Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
Thread started 28 Jul 2013 (Sunday) 07:14
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

1DX and it's metering

 
LincsRP
Senior Member
427 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 40
Joined Mar 2007
Location: Lincolnshire,UK
     
Jul 28, 2013 07:14 |  #1

I'm finding my 1DX metering now to be a bit more sensitive to specular highlights. Having done a wedding at the end of Dec last year I hadn't used it much except for a few social occasions (presentations etc).

Since I loaded the latest firmware and it's been to Canon Elstree it nearly caught me out big time last Friday night photographing the local church Baptisms and Confirmations.

Simply put it now seems to really dial back the exposure if a few specular hightlights are in the scene. I'm no rookie to this and have looked out a few threads on the 1DX underexposing nearly as much as 1 stop in some cases.

Having done a few tests this morning I've found that an 'average' scene with maybe a couple stops of difference is ok but, then include (even on the edge of the frame) a specular highlight and the metering dials back severely.

Even multi-spot it does. Multi-spot on an 'average' scene and it's ok, then mult-spot and include just one area of spcular in say a four/five spot case and it really dials exposure back. Ok, I often bracket in these cases if the action is fast moving like lining up family groups with the Bishop for instance which covers the problem nicely.

Looking at the in-camera compensation (menu) which Canon say shouldn't be needed if I dial in a half stop over base it's then slightly over-exposing the 'general' scene.

Has anyone found this since the last firmware update? Curious to know.


Steve
www.lincsracephotos.co​.uk (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
2slo
Cream of the Crop
6,357 posts
Gallery: 518 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 3110
Joined Oct 2011
     
Jul 28, 2013 08:11 |  #2

Interesting. I haven't noticed a problem with this so far albeit I use mine for birds and wildlife. I tend to use spot metering most of the time tied to the AF point and it does the job very well.
I haven't updated the firmware on mine yet (I'm using 1.2.4). Are you using a different version which might be the cause of what you describe?




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
LincsRP
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
427 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 40
Joined Mar 2007
Location: Lincolnshire,UK
     
Jul 28, 2013 10:25 as a reply to  @ 2slo's post |  #3

Mine too is firmware 1.2.4.


Steve
www.lincsracephotos.co​.uk (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
2slo
Cream of the Crop
6,357 posts
Gallery: 518 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 3110
Joined Oct 2011
     
Jul 28, 2013 11:43 as a reply to  @ LincsRP's post |  #4

One option for you might be multi spot metering. Assuming you have the same manual as me, see page 178.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
LincsRP
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
427 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 40
Joined Mar 2007
Location: Lincolnshire,UK
     
Jul 28, 2013 12:21 |  #5

2slo wrote in post #16160726 (external link)
One option for you might be multi spot metering. Assuming you have the same manual as me, see page 178.

Mark, see my para 5, even multi-spot which I use to get a 'base' exposure is severely affected by just one specular highlight.

I think the specular gold and silver made it worse on Friday night as our church has lots of this compared to some. I'm coming to this conclusion as the 1DX has a colour metering sensor so maybe I need to factor this in?

Testing this morning against a white sheet of paper in natural light against a 1Dmk2 gave same reliable results from both bodies, same lens. A grey looking sheet with no compensation almost identical from both bodies. Increase both to +2 stops came out almost identical again. So there's really nothing wrong with it - just under some conditions!


Steve
www.lincsracephotos.co​.uk (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jase1125
Goldmember
Avatar
3,025 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Likes: 50
Joined May 2010
Location: Lewisville, TX (DFW)
     
Jul 28, 2013 13:12 |  #6

I find mine underexposes as well. I finally dialed in exposure correction in the custom functions. 3/4 of a stop.


Jason

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
2slo
Cream of the Crop
6,357 posts
Gallery: 518 photos
Best ofs: 3
Likes: 3110
Joined Oct 2011
     
Jul 28, 2013 13:48 |  #7

LincsRP wrote in post #16160814 (external link)
Mark, see my para 5, even multi-spot which I use to get a 'base' exposure is severely affected by just one specular highlight.

Doh! Missed that, sorry :o

Good to hear you've made some progress.




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
LincsRP
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
427 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 40
Joined Mar 2007
Location: Lincolnshire,UK
     
Jul 28, 2013 14:03 |  #8

2slo wrote in post #16161017 (external link)
Doh! Missed that, sorry :o

That's ok, I waffle plenty anyway :lol:

2slo wrote in post #16161017 (external link)
Good to hear you've made some progress.

Yes, and I've tested this again between visitors and the F1 grand prix and nothing is upsetting it more than the mk2's I have under 'normal' shooting conditions.

This image taken with the 1Dsmk2 was unfazed with the strip of white (open curtain) but I bet the 1DX won't be happy with it...

PHOTOBUCKET EMBEDDING IS DISABLED BY THIS MEMBER.
Photobucket sends ads instead of embedding photos from their free galleries.
Click the link (if available) below to see the image in a gallery page.

http://i220.photobucke​t.com …/SteveForman/XI​4N0490.jpg (external link)

Steve
www.lincsracephotos.co​.uk (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
N2bnfunn
Senior Member
585 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 19
Joined Dec 2010
     
Jul 28, 2013 14:18 |  #9

Funny you should say that yesterday I did and event, "The Color Vibe Race" and when I went to edit the pictures a lot of them were like you said under exposure, the event was outside with a lot of sun,
I to have the latest firmware, and I did not notice the problem before I upgrade the firmware, I was shooting in spot mode as well. http://www.flickr.com/​photos/snapuphoto/ (external link)


Canon 1DX Canon 5D MkIII Lens EF 16-35 L 2.8 EF 70-200 L 2.8 EF 50mm 1.2 L 24-105 4.0 L 24-70 2.8L II Canon Pixma PRO-1 Intuos Small Tablet 3 Canon 600EX-RT Speedlites

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
LincsRP
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
427 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 40
Joined Mar 2007
Location: Lincolnshire,UK
     
Jul 28, 2013 14:27 |  #10

N2bnfunn wrote in post #16161082 (external link)
Funny you should say that yesterday I did and event, "The Color Vibe Race" and when I went to edit the pictures a lot of them were like you said under exposure, the event was outside with a lot of sun,
I to have the latest firmware, and I did not notice the problem before I upgrade the firmware, I was shooting in spot mode as well. http://www.flickr.com/​photos/snapuphoto/ (external link)

Spot linked to AF point? I haven't really used that much in the past, rather relying on evaluative and tweaking plus and minus as I see fit.

I did test it today and am surprised it came out ok. Spot for me was one of those 'last resort' settings for stage work, etc. :)


Steve
www.lincsracephotos.co​.uk (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
N2bnfunn
Senior Member
585 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 19
Joined Dec 2010
     
Jul 28, 2013 15:19 |  #11

jase1125 wrote in post #16160939 (external link)
I find mine underexposes as well. I finally dialed in exposure correction in the custom functions. 3/4 of a stop.


Hey could you explain a little more on how to do that in the custom functions, I looked and I am not seeing how to do that?


Canon 1DX Canon 5D MkIII Lens EF 16-35 L 2.8 EF 70-200 L 2.8 EF 50mm 1.2 L 24-105 4.0 L 24-70 2.8L II Canon Pixma PRO-1 Intuos Small Tablet 3 Canon 600EX-RT Speedlites

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
aliengin
Goldmember
1,150 posts
Likes: 74
Joined Mar 2011
     
Jul 28, 2013 22:17 |  #12

jase1125 wrote in post #16160939 (external link)
I find mine underexposes as well. I finally dialed in exposure correction in the custom functions. 3/4 of a stop.

Doing the exactly same on both cameras. Spot metering works good though.


Ali Engin Photography (external link)

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
jase1125
Goldmember
Avatar
3,025 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Likes: 50
Joined May 2010
Location: Lewisville, TX (DFW)
     
Jul 28, 2013 22:19 |  #13

N2bnfunn wrote in post #16161228 (external link)
Hey could you explain a little more on how to do that in the custom functions, I looked and I am not seeing how to do that?

CF2 Exposure
2nd menu
6th option (AE Microadjustment)


Jason

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
N2bnfunn
Senior Member
585 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 19
Joined Dec 2010
     
Jul 28, 2013 22:55 |  #14

jase1125 wrote in post #16162283 (external link)
CF2 Exposure
2nd menu
6th option (AE Microadjustment)

Dude feel like you sent me a text, CF2? custom function 2? I am not seeing that?


Canon 1DX Canon 5D MkIII Lens EF 16-35 L 2.8 EF 70-200 L 2.8 EF 50mm 1.2 L 24-105 4.0 L 24-70 2.8L II Canon Pixma PRO-1 Intuos Small Tablet 3 Canon 600EX-RT Speedlites

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
N2bnfunn
Senior Member
585 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Likes: 19
Joined Dec 2010
     
Aug 04, 2013 22:01 |  #15

This is what I have notice using the 1DX and spot metering, I only get the under -exposing when I am using the 4 Lens, not with the 2.8 lens


Canon 1DX Canon 5D MkIII Lens EF 16-35 L 2.8 EF 70-200 L 2.8 EF 50mm 1.2 L 24-105 4.0 L 24-70 2.8L II Canon Pixma PRO-1 Intuos Small Tablet 3 Canon 600EX-RT Speedlites

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

5,475 views & 0 likes for this thread
1DX and it's metering
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.0forum software
version 2.0 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Chris1978
839 guests, 444 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.