Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras
Thread started 26 Dec 2014 (Friday) 16:43
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Using AI Servo on a 6D

 
eddieb1
Senior Member
eddieb1's Avatar
709 posts
Joined Apr 2013
Oregon
Post has been edited over 3 years ago by eddieb1.
Dec 26, 2014 16:43 |  #1

Can someone please explain to me how to use AI servo properly on a Canon 6D? I've looked all over the forum, but it seems the more I read, the more confused I become. Help would be greatly appreciated, especially menu settings, etc. Thanks everyone!




LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Pixeltoys
Member
48 posts
Joined Dec 2014
Dec 26, 2014 17:08 |  #2

The best moment to use AI servo when you are shooting a fast movement object
Other than that better use one shot ,
AI servo track any movement object it will combine with high fps and burst mode .




LOG IN TO REPLY
GeoKras1989
Goldmember
GeoKras1989's Avatar
Joined Jun 2014
Dec 27, 2014 02:02 |  #3
banned

I've had my 6D for about a year now. If I need to use AI-Servo to track moving objects, I gently set the 6D aside and grab my 60D. I think the 60D does a better job of it.


WARNING: I often dispense advice in fields I know little about!

LOG IN TO REPLY
SixDeeFan
Senior Member
253 posts
Joined Aug 2014
Irvine, CA
Dec 27, 2014 06:57 as a reply to GeoKras1989's post |  #4

Updating your 6D firmware to 1.1.6 should solve most AI Servo problems you've been experiencing...unless they're user induced.


6D MARK II | EF 50 f/1.2L USM | EF 16-35 f/4L IS USM | Tamron SP 24-70 f/2.8 DI VC G2 | Tamron SP 70-200 f/2.8 Di VC G2 | Tamron SP 2X Pro TC | Tamron TAP-in Console

LOG IN TO REPLY
troutfisher
Goldmember
troutfisher's Avatar
Joined Apr 2007
West Yorkshire UK
Dec 27, 2014 07:14 |  #5

Never having used a 6D I can't throw any light on that particular camera but all I can do is explain how I use it on a 7D ,a 5Dmk2 and previously on a 40D so I assume the 6D is similar
Firstly I put the camera to back button focus ( on mine is on the AF button), you can also set the metering to start on a full shutter press i.e when you take the shot.
That is useful if you have something moving from light to dark.
Having put the focus on the back button I simply switch to AI servo , hold down the appropriate button and track the subject. It also has the advantage of being 'one shot' if you press and release the back button


Chris
" Age and treachery will always defeat youth and enthusiasm"

LOG IN TO REPLY
Nethawked
Senior Member
Joined Oct 2014
Virginia, USA
Dec 27, 2014 10:49 |  #6

There are several great youtube videos on theory and use of AI servo. Back button focus is the way to go.

If this is your first Canon DSLR I highly recommend a book that goes over all of the settings and teaches you the ins and outs. Your confidence will soar. With my 7D purchase a few years ago this was the best advice I followed. David Busch's guides are quite good, at least for the 7D there was a full chapter on AF methods.

Good luck.




LOG IN TO REPLY
Mark0159
I say stupid things all the time
Mark0159's Avatar
12,731 posts
Gallery: 29 photos
Joined Mar 2003
Hamilton, New Zealand
Post has been last edited over 3 years ago by Mark0159. 3 edits done in total.
Dec 28, 2014 02:18 |  #7

check this out

https://www.youtube.co​m ...lpage&v=EkAa6SfVJ7Q​#t=119external link


Mark
https://www.flickr.com​/photos/52782633@N04 (external link)
Canon EOS 6D | Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM, EF 17-40mm f/4L USM, EF 50mm f/1.4 USM, EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM | Tamron SP 35mm F1.8 Di VC USD | Canon Speedlite 550EX -|- Film | Canon EOS 3 | Olympus OM2 | Zuiko 35mm f2

LOG IN TO REPLY
apersson850
Cream of the Crop
apersson850's Avatar
11,712 posts
Joined Nov 2007
Traryd, Sweden
Dec 28, 2014 05:34 |  #8

Aim the AF point at the target, keep the button at half-press (or hold AF-ON; usually easier), take pictures when you feel the moment is right.


Anders

LOG IN TO REPLY
speedync
Goldmember
Joined May 2011
Geelong, Australia
Post has been edited over 3 years ago by speedync.
Dec 28, 2014 05:43 |  #9

GeoKras1989 wrote in post #17352285 (external link)
I've had my 6D for about a year now. If I need to use AI-Servo to track moving objects, I gently set the 6D aside and grab my 60D. I think the 60D does a better job of it.

I've found the opposite. I find the 6D brilliant for tracking moving subjects. Better than my 550D by some margin, both using center point servo. It will easily track moving subjects up to 160 km/hr, with near 100% accuracy I've found. And even small very fast, erratically moving subjects. Like my mates sons RC cars, at close quarters.

IMAGE: https://farm6.staticflickr.com/5542/12377357165_5131aaf3d7_b.jpg
[IMAGE'S LINK: https://flic.kr/p/jRKc​4K] (external link)50Jump (external link) by speedync (external link), on Flickr

IMAGE: https://farm3.staticflickr.com/2859/12377511513_0b56537462_b.jpg
[IMAGE'S LINK: https://flic.kr/p/jRKY​WV] (external link)50Jump2 (external link) by speedync (external link), on Flickr

IMAGE: https://farm3.staticflickr.com/2845/11705253144_92bb92a4a2_b.jpg
[IMAGE'S LINK: https://flic.kr/p/iQmt​Xo] (external link)Drift4 (external link) by speedync (external link), on Flickr

IMAGE: https://farm6.staticflickr.com/5502/11183468536_a6768163b6_b.jpg
[IMAGE'S LINK: https://flic.kr/p/i3fc​z3] (external link)Car3 (external link) by speedync (external link), on Flickr

IMAGE: https://farm8.staticflickr.com/7365/11183643245_bcc44e7b9e_b.jpg
[IMAGE'S LINK: https://flic.kr/p/i3g6​vg] (external link)wheelie (external link) by speedync (external link), on Flickr


I'd happily use the 6D for shooting motorsport, but I don't shoot it enough, & so can't be bothered investing in, & lugging around a 400 mm odd lens. But that's just me.
No special secrets, bang her into servo AF, pick center AF point, point camera at subject, press shutter button. I don't even bother with continuous drive. It's quite accurate & confident enough just to pick off shots in single shot mode. Hope this helps



LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

2,453 views & 0 likes for this thread
Using AI Servo on a 6D
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon EOS Digital Cameras


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00132 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.03s
Latest registered member is brirog1211
879 guests, 464 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017