Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 14 Apr 2013 (Sunday) 17:43
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Slipping command dial 50D

 
Mavgirl
Senior Member
647 posts
Joined Mar 2013
Dallas area
Apr 14, 2013 17:43 |  #1

My trusty 50D is having problems. When I turn the command dial (the one by the shutter release) it slips sometimes. I have to press really hard on it to make it actually change the settings. It feels like the rubber around the dial is slipping.

So, my question, has anyone here popped open a body to repair a problem like this? Or am I better off sending it in for repair? It seems like it would be an easy repair but I've never done more than cleaning on a DSLR and I'm hesitant to dig in to it without knowing what I'd be in for.

Thanks for any advice y'all have.


6D/50D/350D with too many lenses
Calumet 4x5, Pentax SV 35mm, Canon A-1, Rebel G and many more toys...

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
yogestee
"my posts can be a little colourful"
yogestee's Avatar
13,829 posts
Gallery: 5 photos
Joined Dec 2007
Australia
Apr 14, 2013 22:17 |  #2

My 50D does this also, I'm thinking dust.

What I've done in the past is a few good blows from rocket blower which has worked. I have also given a few good blows out of my mouth (be carful not to spit) which has cleared the problem.

I also use a grip so in real emergencies I use the dial on my grip. After a couple of goes, this problem often clears itself.


Jurgen
50D~700D~EOS M~GoPro Hero4 Silver~S95

http://www.pbase.com/j​urgentreue (external link)
The Title Fairy,, off with her head!!

LOG IN TO REPLY
Mavgirl
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
647 posts
Joined Mar 2013
Dallas area
Apr 14, 2013 23:27 as a reply to yogestee's post |  #3

Thanks, I'll try the air.

Getting a grip is my backup plan. I've avoided them because I have hands the size of a ten year old. But I think I'd rather do that than a repair right now since I'm about to get a new body.


6D/50D/350D with too many lenses
Calumet 4x5, Pentax SV 35mm, Canon A-1, Rebel G and many more toys...

LOG IN TO REPLY
mjww
Senior Member
666 posts
Joined Jul 2008
Cayman Islands
Apr 15, 2013 21:46 |  #4

I had that problem with my 30D and the solution is to peel back the little rubber cover. The rubber part looks like a "[" and the disc of the switch is "----". So the whole switch look like this [----] Clean with rubbing alcohol on a Q-tip if you see any dirt or oils from your hands (should be clean). Place a tiny bit of Goop on a toothpick and get it between the rubber ring and the plastic disc of the rotary switch. Repeat around the rotary switch as many times as you can. Let it dry for 24 hrs and it should be as good as new. My repair has lasted 2 years so far. Hope this helps.


Equipment list - According to the wife - "how many more lenses do you need? Yet another camera?"  ???

LOG IN TO REPLY
Mavgirl
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
647 posts
Joined Mar 2013
Dallas area
Apr 16, 2013 09:00 as a reply to mjww's post |  #5

mjww.. Which Goop adhesive worked? The household one?

I tried my Rocket Blower on it and it didn't help.


6D/50D/350D with too many lenses
Calumet 4x5, Pentax SV 35mm, Canon A-1, Rebel G and many more toys...

LOG IN TO REPLY
mjww
Senior Member
666 posts
Joined Jul 2008
Cayman Islands
Apr 16, 2013 21:08 |  #6

I used either household or automotive (the two I usually keep in stock). Either one should work.


Equipment list - According to the wife - "how many more lenses do you need? Yet another camera?"  ???

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

1,015 views & 0 likes for this thread
Slipping command dial 50D
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00126 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.01s
Latest registered member is DavidPerri
889 guests, 596 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016