Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS General Gear Talk DIY & Customizing
Thread started 12 Mar 2017 (Sunday) 11:42
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

DIY strip light

Ltdave
Goldmember
Joined Apr 2012
the farthest point east in michigan
Mar 12, 2017 11:42 |  #1

i remember reading on POTN about DIY strip lights and (as an electrician i know a little bit about this stuff) it was mentioned that fluorescent tubes fired by an electronic ballast (usually the newer T8 tubes) if you want any sort of consistent white balance...

has anyone experimented with the latest and greatest LED tubes? we're in the process of retrofitting one of our plants with these in place of the T8s we installed not 7 years ago. some of them you can purchase can be wired into any fixture by bypassing the ballast so those old 4' shop lights with T12 tubes can be used saving BIG Dollars. i think the LEDs were using are $10 a tube or less...

they also make them with a dimmable feature for under $30-35 so i think this could be the next big breakthrough in cheap lighting...

of course this is all dependent on the LEDs being consistent color temperature-wise...

Luckless
Goldmember
3,043 posts
Joined Mar 2012
PEI, Canada
Mar 22, 2017 12:18 |  #2