Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > RAW, Post Processing and Printing
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 27th of October 2013 (Sun)   #1
winam
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Shanghai, China
Posts: 1,911
Default Perfect Size and DPI for scanning analouge pictures

Hey folks,
yet another question.

I have a Epson Perfection V600 Photo.

What is the best Size and DPI to scan color picture from the analouge age?


thanks rene
__________________
Canon EOS 650D, Canon EOS 1000d, SIGMA DG 18-250m, Canon 18-55mm

http://www.rene-photography.de/
Please take a look at my Review for the awesome Daminion Server DAM-System
winam is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 27th of October 2013 (Sun)   #2
tzalman
Fatal attraction.
 
tzalman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gesher Haziv, Israel
Posts: 12,579
Default Re: Perfect Size and DPI for scanning analouge pictures

For scans from the platen two things determine the scan resolution - the density of the scan sites on the scanbar, which is fixed and on a good quality scanner is usually 1200 ppi and the distance the bar moves between scans, which is variable and usually can be set to 150, 300, 600 or 1200 ppi. So if you set 300, for instance, one dimension is scanned at 300 and the other dimension is scanned at 1200 and then resampled to 300 ppi. For general use the scanner software resampling is generally good enough. The resolution you set should be according to the size of the scanned photo and what you want to do with the digital file. If you want another print the same size, scan at 300. If you want a bigger print, set a higher resolution. For scans where I want maximum quality, however, I think I can do better resampling than the scanner software, so I scan at 1200 and then resample it later.
__________________
Elie / אלי
"If you presume to love something, you must love the process of it much more than you love the finished product." John Irving, 5/2012. "In theory there is no difference between practice and theory, but in practice there is." Yogi Berra
Site
tzalman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th of October 2013 (Sun)   #3
winam
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Shanghai, China
Posts: 1,911
Default Re: Perfect Size and DPI for scanning analouge pictures

@tzalman, thanks for the fas reply. Well I want them to be secured for future decades. Maybe they might be printed later on but probably they will just be stored on my computer and in my database
__________________
Canon EOS 650D, Canon EOS 1000d, SIGMA DG 18-250m, Canon 18-55mm

http://www.rene-photography.de/
Please take a look at my Review for the awesome Daminion Server DAM-System
winam is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wallet size pictures, crop size ? 90blackcrx RAW, Post Processing and Printing 6 27th of March 2011 (Sun) 22:27
Customer scanning pictures, Now what do I do? samckitt The Business of Photography 17 29th of April 2007 (Sun) 22:39
Perfect pictures for an imperfect world... Sophia The POTN Lounge 5 9th of June 2006 (Fri) 14:01
Perfect neck strap for Elph size digital cameras Snorton Norton Small Compact Digitals by Canon 0 20th of December 2002 (Fri) 11:14


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.