Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Small Flash and Studio Lighting
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 18th of July 2013 (Thu)   #1
dmward
Cream of the Crop
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Metro Chicago
Posts: 7,102
Default Does anyone make one of these for the 600EX-RT?

HERE

Its the replacement foot for a Canon 580EX that Lon at Flash Zebra.
I had these mounted on my 580EXs and loved them.
Would love to have one for my 600EX-RT if its available somewhere.
dmward is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 18th of July 2013 (Thu)   #2
symbolphoto
Cream of the Crop
 
symbolphoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 6,596
Default Re: Does anyone make one of these for the 600EX-RT?

I see where you are going with this.
__________________
Boston Wedding Photographer | Flickr | Gear
symbolphoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of July 2013 (Fri)   #3
jonneymendoza
Goldmember
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,096
Default Re: Does anyone make one of these for the 600EX-RT?

Quote:
Originally Posted by symbolphoto View Post
I see where you are going with this.
and where is he going?
__________________
Canon 5dmkIII | Canon nifty fifty | Canon 70-200mm F2.8L MK2 | Canon 430EX MK2 Flickr
jonneymendoza is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 19th of July 2013 (Fri)   #4
FlyingPhotog
Cream of the "Prop"
 
FlyingPhotog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Probably Chasing Aircraft
Posts: 57,559
Default Re: Does anyone make one of these for the 600EX-RT?

Why do you need the mini-jack?

I assume the 600 has a PC port, yes?
__________________
"If you aren't getting extraordinary images from today's dSLRs, regardless of brand, it's not the camera!" - Bill Fortney, Nikon Corp.
FlyingPhotog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of July 2013 (Fri)   #5
frugivore
Goldmember
 
frugivore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 2,548
Default Re: Does anyone make one of these for the 600EX-RT?

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlyingPhotog View Post
Why do you need the mini-jack?

I assume the 600 has a PC port, yes?
To use it in manual mode together with his monolights? I want some too please!
__________________
Chris
My gear

Photography is communication. Art is the quality of that communication.
frugivore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of July 2013 (Fri)   #6
Trailboy
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 444
Default Re: Does anyone make one of these for the 600EX-RT?

Because the PC port on the flash is input, not output.
Trailboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of July 2013 (Fri)   #7
digital paradise
Cream of the Crop
 
digital paradise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,120
Default Re: Does anyone make one of these for the 600EX-RT?

This person may be able to do this mod for you if you send the flash there. They do all types of mods.

http://michaelbass.blogspot.ca
__________________
Website ~ Buy/Sell Feedback
digital paradise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of July 2013 (Fri)   #8
symbolphoto
Cream of the Crop
 
symbolphoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 6,596
Default Re: Does anyone make one of these for the 600EX-RT?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonneymendoza View Post
and where is he going?
I believe it's in conjunction with a Cheetah product.
__________________
Boston Wedding Photographer | Flickr | Gear
symbolphoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of July 2013 (Fri)   #9
dmward
Cream of the Crop
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Metro Chicago
Posts: 7,102
Default Re: Does anyone make one of these for the 600EX-RT?

Quote:
Originally Posted by symbolphoto View Post
I believe it's in conjunction with a Cheetah product.
A bit broader than just Cheetah Lights.
There are times when I want to fire other strobes with the 600EX-RT on camera controlling others. And it the modded foot would fit an STE3 even better.

I have, for example, 6 older speedlites that I can use in manual mode with the 600EXs. That means 10 speedlites. but having a second trigger hanging off the side of my camera is a bit of a clug. Thus this question. I was reminded about how nice this mod was when I saw the way Jim Coleman had his setup for firing his CL-180s with a 580EX on camera for close fill.

Thanks for the Bass suggestion. I'd forgotten about him, I was hoping that someone had started doing this in a production mode.

I have a broken foot, maybe its worth fiddling with to see if I can figure out the wiring.
Or, better, I'd be happy to send it to someone who really knows what they're doing.
dmward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of July 2013 (Fri)   #10
drvnbysound
Goldmember
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3,078
Default Re: Does anyone make one of these for the 600EX-RT?

How does that foot resolve this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmward View Post
but having a second trigger hanging off the side of my camera is a bit of a clug.
__________________
I use manual exposure settings on the copy machine
..::Gear Listing::.. --==Feedback==--
...A few umbrella brackets I own...
drvnbysound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of July 2013 (Fri)   #11
butterfly2937
Cream of the Crop
 
butterfly2937's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Somewhere out there!
Posts: 5,680
Default Re: Does anyone make one of these for the 600EX-RT?

Why can't you use the camera's sync port?
__________________
___________________________________________
My Flickr

Gear
butterfly2937 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of July 2013 (Fri)   #12
The Loft Studios
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 976
Default Re: Does anyone make one of these for the 600EX-RT?

I'm interested in knowing where and how the "modded foot" resolves the problem of firing other lights. I too owned (at one time) 8 Canon 580EXII's flashes with the PC Sync Port and had no problems firing it in manual mode either as a Master (meaning I had a receiver of some sort plugged into the PC Port) or as a slave (meaning I had an optical sync that plugged into the PC Port)..... I now have 4 Canon 600EX's and still use the procedure stated above with no issues. Maybe I'm missing something that you leaving out, Dave. Can you elaborate why you would like the modded foot over the OEM?
__________________
MARK
The Loft Studios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of July 2013 (Fri)   #13
frugivore
Goldmember
 
frugivore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 2,548
Default Re: Does anyone make one of these for the 600EX-RT?

Quote:
Originally Posted by butterfly2937 View Post
Why can't you use the camera's sync port?
I am wondering this also, now that I think about it. I have used a flash on the hot shoe with a CST stuck to the flash using Velcro with the PC sync to mini jack cord plugging into the CST. This fires both the flash and the mono lights that I have set up.
__________________
Chris
My gear

Photography is communication. Art is the quality of that communication.
frugivore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of July 2013 (Fri)   #14
butterfly2937
Cream of the Crop
 
butterfly2937's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Somewhere out there!
Posts: 5,680
Default Re: Does anyone make one of these for the 600EX-RT?

I have used a phottix odin transmitter in the hot shoe and a 580 EX II on a ProMedia Gear flash bracket and a CyberSync transmitter in the camera sync port to fire Einstein strobes. This gives me complete control of both flashes and strobes plus focus assist if needed in very low light. I have CC in my pocket to adjust power on the strobes. Couldn't you use a similiar setup for Cheetah lights. Does the Cheetah transmitter have the option of connecting to the camera sync port?
__________________
___________________________________________
My Flickr

Gear
butterfly2937 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of July 2013 (Fri)   #15
dmward
Cream of the Crop
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Metro Chicago
Posts: 7,102
Default Re: Does anyone make one of these for the 600EX-RT?

All of the various methods you are describing work. I've used them.
The 600EX-RT PC port is only to fire the 600EX-RT with an external trigger. It does not deliver a fire signal to an attached trigger.

Plugging a cable into the camera works and I've been using that approach when I need duel system triggering. To make that work I've then used a velcro strip to attach the trigger to the camera strap.

I hadn't really thought too much about its disadvantages until I dug out the 580 foot to give to an associate after we shot a wedding together and I saw his CST attached to a bracket attached to his camera with the CST in a hot shoe with a short cable plugged into the PC port on the camera. That reminded me of how handy it was to have flash and trigger as a single package that could be put on the camera by sliding the speedlite into the hot shoe.

If there were a way to easily make the PC connection on the 600EX-RT two way that would work as well.
dmward is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: 600Ex-RT poeticmic Classifieds: Buy 1 14th of October 2012 (Sun) 22:47
RT-16 and 600ex popspicker Small Flash and Studio Lighting 6 8th of July 2012 (Sun) 10:29
How can I make make a group shot outline? Darsk47 RAW, Post Processing and Printing 7 5th of September 2010 (Sun) 20:04


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.