Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting
Thread started 15 May 2013 (Wednesday) 09:19
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Will the Canon ST-E3-RT Speedlite Transmitter work in Hi Sync ?

 
KitzKlikz
Hatchling
KitzKlikz's Avatar
6 posts
Joined Jul 2011
May 15, 2013 09:19 |  #1

Hi Guys anyone can solve this mystery for me ? .. does the Canon ST-E3-RT Speedlite Transmitter work in hi sync & ettl ii & all its functions with a canon 6d and speedlites 600 ex rt ?
As i found this on the net which is making me step back from purchasing it -

Compatible Cameras : Type A EOS cameras (E-TTL II/E-TTL autoflash)
Sync Speed : High-Speed Sync provided (EOS-1D X and EOS 5D Mark III only)

Thanks

Keith


Visit My Facebook Page on : www.facebook.com/KitzK​likz

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
aliengin
Goldmember
1,111 posts
Joined Mar 2011
May 15, 2013 10:43 |  #2

isn't Canon 6D newer than 1Dx and 5D III? If I were you i would call Canon and confirm. My understanding was it is compatible with the "new" canon bodies in this case 6D should be included but I am NOT 100% sure!


Ali Engin Photographyexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
KitzKlikz
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
KitzKlikz's Avatar
6 posts
Joined Jul 2011
May 15, 2013 13:38 as a reply to aliengin's post |  #3

that was my thinkin too .. since it`s a new body , everything should work out fine ...


Visit My Facebook Page on : www.facebook.com/KitzK​likz

LOG IN TO REPLY
jlambe
Member
jlambe's Avatar
55 posts
Joined Jul 2003
N.Ireland
May 15, 2013 15:55 |  #4

I automatically assumed it would be fully functional with all new bodies so don't see why not.


Canon 5D MKII. Canon 24-105 f4 Canon 70-300 2.8 MKII Canon 50mm f1.4 Canon 100mm f2.8 macro
http://www.flickr.com/​photos/jlambe/external link

LOG IN TO REPLY
timnosenzo
Cream of the Crop
8,816 posts
Joined Sep 2005
CT
May 15, 2013 20:26 |  #5

All the functions seem to work with the 6D, including HSS.


connecticut wedding photographerexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
dmward
Cream of the Crop
Joined Jun 2009
Metro Chicago
May 15, 2013 22:22 |  #6

According to Syl Arena, via personal testing, it works with EOS-M, which implies that it will work with all 2012 and newer cameras. I think that's what the Canon manuals say as well.


David | Sharing my Insights, Knowledge & Experience (external link) | dmwfotos website (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
Nick5
Goldmember
Nick5's Avatar
2,656 posts
Joined Mar 2007
Philadelphia Suburbs
May 16, 2013 00:12 |  #7

The 6D takes advantage of all the features of the ST-E3 and 600 EX-RT system.
HSS does work along with camera sync speed on the 7D.


Canon 5D Mark III (x2), BG-E11 Grips, 7D (x2) BG-E7 Grips, Canon Lenses 16-35 f/4 L IS, 17-40 f/4 L, 24-70 f/4 L IS, 24-105 f/4 L IS, 70-200 f/2.8 L IS II, 70-200 f/4 L IS, 100-400 f/4.5-5.6 L IS, TS-E 24 f/3.5 L II, 100 f/2.8 L Macro IS, 10-22 f3.5-4.5, 17-55 f/2.8 L IS, 50 f/1.4, 85 f/1.8, Canon 1.4 Extender III, 5 Canon 600 EX-RT, 2 Canon ST-E3 Transmitters, Canon Pixma PRO-10 Printer

LOG IN TO REPLY
KitzKlikz
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
KitzKlikz's Avatar
6 posts
Joined Jul 2011
May 16, 2013 00:49 |  #8

Thanks guys ... you pushed me up to order it ;)


Visit My Facebook Page on : www.facebook.com/KitzK​likz

LOG IN TO REPLY
Submariner
Goldmember
Submariner's Avatar
2,976 posts
Joined May 2012
London
May 18, 2013 13:48 |  #9

Nick5 wrote in post #15936731external link
The 6D takes advantage of all the features of the ST-E3 and 600 EX-RT system.
HSS does work along with camera sync speed on the 7D.

High Nick5
Canon told me the ST-E3 and 600EX RT would not do HSS and would drop the /sync speed on a 7D to 1 stop less i.e. 1/250 drops to 1/125 sec synch speed.
To perform properly it and the 600 3ex needs a 2012 and onward camera eg 1DX or 5D3

May I ask are you sure - very important to me?


Canon EOS 5DS R, Canon EF 70-200 F2.8 L Mk II IS USM, Canon EF 70-300 F4-5.6 L IS USM, EF 40mm F2.8 STM , RC6 Remote. Canon STE-3 Radio Flash Controller, Canon 600 EX RT x4 , YN 560 MkII x2 ; Bowens GM500PRO x4 , Bowens Remote Control. Bowens Pulsar TX, RX Radio Transmitter and Reciever Cards. Bowens Constant 530 Streamlights 600w x 4 Sold EOS 5D Mk III, 7D, EF 50mm F1.8, 430 EX Mk II, Bowens GM500Rs x4

LOG IN TO REPLY
Nick5
Goldmember
Nick5's Avatar
2,656 posts
Joined Mar 2007
Philadelphia Suburbs
May 18, 2013 22:18 |  #10

I have been using the 7D with the ST-E3 and 600 EX-RT's for over a year now.
Never had a problem with sync speed of 1/250 on any of my images. Never had a problem using HSS too.
You will see the the TV icon warning show up on your master ST-E3 when shutter is 160, 200 and 250th. However, all images are fine regarding banding issue associated with shutter speed above camera sync speed.
Still have not heard from Canon as to why this misinformation is still in print.
Besides myself, several other Canon CPS members I know and Syl Arena who travelers the country with wonderful Speedliting Intensives, have all supported our conclusions above.
Unfortunately, GROUP will not work on the 2011 cameras and prior. This a feature that I miss on my 7D. Guess I have to get on the Good List for Christmas this year.


Canon 5D Mark III (x2), BG-E11 Grips, 7D (x2) BG-E7 Grips, Canon Lenses 16-35 f/4 L IS, 17-40 f/4 L, 24-70 f/4 L IS, 24-105 f/4 L IS, 70-200 f/2.8 L IS II, 70-200 f/4 L IS, 100-400 f/4.5-5.6 L IS, TS-E 24 f/3.5 L II, 100 f/2.8 L Macro IS, 10-22 f3.5-4.5, 17-55 f/2.8 L IS, 50 f/1.4, 85 f/1.8, Canon 1.4 Extender III, 5 Canon 600 EX-RT, 2 Canon ST-E3 Transmitters, Canon Pixma PRO-10 Printer

LOG IN TO REPLY
Submariner
Goldmember
Submariner's Avatar
2,976 posts
Joined May 2012
London
May 18, 2013 22:48 |  #11

Nick5 wrote in post #15945392external link
I have been using the 7D with the ST-E3 and 600 EX-RT's for over a year now.
Never had a problem with sync speed of 1/250 on any of my images. Never had a problem using HSS too.
You will see the the TV icon warning show up on your master ST-E3 when shutter is 160, 200 and 250th. However, all images are fine regarding banding issue associated with shutter speed above camera sync speed.
Still have not heard from Canon as to why this misinformation is still in print.
Besides myself, several other Canon CPS members I know and Syl Arena who travelers the country with wonderful Speedliting Intensives, have all supported our conclusions above.
Unfortunately, GROUP will not work on the 2011 cameras and prior. This a feature that I miss on my 7D. Guess I have to get on the Good List for Christmas this year.

Thanks so much Nick, as long as I dont get banding at 1/250 using Ettl II,thats great for me!
What did you mean by "This is a feature that I miss on my 7D. "?
Was it that groups wont work on the 7D? Surely you can have basic groups A.b.&c ? With basic ratios?

Really don't see why they won't check out the 7d to work with the 600 exrt , and update the literature,
Just confused here. Now that there is no 580ex ii ; surely they want to sell Speedlite s, and I assume they don't expect us to alll throw away any camera pre 2012?
If so why bother waste the time upgrading the 7D firmware to ver 2.0 ?


Canon EOS 5DS R, Canon EF 70-200 F2.8 L Mk II IS USM, Canon EF 70-300 F4-5.6 L IS USM, EF 40mm F2.8 STM , RC6 Remote. Canon STE-3 Radio Flash Controller, Canon 600 EX RT x4 , YN 560 MkII x2 ; Bowens GM500PRO x4 , Bowens Remote Control. Bowens Pulsar TX, RX Radio Transmitter and Reciever Cards. Bowens Constant 530 Streamlights 600w x 4 Sold EOS 5D Mk III, 7D, EF 50mm F1.8, 430 EX Mk II, Bowens GM500Rs x4

LOG IN TO REPLY
dwdallam
Member
126 posts
Joined Oct 2011
May 19, 2013 01:02 |  #12

I read where the STE3 and 600RT flash guns will do HSS to 1/8000th with the 1DSMKIII. However, the Canon Flash system will not do second curtain off camera with any body no matter what. It is incapable of 2nd curtain wireless.




LOG IN TO REPLY
KitzKlikz
THREAD ­ STARTER
Hatchling
KitzKlikz's Avatar
6 posts
Joined Jul 2011
Jun 02, 2013 14:09 as a reply to dwdallam's post |  #13

600Rt s arrived and they worked in HSS with my 6d & St E3 :)

Thanks for your help


Visit My Facebook Page on : www.facebook.com/KitzK​likz

LOG IN TO REPLY
dwdallam
Member
126 posts
Joined Oct 2011
Jun 02, 2013 15:39 |  #14

KitzKlikz wrote in post #15992091external link
600Rt s arrived and they worked in HSS with my 6d & St E3 :)

Thanks for your help

They will work in HSS with all cameras think, or at least most of them. The problem is that after you go over (on most cameras, some older ones seem to work, but I cannot confirm that) one stop below your camera's sync speed--you automatically go into HSS. So with a camera that has a sync speed of 1/250th you would be limited to a shutter speed of 1/125th--unless you go into HSS mode. The problem is that HSS greatly shortens the distance of the flash and eats power like wolves eat rabbits.

I finally made the decision to buy one 600RT (I needed a fourth flash) and buy a second set of Odins. So now I have one extra Odin TCU and one extra Odin Receiver. the 580EXIIs I have work as well as the 600 and I cannot justify the upgrade. So now I have triple back up: One STE2 and two Odin TCUs + one extra receiver.

Total cost of while having 4 flashes (1100.00)

If I had bought totally into the Canon system that would have been 4x 500+ for the flashes at over 2200.00 ish. I just could not justify that plus the reduced flexibility of the Canon system. (I use the Odins to trip studio and a mixture of studio and Canon flash units.)




LOG IN TO REPLY
agv8or
Goldmember
agv8or's Avatar
1,792 posts
Joined Oct 2006
Midwest
Jun 02, 2013 17:34 |  #15

dwdallam wrote in post #15992317 (external link)
They will work in HSS with all cameras think, or at least most of them. The problem is that after you go over (on most cameras, some older ones seem to work, but I cannot confirm that) one stop below your camera's sync speed--you automatically go into HSS. So with a camera that has a sync speed of 1/250th you would be limited to a shutter speed of 1/125th--unless you go into HSS mode. The problem is that HSS greatly shortens the distance of the flash and eats power like wolves eat rabbits.

I finally made the decision to buy one 600RT (I needed a fourth flash) and buy a second set of Odins. So now I have one extra Odin TCU and one extra Odin Receiver. the 580EXIIs I have work as well as the 600 and I cannot justify the upgrade. So now I have triple back up: One STE2 and two Odin TCUs + one extra receiver.

Total cost of while having 4 flashes (1100.00)

If I had bought totally into the Canon system that would have been 4x 500+ for the flashes at over 2200.00 ish. I just could not justify that plus the reduced flexibility of the Canon system. (I use the Odins to trip studio and a mixture of studio and Canon flash units.)

Not so! Your flash system will not automatically go into HSS unless you have enabled HSS and the cameras shutter speed is set above the max sync speed of the camera. Even with HSS enabled the flash system will still function in normal flash (non HSS) until you set a shutter speed at least 1/3 stop faster than the cameras max sync speed. For my 5DmII I need to set a shutter speed of 1/250 before I get HSS. I get the little warning icon <!Tv> but HSS does NOT automatically kick in one stop below max sync speed even with HSS enabled. The warning icon <!Tv> is present on the 5DmII at shutter speeds of 1/125, 1/160 and 1/200 to warn you that you are not completely syncing with the flash but the flash does NOT go into HSS. At shutter speeds from max sync speed down to one stop slower than max sync you get a slight shadowing of the lower portion of the image frame from the rear curtain closing but it is not very noticeable except when shooting white eraser boards.

EDIT: The first 3 images were all shot with a 5D mII, ST-E3-RT as master and a 600EX-RT as slave with the flash bounced off the wall behind me. The flash mode was manual at 1/1 (full) power and HSS was enabled for all images. All images were shot at f/4 and ISO 100 and only shutter speed was changed. 1st image 1/100 (1/2 max sync): you can see the flash synced with the shutter and we have a nice clean image. 2nd image 1/200 (max sync): we are having some sync issues and lower portion of the frame is shadowing but so far the flash is still in normal flash (NO HSS). 3rd image 1/250 (1/3 stop more than max sync): we have clearly lost about 2 full stops of flash power due to HSS with only 1/3 stop increase in shutter speed.

Edit II: This second set of images were all shot with the 5D mII, ST-E3-RT as master and a 600EX-RT as slave on a light stand direct flash (no modifier) zoomed to 50mm. The flash was in manual mode with flash power 1/1 (full) and HSS was enabled for all shots. An ISO of 50 and f/11 aperture was used for all images. In the first 3 images the flash was 7 feet from the subject and in the last image the flash was moved to 3 1/2 feet to make up for the about 2 stop loss of HSS. In the first 2 images the exposure on the subject face is the same which means that HSS, although enabled, was not used by the system. In the third and fourth images HSS was used as the shutter speed was set to 1/250 (1/3 stop faster than max sync).

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.

HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.

Rand

Gear

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

4,071 views & 0 likes for this thread
Will the Canon ST-E3-RT Speedlite Transmitter work in Hi Sync ?
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00153 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.04s
Latest registered member is dejan8888
770 guests, 446 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016