LOG IN    OR   REGISTER TO FORUMS


Does anyone make one of these for the 600EX-RT?

FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting
Thread started 18 Jul 2013 (Thursday) 22:59   
LIST NEARBY THREADS
 
dmward
Cream of the Crop
Joined Jun 2009
7,124 posts
Metro Chicago
[MORE/SHARE]

HEREexternal link

Its the replacement foot for a Canon 580EX that Lon at Flash Zebra.
I had these mounted on my 580EXs and loved them.
Would love to have one for my 600EX-RT if its available somewhere.

Post #1, Jul 18, 2013 22:59:38


David | digifotografi tutorialsexternal link | dmwfotos websiteexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
symbolphoto
Cream of the Crop
symbolphoto's Avatar
Joined Nov 2005
6,596 posts
Boston, MA
[MORE/SHARE]

I see where you are going with this. :)

Post #2, Jul 18, 2013 23:17:30


Boston Wedding Photographerexternal link | Flickrexternal link | Gear

LOG IN TO REPLY
jonneymendoza
Goldmember
Joined Apr 2008
3,101 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

symbolphoto wrote in post #16133491external link
I see where you are going with this. :)

and where is he going?

Post #3, Jul 19, 2013 04:00:36


Canon 5dmkIII | Canon 85L 1.2 | Sigma 35mm ART 1.4|Canon 16-35mm L 2.8 |Canon 24-70mm L f2.8 | Canon 70-200mm F2.8L MK2 | Canon 430EX MK2 Flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
FlyingPhotog
Cream of the "Prop"
FlyingPhotog's Avatar
Joined May 2007
57,560 posts
Probably Chasing Aircraft
[MORE/SHARE]

Why do you need the mini-jack?

I assume the 600 has a PC port, yes?

Post #4, Jul 19, 2013 04:23:50


Jay
Crosswind Imagesexternal link
Facebook Fan Pageexternal link

"If you aren't getting extraordinary images from today's dSLRs, regardless of brand, it's not the camera!" - Bill Fortney, Nikon Corp.

LOG IN TO REPLY
frugivore
Goldmember
frugivore's Avatar
Joined Aug 2010
2,596 posts
Toronto, Canada
[MORE/SHARE]

FlyingPhotog wrote in post #16133909external link
Why do you need the mini-jack?

I assume the 600 has a PC port, yes?

To use it in manual mode together with his monolights? I want some too please!

Post #5, Jul 19, 2013 07:03:41


Chris
Photography is communication. Art is the quality of that communication.

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Trailboy
Senior Member
Joined Jan 2009
471 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

Because the PC port on the flash is input, not output.

Post #6, Jul 19, 2013 07:19:58




LOG IN TO REPLY
digital ­ paradise
Cream of the Crop
digital paradise's Avatar
Joined Oct 2009
7,643 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

This person may be able to do this mod for you if you send the flash there. They do all types of mods.

http://michaelbass.blo​gspot.caexternal link

Post #7, Jul 19, 2013 08:58:26


Image Editing OK

Websiteexternal link ~ Buy/Sell Feedback

LOG IN TO REPLY
symbolphoto
Cream of the Crop
symbolphoto's Avatar
Joined Nov 2005
6,596 posts
Boston, MA
[MORE/SHARE]

jonneymendoza wrote in post #16133875external link
and where is he going?

I believe it's in conjunction with a Cheetah product.

Post #8, Jul 19, 2013 09:10:09 as a reply to symbolphoto's post 9 hours earlier.


Boston Wedding Photographerexternal link | Flickrexternal link | Gear

LOG IN TO REPLY
dmward
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
Joined Jun 2009
7,124 posts
Metro Chicago
[MORE/SHARE]

symbolphoto wrote in post #16134403external link
I believe it's in conjunction with a Cheetah product.

A bit broader than just Cheetah Lights. :-)
There are times when I want to fire other strobes with the 600EX-RT on camera controlling others. And it the modded foot would fit an STE3 even better. :-)

I have, for example, 6 older speedlites that I can use in manual mode with the 600EXs. That means 10 speedlites. but having a second trigger hanging off the side of my camera is a bit of a clug. Thus this question. I was reminded about how nice this mod was when I saw the way Jim Coleman had his setup for firing his CL-180s with a 580EX on camera for close fill.

Thanks for the Bass suggestion. I'd forgotten about him, I was hoping that someone had started doing this in a production mode.

I have a broken foot, maybe its worth fiddling with to see if I can figure out the wiring. :-)
Or, better, I'd be happy to send it to someone who really knows what they're doing. :-)

Post #9, Jul 19, 2013 10:05:33


David | digifotografi tutorialsexternal link | dmwfotos websiteexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
drvnbysound
Goldmember
Joined Aug 2009
3,255 posts
[MORE/SHARE]

How does that foot resolve this?

dmward wrote in post #16134572external link
but having a second trigger hanging off the side of my camera is a bit of a clug.

Post #10, Jul 19, 2013 10:12:13


I use manual exposure settings on the copy machine
..::Gear Listing::.. --==Feedback==--
...A few umbrella brackets I own...

LOG IN TO REPLY
butterfly2937
Cream of the Crop
butterfly2937's Avatar
Joined Apr 2009
5,894 posts
Connecticut USA
[MORE/SHARE]

Why can't you use the camera's sync port?

Post #11, Jul 19, 2013 13:30:33 as a reply to drvnbysound's post 3 hours earlier.


_______________
flickrexternal link
GEAR

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
The ­ Loft ­ Studios
Senior Member
Joined Oct 2009
988 posts
Houston, Texas
[MORE/SHARE]

I'm interested in knowing where and how the "modded foot" resolves the problem of firing other lights. I too owned (at one time) 8 Canon 580EXII's flashes with the PC Sync Port and had no problems firing it in manual mode either as a Master (meaning I had a receiver of some sort plugged into the PC Port) or as a slave (meaning I had an optical sync that plugged into the PC Port)..... I now have 4 Canon 600EX's and still use the procedure stated above with no issues. Maybe I'm missing something that you leaving out, Dave. Can you elaborate why you would like the modded foot over the OEM?

Post #12, Jul 19, 2013 15:08:45 as a reply to butterfly2937's post 1 hour earlier.


MARK

LOG IN TO REPLY
frugivore
Goldmember
frugivore's Avatar
Joined Aug 2010
2,596 posts
Toronto, Canada
[MORE/SHARE]

butterfly2937 wrote in post #16135136external link
Why can't you use the camera's sync port?

I am wondering this also, now that I think about it. I have used a flash on the hot shoe with a CST stuck to the flash using Velcro with the PC sync to mini jack cord plugging into the CST. This fires both the flash and the mono lights that I have set up.

Post #13, Jul 19, 2013 16:27:34


Chris
Photography is communication. Art is the quality of that communication.

LOG IN TO REPLY
butterfly2937
Cream of the Crop
butterfly2937's Avatar
Joined Apr 2009
5,894 posts
Connecticut USA
[MORE/SHARE]

I have used a phottix odin transmitter in the hot shoe and a 580 EX II on a ProMedia Gear flash bracket and a CyberSync transmitter in the camera sync port to fire Einstein strobes. This gives me complete control of both flashes and strobes plus focus assist if needed in very low light. I have CC in my pocket to adjust power on the strobes. Couldn't you use a similiar setup for Cheetah lights. Does the Cheetah transmitter have the option of connecting to the camera sync port?

Post #14, Jul 19, 2013 16:45:26 as a reply to frugivore's post 17 minutes earlier.


_______________
flickrexternal link
GEAR

LOG IN TO REPLY
dmward
THREAD ­ STARTER
Cream of the Crop
Joined Jun 2009
7,124 posts
Metro Chicago
[MORE/SHARE]

All of the various methods you are describing work. I've used them.
The 600EX-RT PC port is only to fire the 600EX-RT with an external trigger. It does not deliver a fire signal to an attached trigger.

Plugging a cable into the camera works and I've been using that approach when I need duel system triggering. To make that work I've then used a velcro strip to attach the trigger to the camera strap.

I hadn't really thought too much about its disadvantages until I dug out the 580 foot to give to an associate after we shot a wedding together and I saw his CST attached to a bracket attached to his camera with the CST in a hot shoe with a short cable plugged into the PC port on the camera. That reminded me of how handy it was to have flash and trigger as a single package that could be put on the camera by sliding the speedlite into the hot shoe.

If there were a way to easily make the PC connection on the 600EX-RT two way that would work as well.

Post #15, Jul 19, 2013 19:17:51


David | digifotografi tutorialsexternal link | dmwfotos websiteexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY


LIST NEARBY THREADS
1,613 views & 0 likes for this thread
Does anyone make one of these for the 600EX-RT?
FORUMS General Gear Talk Flash and Studio Lighting



NOT A MEMBER YET? CLICK HERE TO REGISTER TO FORUMS

CHANGE BODY TEXT SIZE FOR ALL THREAD PAGES
POWERED BY AMASS 1.0version 1.0
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net


SEND FEEDBACK TO STAFF  |  JUMP TO FORUM...  |  FORUM RULES


Spent 0.00109 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
784 guests, 574 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 3341, that happened on Dec 11, 2014
Latest registered member is saltydog

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: By using this site you agree that some cookies will be stored on your browser. For unlogged users we store one session id cookie. For registered members we store (in addition to login session cookie) only cookies that are essential for required functionality, we do not store any personal tracking data in cookies or other browser's data storage methods.