Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 04 Jan 2013 (Friday) 15:27
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

EOS Utility problems.

 
twinkle_2k86
Member
twinkle_2k86's Avatar
Joined Jul 2009
Andover/ Salisbury uk
Jan 04, 2013 15:27 |  #1

I having problems with EOS utility. I have the discs, but my CD drive dont work :(.

I have managed to download a copy of DDP version 1, and then updated from the canon site to the latest version (3.12.52.0) This all opens fine etc.

Trouble is i downloaded the latest version EOS utility from canon, and try and run it, but it wont run. I get a message to say,

Software cant find, EOS utlility, EOS viewer utility, File viewer utility and camera window DSLR. please in insert CD.

I have windows 7, and its a canon 40d im trying to connect up.

Any help please, as im now lost.

cheers :)


Jon Harris Photography.
Canon 40D ,Gripped x 2, 50mm 1.8 II, 28-70 II f3.5-4.5, Tamron 70-300 vc, Tamron 90mm macro
Sigma 150-600 OS Comp.

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
jacuff
Goldmember
jacuff's Avatar
2,581 posts
Joined Apr 2008
Searcy, AR
Jan 04, 2013 15:29 |  #2

Get on another computer. Burn the CD to an ISO. Install a Virtual CD program like Daemon Tools (watch out for the loaded bloatware) and mount the ISO. So glad Windows 8 made ISO mounting native to the OS.


Gear, Feedback (eBayexternal link), Webexternal link, Blogexternal link, FBexternal link, Twitterexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
TSchrief
Goldmember
TSchrief's Avatar
2,099 posts
Joined Aug 2012
Bourbon, Indiana
Jan 04, 2013 17:18 |  #3
banned

It would be easier to take the CD to a friends house and copy the CD to a blank, formatted, sufficiently large USB thumb drive. I do that all the time. My old laptop doesn't even have a CD drive. Its never been a problem.


Gear List

LOG IN TO REPLY
twinkle_2k86
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
twinkle_2k86's Avatar
Joined Jul 2009
Andover/ Salisbury uk
Jan 05, 2013 04:52 |  #4

TSchrief wrote in post #15445398external link
It would be easier to take the CD to a friends house and copy the CD to a blank, formatted, sufficiently large USB thumb drive. I do that all the time. My old laptop doesn't even have a CD drive. Its never been a problem.

Cheers, will give this a go first.


Jon Harris Photography.
Canon 40D ,Gripped x 2, 50mm 1.8 II, 28-70 II f3.5-4.5, Tamron 70-300 vc, Tamron 90mm macro
Sigma 150-600 OS Comp.

LOG IN TO REPLY
Lowner
"I'm the original idiot"
Lowner's Avatar
12,924 posts
Joined Jul 2007
Salisbury, UK.
Jan 05, 2013 05:18 as a reply to twinkle_2k86's post |  #5

Why not get the CD drive fixed?


Richard

http://rcb4344.zenfoli​o.comexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
jr#8
Goldmember
jr#8's Avatar
2,338 posts
Joined Aug 2005
NJ
Jan 05, 2013 06:29 |  #6

Why doesnt canon have these files on there website. I Just installed a new HD in my Laptop and cant get the original software for a 20D. They have all the updates on the site


Astrophotography,Fishi​ng
Canon 20D,Canon 100mm-400mm "L" IS USM,50mm 1.4 USM, Tamron AF28-80mm Asph, Canon 50mm FD Backwards Macro
Canon Speedlite 430 EX ,Bogen Monopod
Stroboframe

LOG IN TO REPLY
twinkle_2k86
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
twinkle_2k86's Avatar
Joined Jul 2009
Andover/ Salisbury uk
Jan 05, 2013 17:06 |  #7

Lowner wrote in post #15447193external link
Why not get the CD drive fixed?

Have tried, its when I upgraded to windows 7, for some reason the cd drive won't work. When pluged in, the laptop stalls on start up everytime. If not pluged in it boots up perfect.


Jon Harris Photography.
Canon 40D ,Gripped x 2, 50mm 1.8 II, 28-70 II f3.5-4.5, Tamron 70-300 vc, Tamron 90mm macro
Sigma 150-600 OS Comp.

LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
6,457 posts
Joined May 2003
Southeast Pennsylvania
Jan 05, 2013 22:25 |  #8

Start with PC off then remove the drive and boot the PC. Go into device manager, or whatever it may be called in Win7 and expand the tree to look at the hardware. Delete any reference to the drive. Once done plug the drive back in and you should get a message about "new hardware." Let Win7 try to find the driver for it but if it can't then point it to the drive manufacturers site.




LOG IN TO REPLY
MikeWa
Senior Member
MikeWa's Avatar
Joined Apr 2012
Seattle Washington
Jan 06, 2013 13:24 as a reply to John from PA's post |  #9

Go here. http://usa.canon.com ...eos_7d#DriversAndSo​ftwareexternal link

Select 'drivers and software' enter your computer system and download the program to your computer. No disc needed.

Mike


Mike...G9; 7D; 7D Mark II; EF-S 10-22mm; EF-S 18-135mm IS STM; EF 28-300mm F3.5-5.6L; EF 70-300mm IS USM; EF 70-200mm F2.8L IS-II; EF 100-400mm f4.5-5.6L IS; EXT 1.4-II & 2.0-III; The more I learn the less I know.

LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
6,457 posts
Joined May 2003
Southeast Pennsylvania
Jan 06, 2013 18:28 |  #10

Mike's, op has problems with a CD drive that doesn't' work. Canon is not likely to help with a drive (hardware) issue.




LOG IN TO REPLY
MikeWa
Senior Member
MikeWa's Avatar
Joined Apr 2012
Seattle Washington
Jan 06, 2013 19:04 |  #11

John from PA wrote in post #15453638external link
Mike's, op has problems with a CD drive that doesn't' work. Canon is not likely to help with a drive (hardware) issue.

I thought the OP said he was having a problem with the EOS utility. That he was unable to get it properly loaded into his computer due to a non operating CD drive. My post was on how to get the EOS utility. The drive is a another issue.
Mike


Mike...G9; 7D; 7D Mark II; EF-S 10-22mm; EF-S 18-135mm IS STM; EF 28-300mm F3.5-5.6L; EF 70-300mm IS USM; EF 70-200mm F2.8L IS-II; EF 100-400mm f4.5-5.6L IS; EXT 1.4-II & 2.0-III; The more I learn the less I know.

LOG IN TO REPLY
rrblint
Listen! .... do you smell something?
rrblint's Avatar
14,818 posts
Gallery: 34 photos
Joined May 2012
U.S.A.
Jan 06, 2013 19:23 |  #12

MikeWa wrote in post #15452406external link
Go here. http://usa.canon.com ...eos_7d#DriversAndSo​ftwareexternal link

Select 'drivers and software' enter your computer system and download the program to your computer. No disc needed.

Mike

The basic program for EOS Utilities is NOT available here, only the updates.

You cannot update(without using file management trickery) without having the basic program insalled.


Mark

LOG IN TO REPLY
jr#8
Goldmember
jr#8's Avatar
2,338 posts
Joined Aug 2005
NJ
Jan 06, 2013 19:44 |  #13

twinkle_2k86 wrote in post #15449237external link
Have tried, its when I upgraded to windows 7, for some reason the cd drive won't work. When pluged in, the laptop stalls on start up everytime. If not pluged in it boots up perfect.

How old is the PC? Did it come with Vista on it?
If you install Virtual Machine you might be able to put the CD back on. Sound something like the problem I had when installing a new HD It could'nt use the CD


Astrophotography,Fishi​ng
Canon 20D,Canon 100mm-400mm "L" IS USM,50mm 1.4 USM, Tamron AF28-80mm Asph, Canon 50mm FD Backwards Macro
Canon Speedlite 430 EX ,Bogen Monopod
Stroboframe

LOG IN TO REPLY
twinkle_2k86
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
twinkle_2k86's Avatar
Joined Jul 2009
Andover/ Salisbury uk
Jan 08, 2013 05:29 |  #14

jr#8 wrote in post #15453964external link
How old is the PC? Did it come with Vista on it?
If you install Virtual Machine you might be able to put the CD back on. Sound something like the problem I had when installing a new HD It could'nt use the CD

Yer, it was a Vista machine. Its a HP laptop. Had it upgraded to windows 7, but lost my CD drive and built in Webcam. I have searched google to try and find a fix for both, but it seems it was quite common when upgrading.

May just buy an external CD drive at some point.


Jon Harris Photography.
Canon 40D ,Gripped x 2, 50mm 1.8 II, 28-70 II f3.5-4.5, Tamron 70-300 vc, Tamron 90mm macro
Sigma 150-600 OS Comp.

LOG IN TO REPLY
mikeinctown
Goldmember
1,881 posts
Joined May 2012
Cleveland, Ohio
Jan 08, 2013 08:11 |  #15

Sounds like you need to make a trip to eBay for a cheap used drive. If that doesn't work then you most likely have a bad MoBo or will need to wipe the system and start with a clean install. itherw ay, if this is your primary computer i would fix the problem before you screw yourself over.


Canon EOS 1D X | Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM, EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM, EF-M 22mm f/2 STM, EF-M 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM | Sigma 150-600mm F5-6.3 DG OS HSM | C |

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

2,342 views & 0 likes for this thread
EOS Utility problems.
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00521 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.19s
Latest registered member is GrantB
1009 guests, 563 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016