Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting
Thread started 18 Jul 2013 (Thursday) 22:59
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Does anyone make one of these for the 600EX-RT?

 
dmward
Cream of the Crop
Joined Jun 2009
Metro Chicago
Jul 18, 2013 22:59 |  #1

HEREexternal link

Its the replacement foot for a Canon 580EX that Lon at Flash Zebra.
I had these mounted on my 580EXs and loved them.
Would love to have one for my 600EX-RT if its available somewhere.


David | digifotografi tutorialsexternal link | dmwfotos websiteexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
symbolphoto
Cream of the Crop
symbolphoto's Avatar
6,596 posts
Joined Nov 2005
Boston, MA
Jul 18, 2013 23:17 |  #2

I see where you are going with this. :)


Boston Wedding Photographerexternal link | Flickrexternal link | Gear

LOG IN TO REPLY
jonneymendoza
Goldmember
3,346 posts
Joined Apr 2008
Jul 19, 2013 04:00 |  #3

symbolphoto wrote in post #16133491external link
I see where you are going with this. :)

and where is he going?


Canon 5dmkIII | Canon 85L 1.2 | Sigma 35mm ART 1.4|Canon 16-35mm L 2.8 |Canon 24-70mm L f2.8 | Canon 70-200mm F2.8L MK2 | Canon 430EX MK2 Flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
FlyingPhotog
Cream of the "Prop"
FlyingPhotog's Avatar
57,560 posts
Joined May 2007
Probably Chasing Aircraft
Jul 19, 2013 04:23 |  #4

Why do you need the mini-jack?

I assume the 600 has a PC port, yes?


Jay
Crosswind Imagesexternal link
Facebook Fan Pageexternal link

"If you aren't getting extraordinary images from today's dSLRs, regardless of brand, it's not the camera!" - Bill Fortney, Nikon Corp.

LOG IN TO REPLY
frugivore
Goldmember
frugivore's Avatar
2,678 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Aug 2010
Toronto, Canada
Jul 19, 2013 07:03 |  #5

FlyingPhotog wrote in post #16133909external link
Why do you need the mini-jack?

I assume the 600 has a PC port, yes?

To use it in manual mode together with his monolights? I want some too please!


Chris
Photography is communication. Art is the quality of that communication.

LOG IN TO REPLY
Trailboy
Senior Member
535 posts
Joined Jan 2009
Jul 19, 2013 07:19 |  #6

Because the PC port on the flash is input, not output.




LOG IN TO REPLY
digital ­ paradise
Cream of the Crop
digital paradise's Avatar
Joined Oct 2009
Jul 19, 2013 08:58 |  #7

This person may be able to do this mod for you if you send the flash there. They do all types of mods.

http://michaelbass.blo​gspot.caexternal link


Image Editing OK

Websiteexternal link ~ Buy/Sell Feedback

LOG IN TO REPLY
symbolphoto
Cream of the Crop
symbolphoto's Avatar
6,596 posts
Joined Nov 2005
Boston, MA
Jul 19, 2013 09:10 as a reply to symbolphoto's post |  #8

jonneymendoza wrote in post #16133875external link
and where is he going?

I believe it's in conjunction with a Cheetah product.


Boston Wedding Photographerexternal link | Flickrexternal link | Gear

LOG IN TO REPLY
dmward
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
Joined Jun 2009
Metro Chicago
Jul 19, 2013 10:05 |  #9

symbolphoto wrote in post #16134403external link
I believe it's in conjunction with a Cheetah product.

A bit broader than just Cheetah Lights. :-)
There are times when I want to fire other strobes with the 600EX-RT on camera controlling others. And it the modded foot would fit an STE3 even better. :-)

I have, for example, 6 older speedlites that I can use in manual mode with the 600EXs. That means 10 speedlites. but having a second trigger hanging off the side of my camera is a bit of a clug. Thus this question. I was reminded about how nice this mod was when I saw the way Jim Coleman had his setup for firing his CL-180s with a 580EX on camera for close fill.

Thanks for the Bass suggestion. I'd forgotten about him, I was hoping that someone had started doing this in a production mode.

I have a broken foot, maybe its worth fiddling with to see if I can figure out the wiring. :-)
Or, better, I'd be happy to send it to someone who really knows what they're doing. :-)


David | digifotografi tutorialsexternal link | dmwfotos websiteexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
drvnbysound
Goldmember
3,286 posts
Joined Aug 2009
Jul 19, 2013 10:12 |  #10

How does that foot resolve this?

dmward wrote in post #16134572external link
but having a second trigger hanging off the side of my camera is a bit of a clug.


I use manual exposure settings on the copy machine
..::Gear Listing::.. --==Feedback==--
...A few umbrella brackets I own...

LOG IN TO REPLY
butterfly2937
Cream of the Crop
butterfly2937's Avatar
Joined Apr 2009
Connecticut USA
Jul 19, 2013 13:30 as a reply to drvnbysound's post |  #11

Why can't you use the camera's sync port?


_______________
flickrexternal link
GEAR

LOG IN TO REPLY
The ­ Loft ­ Studios
Goldmember
1,035 posts
Joined Oct 2009
Houston, Texas
Jul 19, 2013 15:08 as a reply to butterfly2937's post |  #12

I'm interested in knowing where and how the "modded foot" resolves the problem of firing other lights. I too owned (at one time) 8 Canon 580EXII's flashes with the PC Sync Port and had no problems firing it in manual mode either as a Master (meaning I had a receiver of some sort plugged into the PC Port) or as a slave (meaning I had an optical sync that plugged into the PC Port)..... I now have 4 Canon 600EX's and still use the procedure stated above with no issues. Maybe I'm missing something that you leaving out, Dave. Can you elaborate why you would like the modded foot over the OEM?


MARK

LOG IN TO REPLY
frugivore
Goldmember
frugivore's Avatar
2,678 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Aug 2010
Toronto, Canada
Jul 19, 2013 16:27 |  #13

butterfly2937 wrote in post #16135136external link
Why can't you use the camera's sync port?

I am wondering this also, now that I think about it. I have used a flash on the hot shoe with a CST stuck to the flash using Velcro with the PC sync to mini jack cord plugging into the CST. This fires both the flash and the mono lights that I have set up.


Chris
Photography is communication. Art is the quality of that communication.

LOG IN TO REPLY
butterfly2937
Cream of the Crop
butterfly2937's Avatar
Joined Apr 2009
Connecticut USA
Jul 19, 2013 16:45 as a reply to frugivore's post |  #14

I have used a phottix odin transmitter in the hot shoe and a 580 EX II on a ProMedia Gear flash bracket and a CyberSync transmitter in the camera sync port to fire Einstein strobes. This gives me complete control of both flashes and strobes plus focus assist if needed in very low light. I have CC in my pocket to adjust power on the strobes. Couldn't you use a similiar setup for Cheetah lights. Does the Cheetah transmitter have the option of connecting to the camera sync port?


_______________
flickrexternal link
GEAR

LOG IN TO REPLY
dmward
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
Joined Jun 2009
Metro Chicago
Jul 19, 2013 19:17 |  #15

All of the various methods you are describing work. I've used them.
The 600EX-RT PC port is only to fire the 600EX-RT with an external trigger. It does not deliver a fire signal to an attached trigger.

Plugging a cable into the camera works and I've been using that approach when I need duel system triggering. To make that work I've then used a velcro strip to attach the trigger to the camera strap.

I hadn't really thought too much about its disadvantages until I dug out the 580 foot to give to an associate after we shot a wedding together and I saw his CST attached to a bracket attached to his camera with the CST in a hot shoe with a short cable plugged into the PC port on the camera. That reminded me of how handy it was to have flash and trigger as a single package that could be put on the camera by sliding the speedlite into the hot shoe.

If there were a way to easily make the PC connection on the 600EX-RT two way that would work as well.


David | digifotografi tutorialsexternal link | dmwfotos websiteexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

2,170 views & 0 likes for this thread
Does anyone make one of these for the 600EX-RT?
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00211 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.03s
Latest registered member is CoreyJ
904 guests, 650 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 5175, that happened on Jun 16, 2015