Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > RAW, Post Processing and Printing
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 19th of October 2013 (Sat)   #1
Cassiedup
Member
 
Cassiedup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Ladybrand OFS RSA
Posts: 120
Default Image size in CS6

Hi,
I recently upgraded to a new computer and re-installed CS6 (now 64bit), when editing my images after resizing to approx. 1024x768 for posting on the web the image barely fills 2/3 of the working space, however when viewing it on the forums after posting it fills the screen.
I can get it to nearly the same size by changing the view to "fit on screen" in CS6 which the shows the size as +/- 120%.
I've set the display on the computer to the optimal (recommended by windows8) and the size of images and text when browsing is 100%.
Is there a way to change the resolution or whatever in CS6 so that it matches the size when viewing on the web as it poses a bit of a problem doing PP on a image smaller than what it is really shown as one is never 100% of the sharpening etc and I do find that it can happen that the image is under- or over processed.
Regards
Cassie
__________________
1D MK IV 5D MK III 70D 17-40L 70-200 70-300L F4L 100L 300 F2.8L 500 F4L Sigma 180 Macro
Cassiedup is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 19th of October 2013 (Sat)   #2
lovemyram4x4
Senior Member
 
lovemyram4x4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Temecula
Posts: 1,652
Default Re: Image size in CS6

Did you get a new display with new computer that's higher resolution than the old one? Anyway what you've explained sounds perfectly normal for a 1920x1080/1200 display.
__________________
5DMKIII|1DMKIV|40D|8-15L|17-40L|24-105L|50 1.4|85 1.8|100L Macro|70-200 2.8L II|300 2.8L IS|17-70 2.8-4.5 Macro|18-200|50-500(Bigma)|1.4x/2x MKII
lovemyram4x4 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of October 2013 (Sat)   #3
Cassiedup
Member
 
Cassiedup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Ladybrand OFS RSA
Posts: 120
Default Re: Image size in CS6

Quote:
Originally Posted by lovemyram4x4 View Post
Did you get a new display with new computer that's higher resolution than the old one? Anyway what you've explained sounds perfectly normal for a 1920x1080/1200 display.
Yes, that's exactly it, so I suppose if you say normal I'll just have to accept it?, but can I ask a stupid question, why is a 1024x768 image smaller in CS6 than the same one viewed on the web?
__________________
1D MK IV 5D MK III 70D 17-40L 70-200 70-300L F4L 100L 300 F2.8L 500 F4L Sigma 180 Macro
Cassiedup is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 19th of October 2013 (Sat)   #4
tonylong
do I really have to respond?
 
tonylong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA USA
Posts: 52,967
Default Re: Image size in CS6

Images will display at different sizes, depending on the software and the device.

On the Web, without "resizing" functions, an image will display "full size", meaning at 100% of your monitor's resolution. Viewing it in other software will depend on how that software "shows" it. Opening it in Photoshop will show a "default fill" mode, which typically won't be the same as a Web view.
__________________
Tony
Two Canon cameras (5DC, 30D), three Canon lenses (24-105, 100-400, 100mm macro)
Tony Long Photos on PBase
Wildlife project pics here, Biking Photog shoots here, "Suburbia" project here! Mount St. Helens, Mount Hood pics here
tonylong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of October 2013 (Sat)   #5
Snowyman
Goldmember
 
Snowyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,445
Default Re: Image size in CS6

It sounds like the image in your browser is being resized as a 1024x768 image would not look like it fills the screen on a 1920x1080 monitor. Either the site that is hosting your image is resizing it, or the site that you are viewing is scaling it.

Have you considered using Flickr?
__________________
Snowy's Gear
Deviant Art
Flickr
Blog
Snowyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd of October 2013 (Tue)   #6
Edsport
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Newfoundland Canada
Posts: 641
Default Re: Image size in CS6

Is your photoshop set to 100%?
__________________
Cameras - Canon 350D, 5D
Lenses - Canon 18-55mm, 75-300mm, 50mm f/1.8, 24-105L, 24-70L
Flashes - Yongnuo YN460 II, YN468
RF-602 transmitter and 2 receivers
Edsport is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
JPG image size / RAQW image size in PhotoSHop LRR Canon EOS Digital Cameras 0 1st of December 2010 (Wed) 11:06
Small File Size - PPI, Image Size, or Compression Peacefield RAW, Post Processing and Printing 3 11th of January 2009 (Sun) 14:56
Tricky questions regarding ppi, image size and pixel size potato1 RAW, Post Processing and Printing 17 20th of August 2008 (Wed) 09:59
Posting Size - I cannot post decent size image! RPCrowe Forum Talk 5 27th of August 2007 (Mon) 05:45
Image Size vs File Size vs Pixel Dimensions vs Saved Size Banbert Weddings and Other Family Events 5 3rd of August 2007 (Fri) 08:23


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 13:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.