Approve the Cookies
This website uses cookies to improve your user experience. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies. Read More.
OK
Index  •   • New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
New posts  •   • RTAT  •   • 'Best of'  •   • Gallery  •   • Gear  •   • Reviews
Register to forums    Log in

FORUMS Photography Talk by Genre Weddings & Other Family Events Talk
Thread started 13 May 2017 (Saturday) 11:00
Prev/next
sponsored links
(this ad will go away when you log in as registered member)

Advice requested for first "professional" shoot. Senior pictures

wyntastr
Joined Mar 2012
Bradenton, FL
May 13, 2017 11:00 |  #1

I'm hoping to get a little advice here about my situation.
First, I'm a hobbyist who loves taking pictures of my girls' sporting events, softball and lacrosse, as well as various birding journeys, etc. I've never sold or have been asked to take shots for a fee. Until this week.
My daughter's softball coach approached me to take senior pictures of her oldest daughter. I was very hesitant, as I feel a senior portrait session is a pretty big deal in a HS senior's life as well as her family's.
I've never really done portraiture before, like really set up a shot complete with lighting, posing etc. She doesn't seem too worried about it, insists on me doing it, will pay me etc. I know I'm more stressed about it than they are!
Anyhow, I seek the forum members' advice on what I should expect, how many shots/locations/poses I should shoot, what gear should I bring/use and what should I charge for being a noob.
I plan on using my 1D III, 70-200 f/4, ef 85 f/1.8, and Helios 44-2 for some neat bokeh shots. I do have speedlights w/triggers and a softbox/stand for fill lighting if needed. We plan on being outdoors at a beautiful location by Sarasota Bay. The Ca' d'Zan gardens at Ringling Museum.
Thanks for reading.