Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos RAW, Post Processing & Printing
Thread started 27 Aug 2014 (Wednesday) 11:47
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Which software for a guy with an empty wallet?

Intheswamp
Goldmember
Joined Sep 2013
South Alabama
Aug 27, 2014 11:47 |  #1

I'm trying to figure out what to use for my post processing. I'm just an amateur, but would like to turn out decent images. I've been dabbling with the first three software packages below and I'm sure I still have lots to learn in all of them. But, I got to thinking that if I'm going to be learning I may as well learn a program that will be a good one. The software I currently have for post processing are:

Photoshop CS2
Elements 11
Canon DPP

I'm also considering/wondering about Digikam and GIMP. GIMP's interface seems to be lacking for an amateur like myself (but it's free!) and I have no idea about Digikam other than it was recommended and the screenshots look nice (and it's free, too!).

Of these mentioned which would be the best to focus on and learn? I'm kind of leaning towards Elements 11 and move over to Adobe Camera Raw from Canon DPP.

Thoughts (that I can understand...and afford :o )?

Thanks!
Ed

www.beeweather.comexternal link

sponsored links
GeoffSobering
740 posts
Joined Apr 2007
Madison, WI
Aug 27, 2014 11:53 |  #2

The three you list are all more than capable post-processing tools.

The biggest issue with the first two is support for newer raw-formats, although the free DNG converter can handle that (at some cost in time & hassle).