Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS News & Rumors Camera Rumors and Predictions
Thread started 27 Aug 2016 (Saturday) 18:41
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Should Canon make a 5Dx?

 
Talley
Talley Whacker
Talley's Avatar
Joined Dec 2011
Houston
Post has been edited over 1 year ago by Talley.
Aug 27, 2016 18:41 |  #1

Makes me wonder w/ the latest release if they "Should" offer a 5Dx. Basically the 1DxII stuffed into a 5D body with the 5D controls/ergonomics. Basically all the features of the 5D4 but add dual processors... 10FPS... 4K 60P video without crop.. raw hdmi 4k output and have a ~24mp sensor. Price the body at 5k. Who would spend the 5k on this over the 5D4? We all know they could... it's all possible.

1DxII - 6k
5Dx - 5k
5Dsr & 5D4 - 3.5k

pricing structure like that who would pick the 5Dx over the 1dxII with equal features stuff.


5D4 |12mm 2.8 FE | 16-35L 2.8 III | Σ 35A | Σ 50A | Σ 85A | 200 F2 IS | 1.4xIII
X-T20 | X-E3 | 18/2 | 35/1.4 | 56/1.2 | 18-135
My Gear Archive

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)
Bassat
"I am still in my underwear."
Bassat's Avatar
5,960 posts
Joined Oct 2015
Bourbon, Indiana - USA
Aug 27, 2016 18:55 |  #2

Nah, there is enough high-end stuff floating around. Make me a camera that doesn't do: video, GPS, wifi, in-camera processing, and all the other crap everyone puts into cameras today. If Canon released an el-cheapo 6D with no whiz-bang useless features like more than one AF point and metering mode, that just captured well-focused photos for $599, I'd buy two of them.


Tom

LOG IN TO REPLY
Scatterbrained
Cream of the Crop
Scatterbrained's Avatar
Joined Jan 2010
Chula Vista, CA
Aug 27, 2016 19:55 |  #3

Bassat wrote in post #18108481 (external link)
Nah, there is enough high-end stuff floating around. Make me a camera that doesn't do: video, GPS, wifi, in-camera processing, and all the other crap everyone puts into cameras today. If Canon released an el-cheapo 6D with no whiz-bang useless features like more than one AF point and metering mode, that just captured well-focused photos for $599, I'd buy two of them.

The problem is that your "el-cheapo" camera would have such a small market that it would actually cost more.


VanillaImaging.com (external link)"Vacuous images for the Vapid consumer"
500px (external link)
flickr (external link)
1x (external link)
instagram (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
Bassat
"I am still in my underwear."
Bassat's Avatar
5,960 posts
Joined Oct 2015
Bourbon, Indiana - USA
Aug 27, 2016 21:01 |  #4

Scatterbrained wrote in post #18108534 (external link)
The problem is that your "el-cheapo" camera would have such a small market that it would actually cost more.

Agreed. That doesn't stop me from wanting one for $599 though.


Tom

LOG IN TO REPLY
Scatterbrained
Cream of the Crop
Scatterbrained's Avatar
Joined Jan 2010
Chula Vista, CA
Aug 27, 2016 21:38 |  #5

Bassat wrote in post #18108600 (external link)
Agreed. That doesn't stop me from wanting one for $599 though.

No, no it doesn't. :)


VanillaImaging.com (external link)"Vacuous images for the Vapid consumer"
500px (external link)
flickr (external link)
1x (external link)
instagram (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
BigAl007
Cream of the Crop
Joined Dec 2010
Repps cum Bastwick, Gt Yarmouth, Norfolk, UK.
Aug 28, 2016 07:22 |  #6

The issue with building a slimmed down camera, without the video features, GPS, WiFi and NFC connectivity is that the video section is pretty much just software, leveraging the existing hardware, unless you want to lose Liveview too? Ok there is some added hardware for the audio, and the wireless connectivity and GPS receiver. The problem is that all of it together only adds about £20 to the total parts bill for the whole camera. I have recently been working on some computerised control systems, and I can get single chip WiFi, NFC, and GPS units for around £10 each for the WiFi and NFC, and about £35 for the GPS, and that is buying single items. Given the quantities that Canon build I'm pretty sure that it is not costing them more than I suggested for the parts.

Once you put that extra bit of hardware in the camera, everything else is programming, programming that has already been done. You don't think they write completely new specific software every time the develop a new camera do you? Mostly it is simply a matter of integrating existing modules. Even when a new generation processor is introduced, it seems to use mostly the same instruction set, and all it requires is that the software source code is recompiled for the new camera. So adding new software based features is generally a cost effective measure. What really makes 35mm format cameras so much more expensive than APS-C bodies is that the 35mm sensor is 2.56× larger in area. From what I recall from doing a basic IC design course at university, as part of my electronics degree, is that yield rates work at roughly the square of the chip size. So double the area of a chip, based on the same production techniques, and they are four times more likely to fail, not to mention that doubling the area doubles the cost, whether or not the chip actually works. Additionally most of Canon's R&D costs are going on things like sensor development, along with technologies like on sensor DPAF, and then being able to use this data to do light field calculations to correct for lens deficiencies. Fortunately for Canon R&D costs are not normally directly related to the sale price of a new model featuring the new technology. R&D budgets are usually set up to be some relatively constant percentage of profits, and are simply seen as a cost of doing that sort of business. Building better products usually means more profits some of which can be plowed back into more R&D. This is good, because sometimes you spend ages developing a new technology, only for someone else to beat you to it, and patent it out from underneath you, and sometimes the new stuff simply doesn't work, or costs too much to implement.

Alan


My Flickr (external link)
My new Aviation images blog site (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
bildeb0rg
Goldmember
bildeb0rg's Avatar
Joined Oct 2006
uk
Aug 28, 2016 13:27 |  #7

A 5Dx with all the features you described would retail at $9999 just because they could. Then they would blame you for making it that expensive for wanting all the bells and whistles  :p




LOG IN TO REPLY
johnf3f
Goldmember
johnf3f's Avatar
3,666 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Apr 2010
Wales
Aug 28, 2016 17:57 |  #8

Canon used to do this sort of thing with the Canon EOS 1n and EOS 1n RS.

Personally I rather like the idea of a more compact 1 series. If Canon produced, a 1DX (1 or 2) in a 5D style body whilst retaining as much of the performance as possible of the original then I think there might be a worthwhile market - me for one.

If you are thinking of different sensors and features then as well as the smaller body then, to my thinking, this is moving away from the 1 series ethos. Nothing wrong with that but the 5 series seems to fit pretty well as it is from my point of view. I suspect that there wouldn't be much of a market for the camera that you suggest but no harm in playing with ideas!


Life is for living, cameras are to capture it (one day I will learn how!).

LOG IN TO REPLY
Jared5
Member
Jared5's Avatar
78 posts
Joined Aug 2016
Seattle
Aug 31, 2016 01:01 |  #9

I wonder why they didn't put DUAL processors in the 5D Mk4. Even the 7D Mk2 has dual processors.


5D Mk4 | 5D Mk3 | 5D Mk2 | 7D Mk2 | 7D | 50D | 40D |
85mm f/1.8 (x2) | 50mm f/1.4 (x2) | 28mm f/1.8 | 50mm f/2.5 macro |
16-35mm f/2.8L | 24-70mm f/2.8L | 70-200mm f/2.8L IS | ...and more in gear list

LOG IN TO REPLY
Scatterbrained
Cream of the Crop
Scatterbrained's Avatar
Joined Jan 2010
Chula Vista, CA
Aug 31, 2016 02:35 |  #10

Jared5 wrote in post #18112173 (external link)
I wonder why they didn't put DUAL processors in the 5D Mk4. Even the 7D Mk2 has dual processors.

Too close to the 1Dx then.


VanillaImaging.com (external link)"Vacuous images for the Vapid consumer"
500px (external link)
flickr (external link)
1x (external link)
instagram (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
jkdwings
Member
Joined Mar 2011
Fernie, BC, Canada
Aug 31, 2016 04:39 as a reply to Jared5's post |  #11

The 7DII is built for speed, sports, and birds, so it really takes advantage of the dual processors. The original 7D has dual processors, too.


Canon 7D | Opteka 6.5mm/3.5 Fisheye | Tokina 11-16/2.8 | Canon 15-85/3.5-5.6 IS USM | Canon 35/2IS | Canon 50/1.8 II | Helios 44-2 58/2 | Sears 135/2.8 | Canon 70-200/4L
Canon T1i | Canon 18-55/3.5-5.6 IS

LOG IN TO REPLY
HKFEVER
Goldmember
HKFEVER's Avatar
Joined Oct 2004
Hong Kong
Aug 31, 2016 05:44 |  #12

Bassat wrote in post #18108481 (external link)
Nah, there is enough high-end stuff floating around. Make me a camera that doesn't do: video, GPS, wifi, in-camera processing, and all the other crap everyone puts into cameras today. If Canon released an el-cheapo 6D with no whiz-bang useless features like more than one AF point and metering mode, that just captured well-focused photos for $599, I'd buy two of them.


Just like UNIX, open source for the firmware. :twisted:
Than this open source platform will last forever :evil:




LOG IN TO REPLY
Jared5
Member
Jared5's Avatar
78 posts
Joined Aug 2016
Seattle
Sep 01, 2016 07:32 as a reply to Scatterbrained's post |  #13

Didn't previous versions of the 5D have dual processors?


5D Mk4 | 5D Mk3 | 5D Mk2 | 7D Mk2 | 7D | 50D | 40D |
85mm f/1.8 (x2) | 50mm f/1.4 (x2) | 28mm f/1.8 | 50mm f/2.5 macro |
16-35mm f/2.8L | 24-70mm f/2.8L | 70-200mm f/2.8L IS | ...and more in gear list

LOG IN TO REPLY
Talley
THREAD ­ STARTER
Talley Whacker
Talley's Avatar
Joined Dec 2011
Houston
Sep 01, 2016 08:10 |  #14

Jared5 wrote in post #18113434 (external link)
Didn't previous versions of the 5D have dual processors?

5D has always been a single processor but was always the fastest available. 7D has always had two. 1D series always two WITH a 3rd dedicated to AF functions, XXD single processor just like the rebel line


5D4 |12mm 2.8 FE | 16-35L 2.8 III | Σ 35A | Σ 50A | Σ 85A | 200 F2 IS | 1.4xIII
X-T20 | X-E3 | 18/2 | 35/1.4 | 56/1.2 | 18-135
My Gear Archive

LOG IN TO REPLY
Jared5
Member
Jared5's Avatar
78 posts
Joined Aug 2016
Seattle
Sep 02, 2016 17:23 as a reply to Talley's post |  #15

For some reason I thought the 5D Mk3 had dual processors, but I guess not.
If they've always been that way, then I guess there's nothing to complain about.

But it does make me respect the 7D series even more!


5D Mk4 | 5D Mk3 | 5D Mk2 | 7D Mk2 | 7D | 50D | 40D |
85mm f/1.8 (x2) | 50mm f/1.4 (x2) | 28mm f/1.8 | 50mm f/2.5 macro |
16-35mm f/2.8L | 24-70mm f/2.8L | 70-200mm f/2.8L IS | ...and more in gear list

LOG IN TO REPLY
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

7,149 views & 18 likes for this thread
Should Canon make a 5Dx?
FORUMS News & Rumors Camera Rumors and Predictions


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00111 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.04s
Latest registered member is Damaso
1115 guests, 485 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016