Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre General Photography Talk
Thread started 13 Mar 2017 (Monday) 16:18
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Understanding Art

welshwizard1971
982 posts
Joined Aug 2012
Southampton Hampshire UK
Mar 13, 2017 16:18 |  #1

I'm very technical, I have an engineering degree, science degree, when it comes to the technical side of photography, it's fair to say I'm quite comfortable. Art however, I don't know a thing. I've read a lot of articles from people who say that studying art has helped their photography in a huge way, and it is something I'm trying to learn, composition etc, but in general 'art' terms I'm at a loss, and I'm struggling to progress beyond 'composition', can anyone point me in the right direction? Website? Book??

5DIII, 40D, 16-35L 35 ART 50 ART 100L macro, 24-70 L Mk2, 135L 200L
Hype chimping - The act of looking at your screen after every shot, then wildly behaving like it's the best picture in the world, to try and impress other photographers around you.

sponsored links
john ­ crossley
Goldmember
1,716 posts
Joined Nov 2009
It's Grim Up North
Mar 13, 2017 16:52 |  #2

No, I don't understand "art" either. Although I do prefer the old masters to the modern-day garbage that we get to day, such as the infamous pile of bricks, or the unmade bed.

Right now I'm the oldest I've ever been

PhotosGuy
74,008 posts
Gallery: 3 photos
Joined Feb 2004
Middle of Michigan
Mar 13, 2017 17:06 |  #3

Let me be the first to repeat that, "I don't understand "Art", but I know what I like!" ; )

FrankC - 20D, RAW, Manual everything...