Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS General Gear Talk Computers
Thread started 13 Dec 2015 (Sunday) 12:48
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Photo editing with a 17" IPS laptop vs desktop monitor

Perfectly ­ Frank
Goldmember
Joined Oct 2010
Post has been edited over 1 year ago by Perfectly Frank.
Dec 13, 2015 12:48 |  #1

I have my eye on a Dell laptop with a 17" IPS display. Here's the spec: 17.3" UltraSharp™ FHD IPS (1920x1080) Wide View Anti-Glare LED-backlit.

I want to edit photos using CS and LR. I'm just a hobbyist, not a pro.

There are some who edit photos using laptops. Others will only use a 22" or larger desktop monitor.
Actually, 17" seems like a pretty good size for editing. So I want to know what I will miss by using a 17" laptop
display over a large monitor? Does using a desktop monitor result in better post processed images, or easier to
post process? As you can guess, I never have used a desktop monitor for pp -?

Oh, here's the laptop...
http://www.dell.com ...tion/pd?oc=xctomp77​1017us (external link)

My flickr albums (external link)
My Best Aviation Photos (external link)

sponsored links
agrandexpression
446 posts
Joined Apr 2015
Dec 13, 2015 14:17 |  #2

In my opinion...a laptop is adequate for processing, especially for a hobbyist.

Some pros will tell you that editing with anything other than a desktop is going to result in shoddy work.

My only problem is the computer you link to comes in at almost $1700. Spec-wise...you're getting hosed. Is the draw to this laptop the 4k display? Because at the 17" screen size, I don't think it's going to give you much of an advantage.