Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

 
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos Video and Sound Editing
Thread started 06 Jan 2017 (Friday) 11:43
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

T3i- MOV files limited to 4GB?

 
56_kruiser
Member
74 posts
Joined Mar 2011
Post has been edited 10 months ago by 56_kruiser.
Jan 06, 2017 11:43 |  #1

First off, I messed up in the title. The camera is a T2i

I'm guessing nothing can be done about it, but it appears that file sizes on the Canon T3i are limited to 4GB, which is 12 minutes of video. Even though the display says there is 30 minutes of video space available.

Just posting to see if anyone has found a work around for this.


Canon EOS T2i

LOG IN TO REPLY
Larry ­ Johnson
Goldmember
Larry Johnson's Avatar
1,176 posts
Gallery: 1 photo
Joined Sep 2011
Virginia
Post has been edited 10 months ago by Larry Johnson.
Jan 06, 2017 12:24 |  #2

Might not be a work around. https://www.dpreview.c​om/forums/thread/28023​19 (external link)


_______________
Ain't Nature Grand!
Shooting 7D2 with Canon 400mm, f/5.6.
60D, canon 18-135 EFS, and 1.4 extender in the bag.
flickr (external link)

LOG IN TO REPLY
bumpintheroad
Self-inflicted bait
bumpintheroad's Avatar
Joined Oct 2013
NJ, USA
Jan 06, 2017 12:43 |  #3

The memory card file format is FAT32, which has a 4GB file size limit. The 30m limit is to avoid being taxed at a higher rate as a video camera in the EU. Some DSLR's will restart automatically when the 4GB file size limit is reached, but they all need to you manually resume recording at the 30m limit.

MagicLantern firmware for the T3i will restart recording automatically and ignores the 30m limit. But my question is why?

I don't think I've ever recorded one uninterrupted segment longer than 10 minutes. And most of my recordings are in the 45s - 5m range. How the heck would you edit that clip? And who would bear to watch it without chemical assistance? Even when recording long training sessions or presentations, I break the session up into smaller segments.

But take a look into MagicLantern (http://magiclantern.fm (external link)).


-- Mark | Gear | Flickrexternal link | Picasaexternal link | Youtubeexternal link | Facebookexternal link | Image editing is okay

LOG IN TO REPLY
John ­ from ­ PA
Cream of the Crop
7,452 posts
Joined May 2003
Southeast Pennsylvania
Jan 07, 2017 09:17 as a reply to bumpintheroad's post |  #4

A tutorial exists at http://www.magiclanter​n.fm/forum/index.php?t​opic=13111.0 (external link) on how to put Magic Lantern on the T2i, which the OP stated he has, not the T3i in the original title.

As mentioned the tax structures are one reason to limit a video to 4 GB, otherwise it becomes a video camera. Another reason is heating of the sensor which Canon says can occur and I assume a warning appears. In my 60D I have only had such a warning one one occasion and that was an extremely hot day (95 deg F) of taping horses jumping. So I would tape a 15 second clip, pause, perhaps 30 seconds, tape 15, pause 30, etc. After a 1/2 of doing this I got a sensor temperature warning. As I said it was a hot day and the camera essentially was in direct overhead sun.




LOG IN TO REPLY
RDKirk
Adorama says I'm "packed."
RDKirk's Avatar
12,528 posts
Joined May 2004
USA
May 10, 2017 09:32 |  #5

bumpintheroad wrote in post #18235597 (external link)
The memory card file format is FAT32, which has a 4GB file size limit. The 30m limit is to avoid being taxed at a higher rate as a video camera in the EU. Some DSLR's will restart automatically when the 4GB file size limit is reached, but they all need to you manually resume recording at the 30m limit.

MagicLantern firmware for the T3i will restart recording automatically and ignores the 30m limit. But my question is why?

I don't think I've ever recorded one uninterrupted segment longer than 10 minutes. And most of my recordings are in the 45s - 5m range. How the heck would you edit that clip? And who would bear to watch it without chemical assistance? Even when recording long training sessions or presentations, I break the session up into smaller segments.

Unattended recording of presentations.

I frequently video presentations and stage productions in which I'll have two unattended cameras at the sides and one camera I'm attending at the center.

Often the unattended cameras are mounted high in positions I can't reach once the presentation has begun. I work around the 30min limit by usually being able to get within distance and direction to use the IR remote to stop and start recording as a convenient time just short of the 30min point.




LOG IN TO REPLY

4,255 views & 0 likes for this thread
T3i- MOV files limited to 4GB?
FORUMS Post Processing, Marketing & Presenting Photos Video and Sound Editing


Not a member yet? Click here to register to the forums.
Registered members get all the features: search, following threads, own gear list and ratings, likes, more forums, private messaging, thread follow, notifications, own gallery, settings, view hosted photos, own reviews and more...


AAA

Send feedback to staff    •   Jump to forum...    •   Rules    •   Index    •   New posts    •   RTAT    •   'Best of'    •   Gallery    •   Gear    •   Reviews    •   Polls

COOKIES DISCLAIMER: This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Privacy policy and cookie usage info.

POWERED BY AMASS 1.4version 1.4
made in Finland
by Pekka Saarinen
for photography-on-the.net
Spent 0.00085 for 4 database queries.
PAGE COMPLETED IN 0.02s
Latest registered member is Redski
902 guests, 414 members online
Simultaneous users record so far is 6106, that happened on Jun 09, 2016