Canon Digital Photography Forums  

Go Back   Canon Digital Photography Forums > 'Equipment Talk' section > Canon G-series Digital Cameras
Register Rules FAQ Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 20th of July 2003 (Sun)   #1
SuperStu

Default Advice: Buying Camera

Hi everyone!

I am a novice when it comes to taking photos, but I'm a technophile (check www.dictionary.com). I have recently moved into a beautiful area (in the Rocky Mountains) by a national park.

I have always loved nature, and find myself with the most spectacular photo opportunities while I'm in this area.

On to the purpose of this post:

I want to buy a digital camera that can do the flora and fauna of the area justice. I am looking at getting the G3 and a decent lens, but I'm not sure about compatibilities or even if the G3 is what I'm looking for.

I know that the G3 may be beyond the beginner level, but I learn quickly and have a strong interest in jumping right in! Is the G3 too 'fancy,' just right, or not fancy enough for what want to photograph?

As for the lens, I can't exactly walk up to a grizzly bear for a photo, but I do want close ups of the animals I encounter. What kind of lens would work for me? (There are many beautiful landscape shots as well, which would probably work better with a wide angle lens I'm guessing... but that's for later.)

Thanks so much in advance,
Stuart.
SuperStu is offline   Reply With Quote
This ad block will go away when you log in as member
Old 20th of July 2003 (Sun)   #2
billdcat

Default Re: Advice: Buying Camera