Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Photo Sharing & Visual Enjoyment Kids & Family 
Thread started 23 Oct 2016 (Sunday) 16:14
Search threadPrev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as a registered member)

Help me do a "photobooth" for my daughter! Please...

jbsengineer
Hatchling
8 posts
Joined Apr 2006

Oct 23, 2016 16:14 |  #1

Next weekend my oldest is turning 5 and she REALLY wants to do funny photos with herself and guests at a party we are having. So funny glasses, wigs, outfits, signs, etc (which we have already curated).

I am an amateur and am starting to get into more portrait style photos, but still haven't mastered them by far.

What I have:

backdrop setup (6x9) with a couple continous lights and plan to get a colorful backdrop this week
tripod
5D Mark IV
Canon 70-200 2.8/l
Canon 16-35mm 4.0/l
Canon 24-105 4.0/l
Canon 50mm 1.4
Canon 580ex flash

So my question is, what lens should I go with and what should my steps for focus, aperture, and shutter speed be?

Basically any tips would be excellent. I know I can take good photos, but I want to take great photos....

Josh

sponsored links
Micro5797
480 posts
Gallery: 15 photos
Joined Dec 2013

Oct 23, 2016 19:07 |  #2

Keep in mind that continuous lighting does not really put off as much light as it looks like it does. This will cause you to have to bump the ISO up higher then you think you will need to or open the aperture wider then you think you will need. But you have the camera and lenses for it.