Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Guest
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon G-series Digital Cameras 
Thread started 10 Jan 2015 (Saturday) 07:46
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

What Canon digital camera solutions disc for G9?

 
Arte ­ Automobilistica
Senior Member
308 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Oct 2010
Location: Devon UK
     
Jan 10, 2015 07:46 |  #1

Hi

Can anybody tell me what was the number of the Canon digital camera solutions disc that was issued with the G9?

Thanks


NelPhotos.co.uk (external link)
Work: 7D + Sigma 100-300 4
Play: Kiss X4 + 15-85 IS + 10-22 + 50 1.8 II + Vivitar 1 70-210 3.5
EOS-M + 18-55 + FD 50 1.4 + FD 135 2.8 + Tamron 35-80 1A
G9, SX280 HS + CHDK, Casio EX-FH 100, Toshiba L505-144 & iPad 2

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)
denncald
Goldmember
2,115 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Likes: 27
Joined Mar 2008
Location: Marquette, MI, USA
Post edited over 3 years ago by denncald.
     
Jan 10, 2015 09:24 |  #2

My disc says version 32.1, the file creation date is March 2007. I also have discs for my A620 and G11, and their creation dates match their release dates; 2005 and 2009, respectively.

Dennis




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Arte ­ Automobilistica
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
308 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Oct 2010
Location: Devon UK
     
Jan 10, 2015 10:07 as a reply to  @ denncald's post |  #3

Hi Dennis

THanks for your quick reply. I have searched for that information for some time.


NelPhotos.co.uk (external link)
Work: 7D + Sigma 100-300 4
Play: Kiss X4 + 15-85 IS + 10-22 + 50 1.8 II + Vivitar 1 70-210 3.5
EOS-M + 18-55 + FD 50 1.4 + FD 135 2.8 + Tamron 35-80 1A
G9, SX280 HS + CHDK, Casio EX-FH 100, Toshiba L505-144 & iPad 2

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Arte ­ Automobilistica
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
308 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Oct 2010
Location: Devon UK
     
Jan 19, 2015 14:09 as a reply to  @ Arte Automobilistica's post |  #4

Hi a quick follow up question. Is Canon Remote Capture on v32.1?

Thanks


NelPhotos.co.uk (external link)
Work: 7D + Sigma 100-300 4
Play: Kiss X4 + 15-85 IS + 10-22 + 50 1.8 II + Vivitar 1 70-210 3.5
EOS-M + 18-55 + FD 50 1.4 + FD 135 2.8 + Tamron 35-80 1A
G9, SX280 HS + CHDK, Casio EX-FH 100, Toshiba L505-144 & iPad 2

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
denncald
Goldmember
2,115 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Likes: 27
Joined Mar 2008
Location: Marquette, MI, USA
     
Jan 19, 2015 16:41 |  #5

Yes, but that feature only worked up through the G10.

Dennis




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Arte ­ Automobilistica
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
308 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Oct 2010
Location: Devon UK
     
Jan 19, 2015 17:33 as a reply to  @ denncald's post |  #6

Hi Dennis

That was my understanding but I've seen a photo of the v32.1 disc (I'm trying to get one) and it doesn't have Canon Remote Capture written on it. I have v13.1 and it is actually written on it. It is Remote Capture 2.7 What is the version on your disc?

Thanks


NelPhotos.co.uk (external link)
Work: 7D + Sigma 100-300 4
Play: Kiss X4 + 15-85 IS + 10-22 + 50 1.8 II + Vivitar 1 70-210 3.5
EOS-M + 18-55 + FD 50 1.4 + FD 135 2.8 + Tamron 35-80 1A
G9, SX280 HS + CHDK, Casio EX-FH 100, Toshiba L505-144 & iPad 2

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
denncald
Goldmember
2,115 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Likes: 27
Joined Mar 2008
Location: Marquette, MI, USA
Post edited over 3 years ago by denncald.
     
Jan 19, 2015 21:32 |  #7

Here's the initial text from the top of the Readme file;

Canon Utilities CameraWindow
---------------

Thank you for purchasing a Canon camera. This Readme file contains the
latest information about Canon Utilities CameraWindow (Canon Utilities
CameraWindow DC 7.0, Canon Utilities RemoteCapture DC 3.0, and Canon
Utilities MyCamera DC 7.0). Please read this file before using these
software applications.

Dennis




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
7,830 posts
Likes: 441
Joined May 2003
Location: Southeast Pennsylvania
Post edited over 3 years ago by John from PA.
     
Jan 21, 2015 12:38 |  #8

At some point in time "Remote Capture" was replaced by "EOS Capture". The content below is from a Canon Europe website.

EOS Capture is handled differently to Remote Capture. Although loaded as a separate application, EOS Capture runs from within recent versions of ZoomBrowser (ImageBrowser on Macintosh computers), Digital Photo Professional or EOS Viewer Utility.Before you open the application, connect the camera to the computer using the USB lead supplied with the camera (and extension leads, if required). Now switch the camera on.After launching the Browser, click the ‘Canon Camera’ icon shown in the left-hand column. This will bring up a dialogue box, which asks you to select a camera or memory card from a drop down menu. Select your camera name, which should be in the list.

For the G9, also at Canon's site, I see a Zoom Browserv6.9.0a dated late 2013. If you have that version you might check the process noted above




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Arte ­ Automobilistica
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
308 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Oct 2010
Location: Devon UK
     
Jan 22, 2015 11:09 as a reply to  @ John from PA's post |  #9

Thanks guys.


NelPhotos.co.uk (external link)
Work: 7D + Sigma 100-300 4
Play: Kiss X4 + 15-85 IS + 10-22 + 50 1.8 II + Vivitar 1 70-210 3.5
EOS-M + 18-55 + FD 50 1.4 + FD 135 2.8 + Tamron 35-80 1A
G9, SX280 HS + CHDK, Casio EX-FH 100, Toshiba L505-144 & iPad 2

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Arte ­ Automobilistica
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
308 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Oct 2010
Location: Devon UK
Post edited over 3 years ago by Arte Automobilistica.
     
Feb 02, 2015 09:42 as a reply to  @ Arte Automobilistica's post |  #10

Hi I'm back :( I have tried to get disc v32.1 but to no avail.

I have installed Zoombrowser EX 6.7.2.33 and Camera window DC 8.8.0.17 from Canon USA.
My computer recognises the camera. In Zoombrowser when I push 'connect to camera' it opens Camera Window DC where I can import and organise images and set the themes etc for the camera but it will not allow me to remote capture.

What software is included on Canon Digital Solutions Disc v32.1? I'll try and track down these files individually and build from there.

I am assuming that the CameraWindow 8.8.0.17 includes Canon Utilities CameraWindow DC 7.0, Canon Utilities RemoteCapture DC 3.0, and Canon Utilities MyCamera as I can't find a separate downloadable file for each.

Thanks for taking the time to help me.


HOSTED PHOTO
please log in to view hosted photos in full size.


NelPhotos.co.uk (external link)
Work: 7D + Sigma 100-300 4
Play: Kiss X4 + 15-85 IS + 10-22 + 50 1.8 II + Vivitar 1 70-210 3.5
EOS-M + 18-55 + FD 50 1.4 + FD 135 2.8 + Tamron 35-80 1A
G9, SX280 HS + CHDK, Casio EX-FH 100, Toshiba L505-144 & iPad 2

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
denncald
Goldmember
2,115 posts
Gallery: 7 photos
Likes: 27
Joined Mar 2008
Location: Marquette, MI, USA
     
Feb 02, 2015 10:05 |  #11

Not sure what is missing, but I'm guessing Remote Capture is what you are looking for. I found this link that may help;

http://download.cnet.c​om …/3000-18489_4-199150.html (external link)

Dennis




  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Snydremark
my very own Lightrules moment
18,094 posts
Gallery: 43 photos
Likes: 1210
Joined Mar 2009
Location: Issaquah, WA USA
     
Feb 02, 2015 10:22 |  #12

If you have other questions like this in the future, just go to Canon's product lineup page: http://www.usa.canon.c​om …02480069f7e&exp​anded=true (external link)

From there, you can find the camera you have questions on, go to its product page, and then from there you can select the Software and Drivers link to find this information.


- Eric S.: My Birds/Wildlife (external link) (7D MkII/5D IV, Canon 10-22 f/3.5-4.5, Canon 24-105L f/4 IS, Canon 70-200L f/2.8 IS MkII, Canon 100-400L f/4.5-5.6 IS I/II)
"The easiest way to improve your photos is to adjust the loose nut between the shutter release and the ground."

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Arte ­ Automobilistica
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
308 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Oct 2010
Location: Devon UK
Post edited over 3 years ago by Arte Automobilistica.
     
Feb 03, 2015 13:44 |  #13

Hi
@ Denncald I tried that but it only goes to G6 and doesn't recognise the G9. In case someone is looking for Remote Capture 2.7.5 Canon Canada has a download with instructions http://canoncanada.cus​thelp.com …tail/a_id/2705/​p/13/c/318 (external link)
@Snydremark I did that. I have now deleted all Canon software (DPP, EOS Utility etc) from my laptop to ensure no conflicts and reloaded Zoombrowser EX 6.5.7 (Windows 7) and Camera window DC 8.8.0. 17 from Canon USA. No change; My computer recognises the camera and in Zoombrowser when I push 'connect to camera' it opens Camera Window DC where I can import and organise images and set the themes etc for the camera but it will not allow me to remote capture.

I'm obviously doing something wrong so any advice greatly appreciated.

Thanks


NelPhotos.co.uk (external link)
Work: 7D + Sigma 100-300 4
Play: Kiss X4 + 15-85 IS + 10-22 + 50 1.8 II + Vivitar 1 70-210 3.5
EOS-M + 18-55 + FD 50 1.4 + FD 135 2.8 + Tamron 35-80 1A
G9, SX280 HS + CHDK, Casio EX-FH 100, Toshiba L505-144 & iPad 2

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
Arte ­ Automobilistica
THREAD ­ STARTER
Senior Member
308 posts
Likes: 2
Joined Oct 2010
Location: Devon UK
     
Feb 04, 2015 07:31 |  #14

Hi
I contacted Canon UK who said "We regret to inform you that RemoteCapture 3.0 is not compatible with Windows 7."

It seems that I am going to dig out my old XP laptop. :eek:

Still looking for CDSD v32.1 :)


NelPhotos.co.uk (external link)
Work: 7D + Sigma 100-300 4
Play: Kiss X4 + 15-85 IS + 10-22 + 50 1.8 II + Vivitar 1 70-210 3.5
EOS-M + 18-55 + FD 50 1.4 + FD 135 2.8 + Tamron 35-80 1A
G9, SX280 HS + CHDK, Casio EX-FH 100, Toshiba L505-144 & iPad 2

  
  LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

3,507 views & 0 likes for this thread
What Canon digital camera solutions disc for G9?
FORUMS Canon Cameras, Lenses & Accessories Canon G-series Digital Cameras 
AAA
x 1600
y 1600

Jump to forum...   •  Rules   •  Index   •  New posts   •  RTAT   •  'Best of'   •  Gallery   •  Gear   •  Reviews   •  Member list   •  Polls   •  Image rules   •  Search   •  Password reset

Not a member yet?
Registered members may log in to forums and access all the features: full search, image upload, follow forums, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, all settings, view hosted photos, own reviews, see more and do more... and all is free. Don't be a stranger - register now and start posting!


COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies and to our privacy policy.
Privacy policy and cookie usage info.


POWERED BY AMASS forum software 2.0forum software
version 2.0 /
code and design
by Pekka Saarinen ©
for photography-on-the.net

Latest registered member is Lausti
621 guests, 415 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6430, that happened on Dec 03, 2017

Photography-on-the.net Digital Photography Forums is the website for photographers and all who love great photos, camera and post processing techniques, gear talk, discussion and sharing. Professionals, hobbyists, newbies and those who don't even own a camera -- all are welcome regardless of skill, favourite brand, gear, gender or age. Registering and usage is free.