Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS General Gear Talk Camera Vs. Camera
Thread started 06 May 2017 (Saturday) 22:21
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Need help choosing a new camera

jgirlholly
Hatchling
4 posts
Joined May 2017
May 06, 2017 22:21 |  #1

Hi-
I'm new here. I am not a professional photographer, and really only dabble in photography when I am traveling. My current camera was purchased for the sole reason that it was waterproof and I like to go snorkeling while traveling. I will be traveling to South Africa this summer and am needing a new camera. What I need (and forgive my probably wrong photography vocabulary): SUPER zoom, fast shutter speed so I can take pictures super fast. I am not opposed to switching lenses, but I need to know how easy it is to switch them and how fast they can be switched. (If I see an elephant at one place 10 yards away, then a lion 15 seconds later that is 100 yards away, will I be able to switch lenses fast enough?) The point-and-shoots with super zooms I could just zoom in and out without changing lenses. I've looked at some camera kits that come with multiple lenses, but I don't know what they mean. 18-55 mm lens? 75-300 lens? Pardon my ignorance, I just don't understand everything I've read on various Websites, and I'm hoping someone can put it in laymen's terms for me. I also don't want to spend an arm and a leg for it, so cost is a concern. (Definitely less than $500, prefer more around the $300-$400 range.) Thanks in advance for any help.

sponsored links
davesrose
Goldmember
2,868 posts
Joined Apr 2007
Atlanta, GA
May 06, 2017 22:44 |  #2