70-200mm F2.8L IS-II; EF 100-400mm f4.5-5.6L IS; EXT 1.4-II & 2.0-III; The more I learn the less I know.

LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
Joined May 2003
5,289 posts
Southeast Pennsylvania
[MORE/SHARE]

Mike's, op has problems with a CD drive that doesn't' work. Canon is not likely to help with a drive (hardware) issue.

Post #10, Jan 06, 2013 18:28:41




LOG IN TO REPLY
MikeWa
Senior Member
MikeWa's Avatar
Joined Apr 2012
515 posts
Seattle Washington
[MORE/SHARE]

John from PA wrote in post #15453638external link
Mike's, op has problems with a CD drive that doesn't' work. Canon is not likely to help with a drive (hardware) issue.

I thought the OP said he was having a problem with the EOS utility. That he was unable to get it properly loaded into his computer due to a non operating CD drive. My post was on how to get the EOS utility. The drive is a another issue.
Mike

Post #11, Jan 06, 2013 19:04:30


Mike...G9; EOS 7D; EF-S 10-22mm; EF-S 18-135mm IS; EF 28-300mm F3.5-5.6L; EF 70-300mm IS USM; EF 70-200mm F2.8L IS-II; EF 100-400mm f4.5-5.6L IS; EXT 1.4-II & 2.0-III; The more I learn the less I know.

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
rrblint
Listen! .... do you smell something?
rrblint's Avatar
Joined May 2012
8,507 posts
U.S.A.
[MORE/SHARE]

MikeWa wrote in post #15452406external link
Go here. http://usa.canon.com ...eos_7d#DriversAndSo​ftwareexternal link

Select 'drivers and software' enter your computer system and download the program to your computer. No disc needed.

Mike

The basic program for EOS Utilities is NOT available here, only the updates.

You cannot update(without using file management trickery) without having the basic program insalled.

Post #12, Jan 06, 2013 19:23:46


Mark-BAT

LOG IN TO REPLY
jr#8
Goldmember
jr#8's Avatar
Joined Aug 2005
2,333 posts
NJ
[MORE/SHARE]

twinkle_2k86 wrote in post #15449237external link
Have tried, its when I upgraded to windows 7, for some reason the cd drive won't work. When pluged in, the laptop stalls on start up everytime. If not pluged in it boots up perfect.

How old is the PC? Did it come with Vista on it?
If you install Virtual Machine you might be able to put the CD back on. Sound something like the problem I had when installing a new HD It could'nt use the CD

Post #13, Jan 06, 2013 19:44:05


Astrophotography,Fishi​ng
Canon 20D,Canon 100mm-400mm "L" IS USM,50mm 1.4 USM, Tamron AF28-80mm Asph, Canon 50mm FD Backwards Macro
Canon Speedlite 430 EX ,Bogen Monopod
Stroboframe

LOG IN TO REPLY
twinkle_2k86
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
Joined Jul 2009
125 posts
Andover/ Salisbury uk
[MORE/SHARE]

jr#8 wrote in post #15453964external link
How old is the PC? Did it come with Vista on it?
If you install Virtual Machine you might be able to put the CD back on. Sound something like the problem I had when installing a new HD It could'nt use the CD

Yer, it was a Vista machine. Its a HP laptop. Had it upgraded to windows 7, but lost my CD drive and built in Webcam. I have searched google to try and find a fix for both, but it seems it was quite common when upgrading.

May just buy an external CD drive at some point.

Post #14, Jan 08, 2013 05:29:05


Jon Harris Photography.
Canon 40D ,Gripped, 50mm 1.8 II, 28-70 II f3.5-4.5, 75-300 IS USM,
sigma ef-500 super dg, Manfotto 075 tripod, 029 head.

LOG IN TO REPLY
mikeinctown
Goldmember
Joined May 2012
1,393 posts
Cleveland
[MORE/SHARE]

Sounds like you need to make a trip to eBay for a cheap used drive. If that doesn't work then you most likely have a bad MoBo or will need to wipe the system and start with a clean install. itherw ay, if this is your primary computer i would fix the problem before you screw yourself over.

Post #15, Jan 08, 2013 08:11:49




LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
1,621 views & 0 likes for this thread
EOS Utility problems.
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00316 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
976 guests, 803 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is junqi89

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.