Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories
Thread started 12 Aug 2013 (Monday) 12:42
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Bulb mode on the 60D?

 
reefvilla
Senior Member
reefvilla's Avatar
Joined May 2010
Farmington Missouri
Aug 12, 2013 12:42 |  #1

http://www.bhphotovide​o.com ...eless_Remote_Contro​l.htmlexternal link

Thinking about buying the remote in the link. If you have it, does it feel like junk or is it a decent remote?
I guess you can't hold the shutter open with this?

I want to play around with the bulb mode on my camera but also thought this would be good for self portraits when we do family pics or even vacation. I will Finally be in the pictures!!! :lol:


.


Canon 60D : Canon 18-135mm IS stm

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
tkbslc
Cream of the Crop
24,562 posts
Joined Nov 2008
Utah, USA
Aug 12, 2013 12:48 |  #2

for $20 I'd get one of the no-name RF triggers. IR is line of sight only, so it can be a PITA to have to point it directly at the IR receiver on the front of the camera, depending on the shot.


Taylor
Galleries: Flickrexternal link
60D | ELPH 330 | iPhone 5s

LOG IN TO REPLY
JeremyKPhoto
Goldmember
1,613 posts
Joined Apr 2012
Aug 12, 2013 12:54 |  #3

I have this remote... I don't like it. You cannot hold the shutter open with it. It is really a PITA to use. I finally gave up and just started using the 10 second timer.


5D Mark III / 60D / 70-200 2.8L IS II / 24-105L / 18-200 / 50 1.8 / Tamron 70-300 VC

LOG IN TO REPLY
blair1955
Member
blair1955's Avatar
66 posts
Joined Jul 2013
SE USA
Aug 12, 2013 13:29 |  #4

Ratjack wrote in post #16201576external link
I have this remote... I don't like it. You cannot hold the shutter open with it. It is really a PITA to use. I finally gave up and just started using the 10 second timer.

I've had good luck using this remote in bulb, I press the button once and the shutter stays open till I press it again.




LOG IN TO REPLY
reefvilla
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
reefvilla's Avatar
Joined May 2010
Farmington Missouri
Aug 12, 2013 13:49 |  #5

tkbslc wrote in post #16201550external link
for $20 I'd get one of the no-name RF triggers. IR is line of sight only, so it can be a PITA to have to point it directly at the IR receiver on the front of the camera, depending on the shot.


So would an RF-603 work for a shutter release?

This looked like it might be a good deal??
http://www.amazon.com ...TF8&qid=1335624504&​sr=1-1external link


Canon 60D : Canon 18-135mm IS stm

LOG IN TO REPLY
watt100
Cream of the Crop
14,021 posts
Joined Jun 2008
Aug 12, 2013 14:25 |  #6

reefvilla wrote in post #16201733external link
So would an RF-603 work for a shutter release?

should work, the RF-602 works fine with bulb mode on the 60D - be sure to get the correct plug




LOG IN TO REPLY
Maverique
Senior Member
Maverique's Avatar
872 posts
Joined Jan 2011
Portugal
Aug 12, 2013 14:47 |  #7

Hahnel Giga T-Pro II. Works like a charm.


My websiteexternal link | My facebookexternal link | My flickrexternal link

LOG IN TO REPLY
reefvilla
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
reefvilla's Avatar
Joined May 2010
Farmington Missouri
Aug 12, 2013 15:10 |  #8

Maverique wrote in post #16201893external link
Hahnel Giga T-Pro II. Works like a charm.

http://www.bhphotovide​o.com ...52088&is=REG&A=deta​ils&Q=external link

Man, that things sounds awesome!


Canon 60D : Canon 18-135mm IS stm

LOG IN TO REPLY
tkbslc
Cream of the Crop
24,562 posts
Joined Nov 2008
Utah, USA
Aug 12, 2013 15:58 |  #9

reefvilla wrote in post #16201733external link
So would an RF-603 work for a shutter release?

Yes, if you had a set.

If you don't need wireless flash triggering, too, there are cheaper solutions.

http://www.amazon.com .../ref=cm_cr_pr_produ​ct_topexternal link


Taylor
Galleries: Flickrexternal link
60D | ELPH 330 | iPhone 5s

LOG IN TO REPLY
reefvilla
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
reefvilla's Avatar
Joined May 2010
Farmington Missouri
Aug 12, 2013 16:33 |  #10

tkbslc wrote in post #16202076external link
Yes, if you had a set.

If you don't need wireless flash triggering, too, there are cheaper solutions.

http://www.amazon.com .../ref=cm_cr_pr_produ​ct_topexternal link

I actually DO want flash trigger as well...after looking at all this cool stuff!!


Canon 60D : Canon 18-135mm IS stm

LOG IN TO REPLY
KirkS518
Goldmember
KirkS518's Avatar
3,980 posts
Joined Apr 2012
Central Gulf Coast, Flori-duh
Aug 12, 2013 20:26 |  #11

ShutterBossexternal link


If steroids are illegal for athletes, should PS be illegal for models?
Digital - 50D, 20D IR Conv, 9 Lenses from 8mm to 300mm
Analog - Mamiya RB67 Pro-SD, Canon A-1, Nikon F4S, YashicaMat 124G, Rollei 35S, QL17 GIII, Zeiss Ikon Ikoflex 1st Version, and and entire room full of lenses and other stuff

LOG IN TO REPLY
reefvilla
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
reefvilla's Avatar
Joined May 2010
Farmington Missouri
Aug 12, 2013 23:50 as a reply to KirkS518's post |  #12

How do you know what to get when you don't know what to get?!?

I've searched and read then searched a little more but I have no clue what I want/need.
I do know after searching and watching videos that I DO want to be able to trigger one or two remote flashes. But I still want to control the shutter as well.


Canon 60D : Canon 18-135mm IS stm

LOG IN TO REPLY
danster
Member
219 posts
Joined Mar 2006
Sydney, Australia
Aug 20, 2013 07:24 |  #13

The Hahnel Combi TF is probably the way to go for you. It is able to trigger remote flashes and also works as a remote release. The nice thing is that you can buy separate receivers for additional flashes as required. Just be aware that you will have to set the flash output on manual power as it is not TTL.

I also use the Canon RC6 remote and highly recommend it as it can be used to record videos for recent EOS cameras with Digic 5 and later chips.


LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

2,392 views & 0 likes for this thread
Bulb mode on the 60D?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon Accessories


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00122 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is racinghart
913 guests, 537 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016