Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre Weddings & Other Family Events Talk
Thread started 27 Apr 2017 (Thursday) 22:57
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

need some help with a 1st Communion shoot... "emergency"

copmagnet82
Joined Nov 2016
Apr 27, 2017 22:57 |  #1

This weekend (April 29th), I will be taking some 1st Communion pictures for my friend. This will not be a paid assignment and it's my first time shooting an event like this. The church won't allow "outside photographers", so I'm not concerning myself with that, but she wants some family and friends pictures at the banquet. Here's my "problem"; she wants some pictures on either white or sandy background, which is not a big deal, but I'm cringing at the idea of 80 people posing and walking on my nice bright white background with their dirty shoes. So how do it approach this?

Initially, I was thinking about taping some white paper to the floor, but I'll probably go through a lot of it once it'll start ripping form people walking on it, so I don't know about that.

Second idea was to simply use white backdrop and use the banquet floor, which is dark brown hardwood, that is "distressed" from wear and tear. From what I saw it has some gloss to it, so I was worrying about reflections. Also, I am a little afraid that that contrast of brown floor and white backdrop may be too much contrast for communion pictures.

Do you guys have any suggestions on how to approach the white background/floor situation.

Also, which lens would you use: 50mm, 100mm macro, or 70-200mm?

Thanks of the feedback.