LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


Will the Canon ST-E3-RT Speedlite Transmitter work in Hi Sync ?

FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting
Thread started 15 May 2013 (Wednesday) 09:19   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
KitzKlikz
Hatchling
KitzKlikz's Avatar
Joined Jul 2011
6 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Hi Guys anyone can solve this mystery for me ? .. does the Canon ST-E3-RT Speedlite Transmitter work in hi sync & ettl ii & all its functions with a canon 6d and speedlites 600 ex rt ?
As i found this on the net which is making me step back from purchasing it -

Compatible Cameras : Type A EOS cameras (E-TTL II/E-TTL autoflash)
Sync Speed : High-Speed Sync provided (EOS-1D X and EOS 5D Mark III only)

Thanks

Keith

Post #1, May 15, 2013 09:19:54


Visit My Facebook Page on : www.facebook.com/KitzK​likz

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
aliengin
Goldmember
Joined Mar 2011
1,065 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

isn't Canon 6D newer than 1Dx and 5D III? If I were you i would call Canon and confirm. My understanding was it is compatible with the "new" canon bodies in this case 6D should be included but I am NOT 100% sure!

Post #2, May 15, 2013 10:43:26


Ali Engin Photographyexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
KitzKlikz
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
KitzKlikz's Avatar
Joined Jul 2011
6 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

that was my thinkin too .. since it`s a new body , everything should work out fine ...

Post #3, May 15, 2013 13:38:48 as a reply to aliengin's post 2 hours earlier.


Visit My Facebook Page on : www.facebook.com/KitzK​likz

LOG IN TO REPLY
jlambe
Member
jlambe's Avatar
Joined Jul 2003
55 posts
N.Ireland
[MORE/SHARE]

I automatically assumed it would be fully functional with all new bodies so don't see why not.

Post #4, May 15, 2013 15:55:33


Canon 5D MKII. Canon 24-105 f4 Canon 70-300 2.8 MKII Canon 50mm f1.4 Canon 100mm f2.8 macro
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/jlambe/external link

LOG IN TO REPLY
timnosenzo
Cream of the Crop
Joined Sep 2005
8,816 posts
CT
[MORE/SHARE]

All the functions seem to work with the 6D, including HSS.

Post #5, May 15, 2013 20:26:58


connecticut wedding photographerexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
dmward
Cream of the Crop
Joined Jun 2009
7,127 posts
Metro Chicago
[MORE/SHARE]

According to Syl Arena, via personal testing, it works with EOS-M, which implies that it will work with all 2012 and newer cameras. I think that's what the Canon manuals say as well.

Post #6, May 15, 2013 22:22:16


David | digifotografi tutorialsexternal link | dmwfotos websiteexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
Nick5
Goldmember
Nick5's Avatar
Joined Mar 2007
2,363 posts
Philadelphia Suburbs
[MORE/SHARE]

The 6D takes advantage of all the features of the ST-E3 and 600 EX-RT system.
HSS does work along with camera sync speed on the 7D.

Post #7, May 16, 2013 00:12:11


Canon 5D Mark III, BG-E11 Grip, 7D (x2) BG-E7 Grips, Canon Lenses 10-22, 17-40 f/4 L, 17-55 f/2.8 IS, 24-105 f/4 L IS, 70-200 f/2.8 L IS II, 70-200 f/4 L IS, 100-400 f/4.5-5.6 L IS, TS-E 24 f/3.5 L II, 50 f/1.4, 85 f/1.8, 100 f/2.8 L Macro IS, Canon 1.4 Extender III, 4 Canon 600 EX-RT, 2 Canon ST-E3 Transmitters, Canon Pixma PRO-10 Printer

LOG IN TO REPLY
KitzKlikz
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
KitzKlikz's Avatar
Joined Jul 2011
6 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Thanks guys ... you pushed me up to order it ;)

Post #8, May 16, 2013 00:49:50


Visit My Facebook Page on : www.facebook.com/KitzK​likz

LOG IN TO REPLY
Submariner
Goldmember
Submariner's Avatar
Joined May 2012
2,057 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Nick5 wrote in post #15936731external link
The 6D takes advantage of all the features of the ST-E3 and 600 EX-RT system.
HSS does work along with camera sync speed on the 7D.

High Nick5
Canon told me the ST-E3 and 600EX RT would not do HSS and would drop the /sync speed on a 7D to 1 stop less i.e. 1/250 drops to 1/125 sec synch speed.
To perform properly it and the 600 3ex needs a 2012 and onward camera eg 1DX or 5D3

May I ask are you sure - very important to me?

Post #9, May 18, 2013 13:48:38


Canon EOS 5D Mk III, Canon EF 70-200 F2.8 L Mk II IS USM, Canon EF 70-300 F4-5.6 L IS USM, EF 40mm F2.8 STM , RC6 Remote. Canon STE-3 Radio Flash Controller, Canon 600 EX RT x2, YN 560 MkII x2 ; Bowens GM500PRO x4 , Bowens GM500R, Bowens Remote Control. Bowens Pulsar TX, RX Radio Transmitter and Reciever Cards. Bowens Constant 530 Streamlights 600w x 4 Sold 7D, EF 50mm F1.8 , 430 EX Mk II

LOG IN TO REPLY
Nick5
Goldmember
Nick5's Avatar
Joined Mar 2007
2,363 posts
Philadelphia Suburbs
[MORE/SHARE]

I have been using the 7D with the ST-E3 and 600 EX-RT's for over a year now.
Never had a problem with sync speed of 1/250 on any of my images. Never had a problem using HSS too.
You will see the the TV icon warning show up on your master ST-E3 when shutter is 160, 200 and 250th. However, all images are fine regarding banding issue associated with shutter speed above camera sync speed.
Still have not heard from Canon as to why this misinformation is still in print.
Besides myself, several other Canon CPS members I know and Syl Arena who travelers the country with wonderful Speedliting Intensives, have all supported our conclusions above.
Unfortunately, GROUP will not work on the 2011 cameras and prior. This a feature that I miss on my 7D. Guess I have to get on the Good List for Christmas this year.

Post #10, May 18, 2013 22:18:50


Canon 5D Mark III, BG-E11 Grip, 7D (x2) BG-E7 Grips, Canon Lenses 10-22, 17-40 f/4 L, 17-55 f/2.8 IS, 24-105 f/4 L IS, 70-200 f/2.8 L IS II, 70-200 f/4 L IS, 100-400 f/4.5-5.6 L IS, TS-E 24 f/3.5 L II, 50 f/1.4, 85 f/1.8, 100 f/2.8 L Macro IS, Canon 1.4 Extender III, 4 Canon 600 EX-RT, 2 Canon ST-E3 Transmitters, Canon Pixma PRO-10 Printer

LOG IN TO REPLY
Submariner
Goldmember
Submariner's Avatar
Joined May 2012
2,057 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Nick5 wrote in post #15945392external link
I have been using the 7D with the ST-E3 and 600 EX-RT's for over a year now.
Never had a problem with sync speed of 1/250 on any of my images. Never had a problem using HSS too.
You will see the the TV icon warning show up on your master ST-E3 when shutter is 160, 200 and 250th. However, all images are fine regarding banding issue associated with shutter speed above camera sync speed.
Still have not heard from Canon as to why this misinformation is still in print.
Besides myself, several other Canon CPS members I know and Syl Arena who travelers the country with wonderful Speedliting Intensives, have all supported our conclusions above.
Unfortunately, GROUP will not work on the 2011 cameras and prior. This a feature that I miss on my 7D. Guess I have to get on the Good List for Christmas this year.

Thanks so much Nick, as long as I dont get banding at 1/250 using Ettl II,thats great for me!
What did you mean by "This is a feature that I miss on my 7D. "?
Was it that groups wont work on the 7D? Surely you can have basic groups A.b.&c ? With basic ratios?

Really don't see why they won't check out the 7d to work with the 600 exrt , and update the literature,
Just confused here. Now that there is no 580ex ii ; surely they want to sell Speedlite s, and I assume they don't expect us to alll throw away any camera pre 2012?
If so why bother waste the time upgrading the 7D firmware to ver 2.0 ?

Post #11, May 18, 2013 22:48:30


Canon EOS 5D Mk III, Canon EF 70-200 F2.8 L Mk II IS USM, Canon EF 70-300 F4-5.6 L IS USM, EF 40mm F2.8 STM , RC6 Remote. Canon STE-3 Radio Flash Controller, Canon 600 EX RT x2, YN 560 MkII x2 ; Bowens GM500PRO x4 , Bowens GM500R, Bowens Remote Control. Bowens Pulsar TX, RX Radio Transmitter and Reciever Cards. Bowens Constant 530 Streamlights 600w x 4 Sold 7D, EF 50mm F1.8 , 430 EX Mk II

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
dwdallam
Senior Member
Joined Oct 2011
126 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

I read where the STE3 and 600RT flash guns will do HSS to 1/8000th with the 1DSMKIII. However, the Canon Flash system will not do second curtain off camera with any body no matter what. It is incapable of 2nd curtain wireless.

Post #12, May 19, 2013 01:02:34




LOG IN TO REPLY
KitzKlikz
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
KitzKlikz's Avatar
Joined Jul 2011
6 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

600Rt s arrived and they worked in HSS with my 6d & St E3 :)

Thanks for your help

Post #13, Jun 02, 2013 14:09:55 as a reply to dwdallam's post 14 days earlier.


Visit My Facebook Page on : www.facebook.com/KitzK​likz

LOG IN TO REPLY
dwdallam
Senior Member
Joined Oct 2011
126 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

KitzKlikz wrote in post #15992091external link
600Rt s arrived and they worked in HSS with my 6d & St E3 :)

Thanks for your help

They will work in HSS with all cameras think, or at least most of them. The problem is that after you go over (on most cameras, some older ones seem to work, but I cannot confirm that) one stop below your camera's sync speed--you automatically go into HSS. So with a camera that has a sync speed of 1/250th you would be limited to a shutter speed of 1/125th--unless you go into HSS mode. The problem is that HSS greatly shortens the distance of the flash and eats power like wolves eat rabbits.

I finally made the decision to buy one 600RT (I needed a fourth flash) and buy a second set of Odins. So now I have one extra Odin TCU and one extra Odin Receiver. the 580EXIIs I have work as well as the 600 and I cannot justify the upgrade. So now I have triple back up: One STE2 and two Odin TCUs + one extra receiver.

Total cost of while having 4 flashes (1100.00)

If I had bought totally into the Canon system that would have been 4x 500+ for the flashes at over 2200.00 ish. I just could not justify that plus the reduced flexibility of the Canon system. (I use the Odins to trip studio and a mixture of studio and Canon flash units.)

Post #14, Jun 02, 2013 15:39:02




LOG IN TO REPLY
agv8or
Goldmember
agv8or's Avatar
Joined Oct 2006
1,141 posts
Midwest
[MORE/SHARE]

dwdallam wrote in post #15992317external link
They will work in HSS with all cameras think, or at least most of them. The problem is that after you go over (on most cameras, some older ones seem to work, but I cannot confirm that) one stop below your camera's sync speed--you automatically go into HSS. So with a camera that has a sync speed of 1/250th you would be limited to a shutter speed of 1/125th--unless you go into HSS mode. The problem is that HSS greatly shortens the distance of the flash and eats power like wolves eat rabbits.

I finally made the decision to buy one 600RT (I needed a fourth flash) and buy a second set of Odins. So now I have one extra Odin TCU and one extra Odin Receiver. the 580EXIIs I have work as well as the 600 and I cannot justify the upgrade. So now I have triple back up: One STE2 and two Odin TCUs + one extra receiver.

Total cost of while having 4 flashes (1100.00)

If I had bought totally into the Canon system that would have been 4x 500+ for the flashes at over 2200.00 ish. I just could not justify that plus the reduced flexibility of the Canon system. (I use the Odins to trip studio and a mixture of studio and Canon flash units.)

Not so! Your flash system will not automatically go into HSS unless you have enabled HSS and the cameras shutter speed is set above the max sync speed of the camera. Even with HSS enabled the flash system will still function in normal flash (non HSS) until you set a shutter speed at least 1/3 stop faster than the cameras max sync speed. For my 5DmII I need to set a shutter speed of 1/250 before I get HSS. I get the little warning icon <!Tv> but HSS does NOT automatically kick in one stop below max sync speed even with HSS enabled. The warning icon <!Tv> is present on the 5DmII at shutter speeds of 1/125, 1/160 and 1/200 to warn you that you are not completely syncing with the flash but the flash does NOT go into HSS. At shutter speeds from max sync speed down to one stop slower than max sync you get a slight shadowing of the lower portion of the image frame from the rear curtain closing but it is not very noticeable except when shooting white eraser boards.

EDIT: The first 3 images were all shot with a 5D mII, ST-E3-RT as master and a 600EX-RT as slave with the flash bounced off the wall behind me. The flash mode was manual at 1/1 (full) power and HSS was enabled for all images. All images were shot at f/4 and ISO 100 and only shutter speed was changed. 1st image 1/100 (1/2 max sync): you can see the flash synced with the shutter and we have a nice clean image. 2nd image 1/200 (max sync): we are having some sync issues and lower portion of the frame is shadowing but so far the flash is still in normal flash (NO HSS). 3rd image 1/250 (1/3 stop more than max sync): we have clearly lost about 2 full stops of flash power due to HSS with only 1/3 stop increase in shutter speed.

Edit II: This second set of images were all shot with the 5D mII, ST-E3-RT as master and a 600EX-RT as slave on a light stand direct flash (no modifier) zoomed to 50mm. The flash was in manual mode with flash power 1/1 (full) and HSS was enabled for all shots. An ISO of 50 and f/11 aperture was used for all images. In the first 3 images the flash was 7 feet from the subject and in the last image the flash was moved to 3 1/2 feet to make up for the about 2 stop loss of HSS. In the first 2 images the exposure on the subject face is the same which means that HSS, although enabled, was not used by the system. In the third and fourth images HSS was used as the shutter speed was set to 1/250 (1/3 stop faster than max sync).

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos.

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos.

Post #15, Jun 02, 2013 17:34:36


Rand

Gear

LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
2,378 views & 0 likes for this thread
Will the Canon ST-E3-RT Speedlite Transmitter work in Hi Sync ?
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00085 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.03s
863 guests, 730 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is oneagitator

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.