Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre Fashion, Editorial & Commercial Talk
Thread started 15 Feb 2017 (Wednesday) 06:55
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Baseball team photo

sosaysmorvant
52 posts
Joined May 2011
South Louisiana
Feb 15, 2017 06:55 |  #1

I've been asked to take team and individial pictures for my son's baseball team. Photography is a hobby of mine...I'm not a pro. I have the equipment to get the task accomplished, but lack the technical expertise. I'm looking for advice or tips on a successful group picture (aperture for one). The single shots should be easy enough, but any advice on this topic would be appreciated.

I'll be taking them after school in the later afternoon.

sponsored links
DagoImaging
Goldmember
Joined Nov 2012
Feb 15, 2017 07:11 |  #2

You'll need an aperture small enough to keep everyone in focus as most likely they'll be in rows, probably two deep. I'd try to get at least 5.6 but 8 would be ideal.

I shot a baseball league, team/individuals for a few years and the team photo needs to be sharp. Don't get artsy and try to blur anything.

Sony a6300/ 16-70/4 / 70-200/4 G / Sony HVL-60M

genedarrell
Joined Mar 2008
Kansas
Feb 15, 2017 09:15 |  #3

I have not shot baseball team photos but have swim team. It was a very large group, about 50 kids. I found that my key for a successful shot was first of all to get some elevation, like two or three steps up on a ladder and i shot at f9-11 somewhere in there. Also early mid morning or late evening to avoid the harsh sunlight.

www.genespics.com (external link)