Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting
Thread started 26 Jan 2013 (Saturday) 10:20
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

A New Bare Bulb Flash Arrives

 
Robsphoto
Senior Member
Joined May 2011
Killeen TX
Aug 07, 2013 00:01 as a reply to post 16187377 |  #2206

That photo of the loose thread irritates me! I have the 19"version and loving it....


Happy Shooting:lol:

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Chad ­ D
Member
224 posts
Joined Apr 2003
Aug 07, 2013 00:37 |  #2207

ordered a couple extra parts dual cord and bulb protector before dinner so had my after dinner espresso :) checked my email and already got my shipping notice !!!
that is service like I give to my clients !!!! got to say two thumbs up again


ChadDahlquist.comexternal link - photography site
HappyFish.comexternal link - post production services for professional photographers

LOG IN TO REPLY
BigIronCruiser
Member
Joined Mar 2013
South Carolina
Aug 07, 2013 00:53 |  #2208

Robsphoto wrote in post #16187414external link
That photo of the loose thread irritates me! I have the 19"version and loving it....

Yes, it is definitely irritating. It's a quality control issue rather than a design issue, and I'm nearly certain that Edward will replace it when I call. I have a 22" aluminum BD that I've used extensively with PCB lights, but it's not the easiest thing in the world to transport. I may end up getting one of the 19" collapsible versions to use with the Cheetah's. Do you use yours for location work?




LOG IN TO REPLY
Nikkor316
Member
38 posts
Joined May 2013
Virginia, USA
Aug 07, 2013 10:54 |  #2209

ZoranC wrote in post #16187373external link
This worked for me, yay! _However_, I too noticed "interference bars" on one occasion when flash was used in H mode. I am guessing that underexposure makes them more visible.

Great, I'm glad the settings worked for you!


Matt

LOG IN TO REPLY
Nikkor316
Member
38 posts
Joined May 2013
Virginia, USA
Aug 07, 2013 10:58 |  #2210

BigIronCruiser wrote in post #16187490external link
Yes, it is definitely irritating. It's a quality control issue rather than a design issue, and I'm nearly certain that Edward will replace it when I call. I have a 22" aluminum BD that I've used extensively with PCB lights, but it's not the easiest thing in the world to transport. I may end up getting one of the 19" collapsible versions to use with the Cheetah's. Do you use yours for location work?

Yes, I have 19" collapsible version that I use on location with CL-180/CL-360 all the time. This has replaced using PCB mono lights with VML + 22" metal BD. I typically use my 19" without the front diffuser when shooting on location. I want all the light I can get so I just use the reflector plate and get great results.


Matt

LOG IN TO REPLY
dmward
Cream of the Crop
Joined Jun 2009
Metro Chicago
Aug 07, 2013 11:24 |  #2211

Nikkor316 wrote in post #16188374external link
Yes, I have 19" collapsible version that I use on location with CL-180/CL-360 all the time. This has replaced using PCB mono lights with VML + 22" metal BD. I typically use my 19" without the front diffuser when shooting on location. I want all the light I can get so I just use the reflector plate and get great results.

I really like my 19" collapsible as well. I played around with different sized disks and found I like it best with a 3 inch disk. Its the sealing cover for a Ball Mason jar. Got a box of them at the hardware store for a couple of bucks.


David | Sharing my Insights, Knowledge & Experience (external link) | dmwfotos website (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
scorpio_e
Cream of the Crop
scorpio_e's Avatar
Joined Aug 2007
Pa
Aug 07, 2013 13:15 |  #2212

dmward wrote in post #16188442external link
I really like my 19" collapsible as well. I played around with different sized disks and found I like it best with a 3 inch disk. Its the sealing cover for a Ball Mason jar. Got a box of them at the hardware store for a couple of bucks.

How do you mount the 3 " disk ? Any picts of it?


www.steelcityphotograp​hy.com (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
mmmfotografie
Goldmember
mmmfotografie's Avatar
1,767 posts
Joined Jul 2013
Utrecht Netherlands
Aug 07, 2013 15:15 |  #2213

ZoranC wrote in post #16187373external link
This worked for me, yay! _However_, I too noticed "interference bars" on one occasion when flash was used in H mode. I am guessing that underexposure makes them more visible.

Tested some more and this time with a Speedlite on top (set 1/128th power) of the FlexTT5 so I can use the PocketWizards in normal settings to trigger the AD360 (CL360) through P2. Thank for the tip Chris.

Suspecting that the flash does not strobe at a very high frequency but maybe at 10KHz or even lower. It makes a big difference if I use 1/8000s or 1/800s and on the latter one I have no pattern because the slit in the curtains is wider and more pulses will hit the sensor area.

I don't miss HSS very much. I use a CPL filter when being outside (bright sun) and that takes almost 2 stops so I am below 1/250s shutter time. When the light gets lower I take off the CPL filter or just crank up the ISO. ;)

The AD360 is now my favourite flash next to my Bowens Gemini 500. It is so portable, versatile and I love my 19" octa softbox without the disc. I will have al look at a smaller disk from a jar to see if the blackout in the middle is less.


mmmfotografie : portfolio (external link) | ModelMayhem profile (external link)

9-18 Gallery is now empty and click the links above to have a look at my work.

LOG IN TO REPLY
dmward
Cream of the Crop
Joined Jun 2009
Metro Chicago
Aug 07, 2013 15:43 |  #2214

scorpio_e wrote in post #16188728external link
How do you mount the 3 " disk ? Any picts of it?

I drilled a hole in it and mount it the same way the larger disk that comes with the box mounts. I also experimented using a long bolt and nut to see if farther away was better. No real difference. What I noticed with the smaller disk was a bit less light loss, maybe half 2/3 stop.


David | Sharing my Insights, Knowledge & Experience (external link) | dmwfotos website (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
scorpio_e
Cream of the Crop
scorpio_e's Avatar
Joined Aug 2007
Pa
Aug 07, 2013 16:02 |  #2215

dmward wrote in post #16189083external link
I drilled a hole in it and mount it the same way the larger disk that comes with the box mounts. I also experimented using a long bolt and nut to see if farther away was better. No real difference. What I noticed with the smaller disk was a bit less light loss, maybe half 2/3 stop.

Make sense and thanks !!!!


www.steelcityphotograp​hy.com (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
Robsphoto
Senior Member
Joined May 2011
Killeen TX
Aug 07, 2013 20:36 |  #2216

BigIronCruiser wrote in post #16187490 (external link)
Yes, it is definitely irritating. It's a quality control issue rather than a design issue, and I'm nearly certain that Edward will replace it when I call. I have a 22" aluminum BD that I've used extensively with PCB lights, but it's not the easiest thing in the world to transport. I may end up getting one of the 19" collapsible versions to use with the Cheetah's. Do you use yours for location work?

Yes, Very sturdy and the quality is excellent! Thinking about grabbing that 33" Octa!!
Here is a couple from the weekend wedding.

IMAGE: http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7306/9460394957_3a52cfed44_c.jpg

IMAGE: http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7391/9463203284_9bfb881532_c.jpg

IMAGE: http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3834/9463201212_e259a5b2d1_c.jpg

IMAGE: http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3752/9463192638_c38c53704b_c.jpg

Happy Shooting:lol:

LOG IN TO REPLY
BigIronCruiser
Member
Joined Mar 2013
South Carolina
Aug 08, 2013 06:23 |  #2217

Robsphoto wrote in post #16189729external link
Yes, Very sturdy and the quality is excellent! Thinking about grabbing that 33" Octa!!

Using a CL-360, the 33" BD/Octa at full power without the diffuser yields roughly f/8 at 8', ISO 100. I've been using a Buff BD as my go-to modifier for location work, but the weight and space savings/portability (when collapsed) of this 33" Octa will most likely mothball the Buff BD unless a grid is needed. As a matter of interest, the small hole that was reported in an earlier post is a one-off issue, so it's no surprise that a replacement is on the way :D




LOG IN TO REPLY
Robsphoto
Senior Member
Joined May 2011
Killeen TX
Aug 08, 2013 11:32 |  #2218

BigIronCruiser wrote in post #16190704external link
Using a CL-360, the 33" BD/Octa at full power without the diffuser yields roughly f/8 at 8', ISO 100. I've been using a Buff BD as my go-to modifier for location work, but the weight and space savings/portability (when collapsed) of this 33" Octa will most likely mothball the Buff BD unless a grid is needed. As a matter of interest, the small hole that was reported in an earlier post is a one-off issue, so it's no surprise that a replacement is on the way :D


Did you purchase the 33"? Th only thing I dislike is that you have to purchase a special bracket for the 33".


Happy Shooting:lol:

LOG IN TO REPLY
Nikkor316
Member
38 posts
Joined May 2013
Virginia, USA
Aug 08, 2013 12:38 |  #2219

I was looking at the 33" BD but it was more expensive than I was expecting compared to the regular Phottix luna folding beauty dish that includes the adapter ring. They look like the same product, simply re-branded. I don't mind paying more if the quality is there, but at that price point, I have to also start to consider other brands. Does anyone have a Wescott 26" or 36" Rapid box octa for comparison? I would love to see how these two stack up against each other. Obviously Wescott is the higher price option but doesn't mean they always have the better quality. I want quality and durability for my location work.


Matt

LOG IN TO REPLY
BigIronCruiser
Member
Joined Mar 2013
South Carolina
Aug 09, 2013 09:53 |  #2220

Robsphoto wrote in post #16191391external link
Did you purchase the 33"? Th only thing I dislike is that you have to purchase a special bracket for the 33".

There are so many options for this style of modifier that it makes my head spin. Nikkor316 mentioned the Phottix Luna, and after seeing the picture, it appears that the logo's and price are the only thing separating it from the Cheetah 33".

Robsphoto: Yes, I purchased the 33" BD/Octa. I already had the bracket, so it wasn't an extra expense for me.




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

916,568 views & 216 likes for this thread
A New Bare Bulb Flash Arrives
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00184 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member was a spammer, and banned as such!
869 guests, 366 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016