Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 14th of April 2013 (Sun)   #1
Mavgirl
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Dallas area
Posts: 647
Default Slipping command dial 50D

My trusty 50D is having problems. When I turn the command dial (the one by the shutter release) it slips sometimes. I have to press really hard on it to make it actually change the settings. It feels like the rubber around the dial is slipping.

So, my question, has anyone here popped open a body to repair a problem like this? Or am I better off sending it in for repair? It seems like it would be an easy repair but I've never done more than cleaning on a DSLR and I'm hesitant to dig in to it without knowing what I'd be in for.

Thanks for any advice y'all have.
Mavgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 14th of April 2013 (Sun)   #2
yogestee
"hangs around male genitalia"
 
yogestee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Aussie living in Laos
Posts: 13,348
Default Re: Slipping command dial 50D

My 50D does this also, I'm thinking dust.

What I've done in the past is a few good blows from rocket blower which has worked. I have also given a few good blows out of my mouth (be carful not to spit) which has cleared the problem.

I also use a grip so in real emergencies I use the dial on my grip. After a couple of goes, this problem often clears itself.
__________________
Jurgen
50D~20D~700D~EOS M~S95

http://www.pbase.com/jurgentreue
The Title Fairy,, off with her head!!
yogestee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th of April 2013 (Sun)   #3
Mavgirl
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Dallas area
Posts: 647
Default Re: Slipping command dial 50D

Thanks, I'll try the air.

Getting a grip is my backup plan. I've avoided them because I have hands the size of a ten year old. But I think I'd rather do that than a repair right now since I'm about to get a new body.
Mavgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 15th of April 2013 (Mon)   #4
mjww
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cayman Islands
Posts: 648
Default Re: Slipping command dial 50D

I had that problem with my 30D and the solution is to peel back the little rubber cover. The rubber part looks like a "[" and the disc of the switch is "----". So the whole switch look like this [----] Clean with rubbing alcohol on a Q-tip if you see any dirt or oils from your hands (should be clean). Place a tiny bit of Goop on a toothpick and get it between the rubber ring and the plastic disc of the rotary switch. Repeat around the rotary switch as many times as you can. Let it dry for 24 hrs and it should be as good as new. My repair has lasted 2 years so far. Hope this helps.

Last edited by mjww : 16th of April 2013 (Tue) at 21:09.
mjww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th of April 2013 (Tue)   #5
Mavgirl
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Dallas area
Posts: 647
Default Re: Slipping command dial 50D

mjww.. Which Goop adhesive worked? The household one?

I tried my Rocket Blower on it and it didn't help.
Mavgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th of April 2013 (Tue)   #6
mjww
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cayman Islands
Posts: 648
Default Re: Slipping command dial 50D

I used either household or automotive (the two I usually keep in stock). Either one should work.
mjww is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Main Dial Slipping secoast Canon EOS Digital Cameras 16 25th of March 2014 (Tue) 17:15
canon 40D main dial slipping crawleydel Canon EOS Digital Cameras 2 14th of December 2010 (Tue) 11:15
help.... am slipping ajayclicks Macro 16 10th of December 2007 (Mon) 22:32
Rebel XT Command Dial Help staciecd Canon EOS Digital Cameras 9 14th of July 2006 (Fri) 14:14
Command dial problem on s30 delphinus Small Compact Digitals by Canon 3 23rd of March 2003 (Sun) 17:53


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 00:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.