Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Sharing Knowhow' section > RAW, Post Processing and Printing
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 19th of February 2006 (Sun)   #1
Az2Africa
Goldmember
 
Az2Africa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North Scottsdale, Arizona USA
Posts: 3,476
Default Adobe Bridge not responding.

I am running PS CS2 on a fast processor with 1gig of ram. When in PS and I select file>browse, Adobe Bridge opens and I can select a file and the thumbnails will show up. But, when I click on one of them Bridge says it is (not responding) and locks up. I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling just Adobe Bridge and then the complete PSCS2, but the problem is still there. Adobe has been no help and I have searched the web to no avail. Any ideas? Could any firewall or anti-virus software be doing this?
__________________
"If you're not living on the edge. You're taking up too much room !"


My Gear Arizona's POTN Flickr Gallery
Az2Africa is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 19th of February 2006 (Sun)   #2
drews578
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 236
Default Re: Adobe Bridge not responding.

Are you running mac or pc?
Are you using centralized or decentralized cache?
__________________
Cool stuff I don't want stolen. OS 10.7.2
drews578 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of February 2006 (Sun)   #3
Az2Africa
Goldmember
 
Az2Africa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North Scottsdale, Arizona USA
Posts: 3,476
Default Re: Adobe Bridge not responding.

PC and only mildly computer literate. What is the cache and how do I check? Thanks for replying. This is making me crazy.I alos use dual monitors, but it was working fine for months. One more thing. I am not sure if this showed up when I downloaded the Raw beta for the 5D. But I am almost certain it was happening before.
__________________
"If you're not living on the edge. You're taking up too much room !"


My Gear Arizona's POTN Flickr Gallery

Last edited by Az2Africa : 19th of February 2006 (Sun) at 09:04.
Az2Africa is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 19th of February 2006 (Sun)   #4
drews578
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 236
Default Re: Adobe Bridge not responding.

Been a while since I have used ps on a pc so I cant help yo much there... I am sure someone else will jump in.

Here is a (mac) screen shot of where you can tell if the cache is distributed.
Attached Images
File Type: png Picture 2.png (71.7 KB, 82 views)
__________________
Cool stuff I don't want stolen. OS 10.7.2
drews578 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of February 2006 (Sun)   #5
drews578
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 236
Default Re: Adobe Bridge not responding.

This is located in bridge preferences... perhaps your cache is corrupted if it is centralized... if it is distributed hopefully someone else has another idea.
__________________
Cool stuff I don't want stolen. OS 10.7.2
drews578 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of February 2006 (Sun)   #6
Az2Africa
Goldmember
 
Az2Africa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North Scottsdale, Arizona USA
Posts: 3,476
Default Re: Adobe Bridge not responding.

Thanks. But part of the problem is that Bridge locks up (not responding) even if I click on Edit to try to get to preferences.
__________________
"If you're not living on the edge. You're taking up too much room !"


My Gear Arizona's POTN Flickr Gallery
Az2Africa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of February 2006 (Sun)   #7
jfrancho
Cream of the Crop
 
jfrancho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,341
Default Re: Adobe Bridge not responding.

Have you downloaded and installed all the updates from Adobe? There is a patch for Bridge that brings it to version 1.0.3. If that doesn't help, and it's a legal copy, then you can contact Adobe, and they'll know how to fix it.
__________________

jfrancho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of February 2006 (Sun)   #8
Fredinpa
Member
 
Fredinpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Northeastern,PA
Posts: 127
Default Re: Adobe Bridge not responding.

I was having this problem all so,I down load windows service pack 2 and the only time I have the problem now is remove the compactflash card from my reader with exiting the bridge.If I exit the bridge pull the card out and jump back in no problems.
Hope this helps
__________________
In a constant state of flux.
Fredinpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of February 2006 (Sun)   #9
Az2Africa
Goldmember
 
Az2Africa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North Scottsdale, Arizona USA
Posts: 3,476
Default Re: Adobe Bridge not responding.

It's a legal copy and updated to 1.0.3 and Service pack 2 installed. It worked great until the last couple of weeks. It started to slow down and now locks on the first click after opening. Guess I'll call Abode tomorrow.
__________________
"If you're not living on the edge. You're taking up too much room !"


My Gear Arizona's POTN Flickr Gallery
Az2Africa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of February 2006 (Sun)   #10
jfrancho
Cream of the Crop
 
jfrancho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,341
Default Re: Adobe Bridge not responding.

Let us know how you make out. I wonder if something was corrupted somehow.
__________________

jfrancho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of February 2006 (Sun)   #11
Az2Africa
Goldmember
 
Az2Africa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North Scottsdale, Arizona USA
Posts: 3,476
Default Re: Adobe Bridge not responding.

All is well now. I did a complete uninstall of CS2.Then a search of all files and folders for anything that had Adobe Bridge in it and deleted them as well. I reinstalled CS2,downloaded the updates from Adobe and it is working fine. I had tried to just use the install disc and do a repair, but that had not worked. Thinking back, this started when I got my 5D and had downloaded the beta raw plugin. I must have messed up on the install or the plugin wasn't ready yet. Anyway thanks to everyone who pitched in ideas.
Oh. I found the cache and changed it to "distributed" thanks again.
__________________
"If you're not living on the edge. You're taking up too much room !"


My Gear Arizona's POTN Flickr Gallery

Last edited by Az2Africa : 19th of February 2006 (Sun) at 20:44.
Az2Africa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th of February 2006 (Sun)   #12
jfrancho
Cream of the Crop
 
jfrancho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,341
Default Re: Adobe Bridge not responding.

I'm glad it worked out. A complete reinstall isn't too bad, considering all the problems some pc users run into.
__________________

jfrancho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th of March 2006 (Thu)   #13
Az2Africa
Goldmember
 
Az2Africa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North Scottsdale, Arizona USA
Posts: 3,476
Default Re: Adobe Bridge not responding.

Bad news. Bridge is doing the same thing again. Adobe has been no help. I'm calling an exorsist next.
__________________
"If you're not living on the edge. You're taking up too much room !"


My Gear Arizona's POTN Flickr Gallery
Az2Africa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th of March 2006 (Thu)   #14
DavidW
Goldmember
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bedfordshire, UK
Posts: 3,165
Default Re: Adobe Bridge not responding.

Maybe a corrupted distributed cache is the problem. Try deleting Adobe Bridge Cache.bc and Adobe Bridge Cache.bct in the problem folder(s) and see where that leaves you.



David
DavidW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th of March 2006 (Thu)   #15
Az2Africa
Goldmember
 
Az2Africa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North Scottsdale, Arizona USA
Posts: 3,476
Default Re: Adobe Bridge not responding.

I will if I can find it. Thanks
__________________
"If you're not living on the edge. You're taking up too much room !"


My Gear Arizona's POTN Flickr Gallery
Az2Africa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
adobe bridge help? gemini6474 RAW, Post Processing and Printing 2 15th of March 2007 (Thu) 18:06
apple Aperture Vs. Adobe DNG & Adobe Bridge offtheroad RAW, Post Processing and Printing 1 29th of January 2007 (Mon) 17:50
help with adobe bridge entrefoto RAW, Post Processing and Printing 3 26th of November 2006 (Sun) 13:36
Are you using Adobe Bridge? sugarzebra RAW, Post Processing and Printing 26 29th of April 2006 (Sat) 04:30
what is adobe bridge? snapper27 RAW, Post Processing and Printing 2 8th of February 2006 (Wed) 13:07


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 15:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
This forum is not affiliated with Canon in any way and is run as a free user helpsite by Pekka Saarinen, Helsinki Finland. You will need to register in order to be able to post messages. Cookies are required for registering and posting. HTML in messages is not allowed, plain website addresses are automatically made active by the board.