Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk
Thread started 12 Jul 2016 (Tuesday) 06:45
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

New to RAW image questions

Transient ­ W.A.S.P.
Joined May 2016
Split, Croatia
Jul 12, 2016 06:45 |  #1

I am new to shooting RAW. Recently, I got home from an event and started checking photos. Everything in RAW looks more blurry and grainy than my JPEGs. Is this normal before you edit or alter them? It doesn't matter what the settings were when I took each shot, they are all like this. Using a Canon 70D with a Tokina 11-16mm Wide Angle and Canon 18-135mm kit lens. Thanks in advance!

Cheers,
Transient W.A.S.P.

sponsored links
mike_311
Checking squirrels nuts
Joined Mar 2011
Jul 12, 2016 07:06 |  #2

depending on the software you are using to view them there may not be any sharpening or noise reduction applied as jpeg. raw conversion software will usually apply some sharpening and noise reduction by default but it may not be as much as the camera is doing.

so you understand what happens when you shoot jpeg: the camera always captures a raw image, then applies the set wb, saturation, contrast, etc, plus some noise reduction and sharpening, compresses the image, saves it and then discards the raw image.

the camera isnt doing anything different during the initial capture whether you are only saving raw or jpeg, just that when you save raw only you are seeing an unedited image.