Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos The Business of Photography
Thread started 26 Jun 2013 (Wednesday) 12:31
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Post your itemized invoice

benji25
Joined Jan 2010
Twin Cities
Jun 26, 2013 12:31 |  #1

So I am an accountant and I see a lot of threads about how much to charge, how much to spend on product packaging, prints etc. I also realize when you invoice clients you don't itemize so they don't exactly know what they are getting charged for.

I thought it would be a good idea for everyone to post up what they spend for an average shoot - that way people may find out they are spending too much on product packaging or they may even find out they are not charging enough to make money. It would also help if you linked to you supplier(s) if possible in order to provide information should someone want to use them.

I am not a professional photog so I don't have anything to post, but I will post a sample of what I think would help. (keep in mind I know NOTHING about what this stuff costs so these figures will NOT be accurate). Keep in mind this is stuff you are paying for in order to help others identify process/supplier improvements

Web hosting for main website
Online checkout services
Studio Rental costs

Hopefully you can get annual costs for the above and then estimate the number of shoots you do to figure out how much you spend per shoot.

For the items below they are more shoot specific so maybe just use a "typical" shoot to estimate.

Purchased equipment fees
Printing
Product presentation