Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting
Thread started 16 Apr 2013 (Tuesday) 03:52
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Godox QT-600 studio strobe with quite some features. Anyone tried it?

 
one1002
Member
one1002's Avatar
98 posts

Joined Apr 2012

Malaysia
MORE INFO

First of all, i posted this in the flickr strobist group, but I thought that posting here would be a good idea as well. =D

Was searching for studio lights when I came across this Godox QT-600. Just wondering if any of you guys have tried it? Check out the specification.

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.

http://godox.en.alibab​a.com ...l_Photo_Flash_Light​_.html (external link)

What's interesting and somewhat confusing to me is the flash output. Godox claims the flash output is 1/1 - 1/128. But in 50 steps? 5.0-10.0.. Wouldn't that be 6 stops only? I'm assuming it's 0.1 steps increment. Thus, i'm guessing it's 1/1 - 1/32? Or am i missing something? Because on my jinbei discovery DC-600, the total f-stops variability is 5 stops, full to 1/16 with the display showing 1.0 (lowest - 1/16) and 5.0 (highest - 1/1). Anyway, if the lowest power is 1/128, that'd be great because AFAIK only the Einsteins have the lowest power of 1/256. And that's 9 stops.

Another interesting feature is the wireless control (usb) that allows us to trigger and control the power output wirelessly. It's called the Godox FT-16

[
IMAGE: http://i00.i.aliimg.com/img/pb/869/900/514/514900869_606.jpg

I tried to find reviews on it but can't seem to find it. If anyone has tried or own this product, would you please give some feedback on it?
Apr 16, 2013 03:52



LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Whortleberry
Goldmember
Whortleberry's Avatar
1,643 posts

Joined Dec 2011

Yorkshire, England
MORE INFO

http://www.ebay.co.uk ...ain_0&hash=item460c​19e08cexternal link (& scroll down) mentions 50 STEPS in 0.1 increments. I think you are confusing STEPS with f/stops - from 5.0 to 6.0 would be 10 STEPS but only 1 f/stop. A single letter makes all the difference sometimes, as I'm sure it also does in Malay too ;).

The FT-16 controller is the same as Cheetah Stand are selling in the USA as the Cheetah Light Remote Setexternal link - they are the same product, just rebranded for the USA. Plenty of detail on the link above, plus access to the Instruction Manual if you are interested.

For those of us outside the USA, the Cheetah Light range is identical to the Godox AD-180 range. Edward has had them rebranded for sale in the USA so that he can provide his highly regarded customer service without getting embroiled in "Did we sell this or didn't we sell it" discussions - or so I understand. Although exhorbitant USPS postal charges preclude many of us from buying from Cheetah Stand (eg a 1 to 2 cable @ US$19.95 becomes US$66.15 with postage added), Cheetah Stand site is a hugely valuable source of information about the CL-Tx/Rx aka FT16 product.

Unfortunately, the QT600 doesn't yet appear on Godox's own website (nor, indeed, does the AD-180) so it's hard to find definitive information about the unit. Looks quite nice but fairly expensive - then again, it depends on shipping costs to our individual destinations.

Apr 16, 2013 05:17

Phil ǁ Kershaw Soho Reflex: 4¼" Ross Xpres, 6½" Aldis, Super XX/ABC Pyro in 24 DDS, HP3/Meritol Metol in RFH, Johnson 'Scales' brand flash powder. Kodak Duo Six-20/Verichrome Pan. Other odd bits over the decades, simply to get the job done - not merely to polish and brag about cos I'm too mean to buy the polish!
FlickR (external link) ◄► "The Other Yongnuo User Guide v4.12" by Clive Bolton (external link) ◄► UK Railway Photographs 1906-79 (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
one1002
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
one1002's Avatar
98 posts

Joined Apr 2012

Malaysia
MORE INFO

Whortleberry wrote in post #15833066external link
http://www.ebay.co.uk ...ain_0&hash=item460c​19e08cexternal link (& scroll down) mentions 50 STEPS in 0.1 increments. I think you are confusing STEPS with f/stops - from 5.0 to 6.0 would be 10 STEPS but only 1 f/stop. A single letter makes all the difference sometimes, as I'm sure it also does in Malay too ;).

The FT-16 controller is the same as Cheetah Stand are selling in the USA as the Cheetah Light Remote Setexternal link - they are the same product, just rebranded for the USA. Plenty of detail on the link above, plus access to the Instruction Manual if you are interested.

For those of us outside the USA, the Cheetah Light range is identical to the Godox AD-180 range. Edward has had them rebranded for sale in the USA so that he can provide his highly regarded customer service without getting embroiled in "Did we sell this or didn't we sell it" discussions - or so I understand. Although exhorbitant USPS postal charges preclude many of us from buying from Cheetah Stand (eg a 1 to 2 cable @ US$19.95 becomes US$66.15 with postage added), Cheetah Stand site is a hugely valuable source of information about the CL-Tx/Rx aka FT16 product.

Unfortunately, the QT600 doesn't yet appear on Godox's own website (nor, indeed, does the AD-180) so it's hard to find definitive information about the unit. Looks quite nice but fairly expensive - then again, it depends on shipping costs to our individual destinations.

thank you! let me get this straight.. perhaps i'm still confuse about the f/stops thing as I still think that numerical "term" such as 1/1, 1/2,.. so on is easier than 1.0, 1.1, 2.0..and so on. lol..back on the topic, you said that 5.0 to 6.0 has 10 steps (0.1 each), and it's 1 f/stop. assuming 5.0 is full power (1/1), then 6.0 would be (1/2) and so on? if yes, then at 10.0, it's 1/32?

as the link i posted stated from full 1/1 to 1/128. That's 8 stops right? How does the 8 stops represent the Godox output power of 5.0 to 10.0? Because that's only 6 stops. And why they use 5.0 - 10.0...........on a simpler term..how does 50 steps (5.0 - 10.0) equal to 9 f/stops variability (1/1 - 1/128) lol..Sh!t i'm getting confused. LOL :p:p

Anyway I'm not that good with these technical stuffs. As I mentioned before, I have Jinbei Discovery DC-600, which is similar to Lencarta Safari Li-on. When the display shows 5.0, that's full power (1/1), 4.0 is 1/2, 3.0 is 1/4, 4.0 is 1/8 and 5.0 is 1/16. Ahhh! LOL.. So during photoshooting sessions, I will adjust the output accordingly.

Yeah it's quite expensive though. :rolleyes: I am still finding studio strobes. Can't afford elinchrom, while the Einsteins or Alien Bees are not available in my country. They don't even ship it here. Heh..

Thank you again!

Apr 16, 2013 05:59



LOG IN TO REPLY
tetrode
I am a walking repository of thoroughly useless information
tetrode's Avatar
3,770 posts

Joined Jan 2006

New York
MORE INFO

Speaking of Lencarta, these rebranded Godox flash units provide extremely short flash durations at minimum power:

http://www.lencarta.co​m ...e/high-speed-studio-flashexternal link

In their blog, Lencarta claims a flash duration of 1/20,000 second for the 300Ws unit at minimum power.

Apr 16, 2013 12:31



LOG IN TO REPLY
one1002
THREAD ­ STARTER
Member
one1002's Avatar
98 posts

Joined Apr 2012

Malaysia
MORE INFO

tetrode wrote in post #15834142external link
Speaking of Lencarta, these rebranded Godox flash units provide extremely short flash durations at minimum power:

http://www.lencarta.co​m ...e/high-speed-studio-flashexternal link

In their blog, Lencarta claims a flash duration of 1/20,000 second for the 300Ws unit at minimum power.

yes I just noticed that both of them are exactly the same, except for the name.

quoted from LightingRumoursexternal link

"Loyal Lighting Rumours readers will recognise the SF lights as elements of Godox’s lighting forest shown on our Facebook page. Lencarta’s Garry Edwards admitted to Lighting Rumours that these high speed flashes are indeed manufactured by Godox, and Lencarta haven’t made any changes inside because they are “damn near perfect”. Edwards writes a bit more about the lights on the Lencarta blog."

May need to wait a few more months before consumers get their hands-on on the strobe. Looks promising though. =)

Apr 16, 2013 16:34



LOG IN TO REPLY
eventsof1768
Senior Member
506 posts
Joined May 2010
MORE INFO

bump

anyone try these yet?

Aug 11, 2013 06:23

instagramexternal link
onwhite photographyexternal link
facebookexternal link
flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
mR_CaESaR
Senior Member
mR_CaESaR's Avatar
354 posts

Joined Jun 2006

Sydney, Australia
MORE INFO

I would love to know as well, I'm sussing out if I'm better off with these or Einsteins.

Einsteins are so expensive here in Australia ($USD640 converted compared to $USD499).

These are around $USD 500 and would fit my current lineup of cheaper flashes, since I already have a fair bit of bowens mount accessories (a couple of stripboxes, a couple of softboxes, BD, grids and a background attachment) it would seem more logical for me to go Godox QT-600.

My biggest worry is where to get replacement tubes and if it'll be compatible with my innovatronix Explorer XT, I know the Einsteins are definitely compatible with the XT and the replacement parts are quite readily available here in Aus.

To move to the Einstein, it'll not only cost the price of the Einstein, but it'll be a new beauty dish plus a grid at the very least, seems like a no brainer to go for the cheaper option, but having never heard of these strobes, not having parts ready available and I think there's one review around, it makes me a little skeptical

Aug 11, 2013 07:25

Buy the best Lens and never buy again!
Buy once and save
Upgrade Your Epson P-3000 to 120gb tutorialexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
DamianOz
Senior Member
696 posts
Joined Jul 2011
MORE INFO

I just ordered 3, will see how they go

Aug 27, 2013 08:00

Bodies - Canon EOS 5DIII | EOS 6D
Primes - TS-E24 f/3.5L II | Σ 35mm F1.4 DG Art | EF 85 f/1.2L II | EF 135 f/2L
Zooms - EF 16-35 f/2.8L II | EF 24-70 f/2.8L II | EF 70-200 f/2.8L IS II | Σ 24-105mm F/4 DG OS Art | Σ 120-300mm F/2.8 DG OS Sport

LOG IN TO REPLY
dmward
Cream of the Crop
7,286 posts
GALLERY: 1 photo

Joined Jun 2009

Metro Chicago
MORE INFO

HEREexternal link is a review that has some detailed measurements of flash duration and power settings.

Aug 27, 2013 09:19

David | digifotografi tutorialsexternal link | dmwfotos websiteexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
mR_CaESaR
Senior Member
mR_CaESaR's Avatar
354 posts

Joined Jun 2006

Sydney, Australia
MORE INFO

DamianOz wrote in post #16243770external link
I just ordered 3, will see how they go

I await your review :)

You wouldn't happen to have an Explorer XT or the original Vagabond II do you?

dmward wrote in post #16243998external link
HEREexternal link is a review that has some detailed measurements of flash duration and power settings.

I have read that one a few times.

I'm just worried about replacement tubes as well.

Aug 27, 2013 18:34

Buy the best Lens and never buy again!
Buy once and save
Upgrade Your Epson P-3000 to 120gb tutorialexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
dmward
Cream of the Crop
7,286 posts
GALLERY: 1 photo

Joined Jun 2009

Metro Chicago
MORE INFO

mR_CaESaR wrote in post #16245403external link
I'm just worried about replacement tubes as well.

It appears that LensCarta and others have replacement tubes on their websites.

Over the years, I think I've replaced one tube out of about 8 monolights I've owned.

Aug 27, 2013 22:13

David | digifotografi tutorialsexternal link | dmwfotos websiteexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
DamianOz
Senior Member
696 posts
Joined Jul 2011
MORE INFO

mR_CaESaR wrote in post #16245403external link
I await your review :)

You wouldn't happen to have an Explorer XT or the original Vagabond II do you?

no

I'm just worried about replacement tubes as well.

Are they specific to this model? I would think they are common with the other 600ws strobes, just beed to ensure the contact wires are right. Godox has other 600W models, so their tubes should fit. Never the less, I have asked for clarification, and will most likely keep a spare or 2 on hand anyway.

Aug 27, 2013 23:01

Bodies - Canon EOS 5DIII | EOS 6D
Primes - TS-E24 f/3.5L II | Σ 35mm F1.4 DG Art | EF 85 f/1.2L II | EF 135 f/2L
Zooms - EF 16-35 f/2.8L II | EF 24-70 f/2.8L II | EF 70-200 f/2.8L IS II | Σ 24-105mm F/4 DG OS Art | Σ 120-300mm F/2.8 DG OS Sport

LOG IN TO REPLY
DamianOz
Senior Member
696 posts
Joined Jul 2011
MORE INFO

Just set up my 6D using wifi, Cells II-C to control AD 360. To try a few selfies and get a hang of the exposure settings, the Qboxes etc, as I have no one else here to model at the moment.
It all works fine, but I am getting a lot of non firing. Have to head out so will test more later to see if I can find out why, and if I get the same with the 5D3

Aug 27, 2013 23:06

Bodies - Canon EOS 5DIII | EOS 6D
Primes - TS-E24 f/3.5L II | Σ 35mm F1.4 DG Art | EF 85 f/1.2L II | EF 135 f/2L
Zooms - EF 16-35 f/2.8L II | EF 24-70 f/2.8L II | EF 70-200 f/2.8L IS II | Σ 24-105mm F/4 DG OS Art | Σ 120-300mm F/2.8 DG OS Sport

LOG IN TO REPLY
dmward
Cream of the Crop
7,286 posts
GALLERY: 1 photo

Joined Jun 2009

Metro Chicago
MORE INFO

DamianOz wrote in post #16246085external link
...but I am getting a lot of non firing...

I've had the same situation from time to time. I think it may have something do do with getting the Cells-IIc well set on top of the camera.

It may also be something in the firmware related to changing power settings. I can't seem to nail it down to a single situation. Until I can make it happen repeatably I'll just chalk it up to goblins. :-)

Aug 27, 2013 23:19

David | digifotografi tutorialsexternal link | dmwfotos websiteexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
DamianOz
Senior Member
696 posts
Joined Jul 2011
MORE INFO

ok, just been testing some more
I'm getting more non fires than fires. here is an example, 0=not fired 1=fired
0010010100100100011100​0100111111101001111010​100111000010

I cant seem to determine a reason, I seem to get a 0 directly after doing camera adjustments, exposure of focus, or if I don't wait about 5 seconds between shots (even though the flash beep has indicated recycling) But then when I expect it to fire, no changes and longer wait, it doesn't.
Its certainly not acceptable like this

Aug 28, 2013 00:29

Bodies - Canon EOS 5DIII | EOS 6D
Primes - TS-E24 f/3.5L II | Σ 35mm F1.4 DG Art | EF 85 f/1.2L II | EF 135 f/2L
Zooms - EF 16-35 f/2.8L II | EF 24-70 f/2.8L II | EF 70-200 f/2.8L IS II | Σ 24-105mm F/4 DG OS Art | Σ 120-300mm F/2.8 DG OS Sport

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

7,732 views & 0 likes for this thread
Godox QT-600 studio strobe with quite some features. Anyone tried it?
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting

NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO THE FORUMS
Registered members get all the features: search, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, own reviews...




Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality. We do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browsers' data storage methods.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.33version 1.33
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00096 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is birdyc
591 guests, 463 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 5175, that happened on Jun 16, 2015